Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Tramore Autumn Festival

• 06-08-2010 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

The 23rd. Annual Tramore Autumn Darts Festival will take place on the weekend of September 24th/25th/26th., 2010, at O'Shea's Hotel, Tramore, Co. Waterford.

Programme of events - - -

Friday at 8.00pm - Men's and Ladies' Doubles competitions - Entries on the night.
    Saturday at 2.00pm - Mixed Pairs Championship - Entries from 1.00pm.
    Saturday at 4.00pm - Under-21 Singles - Entries from 3.00pm
    Sunday at 12 noon - Men's and Ladies' Singles - No Entries on the Day.
    Entries for Singles must be in before 7.00pm on Saturday.

Entry forms for Singles on http://www.dartsinireland.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Looks good...

WHats the chances of the resurrection of the 301 double off singles ever coming back DG??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Dicie wrote: »
    Looks good...

WHats the chances of the resurrection of the 301 double off singles ever coming back DG??

Believe it or not, Dicie, we are considering bringing the 301 Double Start back on the Friday night at the Winter Gala in January as we have had some similar requests and would welcome the players' comments.

The 301 competition was an integral part on the Saturday night at the Autumn Festival for many years until the crowds got bigger, the drink flowed more freely, players unable to stand up straight after a long day at the oche, some players unable to hit the board - never mind a double, the competition going on until three in the morning and the following day having to knock on the bedroom doors to get the players out of bed to play in the Singles ! THE GOOD OLD DAYS ! ! !

Let us know what you think !

Dartgod wrote: »
    Believe it or not, Dicie, we are considering bringing the 301 Double Start back on the Friday night at the Winter Gala in January as we have had some similar requests and would welcome the players' comments.

The 301 competition was an integral part on the Saturday night at the Autumn Festival for many years until the crowds got bigger, the drink flowed more freely, players unable to stand up straight after a long day at the oche, some players unable to hit the board - never mind a double, the competition going on until three in the morning and the following day having to knock on the bedroom doors to get the players out of bed to play in the Singles ! THE GOOD OLD DAYS ! ! !

Let us know what you think !

I seen Tom Kirby win a great final down there in the 301 many yrs ago.... Darts were brutal, but where else wud serve us after the nightclub was shut..

Not sure who he played in the final (was it ray walshe??) But i know tom won it (i think)

Be good to see it back, was a great competition..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I seen Tom Kirby win a great final down there in the 301 many yrs ago.... Darts were brutal, but where else wud serve us after the nightclub was shut..

Not sure who he played in the final (was it ray walshe??) But i know tom won it (i think)

Be good to see it back, was a great competition..
    Speaking of Tom Kirby I was chatting to my sister today about the matchplay in the green isle and I mentioned the name, she knew Tom very well as she works in a bookies in Maynooth and he used to bet in there, she said what a lovely man he was, small world isn't it:eek:

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Speaking of Tom Kirby I was chatting to my sister today about the matchplay in the green isle and I mentioned the name, she knew Tom very well as she works in a bookies in Maynooth and he used to bet in there, she said what a lovely man he was, small world isn't it:eek:

I dont know many that wud have anything bad to say about him, shame we cant all say the same for ourselves, but tom was a legend of this sport over here.

He beat myself and another board user (jimmy joyce) in the quarters of the mens doubles in bray many many moons ago, what a gent..

(PS) ok Jimmy i wont mention your 3 missed darts to actually beat him and Liam...

I seen Tom Kirby win a great final down there in the 301 many yrs ago....

Yes, Dicie, Tom was a 301 winner in Tramore - - - so was Mick McGowan, Sean Marshall, the late Charlie Gaile plus many more top-class players.

And yes, Gringo, Tom Kirby was a lovely man - - - in all my years on the Irish darts circuit I have never met a nicer gentleman !

Tom was a regular at the Tramore Festivals and one of his final wishes was to have his ashes scattered on the beach in Tramore.
    His wish was fulfilled at last year's Autumn Festival when his widow, Ann, and longtime friend and doubles partner, Jack McKenna, performed the deed before a large gathering of friends and supporters.

The Gentle Giant is sadly missed in Tramore and on the Irish and PDC circuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 darttart

gutted i'm not gonna make it this year,:( luv'd last year,

great folk, great place, great booze, & great darts.... :D:D:D

darttart wrote: »
    gutted i'm not gonna make it this year,:( luv'd last year,

great folk, great place, great booze, & great darts.... :D:D:D

Sorry to hear that you will not be coming to Tramore next month - - we enjoyed your company at the Autumn Festival last year.

Hopefully, you will get across to the Emerald Isle again in 2011 !

Entry forms for the Singles competitions on the Sunday will be available at the Green Isle Hotel, Dublin, this coming weekend.They are also available on www.dartsinireland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭The Bison

Feck it I'm going and all I need is beer money:), can't afford the british open sorry Daffy! :( Who else is joining me?

The Bison wrote: »
    Feck it I'm going and all I need is beer money:), can't afford the british open sorry Daffy! :( Who else is joining me?

As usual Dicie shall be there... 17 yrs now, can still remember playing jack the 1st time i was there and getting thumpd...... :D:D

Good stuff Dicie!:D Any bookies around here? Needs odds on our darts match and our drinking comp! :D:D:D

Paddy pwer 50 yrs away from front door of hotel.... Or for me and u, within falling distance, i doubt anyone gonna quote a price on me!!! Chipper 2 doors up,chinese 80 yrs away, all jokes aside u wont find a better venue, gimme shout on fb and i give u link for nice b+b or stay in hotel for the extra couple quid so u can fall upstairs when im finished with you....

Properly run comps, and most importantly, great social event, best on the Irish calander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

Try Murphs across the road for a great pint and also a good throw for some practice.

Are you going greened? If so we should meet up for a few pints :)

Hope so. Depends on what way herself is working. Play my darts out of Tramore and only live a few miles away. Let me know if your down and I will at least get in for a few pints if not the singles on Sunday.

greened wrote: »
    Hope so. Depends on what way herself is working. Play my darts out of Tramore and only live a few miles away. Let me know if your down and I will at least get in for a few pints if not the singles on Sunday.

Not a bother, gonna be a great weekend! :D

Accommodation Alert !!!

Got a report yesterday that the Sands Hotel, around the corner from O'Shea's Hotel, has closed down !

Apparently, the staff were called in on Friday last and were given P45's with no indication of re-opening.

The Sands is always a very popular place for the players coming to the Festivals in Tramore - - - so, if you or any of your friends have booked rooms for the Autumn Festival it would be in your interest to contact the hotel to check out the situation.

Let me know if anybody has any problems with accommodation.

Just a reminder that entries for the Men's and Ladies' Singles competitions on the Sunday must be in before 7.00pm on the Saturday.

Entry forms on www.dartsinireland.com.

Stick me in there DG please. See ye sunday morning bright and early..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

i am heading down. do I need to send money with the entry form or can I send entry form and pay on the day or the saturday

Lemegeton wrote: »
    i am heading down. do I need to send money with the entry form or can I send entry form and pay on the day or the saturday

Either send the money with the entry form or pay on Saturday - - - entries accepted up to 7.00pm Saturday night.

See you in Tramore !

ok i will drop in on saturday with money and entry form

did not get to play today but some friends were there and said a well run tournament as usual with some great games.
    Any results out there?
    Any one attend and if yes how did ye all get on?

knocked out 4-2 in second round . finishing deserted me big time. :mad:

no shame in getting knocked out in the second round. Can be hard to even get past first round in these comps sometimes.

greened wrote: »

did not get to play today but some friends were there and said a well run tournament as usual with some great games.
    Any results out there?
    Any one attend and if yes how did ye all get on?

Just home from the Sunny Southeast after another great weekend.

Understandably, entries were down on previous years due to the recession etc., but the darts and the craic were at an all-time high.

The Men's Singles title went to the current Irieland Players' Champion, John O'Shea {Cork}, who defeated Wexford's Tom O'Connor in the final.
    Tom caused a big shock in the semi-finals when he defeated Willie O'Connor {Limerick} while in the other semi John defeated Northern Ireland International Martin Carvill.
    It was great to see Sean Marshall back in the bigtime again and he reached the quarter-finals where he lost to the eventual winner.

The Ladies' Singles was won {once again} by Sharon O'Brien {Kildare} who defeated Ann Redmond {Wexford} in the final.
    The beaten semi-finalists were Linda Harte {Kilkenny} and Maeve O'Connor {Carlow}.

Congrats to everbody for another very enjoyable weekend.

Watch this space for more results - - -

ANother well run event... As per usual the darts were of the highest calibre..... Roll on january!

A great weekend had in Tramore, reached the semis of the doubles on friday, got knocked out in the 1st round Saturday in the mixed doubles and got beaten again in the singles sunday 4-1! Fair play Dartgod, great weekend! Roll on Kilkenny next month! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 eilocon

Hi everyone.. I know this is a long shot, but, a darts case was left behind in Tramore yesterday. It is Unicorn case. We rang O'Shea's and it wasn't handed in. So if anyone out there can shed any light on this, we would be very grateful. :(

Any results from the doubles Dartgod please?;):D

Sorry about the delay with results - - blame Eircom - - internet on the blink !

Men's Doubles:

Q/finals:
    Jason Cullen/ Andrew bt Noel McCarthy/ Tom Mallon
    Stephen Byrne/ Noel Redmond bt Brian Horgan/ Thomas Murphy
    Fred Holligan/ Tommy Brennan bt James & Vince Higgins
    Ian Cullinane/ Paul Tobin bt Sean Downey/ Jim Fowler

S/finals:
    Cullen/ McCormack 3 - 2 Byrne/ Redmond
    Holligan/ Brennan 3 - 0 Cullinane/ Tobin

Final:
    Cullen/ McCormack 3 - 1 Holligan/ Brennan

Are you happy now, Bison, you have hit the headlines ?

I'll be back - - - - -

Sorry about the delay with results - - blame Eircom - - internet on the blink !

Men's Doubles:

Q/finals:
    Jason Cullen/ Andrew bt Noel McCarthy/ Tom Mallon
    Stephen Byrne/ Noel Redmond bt Brian Horgan/ Thomas Murphy
    Fred Holligan/ Tommy Brennan bt James & Vince Higgins
    Ian Cullinane/ Paul Tobin bt Sean Downey/ Jim Fowler

S/finals:
    Cullen/ McCormack 3 - 2 Byrne/ Redmond
    Holligan/ Brennan 3 - 0 Cullinane/ Tobin

Final:
    Cullen/ McCormack 3 - 1 Holligan/ Brennan

Are you happy now, Bison, you have hit the headlines ?

I'll be back - - - - -

Good to see fred holligan playing again....

Ladies' Doubles:

Q/finals:
    Sharon O'Brien/ Susan McKenna bt Saoirse Mannion/ Mary Bailey
    Ashling O'Leary/ Martina Scallan bt Pauline Finn/ Kathleen Doherty
    Ann Redmond/ Gemma Kearon bt Bronagh Mallon/ Kay O'Carroll
    Peggy McIlroy/ Maisie Riordan bt Anne O'Sullivan/ Kay McCarthy

S/finals:
    O'Brien/ McKenna 3 - 1 O'Leary/ Scallan
    Redmond/ Kearon 3 - 1 McIlroy/ Riordan

Final:
    O'Brien/ McKenna 3 - 0 Redmond/ Kearon

Mixed Pairs:

Q/finals:
    David Coyne/ Linda Harte 4 - 0 Maureen McKenna/ John Hannon
    Noel Gates/ Fiona McGuiggan 4 - 2 Darren Clifford/ Kelly McGivern
    Gemma Kearon/ Stephen Byrne 4 - 0 Mark Willis/ Stephanie Domeney
    Jason Cullen/ Martina Scallan 4 - 2 Ann Redmond/ Noel Redmond

S/finals:
    Gates/ McGuiggan 4 - 2 Coyne/ Harte
    Cullen/ Scallan 4 - 3 Kearon/ Byrne

Final:
    Cullen/ Scallan 5 - 1 Gates/ McGuiggan

Singles Results:

Men:

Q/finals:
    Peter Quinn 4 - 5 Tom O'Connor
    David Coyne 0 - 5 William O'Connor
    Sean Marshall 1 - 5 John O'Shea
    Martin Carvill 5 - 1 Des Brennan

S/finals:
    Tom O'Connor 5 - 1 William O'Connor
    John O'Shea 5 - 1 Martin Carvill

Final:
    Tom O'Connor 3 - 6 John O'Shea

Ladies:

Q/finals:
    Ann Redmond bt Martina Scallan
    Maeve O'Connor bt Lisa Ryan
    Linda Harte bt Rachel Belmont
    Sharon O'Brien bt Kelly McGivern

S/finals:
    Ann Redmond 4 - 0 Maeve O'Connor
    Linda Harte 0 - 4 Sharon O'Brien

Final:
    Ann Redmond 1 - 5 Sharon O'Brien

Under-21:

Q/finals:
    David Coyne bt James Howes
    James Gearon bt Steven Mooney
    Anthony Russell bt Dean Hoare
    Stephen Lennon bt Dylan Mason

S/finals:
    David Coyne 1 - 3 James Gearon
    Anthony Russell 3 - 0 Stephen Lennon

Final:
    James Gearon 2 - 4 Anthony Russell

Tramore 'Player of the Year' Awards:
    Men: Jason Cullen {Wexford}
    Ladies: Sharon O'Brien {Kildare}

Total Prize Fund:
    € 4,960 plus Trophies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Anthony Russell

Im Still In Compleate Shock That Ive Won The Under 21 :P.. Not Bad For My 1st ever Tournament :).. Thought James Was Going To Catch Me Though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 eilocon

eilocon wrote: »
    Hi everyone.. I know this is a long shot, but, a darts case was left behind in Tramore yesterday. It is Unicorn case. We rang O'Shea's and it wasn't handed in. So if anyone out there can shed any light on this, we would be very grateful. :(

Anyone find this dart case? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 DamienDarts26

Im Still In Compleate Shock That Ive Won The Under 21 :P.. Not Bad For My 1st ever Tournament :).. Thought James Was Going To Catch Me Though..

Fair play to ya boy

great result and great experience for you to come througha major floor tournament sucessfully.

Bring On Killarney :)

Just wondring.. Can you register on the day for the under 18 singles??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tonmachine

Entries for the Ladies' and Youths' Singles on Sunday will be accepted at the Gleneagle Hotel up to 5.00pm on Saturday - NO ENTRIES ON SUNDAY

What competition are you talking about ?

The Youths Singles This Sunday In Killarney??? Myself And James Howes Were told you can enter On The day Of the Event?? But were Un-sure??

tonmachine wrote: »
    Entries for the Ladies' and Youths' Singles on Sunday will be accepted at the Gleneagle Hotel up to 5.00pm on Saturday - NO ENTRIES ON SUNDAY

On The Leaflet I Have though It Says Youths are able to enter on The day??? If i have to enter saturday night I cant come all the way down from cork??

Hi Anthony, you're on the wrong thread here - - should be on Killarney !