Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banned

• 06-08-2010 12:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

Have you ever owned anything that was banned or illegal to own or view in this country?

(NOT Drugs though, there's been enough threads about them at this stage).

Growing up, there was always a few movies being passed around that were banned at the time (or so we were told).

Some I remember that I seen:

Clockwork Orange, Life of Brian, Meaning Of Life, Spit On Your Grave, Night Child, Deep Throat.

As for Books, my cousin bought me a copy of Madonna's Sex in Belfast when it was banned here but I could get Playboy at the back of Funderland on O'Connell St for years :)

Remember also having to get music from the UK by mail order as it was illeagl to sell the unedited versions here.

Stuff like 2 Live Crew and Bodycount which Virgin and HMV would tell us they were unable to sell unedited.

A mate (your honour) also had a two Traci Lords movies called, 'What Gets Me Hot' and 'Those Young Girls' - she looked at least 21 in them which suited me as I liked older women .. back then :p

So how' about you, what have you owned or viewed that was banned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 The Grammar Police!

Pepper Spray and Poteen....but not at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Were the "Childs Play" movies banned for a few years (after the Bulger case in the UK) or was that a myth ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

but you're in the police so it's ok..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

If Manhunt on PS2 was ever banned then that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I was given painkillers that were subsequently banned for causing liver failure a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

What's Poteen?

Boy, I'm learning alot today! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

weed something really nice about walking past a cop with an ounce of weed on your person :D and them to look at you like any other person :pac:

Id like to thank visualisation tip from The movie Blow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

What's Poteen?

Boy, I'm learning alot today! :D

It's actually Poitín , a drink brewed from spuds that will blow your head off. Spent 3 days drunk on it in a former life :o

I think ^^^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

replica gun?

are bongs illegal now? or is it just the selling of them (is that law actually in place?)

used as an anastethic for calves say if you were operating or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A grenade!.. Seriously!.. We exploded it in some fields in Ballymun :D

there's still some scumbags left tho :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

weed something really nice about walking past a cop with an ounce of weed on your person :D and them to look at you like any other person :pac:

I thought of Tim Roth in Reservoir Dogs, I wouldn't fancy playing out that scene as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

An origional copy of "they never came home" by Christy Moore.

http://www.triskelle.eu/lyrics/theynevercamehome.php?index=080.010.080.010

*Try sitting in a car with half a kilo of coke in the glovebox while the local Garda hangs in the window discussing the result of the local hurling game while you are coming up on an acid tab. :eek:

* Might not be true

Kasabian wrote: »
    *Try sitting in a car with half a kilo of coke in the glovebox while the local Garda hangs in the window discussing the result of the local hurling game while you are coming up on an acid tab. :eek:

* Might not be true

when you say a kilo of coke are you sure it was'nt like a third of a kilo of coke with 2 1/3rds some other white powder :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

*Calls guards...looks at Avatar....calls ERU*

A few things, but not gonna say them here, still have a few lying around! :D

when you say a kilo of coke are you sure it was'nt like a third of a kilo of coke with 2 1/3rds some other white powder :)

*It could have been sugar for all I knew :pac:

Edit , I meant Can of Coke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Mine's pretty lame, on coming home after working in the states where I had a tooth pulled, I brought back with me a bottle of seriously strong prescription painkillers. They were unreal, and even better when mixed with alcohol. I can't for the life of me remember what they were called though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Have you ever owned anything that was banned or illegal to own or view in this country?

Growing up, there was always a few movies being passed around that were banned at the time (or so we were told).

Clockwork Orange, Life of Brian, Meaning Of Life, Spit On Your Grave, Night Child, Deep Throat.

As for Books, my cousin bought me a copy of Madonna's Sex in Belfast when it was banned here but I could get Playboy at the back of Funderland on O'Connell St for years :)

Remember also having to get music from the UK by mail order as it was illeagl to sell the unedited versions here.

Stuff like 2 Live Crew and Bodycount which Virgin and HMV would tell us they were unable to sell unedited.

A mate (your honour) also had a two Traci Lords movies called, 'What Gets Me Hot' and 'Those Young Girls' - she looked at least 21 in them which suited me as I liked older women .. back then :p

NO guard, i swear ,nothing.gtfo pete.why would you want ppl to incriminate themselves on a public forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Mine's pretty lame, on coming home after working in the states where I had a tooth pulled, I brought back with me a bottle of seriously strong prescription painkillers. They were unreal, and even better when mixed with alcohol. I can't for the life of me remember what they were called though.

Thought you were gonna say you got stopped and had to explain they were for your sick goat and you had to get a russian to explain your story to the officials!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

My friend’s older brother had a taser.

I remember myself the younger brother and another lad where messing about with it and a moth landed on the other lads finger. We decided it would be a great idea to try taser it to death. Of course the voltage ran straight down my mates hand and he collapsed on the floor in bits.

Funny as fuck it was. Couldn’t stop laughing. He was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

* Might not be true

*try getting strip searched with 50 yolks down your balls and getting away with it ;)

*this is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

After reading post no 23 and 24 i rest my case:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I have two ninja stars that I bought in Poland a couple of years ago (no problem bringing them home on the plane). I also have an old samurai sword I bought in Balina, Mayo, 6 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I have two ninja stars that I bought in Poland a couple of years ago

Wanna see my brown star?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I know a person that was banned for being the most stupid and irrelevant self absorbed so called Journalist that ever graced the ink of a Irish newspaper.
    See here: http://www.bebo.com/c/photos/view?MemberId=12145583&PhotoAlbumId=5318392211&PhotoId=5318445874#photoId=5318402153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Doc wrote: »
    My friend’s older brother had a taser.

Is his name Mici?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Is his name Mici?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

I know a person that was banned for being the most stupid and irrelevant self absorbed so called Journalist that ever graced the ink of a Irish newspaper.
    See here: http://www.bebo.com/c/photos/view?MemberId=12145583&PhotoAlbumId=5318392211&PhotoId=5318445874#photoId=5318402153

can you care to explain what he did wrong. Forgive me ignorance in advance!

*Calls guards...looks at Avatar....calls ERU*

A few things, but not gonna say them here, still have a few lying around! :D

Go to a old castle ruins or church ruins You will find things obvously with a metal dector :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I also have an old samurai sword I bought in Balina, Mayo, 6 years ago.

Hattori Hanzo: What brings you to Ballina?
    The Bride: I'm here to see a man.
    Hattori Hanzo: Oh yeah? You have a friend living in Swinford?
    The Bride: Not quite.
    Hattori Hanzo: Not a friend?
    The Bride: I've never met him.
    Hattori Hanzo: Never? Who is he, may I ask?
    The Bride: Hattori Hanzo.
    Hattori Hanzo: [Serious, switches to Traveller speak] What do you want with Hattori Hanzo?
    The Bride: [Traveller speak] I need Mayo steel.
    Hattori Hanzo: [Traveller speak] Why do you need Mayo steel?
    The Bride: [Traveller speak] I have vermin to kill.
    Hattori Hanzo: [English] You must have big rats if you need Hattori Hanzo's steel.
    The Bride: ... Huge... boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I though this was going to be about an outed troll :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Ricardo G wrote: »
    Were the "Childs Play" movies banned for a few years (after the Bulger case in the UK) or was that a myth ?

Not banned xtravision withdrew them after the (false) publicity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

It's actually Poitín , a drink brewed from spuds that will blow your head off. Spent 3 days drunk on it in a former life :o

I think ^^^^

Thank you. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sword about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

cruiser178 wrote: »
    NO guard, i swear ,nothing.gtfo pete.why would you want ppl to incriminate themselves on a public forum?

You can say you did anything you want online, it does not mean you actually did it. They have to prove you did it. you can say you imported weapons grade enriched uranium if you wish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I wanted to be a least made the false promise of a yellow speedboat before I start squealing. Nothing illegal now though, I think they are all decomposed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

A **** sock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

mikom wrote: »
    Hattori Hanzo: What brings you to Ballina?
    The Bride: I'm here to see a man.
    Hattori Hanzo: Oh yeah? You have a friend living in Swinford?
    The Bride: Not quite.
    Hattori Hanzo: Not a friend?
    The Bride: I've never met him.
    Hattori Hanzo: Never? Who is he, may I ask?
    The Bride: Hattori Hanzo.
    Hattori Hanzo: [Serious, switches to Traveller speak] What do you want with Hattori Hanzo?
    The Bride: [Traveller speak] I need Mayo steel.
    Hattori Hanzo: [Traveller speak] Why do you need Mayo steel?
    The Bride: [Traveller speak] I have vermin to kill.
    Hattori Hanzo: [English] You must have big rats if you need Hattori Hanzo's steel.
    The Bride: ... Huge... boss.

I'm laughing so much right now, that's great!:pac::pac:

I don't think I've ever had anything illegal,I'm not sure.
    Were those things that you plug into the back of your playstation so you could play copied games illegal?If so,then yeah,I had one of those.
    Best thing ever.
    Probably bought a few things that were nicked over the years at markets and that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

An origional copy of "they never came home" by Christy Moore.

http://www.triskelle.eu/lyrics/theynevercamehome.php?index=080.010.080.010

Is there anywhere online that a copy of the FULL UNEDITED version of The Dubliner's Seven Drunken Nights can be found?

I can only ever find the one with five verses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is his name Mici?

Why would you cal a Tasar Mici:confused:

I had one of those Box thingys, but mainly because despite having dug a hole outside my house, put a cable in it and wired it up to all the TV sockets indoors, still refused to accept that we actually existed so would not sell me their digital service. It was good though, as they weren't charging me either.

i also has an FM CB radio when they were banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭seawolf145

I thougt everything was illegal in this countryicon8.gif.Atleast compared to the rest of the world.icon12.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I still have that Bodycount album, got it in Freebird records I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

M5 wrote: »
    You can say you did anything you want online, it does not mean you actually did it. They have to prove you did it. you can say you imported weapons grade enriched uranium if you wish :D

Funny you should mention that....:pac::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Had some CS Gas spray for a few years. I actually lost it one night in town and always hoped that some lunatic didn't find it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

penthouse...it showed fanny...playboy was for chaps

that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I had an iTrip for the few months before they amended the radio broadcast law to allow them.

I know, I'm a disgrace and should be locked up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, no further comment.
    I reserve the right not to indite myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I remember that Christina Aguilera music video "Dirrty" or "Darrty" was banned from day time tv so I used to have stay awake until after midnight so I could go for the most filthiest **** to that video, i had stored up all my goo during the evening and when 12 "came" I would splooge my ectoplasm all over delicately folded tissues... oohhh durrty!