Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny North and Kilkenny south

• 06-08-2010 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭

As a neutral, I feel it's not great for the sport Kilkenny nearly every year win the all-Ireland.

They are obviously far better than anyone else. The very odd time, they underperform, and someone beats them, but I cant think of any other team sport where one team are so far ahead.

Shouldn't they look at splitting the county into 2 county teams, Kilkenny North and Kilkenny south

That would give teams like Galway, Offaly, Clare and Cork the chance to win the all-Ireland every once in a blue moon.

I'm sure either Kilkenny North or Kilkenny South would still win the all-Ireland on most years though...........it's obviously a massive sport there.

I'm sure they will win again this year (and next year, and probaly 8 times in the next 10 years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Seriously could do with locking this thread.

ObviousTroll.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

Kilkenny are doing great at the moment, Just means that when you beat them, it will be twice as sweet.
    Nothing like seen a great team fall and watching your team kicking them when there down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Poor, poor effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We've done this thread already with a Dublin north and south suggestion. Please keep up before posting the same thing again. As the point, it should be one county, one team, not matter which county or sport we are talking about. Now, how about starting a thread with a completely fresh and original topic.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Duuno if that was a troll post, but I'm gonna respond as if it is not intended to be a troll

The reason why KK win the AI every year is because of the huge work that they have done at underage level, this article below gives an insight into it
    How Kilkenny transformed their underage system

Once the Cats began struggling in the mid to late 1990s after a spurt of All Ireland minor and U21 titles in the early part of the decade, they didn't wait for tradition to see them lift trophies again. Ned Quinn, county chairman at the time, set up a steering committee to look at under-age hurling development

In the early noughties they set up development squads at U14, 15, 16 and 17 levels to create a production line to minor panels

Traditional the stronger senior clubs would have dominated the under-age scene at all levels, so they asked clubs to provide three players each, potentially 120 players for every squad from 40 clubs

The development squads are divided into north and south and to manage those teams the board wrote to 40 ex inter-county players when they initiated the project, got 25 positive responses with about 17 former stars still involved

In total there are 38 coaches involved in the squads, and all have done the foundation and level one courses

Only in the past three years have Cork began to similarly overhaul their structures and the problem of dual players is constant, highlighted by the unavailability of senior footballers Aidan Walsh and Ciaran Sheehan to the U21 hurlers recently

There are just two full-time coaches, compared to five on Leeside and a co-ordinator, but Cork has five and a half times the population and resources are divided equally between hurling and football. Which obviously isn't a concern in Kilkenny!

Schools play a major role in Kilkenny. While the traditional Cork strongholds don't dominate the Harty cup any longer - due largely to the number of new secondary schools and the demise of the boarding institutions - on Noreside, St Kierans, Kilkenny CBS and Castlecomer remain competitive at U14, 16 and 18 levels

Good Counsel in New Ross is also a nursery as players from the south of the county go there

The county board are very supportive of the schools' contributions and help out by buying equipment

Lesser hurlers are also catered for in the form of blitzes for players who don't make the school teams. It's strictly organised, nobody from the so-called first team panel can be involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Problem with KK north and KK south is, the 2 of them could start to dominate, then where would be !!

As a neutral i'm hoping they get beaten soon, but on the other hand, it would be nice to see a team finally win 5 in a row.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

[QUOTE=liammur;67317398]Problem with KK north and KK south is, the 2 of them could start to dominate, then where would be !!

As a neutral i'm hoping they get beaten soon, but on the other hand, it would be nice to see a team finally win 5 in a row.[/QUOTE]

Who would win though? My money's on the south...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

No, it's up to other counties to reach the same level as KK.

I don't know that much about KK hurling, but i think it's more a case of waiting for this good team to fall away, rather than the rest catch up. A lot of skill in hurling is being lost, seems to be more about intensity now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

It might start a war between them ,they should build a dividing wall then and they can practice knocking the sliotars of it .

They'd be 2 dirty teams though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Actually there are parts of Kilkenny that never produce a hurler - Graignamanagh springs to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Sorry but that's just a stupid idea, hope you didnt burn too many brain cells thinking up all that..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    Sorry but that's just a stupid idea, hope you didnt burn too many brain cells thinking up all that..:rolleyes:

Exactly - Close this thread

Who wants to see Kilkenny North play Kilkenny South in an All-Ireland Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

i will support which ever one Tommy Walsh is not playing for lol ye cant have a KK hurling thread without the bould TOMMY
    JOKE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

In athletics make a Jamaica North and Jamaica South, In soccer a Brazil North and a Brazil South, in Rugby a New Zeland North and New Zeland South....and so on! You cant just divide a country/county everytime they start to get ahead. What happens if they hit a lull? Reunite them until they get good again??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

Fandango wrote: »
    In athletics make a Jamaica North and Jamaica South, In soccer a Brazil North and a Brazil South, in Rugby a New Zeland North and New Zeland South....and so on! You cant just divide a country/county everytime they start to get ahead. What happens if they hit a lull? Reunite them until they get good again??

New Zealand won only 1 world cup in Rugby in 6 attempts
    Brazil won 2 world cups in the last 10 attempts

Kilkenny won 7 from the last 10. I guess they deserve a lot of credit for being so awesome

Can anyone think of any other team sport where one team were so dominant in a knock out competition ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

MungoMan wrote: »

Kilkenny won 7 from the last 10. I guess they deserve a lot of credit for being so awesome

Can anyone think of any other team sport where one team were so dominant in a knock out competition ?

From 1959 to 1969 the Boston Celtics won 10 NBA championships.

Brazil have won 4 out of the last 5 Copa América.

Egypt have won the last 3 African Nations cups.

From 1947 to 1956 the New York Yankees won 7 World Series.

From 1941 to 1951 the Toronto Maple Leafs won 6 Stanley Cups.

From 1955 to 1965 the Montreal Canadiens won 7 Stanley Cups.

Wigan won 7 Rugby League championships in a row in the 90's

All of these teams dominance have or will come to an end. Just because a team is winning every year there is no need to move the goalposts to suit the others. The others have to improve or wait until the team's performance starts to wane. It is an impetus for others to up their game and the sport will improve overall. This "tying one arm behind the back" nonsense has no place in sport and is detrimental.

The only problem i have with KK is they are a dirty team. Do we want 2 dirty teams ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Make them play in the football championship :D Excuse my ignorance but is there a particular reason for them not playing in the football championships?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Make them play in the football championship :D Excuse my ignorance but is there a particular reason for them not playing in the football championships?

the reason they don't play football is they cant get the ball to balance on their hurls

that's right hurls I tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

the reason they don't play football is they cant get the ball to balance on their hurleys

that's right hurleys I tell you
    Interesting.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Terrible idea tbh. Dominance in sport is all part of it. I hope KK do the five in a row, they are a great team. I know people say tipp left it behind them last year and KK got the penalty but watching it in the nally stand I knew that goal was coming and when it did, they tore tipp apart after. They will lose someday...maybe tomorrow, who knows.

People say the hurling championship is becoming too predictable and boring. Im still think its great, I mean that game between galway and tipp :eek:. And when Kilkenny win games by big margins its still good to watch cause its a pure exhibition of top class hurling.

And I know club is different but Crossmaglen had of 13 County Titles in a row.....and were eventually beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

liammur wrote: »
    The only problem i have with KK is they are a dirty team. Do we want 2 dirty teams ?

Dont think they are a dirty team. They are very physically very strong, they are at least as skillful as any other team and dont get intimadated as easily as other teams. . EVERY top team has a few lads who can mix it with anyone KK are no different and perhaps the Sunday game panelists should start highlighting their tremendous skill rather than sound like whinging handbag begrudgers. Most people mention Tommy Walsh when they talk of KK and they reputation they have gained and this is also quite unfair to continually single out 1 player. Galway, Tipp and Cork all have a few hard men and have all had the chance to beat Tipp over the last few years and if one of them had suceded this reputation would not be mentioned.

One thing that might help other counties catch up is for them to have 2 teams in the national league. Tipp N & S, Cork N & S. Both these counties would be more than competitive. It would also be good for teams in Div 2, 3 and 4 to play against them as they would not get many games with lads as skilful down the divisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

In fairness if you were starting the hurling and football championships from scratch tomorrow (imagine for a moment the games have their current popularity countrywide but there is no All-Irelands, only local games and local leagues) with the intention of having a competitive 32 team setup, then I don't think you'd use anything like the current system.

In hurling places like Kilkenny/Cork/Waterford/Tipp etc would have two or three representatives with other regions (north Connaught, Ulster, Noth East Leinster) being merged to have 1 team covering what is currently 2+ counties.

Ditto in football big population centres like Dublin and Cork would have more than 3 or 4 entrants in the competition, and other counties would be merged into regional teams. Anyone who suggested using the old British county system would be looked at rather quizzically.

But we are where we are - people are hugely proud to wear and cheer the county colours. And the system, though far from perfect, does work.

Excuse my ignorance but is there a particular reason for them not playing in the football championships?

The reason Kilkenny don't play in the football championship, the only county that doesn't, is because the county board don't put the work into it. For that, they should be fired. Although Kilkenny don't play in the championship, they have more success in football than many other counties that do. They have won the Leinster Championship 3 times. The they last won may have been back in 1911, but they have more provincial titles than some participating counties, and some of those counties have to go back further than 1991 for their last one. Clare and Leitrim have just 2. Westmeath only won their first in 2004. Longford have only one as do Waterford and Carlow. We remember that Limerick recently got close to their second, the last being in 1896, so they only have 1. Wicklow and Fermanagh have never won a provincial title. So that is 9 counties with less titles than Kilkenny. Sligo's Connacht championship win in 2007 brought them level with Kilkenny.

So if all of those counties can enter a team in the Championship, then so should Kilkenny. Now that he looks like he will be available, the Kilkenny county board should ring Mick O'Dwyer. There are other high profile managers available too. They could at least bring them to a competitive level. There is no excuse. Despite what they will say, there is some interest in Gaelic Football in Kilkenny. They've got so many good hurlers, that players that would walk onto any team in the country, haven't a hope of even getting close to the panel. A lot of them would make good footballers. A lot of high profile Kilkenny hurlers are known to be good footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Whats club football in kilkenny like? No point in having an intercounty team if clubs have trouble fielding teams.

As for the OPs suggestion......having 2 kilkenny teams would be punishing them for being better than everyone else. It should be up to the other county to improve their setups from underage all the ways up to senior. Something many counties are years behind kilkenny in.

Kilkenny do have a county team. They just don't enter it into the championship. So in Kilkenny you can find enough players to put together a panel. If you asked them if they would like to win the Sam Maguire, do you think they'd say no? Of course not, so that is your starting point. There are players there. It just needs the county board to step up to the mark. They can start by ringing Micko.

If you think about it, the Kilkenny footballers are actually on a par with the hurlers. They haven't lost a championship match in the last few years either. :) In fact they haven't lost one since the late 1970s. So their hurlers have a long way to go to equal that.

MungoMan wrote: »

I know :) I was stuck for teams to choose so went for obvious names instead of actual success hehe.

Another obvious one that comes to mind btw would be Man U who won i think 8 Premiership Titles including the treble in 11 years from 92-03 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Ridiculous idea. Ridiculous thread. It is not the fault of Kilkenny that the others are so far behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

The Kilkenny footballers are shockingly poor for an inter-county outfit. My club team played against them a few years ago in Kilkenny. At the time we were an average intermediate outfit and after we spent a night on the beer they only beat us by a point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Ridiculous idea. Ridiculous thread. It is not the fault of Kilkenny that the others are so far behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

If Cork beat KK tomorrow then this thread is surely finished.

Its finished anyway :D Dont think anyone is even entertaining the idea. All a ruling like this would cause is brilliant teams to underperform due to fear of being cut in two hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

liammur wrote: »

You can keep saying that, it doesn't make it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Time to lock this ridiculous thread up.