Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New toy :-)

• 08-08-2010 10:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭

See what I picked up on Friday :D Roll on sept 1st ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

tfox wrote: »

Nice one well wear.
    Most lads use a rifle tho:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Ha HA, no more heavy dragging for me :D Just need to fit a winch to the tipper to pull them big reds up and we're lit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Can see Gormless and crew up in arms on the news some night, hunters using drive by shooting tactics.

Nice toy, if ya ever get fed up playing with it can I have a go?

homerhop wrote: »
    Can see Gormless and crew up in arms on the news some night, hunters using drive by shooting tactics.

Nice toy, if ya ever get fed up playing with it can I have a go?

It's a double whammy for Gormless, people shooting animals and burning oil in the process :D:D;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

why mate ya goin golfin on the first lol

daithi55 wrote: »
    why mate ya goin golfin on the first lol

Ye ye heard them all already :D

does feel like a golf buggy when ya driving it though, but 2/4wd and rear diff, hi/lo, stepless transmission, it just goes anywhere, 2 comfortable seats, showerproof, bloody comfortable, and 3cyl diesel so cheap to run :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Is that a kawasaki Mule?

I'd love something like that.
    E150 to insure and F'all to tax.

More versatile than a qaud but easier on the land than a jeep

You may give me a go at driving it. I love off roading!

Is that a kawasaki Mule?

I'd love something like that.
    E150 to insure and F'all to tax.

More versatile than a qaud but easier on the land than a jeep

You may give me a go at driving it. I love off roading!

Massey Ferguson, 3cyl Yanmar diesel. Bloody great yoke, can lug 400kg+ on the back, no footprint anywhere on the land, nice wide wheeltrack, good and stable :D 2/4wd, rear diff lock, hi/lo, stepless variable drive !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055987620

Best of luck with purchase, I hope the above doesn't affect you!!

Jonty wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055987620

Best of luck with purchase, I hope the above doesn't affect you!!

Well lucky for me 99% of my stalking is on private ground.

image0058.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Massey Ferguson, 3cyl Yanmar diesel. Bloody great yoke, can lug 400kg+ on the back, no footprint anywhere on the land, nice wide wheeltrack, good and stable :D 2/4wd, rear diff lock, hi/lo, stepless variable drive !!

Thats what I want.

I actually pulled down an old shet testerday with a strap and a 4x4.:D:D

Tie the strap too the tow bar and dropped her into 4 low.

However a few of my permissions will not let me bring out a 4x4 on the land; as it can tear up the place if it is winter barley.

Are you going to Insure her?
    I would for the craic.
    Lad I know has a quad and he goes every where on it!

P.S what did she retail at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

The back 9 won't be safe any longer, well wear!

Is insured fire and theft at the mo, have to get plates to make it road legal.

List price was €11,000, ex demo with 1000 hours so €9,000, have 2 matbro farm handlers and only need one so trading lesser one in against it, deal not totally finalised yet.

Is insured fire and theft at the mo, have to get plates to make it road legal.

List price was €11,000, ex demo with 1000 hours so €9,000, have 2 matbro farm handlers and only need one so trading lesser one in against it, deal not totally finalised yet.

It's a tempting offer.
    I could see my da herding with one of them.
    Cheaper than a 4x4

What she do cruising 45~mph or is that too fast (high centre of gravity)

You have me sorely tempted, we have a matbro too and 2 tractors :D:D:D

It's a tempting offer.
    I could see my da herding with one of them.
    Cheaper than a 4x4

What she do cruising 45~mph or is that too fast (high centre of gravity)

You have me sorely tempted, we have a matbro too and 2 tractors :D:D:D

Cant beat the Matbros, bloody great machines !!

Not sure of top-whack but centre of gravity is quite low with the wide wheel track. Far handier than a quad for farming aswell, throw all ur gear in back, no need to lug a trailer round !! Also pulls 8ft roller round the horse paddocks and will knock up u leveller/harrow for the sand arena.

Oh and on the tractor front there's an old davidbrown1210, and a sweet fendt714 :D

Cant beat the Matbros, bloody great machines !!

Not sure of top-whack but centre of gravity is quite low with the wide wheel track. Far handier than a quad for farming aswell, throw all ur gear in back, no need to lug a trailer round !! Also pulls 8ft roller round the horse paddocks and will knock up u leveller/harrow for the sand arena.

Oh and on the tractor front there's an old davidbrown1210, and a sweet fendt714 :D

We have a Ford Theme going on, even the matbro has a Ford engine!

With it insured it would be a very handy yoke top go hunting with.
    I have a lot of hunting very close to the house and that would do just dany ;)

You may give me a lend!

No shortage of money in your gaff with a fendt!

Ah well truth of the matter it's only mine by association, I work on an estate outside Mullingar so they're the ones with the money :D I just try and direct him towards these fun toys ;)

His girls have been at him for a quad for a while, local Massey/Fendt dealer had the truck in stock for a while. Plus now means they can go and roll the paddocks themselves rather than mithering me !!

Had him up on the hill in Wicklow last year and he had to drag big hybrid stag a very long way so he definitely saw the merits of it :D Plus he's very good at letting me bring the toys to play with myself !!

On the Fendt note it's '05 and only just hit 500 hours, talk about an easy life, almost due a service now :rolleyes:

Ah well truth of the matter it's only mine by association, I work on an estate outside Mullingar so they're the ones with the money :D I just try and direct him towards these fun toys ;)

His girls have been at him for a quad for a while, local Massey/Fendt dealer had the truck in stock for a while. Plus now means they can go and roll the paddocks themselves rather than mithering me !!

Had him up on the hill in Wicklow last year and he had to drag big hybrid stag a very long way so he definitely saw the merits of it :D Plus he's very good at letting me bring the toys to play with myself !!

On the Fendt note it's '05 and only just hit 500 hours, talk about an easy life, almost due a service now :rolleyes:

I have an idea where you mean ;)

You must introduce me to this man (and his daughters)
    A lot of beautiful countryside around you.

I'd imagine foxing/stalking must be good in the winter.

Anyway, I may get back to work myself now! :D:D

Yes well I considered the daughter route and to be honest they wouldnt be worth the hassle, totally spoilt and totally helpless !! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

you better have manners now t or i'll email him a link :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Well wear and lots of fun with the new toy.:D
    BTW while we are talking about ATVs and such like....Has anyone seen or used one of these here in Ireland??Is totally amphibous and has supposedly less ground pressure than a quad??

http://www.argovehicles.com/

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

The argo are some machine, lad in the club has one for deer, been on it a few times, its the 8 wheel version.

Driven it through 2-3 foot of water no problem, also the argo dosnt rip up the ground as bad as a quad the tyres are fairly soft.

dr6.5

in a previous life i used to gillie/stalk/keeper on the isle of lewis in the outer hebrides .Argocats were the only thing that we could use up there off the road , quads sink as its nearly all semi bogland interspersed with small lochans , the 8 wheel jobs will go almost anywhere even over water if you put the wading plugs in ;)you can put an outboard on the rear too
    if you like offroad fun then these are the most you can have with your clothes on , they have almost no footprint and are very very reliable the down side is they are not cheap
    would i like another yes please with bells on :D

What sort of bobs are we talking about for one of these Landkeeper in 2nd plus many hands??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

that was a cold day on the hill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

jwshooter wrote: »
    that was a cold day on the hill

you could use the second photo as a Christmas card for Hunters.....
    It has all the right colours 'an snow ..........sigh :o

dedication jw at least there were no flies
    grizzly i have no idea like i said it was along time ago have a goo around the interweb and see can you find a used one that might give you an idea
    i think mick rowe used to have one of the 6 wheelers

Looked for one alright,cant find is anyone dealing here in the ROI in them?Anyone got a contact for a dealer?

landkeeper wrote: »
    you better have manners now t or i'll email him a link :D

You behave now ;)

As for the argocat Uncle of mine is Gamekeeper in the Highlands of Scotland and they have 3 of them, bloody brilliant machines, go ANYWHERE. There was one on donedeal a while back, thenk was bout €8000. They come up on ebay regular enough.

You behave now ;)

As for the argocat Uncle of mine is Gamekeeper in the Highlands of Scotland and they have 3 of them, bloody brilliant machines, go ANYWHERE. There was one on donedeal a while back, thenk was bout €8000. They come up on ebay regular enough.

what link!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Are the Argocats not a bit low to the ground?

johngalway wrote: »
    Are the Argocats not a bit low to the ground?

They are low enough but as they have such low ground pressure they dont sink down in soft ground !!

Tackleberry, Landkeeper was threatening to send my boss a link about what I was saying in reference to his daughters :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Looked for one alright,cant find is anyone dealing here in the ROI in them?Anyone got a contact for a dealer?

i know of one that might be for sale

Had a poke around the Ebay.com .Be prepared to fork out around $8,000 USD for an 8wheel 2nd hand and upwards for new!!:eek: Even yokes out of the 1970s are still fetching a couple of grand.

Me Jeep Cherokee isnt worth that much!!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Wel wear T.Fox, Is there a tipper on them, was flicking through McHales site and seen one tipping, maybe it's manual? Handy none the less, and the towing wieght is upto 1100 kg which is more than most cars. Good machine with a good spec too. http://www.mchalefm.com/

Ps.. Got to MF, then products and from there to groundscare. (Not a direct link)

http://www.argocat.com/avenger.html

I know of a secondhand one in need of repair in offaly, the older type one though, No roll cage.

I recon they would be great on the Shannon callows in winter as it could travel on fields and water with an outboard fitted, they sell a 9.5HP outboard with her.

I first saw them used here by contractors for the ESB, skirting across our fields

I saw them on Beyond 2000 back in the day.
    With the addition of tracks they really can go anywhere, however if you want on off road the tracks are not a good idea.

They are slow though, 22mph, a Tractor could pass you out, and steering would mean going slower than 22 on the road!

kay 9 wrote: »
    Wel wear T.Fox, Is there a tipper on them, was flicking through McHales site and seen one tipping, maybe it's manual? Handy none the less, and the towing wieght is upto 1100 kg which is more than most cars. Good machine with a good spec too. http://www.mchalefm.com/

Ps.. Got to MF, then products and from there to groundscare. (Not a direct link)

Tipping is manual assisted by gas struts, over 400kg payload which is not bad :D

Tackleberry and info on that argo.....?

Tipping is manual assisted by gas struts, over 400kg payload which is not bad :D

Tackleberry and info on that argo.....?

The Argo was left into a mate of mine to get fixed, not sure what is wrong with it TBH, But I could find out!

I'd go for the MF probably if I had the Shillin's as it is more mannerly on the roads.
    not very far one can travel in Ireland without hitting a road!

t if you can get the argo do they are simple really direct drive to the first axle and chain drive to the others
    tac the ones we had would do a lot more than 22 mph, it must be like a lot of the esb stuff regulated and detuned for numptys

What you guys think?
    123302.jpg

Would a clamper clamp it??

Here's it in action today :D
    picture.php?pictureid=7014&albumid=1331&dl=1281381186&thumb=1

Here's also what it replaced :)
    picture.php?pictureid=7015&albumid=1331&dl=1281381186&thumb=1
    50 yr old Bonza truck

Here's it in action today :D
    picture.php?pictureid=7014&albumid=1331&dl=1281381186&thumb=1

Here's also what it replaced :)
    picture.php?pictureid=7015&albumid=1331&dl=1281381186&thumb=1
    50 yr old Bonza truck

The guy with the 8 wheeler told me it was sold, post retro fitting with a motorbike engine AFAIK.

I wonder has anyone out there considered making one, I have seen lots of Dune Buggy types been made from scrapped car.

Perhaps a motorbike engine "I reccomend a Fireblade or GSXR"
    An Irish 6 or 8 wheel drive, that could forde rivers and drains etc.;)

TFOX, was there supposed to be a video with your last post??

Would a gixer or a fireblade not be just a little too fast for a utility buggy?:D 180bhp:eek::D The gearing would need to brought way down. Great for the beech though:cool:

Ultimate torque for hill climbing and acceleration

Maybe a bit OTT though, but Fun none the less;)

Ultimate torque for hill climbing and acceleration

Maybe a bit OTT though, but Fun none the less;)
    Pity we dont have such an opportunity in this place as the US of A, "build your own" Everything from the cab to suspension. Would be a custom build:Dhttp://configurator.deere.com/servlet/com.deere.u90947.eproducts.view.servlets.EProductsInitializationServlet?reqUser=20&userAction=configureProduct〈=en&country=US&countryConfirmed=true&sbu=CCE&category=Utility%20Vehicles&futureProduct=false&gmtOffset=0&historicalPriceEffectiveDate=

I know, Dodge Ram are the same!

If i won the lotto I'd get a Dodge Ram or a Toyota Tundra in Left hand drive config!

I know, Dodge Ram are the same!

If i won the lotto I'd get a Dodge Ram or a Toyota Tundra in Left hand drive config!
    Or a Ford f150, drove the tundra too a couple a years ago and it's different to the hi-luxes and such, a dodge ram hmm, :D Nice machine. Ya should check out the new vw amorak they have, tidy pickup. If only $$$$:rolleyes:

The ARW use the Ford F350, although the folks in the states told me FORD stood for, Found On Road Dead :D:D:D

I saw some seriously big pickups in Tx.
    Thems were the days, feels like an eternity ago now!

The ARW use the Ford F350, although the folks in the states told me FORD stood for, Found On Road Dead :D:D:D

I saw some seriously big pickups in Tx.
    Thems were the days, feels like an eternity ago now!

Thought it stood for Fix Or Replace Daily.
    One 12in lifted k5 milspec Blazer for me please should the lotto ever befall me.