Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Know Someone Who Has Never Worked.

• 08-08-2010 5:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im talking about able bodied people who have never worked a day in there life, now ive been on and off the dole for years but i do work however i know a good few people who have actually never had a Job in there lives.
    So how many people do you know that have never worked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

yes and they're more better off than me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I've encountered plenty of housewives and teachers if that's what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I work with plenty of people who have never worked a day in their lives.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

bonerm wrote: »

Oh, you're going down to Chinatown for that one! :D

Cant think of anyone I know who has never worked. But If I did, I would envy them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

work is for losers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

The CSO shows that around 250,000 people were unemployed in 2006 when jobs were plentiful. These were live figures of people registered and able to work.

I know one who is happy now that he can use the excuse

"Sur' how can I find a job?"

Yeah, XX like you ever fvcking wanted a job, what with your benefits, your fiancee pretending to be a single mother also having a bus pass, as a carer, for a woman who died a few years ago trying to sue the council because your tripped over a loose slab on the footpath.

WHILST GOING TO THE BOOKIES WITH YOUR WELFARE!

Arrrgggghhhh STEAM HHHHIIIISSSSS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Seinfeld wrote:
    I have a friend who’s collecting unemployment insurance. This guy has never worked so hard in his life as he has to keep this thing going. He’s down there every week, waiting on the lines and getting interviewed and making up all these lies about looking for jobs. If they had any idea of the effort and energy that he is expending to avoid work, I’m sure they’d give him a raise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I've a few friends who left school and went on the dole without thinking of looking for a job. Join the odd college course but drop out after 2 weeks - 6 months. Theyre still getting 200 a week from being on so long, when others in their circumstances get 80 or so.

I R envious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I know of a block of brand new corporation houses where no one works. Outside the doors is an average of 3 cars all with years from 05 to 10. Hanging on the walls are 50 inch LCD TV's .

It's only the PAYE workers in this country that are the idiots.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Care to tell us where???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't think I do know anyone who has never worked. I know people that spent a long time on the dole, funnily enough I know a lad that rarely ever worked during the good times but is working non stop now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

No. Everyone I know has worked at some stage & most of them are still employed or working for themselves. One or two are unemployed at the minute, but that's because their sector was hit worst by the recession & they had previously spent over 10 years in full time employment.

I'd say that there are some people in the country who have never done a days work, but I would hazard a guess that the numbers are extremely low.

Care to tell us where???

I'd rather not .

Care to tell us where???

If you walk along Upper Mercer St in Dublin 2 you will see (what I estimate) is the highest density of ownership of large wall-mounted flatscreen televisions anywhere in Dublin.

From surveying the locals I'm guessing not too many of them paid for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Well a lot of people are housewifes or house husbands.
    Stay at home to raise the family while their partner works.

Nobody could have an issue with this.
    Sure a lot of our parents did this

Edit, there was a time when if a women got married she had to resign from the civil service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭GodlessInfidel

a job aint nothin but hard work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Ivor callely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How can people 'never have worked a day in their lives'? I mean isn't there checks done on those unemployed for more than 2 years.. they have to provide evidence of seeking work (letters from employers etc).. attend FAS meetings and enroll in courses, visits to the social welfare officer and so on.

I don't know anyone that has never worked.. and if there are in fact so many of those people then the real problem is with enforcement etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I know alot of people but only one who has never worked and to be honest, she wasn't ever up to the mark mentally but a lovely girl. She made a career out of having babies, six so far.
    On the outside her life looks sweet but dig a little deeper and her world is fair small and I don't envy her. She is always looking over her shoulder in case an inspector calls, she can't ever get married, her boyfriends are out and out scumbags, what decent fella is going to want her now?
    Her whole world now revolves around keeping one step ahead of the system, she has nothing to look forward to in life at all! Yes, she has a house but it's in a rough area, yes, she has child/health care but it's bottom of the line child/health care.
    The dole office makes her feel like sh*t when she has to go for meetings with them or apply for anything. She has to take what she's given and I know she is fighting for money for uniforms at the minute.
    I don't envy her life one bit!

I've been on the dole for three years now, got caught out when I left a job to start a new one and the company folded before I even started - the other day I got offered the chance at a job starting again at the bottom and I tell you, I'm taking it if they offer it and gladly so!
    I'm so happy just to be getting off this misery ride that is life on the dole, I'd work for food stamps at this stage, at least I could relax and just get on with my life without feeling like something someone scraped off their shoe.

(Also, wish me luck, hope it happens, waiting on the call for interview stage two yeeee! :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

I'm 21 and I have never worked

However I dont claim social welfare or draw the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Uniforms are €14 in Tesco, including coat.

3DataModem wrote: »

So that's 84 euro plus whatever for shoes, socks, school books, bags, pens and pencils plus if u have kids you'll know that each kid might need maybe two uniforms. That could be the bones of about a grand right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Kasabian wrote: »
    I know of a block of brand new corporation houses where no one works. Outside the doors is an average of 3 cars all with years from 05 to 10. Hanging on the walls are 50 inch LCD TV's .

It's only the PAYE workers in this country that are the idiots.
    BS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Im talking about able bodied people who have never worked a day in there life, now ive been on and off the dole for years but i do work however i know a good few people who have actually never had a Job in there lives.

i met a guy last week i used to work with in 1980 , that was last job he worked at ,! he was wearing very nice clothes , driving an 07 car , and his 3 kids all finished college , ireland is an increadible country !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Yes, she has a house but it's in a rough area,

Are you sure SHE has a house or has a house from a local authority.

Someone I know won a lot of money on an accumulator and I suggested she puts it towards getting a house.

"I already have a house"
    "But thats a council house................"
    "Soooooooo......................."
    "Do you not want something better, a better area, better schools for your two kids, something to call your own"
    "And pay for it, I dont think so"

Berty wrote: »
    Are you sure SHE has a house or has a house from a local authority.

Someone I know won a lot of money on an accumulator and I suggested she puts it towards getting a house.

"I already have a house"
    "But thats a council house................"
    "Soooooooo......................."
    "Do you not want something better, a better area, better schools for your two kids, something to call your own"
    "And pay for it, I dont think so"

She has a council house- yknow, the rental type you pay a small rent for.....I remember she had heard of one going in a better area and had arranged everything with the landlord to move in but when she asked to change addresses on her rent allowance (or whatever she had to do, I didn't really question this part) they scandalised her and flat out refused. So she's stuck in an area she doesn't want to be in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

danbohan wrote: »
    i met a guy last week i used to work with in 1980 , that was last job he worked at ,! he was wearing very nice clothes , driving an 07 car , and his 3 kids all finished college , ireland is an increadible country !

It sure is..by allowing free access to third level education we ensured three adults weren't condemned to a life of being a career welfare recipient, just because there dad was. In the states it would have been a case of tough shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

The CSO shows that around 250,000 people were unemployed in 2006 when jobs were plentiful. These were live figures of people registered and able to work.

To be fair, that figure was not the long term unemployed. About half would be transitory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

To be fair, even in the so-called good times, many of those people would have been genuinely 'between jobs' or working part-time. Only a minority would have been officially classified as long-term-unemployed. And many of them would, for various (usually quite obvious) reasons, have been virtually unemployable.

I've been on the dole since December '08, so I'm probably knocking on the door of 'long-term-unemployment' at this stage. I'm lucky, in that I've always been pretty frugal with money and I don't get bored easily, so I don't find it completely intolerable. The only really soul-destroying part is signing-on monthly at the Social Welfare Office - and noticing the queue getting visibly longer and longer as every month passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

I have worked for a total of six days in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I know one who is happy now that he can use the excuse

"Sur' how can I find a job?"

Yeah, XX like you ever fvcking wanted a job, what with your benefits, your fiancee pretending to be a single mother also having a bus pass, as a carer, for a woman who died a few years ago trying to sue the council because your tripped over a loose slab on the footpath.

WHILST GOING TO THE BOOKIES WITH YOUR WELFARE!

Arrrgggghhhh STEAM HHHHIIIISSSSS

Have you reported him?

Yeah, I know someone...kind of related to him. His kids always had the best of everything compared to me when growing up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

bonerm wrote: »
    DERP DERP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 noura

who cares,,,

what can we do then!!!

Pace2008 wrote: »
    DERP DERP

^^ DERP DERP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

It sure is..by allowing free access to third level education we ensured three adults weren't condemned to a life of being a career welfare recipient, just because there dad was. In the states it would have been a case of tough shít.

absolutley , lets do away with work altogeather its a fools game .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

*emails thread link to Social Welfare*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

danbohan wrote: »
    absolutley , lets do away with work altogeather its a fools game .

Ah well obviously it shouldn't be the case that someone on the dole has enough money to be driving an '07 car or have access to the best clothes (unless they came upon some money or something), but in my opinion his children shouldn't be excluded from the opportunity to go somewhere in life, simply because their father was a layabout. At least now his children will be a net gain to the state in terms of the governments tax take in the future, rather than a burden, which would have likely been the case if they were told from a young age that they could never go to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I know alot of people but only one who has never worked and to be honest, she wasn't ever up to the mark mentally but a lovely girl. She made a career out of having babies, six so far.

Does she know what a bloody contraceptive is? FFS, has 6 kids and then complains, as if she wasn't partly responsible herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I was unemployed for over a year, this time last year. I'm working now, but when I was signing on there were guys in suits as well as people in pj's. I don't want to sound like a Doe Juffy caller but I bet there were some who never did a days work, regardless of the economy. And the chances are I'll have to sign back on come September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

3DataModem wrote: »
    Could you actually use them in any school in Ireland though? Our local school makes you buy a jumper with the crest on it from an approved seller. My old school even brought in a special design skirt so parents had to buy those from the referred supplier as it was an odd looking thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Ruu wrote: »
    *emails thread link to Social Welfare*

I'll email you!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Was in my local post office a while back and a middle aged traveller woman from the area signed on to collect her dole money..i lost count of the amount of 50 euro notes the cashier counted out for her..possibly over a thousand quid altogether.
    She then leaves the post office and hops in a 08 Navarra jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I know one guy from school, last i heard of him a few months back, he still hadn't worked. He's 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Degsy wrote: »
    Was in my local post office a while back and a middle aged traveller woman from the area signed on to collect her dole money..i lost count of the amount of 50 euro notes the cashier counted out for her..possibly over a thousand quid altogether.
    She then leaves the post office and hops in a 08 Navarra jeep.

Yes, this is a great country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was brought up in West Tallaght and I know one or two. Despite being on the dole, they both have gold plated houses, platinum diamond-encrusted humvees and helicopter launch-pads outside their house.

I tried to inform the relevant radio shows but their researchers dismissed me as a "tedious. spoofing middle-class blowhard".

Outrageous. :(

Mister men wrote: »
    BS

Why do you think this is BS ? . Have you been to every estate in the country. Are you blinkered enough to not see who is housing the drug dealers in this country. They sure as hell aren't walking into the local bank manager with a P60 and a cert of employment and walking out with a mortgage.

Cop on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

ScumLord wrote: »
    Could you actually use them in any school in Ireland though? Our local school makes you buy a jumper with the crest on it from an approved seller. My old school even brought in a special design skirt so parents had to buy those from the referred supplier as it was an odd looking thing.

Aye, that ad always makes me lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

stovelid wrote: »
    I was brought up in West Tallaght and I know one or two. Despite being on the dole, they both have gold plated houses, platinum diamond-encrusted humvees and helicopter launch-pads outside their house.

I tried to inform the relevant radio shows but their researchers dismissed me as a "tedious. spoofing middle-class blowhard".

Outrageous. :(

you know the hiltons too, told a few radio stations and they told me to p(ss off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

I don't know this person.

A few years ago I went for lunch in a pub in Ringsend. There were a couple of people setting up party stuff, such as bunting and banners. One of the banners had ' Happy 40th Anniversary’.

Curious I asked if it was a wedding anniversary, to which this person replied. ‘no, me da is on the scratcher for the last 40th years, so we are throwing him a party’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

Maybe they've never had a job because they've never wanted one, or are too shy.