Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheriff confiscates property developer's (Paddy Kelly) BMW

• 06-08-2010 2:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

In this morning's Irish Times, the sheriff has apparently confiscated Paddy Kelly's BMW and Kelly is - as is par for the course with all these developers - claiming that the sheriff had no right to confiscate it as the car belonged to his wife.

Kelly still owns a massive house on Shrewsbury Road, even if he's now living in Morehampton Road, also in Dublin 4.

He owes the banks €350 million, by his own admission. He should be, at best, living off the state in social housing. It's obscene that he has anything given that he owes so much, never mind luxury cars and homes in the most expensive part of Ireland.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, it's nauseating and in fact makes me very angry. But this is Ireland, a corrupt little statelet where the powerful and rich are protected.

I'll bet the b*stard has his house in his wife's name also.:mad: They all do this for this very contingency.

I see Johnny Ronan's still lunching in Patrick Guilbauds these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭yutta

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Yes, it's nauseating and in fact makes me very angry. But this is Ireland, a corrupt little statelet where the powerful and rich are protected.

I'll bet the b*stard has his house in his wife's name also.:mad: They all do this for this very contingency.
    You've probably got a higher net wealth.

If he still has his gaff, he made a shrewd move by not gambling it.

Maybe his friend is paying for the lunch? And what business is it of yours where he goes for lunch?

Not all of us can compete with the big fish, which has its risks (and its perks).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

My Dad always said, if you owe the bank 10,000 they send you threatening letters. If you owe them 10 Million, they take you out for lunch.

Tis true for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Peter C

The BMW is worth about 15K at most now, I wonder would the same headlines have been made if it was a 20K Avensis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The BMW is worth about 15K at most now, I wonder would the same headlines have been made if it was a 20K Avensis!
    Yep, spot on. The papers are loving the idea that a big luxury car has been seized, but in reality the car isn't worth that much. It's not like he's been flaunting wealth, sticking two fingers up to everyone for the last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Peter C wrote: »

Well if the Sherriff can take a 20k avensis off a Plumber, or an IT manager, or a Publican who are 100k in debt, why shouldn't he be able to take a BMW off someone who owes 350 million?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

.....Yeah I'm sure all the stuff he owns now belongs to his wife

When you owe €350 million they're entitled to take the socks off his feet!

LOVE how they are cracking down of politicians and cowboy developers...

Its reminds me of the hunt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

His wife is a very rich woman by her own right, and was before she met him.

Both the house on Shrewsbury Rd (I am not sure if they still actually own that) and the one on Morehampton Road were bought, and are owned, by his wife.

He owes the money, not his wife. They can't take anything belonging to the wife, which was bought and always owned by her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

I did not know Dublin had a Sheriff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

reprazant wrote: »
    His wife is a very rich woman by her own right, and was before she met him.

Both the house on Shrewsbury Rd (I am not sure if they still actually own that) and the one on Morehampton Road were bought, and are owned, by his wife.

He owes the money, not his wife. They can't take anything belonging to the wife, which was bought and always owned by her.

How come when wealthy men get divorced they have to give half to the wife because she helped him earn it. But when a guy is 350 million in debt its nothing to do with her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

20Cent wrote: »
    How come when wealthy men get divorced they have to give half to the wife because she helped him earn it. But when a guy is 350 million in debt its nothing to do with her?

No because he is personally liable, not her.

She was rich before he met her. He did not make her rich. In fact, if anything, it was her money which helped him become a property developer in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Dionysus wrote: »
    In this morning's Irish Times, the sheriff has apparently confiscated Paddy Kelly's BMW and Kelly is - as is par for the course with all these developers - claiming that the sheriff had no right to confiscate it as the car belonged to his wife.

Kelly still owns a massive house on Shrewsbury Road, even if he's now living in Morehampton Road, also in Dublin 4.

He owes the banks €350 million, by his own admission. He should be, at best, living off the state in social housing. It's obscene that he has anything given that he owes so much, never mind luxury cars and homes in the most expensive part of Ireland.

its all smokescreen , the day i see, the bert , cowen , callilly , etc in ornge suits and leg irons i will know something has changed in ireland but its about same chance as paisley becoming pope .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

mp3guy wrote: »
    he even wears a badge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Imagine being able to tell people you were a Sheriff when they asked you what you did for a living. You could even hook your thumbs in your belt and spit beside your boot for effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Me too. But look here:
    Mr Kelly said he had never owned the car and that the sheriff’s office had evidence the car was in his wife’s name prior to seizing it. Last month Mr Kelly told The Irish Times that he had bought the car in 2003 for €139,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

No because he is personally liable, not her.

She was rich before he met her. He did not make her rich. In fact, if anything, it was her money which helped him become a property developer in the first place.

So it is all her fault then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

FWIW the City Sherrifs office are actually very helpful, and not the typical tough man that just comes to your premises, raids the place and leaves...they're actually quite helpful and will do what they can to accommodate you....still not nice to be dealing with them though, Unfortunately I speak from experience :(

Ireland has a sheriff? Does he wear one of these hats too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

My auld fella knew Paddy Kelly through business and what not. Kelly turned up at the wake for my father 2 years ago. He was in with the corpse, and I was busying myself with seeing to the guests. I walked into the room, and there was Kelly, trying to wrestle the cufflinks off the corpse!

This did not actually happen. But the guy did roll up to the house in the most opulent car I've seen in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

yutta wrote: »

Maybe his friend is paying for the lunch? And what business is it of yours where he goes for lunch?

Not all of us can compete with the big fish, which has its risks (and its perks).
    Hey it's that re-reg dude again!

Your style is so obnoxious I can spot you from 2 posts in at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What has that got to do with anything?
    Treasury Holdings has a lot of assets and is still paying their loans.

NAMA may have taken over their loans but the money is being paid back and loans serviced.
    Just because your business loans are taken over by NAMA doesn't mean you aren't doing well and cannot pay your debts
    So what's the problem here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

. In fact, if anything, it was her money which helped him become a property developer in the first place.

Then she is 100% liable, time to send the sherrif to the wife me thinks......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Just because your business loans are taken over by NAMA doesn't mean you aren't doing well and cannot pay your debts
    To be fair, he looks like a nobber of the highest order.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

What has that got to do with anything?
    Treasury Holdings has a lot of assets and is still paying their loans.

NAMA may have taken over their loans but the money is being paid back and loans serviced.

Actually, Treasury have made huge losses but they were shrewd enough to get into property development in China which is still bringing in lots of money for them - for now. Interesting that NAMA itself is housed in the building that Treasury themselves own...

My point was that the property developers are still swanning around, flaunting their opulent lifestyles with mansions, big cars etc. in the faces of the little people like me and others who are left picking up the pieces of the ruin that this country is in - thankjs to same said developers, bankers and FFers.

They are basically giving us all the two finger gesture and the powers that be are letting them away with it:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

yutta wrote: »

Nor could Johny Ronan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the sheriff is a nig...bong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's now called Dodge City, for financial reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Highly likely that this will go way over the heads of the majority here but for me lol great memory. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I done take in his mount and I'ma goin' after his ranch. Clean up this town...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The sherrif is a near.

The best was the old granny..........."up yours n.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Actually, Treasury have made huge losses but they were shrewd enough to get into property development in China which is still bringing in lots of money for them - for now. Interesting that NAMA itself is housed in the building that Treasury themselves own...

My point was that the property developers are still swanning around, flaunting their opulent lifestyles with mansions, big cars etc. in the faces of the little people like me and others who are left picking up the pieces of the ruin that this country is in - thankjs to same said developers, bankers and FFers.

They are basically giving us all the two finger gesture and the powers that be are letting them away with it:mad:

Property in China.......hmmmmmmmmmm

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/property/news/article.cfm?c_id=8&objectid=10664192

mikom wrote: »
    The sherrif is a near.

For me

Well, it got so that every piss-ant prairie punk who thought he could shoot a gun would ride into town to try out the Waco Kid. I must have killed more men than Cecil B. DeMille. It got pretty gritty. I started to hear the word "draw" in my sleep. Then one day, I was just walking down the street when I heard a voice behind me say, "Reach for it, mister!" I spun around... and there I was, face-to-face with a six-year old kid. Well, I just threw my guns down and walked away. Little bastard shot me in the ass. So I limped to the nearest saloon, crawled inside a whiskey bottle, and I've been there ever since.

I was rofl :D

Thread Hijack Btw Sorry.

mikom wrote: »
    The sherrif is a near.

i'd like to give a laurel, and hardy handshake to our new....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

He's needed cos the place is full of cowboys :p

i'd like to give a laurel, and hardy handshake to our new....

Have you gone berserk? Can't you see that man is a ni?

'ill make all the neccessary arrangements'

'especially the funeral':D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Pity the Sheriff could not clean up the IFSC which is known as the 'Wild West of Finance'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

seamus wrote: »
    Yep, spot on. The papers are loving the idea that a big luxury car has been seized, but in reality the car isn't worth that much. It's not like he's been flaunting wealth, sticking two fingers up to everyone for the last year.

Paddy Kelly is the prime example of people still flaunting it! He makes a point of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Paddy Kelly owes the bank and us a fortune but seams to be flaunting the fact , still lives in dublin 4 .
    He's got his precious car back
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0807/1224276381318.html

Like all our white collar gamblers hes handed everything over to his wife , so he aint going to go hungry - so the average punter who owes the bank anything less than 100 k will be hounded while any Fianna fail donating developer still enjoys the high life

only in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

"The sheriff is an officer of the court and is charged with recovering unpaid debt to businesses and banks, and it also works on behalf of the Revenue Commissioners, They are also supplied with horses along with the Garda mounted unit".

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wifes-bmw-taken-to-embarrass-us-says-developer-2288085.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Well thank God they sorted out this little mix up

He looks really happy, bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

About time....how the hell would he have been able to drive about all the sites that he owes millions on??
    Public transport...i don't think so...it's fairly unreliable at the best of times due to years of under investment.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

He is "unapologetic" about his depts of €350m to various banks... Its funny really cause ordinarily we would not expect him to be and we would laugh at the banks stupidity for lending all this money with no guarantee of repayment.

But now we just feel like fools because its us the taxpayer that has had to pick up this €350m bill and these guys continue to drive their 7 series - albeit only a 2003:rolleyes: - and live in their Aylesbury Rd mansions.

We need to take to the streets...:)

He's such a failure in life but still drives around like he's achieved something.. You can guarantee a couple owing 50k in negative equity after selling their house would get their lives torn apart more that this guy owing hundreds of millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So his wife has two cars and he has none?
    Are they insured in her name with him as a named driver? Taxed by her?

Fecking typical that these guys gets away with signing over their things to the wife and avoid bailiffs.

Look at him smiling there "haha, I'm better than you all".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

he is in the paper jangling his keys at the little people of ireland and
    shouting

LOADS o MONEY!!:pac:

N o
    A problem
    M oney
    A alway the ultimate authority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

biko wrote: »
    So his wife has two cars and he has none?
    Are they insured in her name with him as a named driver? Taxed by her?

I don't understand how the rich get away with signing things over to their wifes.
    If you assessed for a medical card or social welfare then both are assessed together. No such thing as saying them savings are my wifes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

moonpurple wrote: »
    he is in the paper jangling his keys at the little people of ireland and
    shouting

LOADS o MONEY!!:pac:

N o
    A problem
    M oney
    A alway the ultimate authority

Lest we forget that while Paddy Kelly admits to owing €350million his son, Simon Kelly, is nothing to be sneezed at. This comment of his when NAMA took over his debts earlier this year says so much about our current political system:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

And on The Irish Times this evening it is reported that this Paddy Kelly guy has been given his car back and there's a lovely picture of this parasite on the website waving "his" car keys and smiling at the camera:

To think that Irish law protects these bastards. Paddy Kelly, Simon Kelly, Johnny Ronan, Seán Dunne and all the rest of them just sign over everything (except their debts) to a relative and continue to live the high life. This Kelly senior guy has not one but two homes in Dublin 4, including on Shrewsbury Road. And yet we, people who could not enjoy anything like this, are saddled with his €350 million debts. Disgusting. Immoral. And all supported, and protected, by the state named Ireland. Never lose sight of that.

This is part of the greatest betrayal in Ireland's history. From expenses - O Donoghue, Rody Molloy, Ivor Callely (and all the others whom I simply forget) to bailing out banks to the tune of tens of billions to bailing out entrepreneurs and developers to giving enormous pensions to politicians and senior civil servants the conscious people of Ireland are getting the two-fingers from this state on a daily basis. Not weekly, daily.

There's no shame, no shame. No pride. No honour. No patriotism. No belief in Ireland's future from any of the people who are calling the shots in the Irish state today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

An awful lot of people would agree with the above post.