Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LAND WANTED FOR HUNTING

• 01-08-2010 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

I NEED SOME MORE LAND TO SHOOT ON AROUND CORK/KERRY ANY SUGGESTIONS????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

ANY SUGGESTIONS????

Yes.

Get someone to show you where the caps lock button is.

LC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

In the immortal words of whitesnake, 'here i go again'. But this time il just give advice.

Yes i do, i do indeed. Put on your broga's and march to a farmers house. Offer your services.
    More advice? Dont ask on the net ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

What you want to shoot???.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Bloody hell, relax Dusty87! The net is exactly the place to ask these things, nobody was born with the knowledge of the whole world!. OP see if there's a gun club near you, check out the NARGC website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nomisdeer2004

SARASON wrote: »
    What you want to shoot???.

rabbits, pigeons and im getting my deer licence and a 308 so some deer would be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Bloody hell, relax Dusty87! The net is exactly the place to ask these things, nobody was born with the knowledge of the whole world!. OP see if there's a gun club near you, check out the NARGC website
    rabbits, pigeons and im getting my deer licence and a 308 so some deer would be good

the net isnt the place to ask, at the farmers door step is, no farmer with an ounce of cop on will give a lad on the internet permission to shoot, there must be some farmers local to you you can ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

The net is exactly the place to ask these things

Maybe it is so, but its a sad state of affairs if it is:(. I much prefered getting up of my arse and walking to a landowner. I enjoy going in for a cup of tea and a chat, especially with the old boys. They seem to enjoy the company to. I suppose ye just fire off emails to them now:rolleyes:.

So yea, any sec now all the lads will be on, giving him permissions and their folio numbers for the deer.
    nobody was born with the knowledge of the whole world!

I know that, me more than others:p;)

But also OP asked

Not 'How do i get permissions'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

One should have land to own a gun in the first place (unless in a club). And secondly if one was buying a 308 he would already have land with dear on it or one wouldn't be issued a licence for the said 308.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

elius wrote: »
    One should have land to own a gun in the first place (unless in a club). And secondly if one was buying a 308 he would already have land with dear on it or one wouldn't be issued a licence for the said 308.

In fairness to the OP, he said

I NEED SOME MORE LAND

LostCovey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nomisdeer2004

I do have land with deer that my mum lives on but its not a very big area does anyone know how much land u need for a licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

There's no 'amount' of land required, it's down to the opinion of the NPWS Ranger that there is a sufficient deer population to support or require hunting.
    Even if no-one else has deer permission on 'your' particular bit of land, permits already issued for adjoining lands will have a bearing too.