Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remember the 90's ?

• 08-08-2010 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭

Just chatting to a buddy of mine earlier and we ended up chatting about the Xworx and petro motion range of clothing !! Will they ever come back into fashion ? Some of you may not remember these but they were the bees knees back in the 90's. Also there was the dubarry sailing shoes, combat jeans/trousers and for some the dungerees
    B00000284P.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg10529065_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Ricardo G wrote: »
    ...they were the bees knees back in the 90's.

Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Eclipse was another one.

I remember going down to "Warehouse" on Careys Lane every Christmas to get new stuff. Man that stuff was so expensive, even 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Dermighty wrote: »
    Eclipse was another one.

I remember going down to "Warehouse" on Careys Lane every Christmas to get new stuff. Man that stuff was so expensive, even 20 years ago.

Think i paid near 40 pounds for a pair of Xworx back then !! serious amount of money !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Oh God i hope they don't make a comeback!!
    I wasn't allowed get a pair:(

I did have an Eclipse top alright and Joe Bloggs jeans though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

Yeah eclipse jeans with the yellow face on the back pocket, also the black jeans with wine blocks around the back pocket/arse section.

Hi tech runners with the blue/yellow striped tongues
    La gear(la lights)
    Nickleson leather jacket(with nickleson large writing along back)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

yea I remember all that stuff. Can you still get those tear away tracksuit pants (not that I'd wear them)

Yeah eclipse jeans with the yellow face on the back pocket, also the black jeans with wine blocks around the back pocket/arse section.

Hi tech runners with the blue/yellow striped tongues
    La gear(la lights)
    Nickleson leather jacket(with nickleson large writing along back)

What about the NAF jackets lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I demanded that I be brought to Hairy Legs in Galway for a pair of x-worx
    Also used to wear a baggy fleece with them. And I was a skinny kid, must have looked like I was swimming in them

JustinOval wrote: »
    Really?

Yeah, you were probably wearing you grans knitted jumpers tho !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

Also there was the dubarry sailing shoes

Eh just walk around Blackrock and Donnybrook and look at every teenage girl you can see. I think you'll find they never really went out of fashion (just for the wrong reasons!).

I always think of the 90's as being 'just a couple' of years ago and then I realise that it's over 10 years now since '99 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

...and letting the poor woman freeze? I don't think so. 'Uni-queue' tat was bad back then, even with the rose-tint now, it's still naff. :pac:

and those mankey carpet jumpers too!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Morninglory

Ah yes the 90s.... On the dole, listening to Oasis and going out every night. Ah yes I quite enjoyed the 90s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Remember the 90's??

Sure that was only yesterday.

A memory must have a person wearing either leg warmers, flares or shoulder pads for it to be considered nostalgic :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Nackers.
    Asking
    For
    Food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Liam_Flag

and not forgetting the famous hairstyles
    mullet-hairstyle2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

From 1990-1994 was pretty good musically - Grunge, Alternative - MTV even played good videos (120 minutes, Headbangers Ball)

It all started to go downhill in about 1995 though and by 1997 we had the Spice Girls starting to dominate the charts.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

And let us not forget...

In retrospect there were some really cool scenes, you had the grunge scene and the dance scene which was still going good even when we had he likes of the spice girls and that crap.

Are there any cool scenes now?? I can't see anyone ever looking back fondly on Emo, and I don't think any of that music is relatively big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I demanded that I be brought to Hairy Legs in Galway for a pair of x-worx

Had forgotten about Hairy Legs. Where I got my first pair of x-worx jeans...and a nice Adihash t-shirt!

Outside it's raining but inside it's wet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Along with the Xworks, this Sums up 90's knackers to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭girvtheswerve

Nackers.
    Asking
    For
    Food

Caravan 54

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

And let us not forget...

In retrospect there were some really cool scenes, you had the grunge scene and the dance scene which was still going good even when we had he likes of the spice girls and that crap.

I still listen to these tunes at least a couple of times a week :D.
    There are no cool new scenes , all the cool scenes have been done.
    Rave anyone ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i feel old when someone says remember the 90's :mad:

i had the x-worx jeans and i thought i was THE SH!T. all the lads around my way had the eclipse jeans, t-shirt tucked in one side to expose the emblem :rolleyes:

there's an ad on the telly for a 90's cd, want it! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Played 10 times a night in most clubs . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Is it just me or do all skangers seem to be stuck in some sort of early 90s time-loop with their dress sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I was 5 when the 90s ended.

Just sayin'. Seemed like a nice place at the time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Superbus wrote: »
    I was 5 when the 90s ended.

Just sayin'. Seemed like a nice place at the time though.

Next time a thread pops up like this just say i was in junior high dikhead. It'll soften the blow.

derfderf wrote: »
    Next time a thread pops up like this just say i was in junior high dikhead. It'll soften the blow.

What? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I fondly remember my older teenage brother listening to tapes of Oasis,Blur,Pulp and The Verve and the Foo Fighters and watching Beavis and Butthead.By the time I was old enough to appreciate music the garbage of Westlife,Britney and my god Beewitched had already taken over,fortunately I just listened to my brother's cd's instead of all that shíte!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Beavis and Butthead ruled. Huh huh huh yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

COPS, The X Files, Jurassic Park, Independence Day, Baywatch, Father Ted, winning the Eurovision, Jack Charlton, Waynes World, Nintendo 64, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Braveheart. LA Lights, Taz t-shirts

Some decade.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The good old days, how i misss them. The early 90's was the best, we will never live as good and happy as we then back then, simple pleasures were the order of the day not this instant gratifacation country we have now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bring back Italia 90.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Remember when you could buy crisps for 10p. This decade is sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Their was 5p crisps out also, red an green packets.

justshane wrote: »
    Their was 5p crisps out also, red an green packets.

And the price of tayto was'nt through the roof back then either:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

COPS, The X Files, Jurassic Park, Independence Day, Baywatch, Father Ted, winning the Eurovision, Jack Charlton, Waynes World, Nintendo 64, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Braveheart. LA Lights, Taz t-shirts

Some decade.

Buffy ;) and literally buying 2 jellies from a shop for 2p.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I remember when Tayto's went from 10p to 12p i felt like i was being robed so i turned by back on taytos and brought farmer brown crisps which were still 10p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Originally Posted by derfderf
    "Next time a thread pops up like this just say i was in junior high dikhead. It'll soften the blow."
    Superbus wrote: »
    What? :confused:

Looks like a quote from the movie "Die Hard".....the scene where the FBI agents Johnson and Johnson are in an attack helicopter above Los Angeles.....the older agent Johnson (a man in his late thirties) says something like "Whoo-hoo , just like being back in Saigon".....to which the younger angent Johnson (in his twenties) replies something like "I was in junior high dickhead"

THall04 wrote: »
    Originally Posted by derfderf
    "Next time a thread pops up like this just say i was in junior high dikhead. It'll soften the blow."

Looks like a quote from the movie "Die Hard".....the scene where the FBI agents Johnson and Johnson are in an attack helicopter above Los Angeles.....the older agent Johnson (a man in his late thirties) says something like "Whoo-hoo , just like being back in Saigon".....to which the younger angent Johnson (in his twenties) replies something like "I was in junior high dickhead"

Such is my youth that I didn't get the reference.

I have shamed myself.