Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Healy-Rea on Today Fm

• 05-08-2010 06:49PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭

Well whats your opinion of him on the Last word yesterday? He sounds like a right chancer, wouldn't even give a straight answer.....as bad a FF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Is he a pig farmer?

Didnt hear him on the radio, but i had the misfortune of seeing him on tv before.

Reflects very badly on us that he can make it to the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Heard it myself. He's obviously lacking in economic policy knowledge and was genuinely stumped by several questions. He's the worse example of a goombeen politician in Ireland, and it's trying baffling how his constituants actually vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Heard it myself. He's obviously lacking in economic policy knowledge and was genuinely stumped by several questions. He's the worse example of a goombeen politician in Ireland, and it's trying baffling how his constituants actually vote for him.

indeed its a mystery to me why the culchie gombeens vote for healy raes and the likes , surely those sopistacated urbane super intelligent dubliners would never vote for anything dumb like that , so explain me the bert and gormless and that bicycle shop minster ,sadly stupidy in this blessed isle is nationwide .

There's no doubt we're the architects of our own downfall voting for the likes of ahern, and healy rae - just to mention 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭flutered

can any one show me 3 tds that do not lack economic know how.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

flutered wrote: »
    can any one show me 3 tds that do not lack economic know how.

do you mean now or in our entire history since independance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

Doom wrote: »
    Well whats your opinion of him on the Last word yesterday? He sounds like a right chancer, wouldn't even give a straight answer.....as bad a FF

I was in Kerry at the last election. His election posters were clearly marked as "Independent Fianna Fail". Surprisingly, Fianna Fail didn't seem to have a problem with this usurping of their "trademark" by him.

As for the chancer, I suspect you'd find, he dumbs down and does a "man of the people" act. If I remember rightly, a fellow politician on one of the Dail committees said that more than one senior civil servant has come off on the wrong end of a dissection from JHR when appearing before the committee with half-baked information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭doc_17

He's slower than soil erosion

3 tds.....i'd go for: ruairi quinn, noonan, r bruton - and in that order.

Not sure if r quinn is still a td ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

danbohan wrote: »
    do you mean now or in our entire history since independance ?

What independence? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

A member of parliament in Ireland represents first and foremost (and in many cases solely) the interests of their local constituency. Jackie Healy Rae does this, and has done this well for years. Hence he gets voted back in time and again. Simples

I'm not pretending this is the way to govern a country but I don't see why people keep asking this question over and over in wonderment, our system does not work, it never really has properly. Few of our national politicians are capable or have the time to think nationally because they are too busy holding local clinics and getting potholes filled and planning permissions tweaked, its a flawed system and unless it changes to separate national interest from local it will continue to be so. End of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Is that the muppet that refused point-blank to answer Anton Savage's question about whether the expenses system was wrong by repeatedly saying "it's the system, it's the system" ?

Top-notch interviewing by Savage.....showing up the idiot for what he is - someone with zero interest in fixing the problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

danbohan wrote: »
    indeed its a mystery to me why the culchie gombeens vote for healy raes and the likes , surely those sopistacated urbane super intelligent dubliners would never vote for anything dumb like that , so explain me the bert and gormless and that bicycle shop minster ,sadly stupidy in this blessed isle is nationwide .

This isnt a Dublin v Country thing, its an intelligence v idiot thing . .

There are plenty of cringeworthy idiotic politicians and plenty of clever politicians who will feck things up. Healy Rae comes across as a complete an utter thicko, who's sons are also screwing us for every expense possible. (coming on radio and saying they only get 349 per week after claiming over 200k in expenses! Either they are idiots, they think we are idiots or they just arent very good at maths!). . .Its not just his accent, ANYTIME I have heard him he comes across as pretty poorly educated in whatever he is talking about..

Bertie being voted in was understandable, although hindsight would suggest otherwise. At the time he had shown intelligence and leadership (Healy Rae has never shown either) and the country seemed to be doing well under his tenure. The fact that he brought our country to its knees just shows that he fooled us all (or really that he just got caught up in his own hype and never saw the crash coming) . .

How anybody could ever be fooled by the complete and utter lack of intelligence that Rae shows is beyond me and unforgivable. With that in mind what other conclusion can anybody come to as to why he gets voted in ? Would you want "ernest saves christmas" running the country ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It was Michael Healy Rae. Cut from the same cloth as the Father. In fairness, himself and the brother are easy to put on the front of a paper, they don't appear to have been dipping into the greasy till anymore than other fine upstanding councillers around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Drumpot wrote: »
    Bertie being voted in was understandable, although hindsight would suggest otherwise. At the time he had shown intelligence and leadership (Healy Rae has never shown either) and the country seemed to be doing well under his tenure. The fact that he brought our country to its knees just shows that he fooled us all (or really that he just got caught up in his own hype and never saw the crash coming) . . How anybody could ever be fooled by the complete and utter lack of intelligence that Rae shows is beyond me and unforgivable.

Whilst I don't think much of ahern, I doubt he deliberately steered Ireland towards Recession. Rather, I think it was simply a case of not wanting to admit he was wrong and not having the decency to do the right thing. Hardly forgiveable either way mind.

Anyway, as to Healy Rea, well he would be the number one example of how people in this country vote. The guy gets elected again and again because he's the man his constituents vote for and it's really as simple as that. In his local area, I think he actually gets things done so when election time rolls around, people won't be thinking of the bigger picture but of the man who got that pothole filled or bought them a pint of whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Is that the muppet that refused point-blank to answer Anton Savage's question about whether the expenses system was wrong by repeatedly saying "it's the system, it's the system" ?

Top-notch interviewing by Savage.....showing up the idiot for what he is - someone with zero interest in fixing the problems.

at first i thought it was gift grub liam:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Sergeant wrote: »
    It was Michael Healy Rae. Cut from the same cloth as the Father. In fairness, himself and the brother are easy to put on the front of a paper, they don't appear to have been dipping into the greasy till anymore than other fine upstanding councillers around the country.

One of the brothers is a councillor and the highest paid contractor by the very council he serves on. There's definitely no conflict there and if there is "It's the System, It's the System"

They all "ate their dinner in the middle of the day", you know:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Sergeant wrote: »

The sh1t doesn't fall far from the bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Politicions like this prove to me at least, that we need more business minded people with some actual smarts to be in power. Someone like Micheal O'Leary would be a great minister for finance, or at least a spokesman for finance on the competition side, to keep the other side in check... just sayin like.

And yes, a previous poster had it right, OUR SYSTEM DOESNT WORK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

View wrote: »
    As for the chancer, I suspect you'd find, he dumbs down and does a "man of the people" act. If I remember rightly, a fellow politician on one of the Dail committees said that more than one senior civil servant has come off on the wrong end of a dissection from JHR when appearing before the committee with half-baked information.

From what I have been told he does the election rounds in a beat up banger and keeps the fancy newer car out of sight.
    liammur wrote: »
    3 tds.....i'd go for: ruairi quinn, noonan, r bruton - and in that order.

Not sure if r quinn is still a td ?

Yes he is and one of our best minsiters for finance.
    Oh and AFAIK he was using public transport to get to the Dail long before the greens ever got their ar**es next or near the place.
    He wasn't making a bloody song and dance about it neither.
    Drumpot wrote: »
    Bertie being voted in was understandable, although hindsight would suggest otherwise. At the time he had shown intelligence and leadership (Healy Rae has never shown either) and the country seemed to be doing well under his tenure. The fact that he brought our country to its knees just shows that he fooled us all (or really that he just got caught up in his own hype and never saw the crash coming) . .

How anybody could ever be fooled by the complete and utter lack of intelligence that Rae shows is beyond me and unforgivable. With that in mind what other conclusion can anybody come to as to why he gets voted in ? Would you want "ernest saves christmas" running the country ?

Actually I claim voting for bertie was far less undertandable than voting for healy-rae.
    ahern had proven to be dodgy with a lot longer list of unexplainable actions and unexplainable financial tranasctions than healy-rae could ever dream of.
    Yet you hold him in higher esteem because he exhibited more leadership and supposedly more intelligence ?
    Do you rate moral fibre and ethics low down on your list of requirements in a public representative ?

Not saying healy-rae is some shingin light when it comes to any of the above.

BTW speak for yourself when you claim bertie fooled us all. :mad:

I am not allowed discuss …

Good points re bertie ahern. His book was a desperate seller, people copped onto him too late unfortunately. He was very slow to give back his pension too. He saw himself right at every turn, reminds me a bit like callely. When he came out with his suicide comments, I can't understand how we allowed him to continue as taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

liammur wrote: »
    Good points re bertie ahern. His book was a desperate seller, people copped onto him too late unfortunately. He was very slow to give back his pension too. He saw himself right at every turn, reminds me a bit like callely. When he came out with his suicide comments, I can't understand how we allowed him to continue as taoiseach.

People should have copped on sooner when they saw some of the loud clothes he was wearing.......ie clown clothes and then he started telling jokes at the tribunal. Enough said.

Correct.

Will he go down as the worst leader we ever had? Or would haughey be regarded as worse?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Ah well, time will tell.....am sure he's far from the 'nice, down to earth, i'll look after kerrray people' man he claims to be, if he was he would admit that councillers and Mayors do not need a big expense account.
    The people deserve the fools they elect...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭McDougal

The Healy-Reas consider themselves to be independent Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

jmayo wrote: »
    Actually I claim voting for bertie was far less undertandable than voting for healy-rae.
    ahern had proven to be dodgy with a lot longer list of unexplainable actions and unexplainable financial tranasctions than healy-rae could ever dream of.
    Yet you hold him in higher esteem because he exhibited more leadership and supposedly more intelligence ?
    Do you rate moral fibre and ethics low down on your list of requirements in a public representative ?

Not saying healy-rae is some shingin light when it comes to any of the above.

BTW speak for yourself when you claim bertie fooled us all. :mad:

Wrong . . . .

Where did I say I held bertie in high esteem ?

Bertie was capable of running a country . . We now know that he was not capable of having the foresight to plan for the bad years, but he was able to run it . . Nobody could foresee what would happen . .

Healy Rae hasnt even the public appearance of being competent or intelligent. .

Voting in Bertie after his disgraceful performance in the tribunal showed lack of moral courage, but it still did not disguise the fact that the country had been doing well under his tenure (and afterall that is a taoiseachs job, to run the country). But what you speak of is a completely differant argument, your about morals v cute hoors . So you assume Healy Rae is morally sound and his sons with their 200k expenses . . ;0

If Bertie is re-elected now then there is something wrong with his constituants but in terms of being a leader of the country in 2007, they voted for a competent politician.

Fool me once, shame on you. . Fool me twice shame on me . .

Fool me when I am voting for a complete and utter obvious moron . . Shame on you . .

In terms of Competency of being able to do a good job for the country, Bertie in 2007 looked a far more credible (if not dodgy) candidate as a politician then Healy Rae . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭McDougal

Politicions like this prove to me at least, that we need more business minded people with some actual smarts to be in power. Someone like Micheal O'Leary would be a great minister for finance, or at least a spokesman for finance on the competition side, to keep the other side in check... just sayin like.

And yes, a previous poster had it right, OUR SYSTEM DOESNT WORK!

Any poster who claims Michael O'Leary would be a good finance minister should be negated.

In fairness, there is no comparison between healy-rae and ahern. Healy-rae is not presentable,

Drumpot,however, a comment such as this blatantly wrong

'Nobody could foresee what would happen '

Ahern was warned several times by the Economist etc that the economy was overheating.
    His reply was the 'doomsdayers should commit suicide'