Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a Fiat 880 2wd

• 08-08-2010 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

Hi Guys, just wondering if anyone would be able to point me in the right direction. Im looking for a Fiat 880 2wd tractor, tho a 680 or a 780 would do as we had all three on the farm at one stage. Im trying to get one as we had one 880 in our family for years, reg was 603JZL. would be great to get another one back.

Any condition would be considered, as im used to a lot of rust and holes with fiats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

H ah feck it anyway one i knew of just sold a couple of weeks ago, not the msot common things arouund anymore, but a lot better than the fiat cars by all accounts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Mascot45

yeah theyre hard to find, Im more or less looking for one as we had one in my family from new, my great grandfather drove it, gradfather drove it, great uncles etc etc and i remember the orange colour of the one we had.

We had a fiat 127 at the same time. didnt last atall haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

If my memory of registration numbers is any good I'd say I drove that 880 myself many times! If it's the one I think it is I might be able to point you in the direction of where it ended up, although as far as I know it died a death a few years ago unfortunately.

Well i can piece a bit of the history on it as after my great uncle who had a farm in the Rathmichael/Ballycorus area of Co. Dublin, sold it it went down to Newcastle Co. Wicklow where the chap has since sold it on after the engine blew.

Im looking to get an 880 tractor to go with the Fahr M1102 Harvester that the family owned, that I brought back from Morocco In September 2008.

Any idea where the remains might be of the tractor anyway??

Nope, the last I heard of it was when the engine blew too. Were you on to him about who he sold it to? And are you sure you've got the right 1102? It was a later Deutz-Fahr 1102 I remember, it ended up in Wicklow too.

no idea after that, he sold it in the buy and sell but cant remember to who it was that long ago. Iv been searching for the past 3 years but couldnt find it, luckily when i was a young lad around the yard in 2001/2 i got photos of the chassis plates of everything which helped me get the right 1102, it says Deutz fahr on the side but was always refered to as the Fahr.

Was sold on to a chap in Ashford who then traded it in to Byrnes of Carnew who put me in touch with the exporter. Jesus was it hard to find!!

Cut 86 acres of barley the past few days so still going strong!!

That took some work alright! I knew who it went to in Ashford too. Saw the picture you have on the farming forum and didn't think it looked like the same one, my mistake. Drove that a couple of times too, might have some photos of it at home if I dig deep enough. I hope you were smoking a Hamlet when you were operating it!

Haha good oul Noel, had the cigar till the very end, yeah Nigel Law bought it but at that stage it was well worn in, when i found it it was the bare shell so managed to scrape a cab together, and sides which arent the right ones, but the engine we put in up in the shed back in 01 is still going strong. video of it on youtube here if you want to have a look, i took the white dust curtain off the back there a few days ago was seriously annoying me!

Do you remember me? or any hints as to who the casino king is???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TbIf5xdei0 - thats it in action, well albeit driving

Jaysus I never thought I'd see it in action again, fair play to you! Yeah I remember you knocking around alright, I lived over on Quarry Road and worked for Noel on and off for a few years. Can remember Tom rotavating our back garden with that 880 when it was relatively new, I was only a chap at the time. Have a funny feeling there might be a photo of that somewhere too. There's also a photo from the early 70's of my father driving a Ford 4000 belonging to Tom drawing grain at home.

Cant remember quarry road too much really, everywheres changed so much up there! yeah thats one of the main reasons I want to get the 880, as it was Toms main tractor up until he hurt his foot in 94'. I cant remember the 4000's coz im not that old but i remember the 780 and the 880, i learned to drive in the 880 when i was 7 with noel, and nearly had enough money saved up to take it on when Carey's bought it, maybe it was that I was that bit too young aswell!

Id say yous had some crack back in them days, I remember as a young lad with the bales in the field throwing them up on the trailer, and was staying over the night of the fire in 95 too!

god be with the days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Mascot45 wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TbIf5xdei0 - thats it in action, well albeit driving

Very good.

I had a look at some of your other vids.

I like the Dennis recovery wagon!

Yeah thats a brilliant yoke, you can read up on it on the website www.mvpsi.net, its one fast thing I can tell you, done the ton going to Cork not so long ago, lucky it was early in the morning!!!

My apprentice has it at a lot of vintage shows around Dublin & Wicklow

Ah I'm not that old myself! Remember the 5000 alright, that lasted until the early or mid 90's. Remember the 780 as well. Also remember a Ford 7600, but it was the 880 and 90-90 Fiats and the 6700 and 7610 Fords I drove, and the combine on a couple of occasions as I said. Is the 6700 still knocking around? And how's Willie?

Yeah so you were around about the same time as myself so, even tho I was a young chappy back then, the 77 6700 is still around as is the 90-90 which Im hoping to tackle once iv finished the Fahr. Willies doing grand havent heard or seen him in a while but I must call up. Im based in Cork on my own farm now so the distance from the ground I knew is a bit different!

Your welcome to a spin in the combine whenever your free, wev finished cutting here and Iv a few weeks free so was going to see if anyone needed a hand with their cutting, as the rain keeps setting in.

You still driving tractors round that way nowadays? not much fields left tho :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

We had a fiat 127 at the same time. didnt last atall haha

well no, it wouldnt, would it? poor things didnt stand a chance. I know a man who had a fiat amd lancia dealership back in the day.. and the trouble he had with rust on cars a few years old and all manner of other problems was unreal

problem with that car was my uncle kept it so clean it pratically washed away. And as you said a few weeks out in the forecourt and they were bubbling, what a crazy world that was. Great cars to learn in though.

Yeah so you were around about the same time as myself so, even tho I was a young chappy back then, the 77 6700 is still around as is the 90-90 which Im hoping to tackle once iv finished the Fahr. Willies doing grand havent heard or seen him in a while but I must call up. Im based in Cork on my own farm now so the distance from the ground I knew is a bit different!

Your welcome to a spin in the combine whenever your free, wev finished cutting here and Iv a few weeks free so was going to see if anyone needed a hand with their cutting, as the rain keeps setting in.

You still driving tractors round that way nowadays? not much fields left tho :(

Cheers, I must do that. Fields are scarce around those parts now alright, I took on a few of Noels customers when he retired but even since then the building has swallowed up several of them. Still do a bit up around there but I'm in Tipperary most of the time myself, though still in the contracting business!

yeah would be good to catch up, Iv lost contact with a lot of people who used to be around them parts, as you said a lot of them are gone, and I dont think theres much happening in either of the yards anymore, though must pop up and see Bry & the girls as soon as I get the chance.

Id say your well more advanced than Ford 7610's and Fiat 880's now so!!! but Im happy with the few bits I have.

Any idea where the yellow 940 Square Baler went to?? Im looking for that back aswell if its still hiding somewhere. Think the chap who bought the 7610 bought that aswell.

A bit more advanced but not much better off! The guy who bought the 7610 bought the baler as well alright, but to be honest they were both fairly knackered. I used the baler a year or so before it was sold and it was throwing out fairly lob-sided bales. The PTO was giving dreadful trouble on the 7610 by then too, the only PTO work it did for the last couple of years was turning hay. I had the Kverneland plough but I sold it to a fella in Kildare about 5 years ago, after that I don't really know where anything went bar a bale trailer and the grass box.

Ah yeah most of the stuff at that stage was well past it sure, I dont remember a day without a breakdown on a machine but sure that was the fun of it for me anyway! Ah i wouldnt mind getting the baler, a tractor and I have the harvester, mainly as Iv bought everything else I have newish, i remember the lob sided bales alright!! think some of them are still in the shed.

any idea where the 88 ford is?? jesus im sounding like a hoarder now

Afraid not, it was a while ago now. All I can remember is the same guy bought it and the baler. I heard the 90-90 was sold recently too, but you might know better than me.

I didnt know the 90-90 was sold last I heard it was in the shed up behind the house, must check that out as was hoping to get my hands on that, as its the last Fiat tractor to survive in the clan, tho it was falling to bits the last time i seen it

Yeah I'm afraid so, from what I hear anyway. Was only sold relatively recently. Had thought about making a bid on it myself a couple of times for old time's sake, but I'd say it was in a state after lying idle for so long.

any idea on who got it?? i remember when they got it it was a great yoke, jesus there was 5 of us in the cab one day coming back from guiness's after the combine broke a belt, and we had no car to get home!

bet you remember Willie's Blue opel do you??

I remember it arriving too, replacing that donkey of a Landini. I'd say it wasn't in the yard an hour before Jimmy Waters put the welder to it to make some "modifications". I remember the blue Opel alright, he used to arrive in our yard at home in it regularly during the summer looking for "a lend" of mower blades

that landini was a heap alright, the best thing about it was the f**k you wavey hand under the seat that you could stick on the back window before Willie took it out :D.

He probably has them blades down the yard still, he has the car anyway! or whats left of it.

Last time i drove the 90-90 down the lane was November 07, and it had barely any brakes left, so god only knows what its like now! Hope it chuggs on tho

Yeah it was a good aul horse alright, when it wasn't stopping with dirty diesel. It was a common problem with all those tractors come to think of it! Must have had something to do with filling them out of all those spray cans! I remember bringing a dozen or so to Noel in the back of my mother's car one time when the combine ran dry over on the Glenamuck Road, she wasn't impressed!

Well the tanks up there werent the best anyway, i remember cleaning one out with Noel & Jimmy Waters and by jaysus the shiot that came out of it...

The oul combine, i think i remember hearing about that happening alright, that machine got some abuse, iv wasted way to many hours welding it back together!

I often changed filters in them in the middle of fields and by the sides of roads, disaster! That combine cut some amount of stuff in it's day, I'm amazed it's still going at all! Must call to see it some time if I'm in your neck of the woods

yeah iv to do that now and again with the stuff we have! try breaking down in the port tunnel with flat batteries!!

ill send you over my mobile number sure, so if your ever down with us.

keep an eye out of an oul 880 now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Don't mind you reminiscing about the good oul days but can you take it to pm please ;)