Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(US) Judge rules for transgender woman fired by Georgia

• 04-08-2010 9:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Some more good news :)

http://www.thegavoice.com/index.php/news/georgia-news-menu/821-judge-orders-trans-woman-reinstated-to-job-at-general-assembly
    Vandy Beth Glenn took a step closer to vindication today when a federal judge ordered the Georgia General Assembly to reinstate her to her previous job as a legislative editor. Glenn was fired in 2007 after disclosing her plan to transition from male to female.

"I’ve always know we were in the right," a tearful Glenn said in an interview in the courtroom after the hearing. "This is our time. Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people are no longer disposable. We can’t be thrown out with the trash and this decision affirms that."

Today's hearing came after the court ruled ruled July 2 that the Georgia General Assembly illegally discriminated against Glenn when Legislative Counsel Sewell Brumby fired her for being transgender.

"It's been a long road," Glenn said. "But this isn't about me, it has never been about me and it's not even about LGBT people but about people being treated with respect. It's un-American the way I've been treated."

I am very happy for her. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Everyone will be drinking water at the office parties in future I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Everyone will be drinking water at the office parties in future I think.

I'm sure there's better jokes about this topic than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Links234 wrote: »

Challenge accepted........I'll get back to ye when my writters have had a chance to work something up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Makes sense. Kind of an obscure story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

And so starts another boring debate on trannies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i'll give you one thing, you don't have any hidden agenda. it's very clear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

"It's un-American the way I've been treated"

In a country whose history was borne out of discrimination & where it still thrives today, I would hardly go that far.

Fair play though - nice to see some things have moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Some more ****e about women with dicks

aDeener wrote: »
    i'll give you one thing, you don't have any hidden agenda. it's very clear

thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Go on the trannies.

Some more ****e about women with dicks

Nobody forced you to read the thread.
    You too fonecrusher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I would think that she will get a terrible time when back in the position though.

I can't see Georgia as being a very forgiving or accepting state.
    Rednecks generally aren't accepting of anything that is different.

Trannysaurusrex........raaaaaaar!!!!

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I would think that she will get a terrible time when back in the position though.

I can't see Georgia as being a very forgiving or accepting state.
    Rednecks generally aren't accepting of anything that is different.

I don't know, from what I've read of her story, she's been pretty well accepted, except that one of her superiors pitched a fit and fired her just for who she was.

This is the second win so far for her, http://www.gaynz.com/articles/publish/3/article_9024.php
    A federal judge has ruled the sacking breached the constitutional rights of former Georgia state legislative aide Vandy Beth Glenn.
    She claimed that Legislative Counsel Sewell Brumby fired her from her job as a legislative editor because the gender transition would make her colleagues feel uncomfortable and would be seen as "immoral" by Georgia lawmakers.
    US District Judge Richard Story has ruled Glenn was subjected to sex discrimination.
    "[A]voiding the anticipated negative reactions of others cannot serve as a sufficient basis for discrimination and does not constitute an important government interest," Story wrote in a 50-page ruling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Glenn was fired in 2007 after disclosing her plan to transition from male to female.

I wish her the best, but no matter convincing a woman she may be, she'll never achieve her full potential as a real woman.
    Transexuals don't possess the right "internal bits".............. The genes for cooking and cleaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm really sick of these freaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

bonerm wrote: »

I bet you think that using moisturiser makes you gay.

Problem with trannies (trannys??!!!!whatever?) is they have a dong or used to have one & thats a bit of a problem really isn't it?

Doesn't matter how much 'she' might look like an attractive woman, she's got a big oul donger down there & call me old fashioned but i don't find chicks that can get erection appealling.

Now lets talk about something serious. Beef flavour monster munch. Nicer than the spring onion ones?

bonerm wrote: »

go be small minded elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

i don't find chicks that can get erection appealling.

Now lets talk about something serious. Beef flavour monster munch. Nicer than the spring onion ones?

Either you like beef or you don't like beef............ make up your mind man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Problem with trannies (trannys??!!!!whatever?) is they have a dong or used to have one & thats a bit of a problem really isn't it?

Doesn't matter how much 'she' might look like an attractive woman, she's got a big oul donger down there & call me old fashioned but i don't find chicks that can get erection appealling.

Is this thread about what you find appealing? Why would anyone care?

If only people who have nothing to add to the wit, wisdom, or knowledge of a thread kept out of it.

Great news OP. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I think it was a slam dunk case in fairness. Did they ever give any justification for getting rid of him/her? It is hard to see any in this case.

Giselle wrote: »
    Is this thread about what you find appealing?
    Well, he just had to post in this thread, and he was posting in the last transgender thread too, I think he does find it appealing otherwise he wouldn't be posting so much here :p
    Mrmoe wrote: »
    I think it was a slam dunk case in fairness. Did they ever give any justification for getting rid of him/her? It is hard to see any in this case.

The justification given was that people would find it immoral.

You might think it's a slam dunk case, but really, trans people really don't have much in the way of rights or protections for their jobs in the US. She's one of the few who are actually taking things this far.

Well, he just had to post in this thread, and he was posting in the last transgender thread too, I think he does find it appealing otherwise he wouldn't be posting so much here :p

You got me. I loves em.

In fact i'd like to marry one.
    That way if she asked me to lift something heavy or do something about the house that traditionally requires a mans strength I could say do it yourself ya lazy shemoaner, sure your stronger than me!:) and stop using my gillette mac 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

Uhm.....Linky: I just wanna apologize for all the inane banter that just proceded in the name of all that is suppose to be good.

Your polite conduct has put many anti whatever to shame. I say whatever cause that's what it all matters to God if you believe in Jesus. Matter.........

......what we're all made of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Her? It is a man who has mutilated himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Some more good news :)

Not really.

Do you think the real women in the company want him in their bathrooms ?
    What about their rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Not really.

Do you think the real women in the company want him in their bathrooms ?
    What about their rights?
    bit obsessed about Trans stuff aren't you? Is your masculinity threatened by it?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I'm sure she's well up on the penal laws of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I'm sure she's well up on the penal laws of the state.
    I didn't laugh or even smile

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

That's brill.
    I thought the thread would be about that widow whose inlaws were trying to get her marriage dissolved since she was born a man, so they could take back the property and stuff. Curious how that one turns out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    I didn't laugh or even smile

I don't believe in sacred cows. Somethings you can't joke about because there is no humour in the situation. I never said it was a good joke, just better than the previous effort.

absolutely fair play to her, BTW. She's undergoing treatment to give her the body her gender she recognises. She doesn't deserve to be fired over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Yes that individual doesn't deserve to be fired and I have no problem with transgendered people. If they want to 'change' their sex that's fine but at the end of the day I'm afraid I still see him as a man.

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    bit obsessed about Trans stuff aren't you? Is your masculinity threatened by it?

I post in traveller related threads too, does that mean my right to live in a house is threatened ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭HereNorThere

I post in traveller related threads too, does that mean my right to live in a house is threatened ?
    Only if you're a trannie hiding the fact from 6 room mates.

sniff: the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i love how, despite having a sex change, they refer to her constantly as "glenn"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Helix wrote: »
    i love how, despite having a sex change, they refer to her constantly as "glenn"

Glenn is her surname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Glenn is her surname.

youre not very good at picking up the subtle nuances of humour are you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was closed but is back again by OP request with mod consent.

bluewolf wrote: »
    That's brill.
    I thought the thread would be about that widow whose inlaws were trying to get her marriage dissolved since she was born a man, so they could take back the property and stuff. Curious how that one turns out

No, sadly. I absolutely WISH I had good news about that case.

how horrid would it be to just lose the person you love, only for people to try and tear down everything you had with that person? to be dragged through the courts like that while grieving? I can only imagine how awful that must be, and my heart goes out to her. I really, really hope that we can see a good outcome for her :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

In a country whose history was borne out of discrimination & where it still thrives today, I would hardly go that far.

Fair play though - nice to see some things have moved on.

Considering several states in the US have legislated for gay marriage, and the California prohibition has just been struck down, while Ireland muddles along with our watered down version of it, I don't think we're in any position to be throwing stones. Many parts of America are far more socially liberal than many parts of Europe.

Yeah, because your access to basic human rights should be predicated on whether or not you give others a hard on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Einhard wrote: »
    Yeah, because your access to basic human rights should be predicated on whether or not you give others a hard on.

how is changing your sex cos you feel like it a basic human right?

As for the bathroom thing, that is a bit creepy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Good appraisal of the situation. Valid opinion, well researched and thought out...

It's a basic human right not to be fired from your job because of your sex or sexual orientation. Will she still be able to perform her roles as well as she did prior the change? Then what possible grounds do they have to fire her, apart from good, old fashioned bigotry and fear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Chick with a dick!

how is it a bit creepy?

I think he's assuming that all MTF people are lesbians and will want to see what the other ladies have. Because it's not like women wee in cubicles or anything... :rolleyes:

Einhard wrote: »
    It's a basic human right not to be fired from your job because of your sex or sexual orientation.

There's a difference between a human rights and employment law.

Isn't employment law predicated largely on the idea of human rights?