Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing football and your car

• 03-08-2010 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭

I just watched as the new neighour (grown man) bounced their football repeatedly off my car in my driveway, with little kids watching. Now this new neighbour came to outside my door to play football.

Do I need to chill out and say nothing? My car is a couple of months old or should I ask him nicely to mind my car?

A couple of years ago, neighbours did a lot of damage to my brothers car with a football, I dont want this to happen to mine!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Drive you car into his front room, see if he minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Jesus man, grow a pair and tell him to fúck off away from the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just be polite and ask them to watch out for the car and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I'm struggling to understand how your sitting infrong of your computer after witnessing this.... Would you not be better to confront him. Now? The word repeatedly is what really angers me there. Go do it to his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

SV wrote: »
    Jesus man, grow a pair and tell him to fúck off away from the car!

:D eh I'm a woman but hey if thats what it takes. Actully I'm kinda wondering is it acceptable for people to use your car as a goal post and just accept if as part of estate living!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Knine wrote: »
    :D eh I'm a woman but hey if thats what it takes. Actully I'm kinda wondering is it acceptable for people to use your car as a goal post and just accept if as part of estate living!

Well then you really do need to grow a pair!
    haha, seriously though..tell him to píss off..definitely not acceptable, in any world.

jaysus, when I was younger if we did this the ball wouldn't be long about being taken up and burst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Go out and slash the ball, if they were repeatedly bouncing it off my car, I'd be out in a flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I really hate the disregard people have for other peoples property. Kids have bounced balls off my car while I was sitting in it outside the sister in laws house. Not a word of appology or anything. The 2nd time I let rip on them.

When I was around 10 I was playing football on the road and knocked the mirror off a car parked outside a neighbours. The first thing I did was to go in to the house with the mirrror and appologise. At 10 it didnt occur to me to do anything else except try make it right. People just dont seem to give a **** anymore.

This is actully a regular occurance, it seems that parents think its acceptable to let their children bounce the ball off your car. At this stage I'm having to say it several times a day, I cant wait till the kids are back in school.

BTW I am a parent myself and no way would my children be allowed to do this. There is a green right next to us.

Its good to get peoples opinions on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

is car in yourdriveway... ie on private property??

Lets just say i would have done something about it by now.

Ring the Garda if you want. Do you have a boyfriend or anything? Get them to go out and do what is needed.

thebullkf wrote: »
    is car in yourdriveway... ie on private property??

Yeah car is in my driveway. I'm always afraid that I will come home and find serious damage to it and the culprit will not be owning up.

The car was bought to transport a disabled child to and from appointments.

No boyfriend, just me:(

Do you have any male friends?? Intact if you feel you could you would be better going out yourself and having a word. Then you can't be blamed of tryin to intimidate anyone. If you don't think you can do it get a friend to go speak to them. Failing that I'm sure some if the kind people on here would be willing to say something for you.

Ring the Garda next time they start doing it and tell them there hitting your car while it is in your drive way.

Sure it would fall under damage to private property.

Thanks Guys, Is it mostly blokes on this forum?

I guess I was wondering whether this was acceptable or not coz its seems like all the kids think its ok.

I dont want to come across as a narky oul b***h as all I seem to be doing lately is giving the kids an earful.

I was having issues also with a certain guy parking right in front of my driveway, completely blocking me in. I think I have resolved this now, blame PMS but I dont think he will ever be doing it again.:D

I reckon they see woman on her own and think its ok to take the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would go off the head if I saw anyone hitting the car like you say. If I saw an adult there watching and doing nothing, I would go especially crazy.
    As for parking in front of your drive, thats just bullying given that your car was inside

I would be assuming it's mainly fellas on here but im a newbie. At the end of the day its your property so no matter if anyone else thinks it's acceptable or not, if you feel it's not acceptable then you have every right to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Jesus, id actually go down and ring this guys neck for you!

I suppose the best way is to be somebit civil, just say you noticed that the ball hit your car several times and that you cant afford to have it anytime off the road if a window gets broken because its used to transport a disabled child.

Even the thickest Cnut on the planet would feel like shíte after that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Knine, not all people will meet you with hostility when you approach them about something a bit contentious. Just pop out to him/them and let them know they have you at wits end because of the car.

If the softly, softly, nicely, nicely approach doesn't work tell him you'll cut his balls off and abduct his kids :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

messymess wrote: »
    Knine, not all people will meet you with hostility when you approach them about something a bit contentious. Just pop out to him/them and let them know they have you at wits end because of the car.

If the softly, softly, nicely, nicely approach doesn't work tell him you'll cut his balls off and abduct his kids :D

Exactly if the nice womanly approach dont work give him the pms!!!

I was beginning to think it was me who is in the wrong. Now I know kids like playing football and all that but they just dont seem to have any repect for other peoples property.

I was also wondering if I'm suffering my newcaritius:D coz I only have the car a short while and Ive never had a new car before. I also want to keep it in good conditon to replace it in two years time as I may need even more adaptions that I have already got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I was also wondering if I'm suffering my newcaritius:D coz I only have the car a short while and Ive never had a new car before.

Believe it, if it were one of us lads, the wheel brace would be out of the boot putting the fear of god into the kids...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I would ask them politely to stop, once. After that I would send them a bill for each and every scratch on the car.

Bouncing ball repeatedly off someone's car is a disgrace, possible to ignore if it's once a fortnight or so (being neighbourly and all). Blocking someone's driveway is worse again, that's being stupid and / or inconsiderate. Softly softly approach would be wasted on these numpties. Tell the ball bouncer muppet that it's not on and you don't want to see it happen again, well done for dealing with the park in front of the drive numpty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

The problem with going over to this guy and giving out to him is that he could come back at a later stage (possibly when you re asleep in bed) and do even worse to the car. Of course you would be well within your rights to be pissed off with him and all but you never know what kind of person you are dealing with.

I would recommend the polite approach at first and see if that works. After that, you may have to take it further.

The biggest fact is that you should not have to tell this clown not to do something like this in the first place anyway :rolleyes:. It would be bad enough if it were kids doing this but a fully grown man should really know better and to keep on doing it is taking the pi$$ IMO :rolleyes::mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭mayoman ngalway

I was having issues also with a certain guy parking right in front of my driveway, completely blocking me in.

this drives me soft,, people parking out side my house.

your the 1 paying for it not them.
    the house not the parking:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

this drives me soft,, people parking out side my house.

I daren't imagine what drives you hard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Jenna69

I just watched as the new neighour (grown man) bounced their football repeatedly off my car in my driveway, with little kids watching. Now this new neighbour came to outside my door to play football.

Do I need to chill out and say nothing? My car is a couple of months old or should I ask him nicely to mind my car?

A couple of years ago, neighbours did a lot of damage to my brothers car with a football, I dont want this to happen to mine!

The kids on my estate used to open my gates and use them as goal posts and i didn't think twice about letting a shout at them and they soon stopped but the adult should know better! I agree having a quiet word with him first, you know the saying softly softly catchy monkey, and he is some ape to be hitting a ball off your car:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

As a female, I'd lose the plot at them for going near the car!

I had to let a roar at my 3 year old nephew for cycling near my car - I just had visions of him doing some mad swaying and using his handlebars against the door of my car to stop himself from crashing to the ground... I ended up moving the car out of the way :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Airsoft Adverts ->.... Get yourself something small.. Start taking pot shots from your top window!! See if they play around there any more..!!!:D:D

Id be going spare if someone even looked liked they were going to touch my car... Stright out to that road and give em an earful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

djimi wrote: »
    I would ask them politely to stop, once. After that I would send them a bill for each and every scratch on the car.

Politely asking them to stop is defo the first course of action. Going out with all guns blazing is just as ignorant as hitting the car in the first place.

There are a LOT of idiots out there nowadays who have no respect for other people or their property however and if the polite chat doesnt sort things out or the get angry about it you may have recourse for further action.
    Kids will be kids however adult involvement in such actions are not to be tolerated, the adult is meant to be teaching them and this is not a good thing to teach them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Just wait until this new property protection bill is passed.

Your man will one day come into your driveway to retrieve the ball, then just shoot the bsatard for trespassing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Id be going spare if someone even looked liked they were going to touch my car... Stright out to that road and give em an earful!

such rational behaviour there.... before they touch your car you are running out giving them an earful.... god all mighty...you sound like a great neighbour to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

robtri wrote: »
    such rational behaviour there.... before they touch your car you are running out giving them an earful.... god all mighty...you sound like a great neighbour to have

Isnt it better to say something before they put a dent/scratch in the side of your car? Im not suggesting shouting and screaming, but a polite word asking them to be careful or to move away from the car is not out of line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I can't picture anyone who has to pay their way through life being this ignorant - you may find that you are infringing on his cultural identity. IE his family have been hanging around damaging other peoples property and spawning ill bred ill reared children for generations.
    Certainly the case on the last estate in Limerick that I lived in:mad:

Try softlysoftly first, I'd investigate putting up a little camera* if things get worse. I assume you have enough bills as it is in your situation (might save on car repairs tho)

*Dunno what the legal status of these is - I see plenty of houses around limerick with them up, some have signs notifying people. I've also seen leaflets posted thru letter boxes by other people on the estate saying "house x has cameras, protect your privacy, won't someone think of the non-stone-throwing children".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

If I was in your position OP I'd have lifted them out of it the first time you saw it happen.

A huge amount of kids these days have no respect for other people's property, I'm only 31 and notice a massive change since I was a kid. I presume nice possessions are so common now as opposed to the 80s/early 90s that they just don't see the value in them.

I was over visiting the parents last year when out the front window I saw a teenager (one of a group of half a dozen lippy 16/17 year olds on their street I found out later) just randomly standing on the bonnet of my car. I managed to get out to him before he could run and grabbed him.

Unfortunately the thought of his parents probably calling the gardaí if I threw him a few digs (and my dad following me out the door) meant that he got off lightly with only the threat of physical violence. I scared the shite out of him though and they don't even look at the house or cars since.

I just couldn't believe the brazenness of it, I wouldn't have gone near someone's car when I was 6 or 7, let alone 16/17. And these kids are growing up on exactly the same leafy suburban street I did, spoiled brats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Let me guess - the house next door is rented? Sorry, but it sounds like you've just got plain scumbags next door. Been there, done that, suffered the misery. The scum that moved next to us were out ****ing a ball around our garden the first night they were there too. It only ended when we got them evicted a few months later. If you have the landlord's number and the behaviour continues (or gets worse) harass him until he takes action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Let me guess - the house next door is rented? Sorry, but it sounds like you've just got plain scumbags next door. Been there, done that, suffered the misery. The scum that moved next to us were out ****ing a ball around our garden the first night they were there too. It only ended when we got them evicted a few months later. If you have the landlord's number and the behaviour continues (or gets worse) harass him until he takes action.
    Hey, I rent my house - but I pay all of it out of my hard-earned, that's the difference I suppose;)
    If there's a neighbourhood watch or a residents association, get onto them and get involved - if you don't know who the landlord is, they probably do.
    If the landlord is the local authority, then God help you - they'll most likely send them a letter saying "Ms X from next door has made a complaint about ye, settle down now"

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Or next time he is out, pretend to be doing some gardening/tidying up of the car. If the ball hits the car, you only need to look at him, and he should understand. Happens again, then you say it to him. Happens a third time, it would be a shame for the car to be left off the handbrake as he was stretching underneath the car! :D

I remember before there was a guy who followed me to work because I wouldnt let him cut in from the bus lane (he was skipping a load of traffic). He parked beside me and swung his door open and it hit against the side of the car (I actually dont think he meant it). Raised voices and threats from him, to which I replied that I need his insurance details as I just witnessed him doing criminal damage to my car! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ask the grown man to cop the f**k on.
    The car was bought to transport a disabled child to and from appointments.
    Go f**king mental. It takes a lot for someone to respect you, little to fear you.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

My car has a number of ball shaped scrapes from the next-door neighbour's kid. He prefers to play on the road rather than on the many greens.

Mrs Parsi asked him to watch out earlier on in the year and he ran in to his mammy crying. He's going into Secondary next month so he's a bit old for all that.

Problem is that he doesn't give a feck about his own car either and also loves kicking the ball against their wooden shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Starting to get into a rage here just reading that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

You would be surprised at the number of scratches a ball can leave on the body.
    Even a light ball could leave a print of the ball shapes into the paint. Inspect the body with a strong flashlight, you will see all the scratches more easily.

Just ask him nicely to back off would be the first step.

Try to buy a cover too, a nice heavy one, I know that sounds a bit overkill, but at least it will also protect the car against small impacts like this but weather too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭GiftGrub100

Be very careful, the guy is obviously not the full monty or he would not be behaving like this in the first place.

If you mention it in passing he will probably deny it ever happened, if you wait until the next time which will hopefully never happen, go out to the car as if to go for a drive and mention if they wouldn't mind kicking ball elsewhere, you will hopefully have some success.

If you have a car that allows you to set off a Car Finder/Panic Alarm set that off the next time he tries it - like the alarm has gone off.

Or get a video camera and video it from the safety of the house and use the legal route if necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Your man will one day come into your driveway to retrieve the ball, then just shoot the bsatard for trespassing. :D
    Airsoft Adverts ->.... Get yourself something small.. Start taking pot shots from your top window!! See if they play around there any more..!!!:D:D

I realise it's in jest, but can we tone down the suggestions of violence please?