Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Here's a Sleeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

This van has been sold 2/3 times in the last 24 months. I see it popping up on various sites every so often.
    Nice van all the same but how practical is it? Looked nicer with borbet rims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Ricardo G wrote: »
    This van has been sold 2/3 times in the last 24 months. I see it popping up on various sites every so often.
    Nice van all the same but how practical is it? Looked nicer with borbet rims

I presume you can still tax it for 270 quid a year though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Saab Ed wrote: »
    I presume you can still tax it for 270 quid a year though ;)

I'd say you could be right !!! lol I'm sure there was a vid of this on youtube doing a drag somewhere........ off to look now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I thought you meant it was literally a sleeper and it had a bed in the back.

Disappointed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Can be taxed and insured as a 1.9 diesel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

blatant law breaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

i am pretty sure if has changed owners and advertised as many times nearly all insurance companies know about it by now so it could be difficult to get cover on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

The question is, why bother? Its a van ffs. Such a waste of that engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Provided its used as a commercial it can be taxed as one but based on weight/catagory and not the fact its a 1.9td.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

an uncle of mine put the engine out of a renault 18 turbo into a trafic van in the eighties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's only 190 brake.. Not much of a sleeper is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

dont be daft...thats plenty...my Cortina has only 150 (or so) and is fun fun fun til someones daddy takes the keys away....

corktina wrote: »
    dont be daft...thats plenty...my Cortina has only 150 (or so) and is fun fun fun til someones daddy takes the keys away....

I wouldn't think so...definitely wouldn't qualify as a sleeper for me anyway.

I have180(bout 170tothe tonne) and i'm constantly aching for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

barry81 wrote: »
    Can be taxed and insured as a 1.9 diesel!

Commercial tax is based on vehicle weight as oppossed to engine capacity. As for insurance I'm sure you could insure it as a 1.9 diesel but life might get very difficult if you were involved in an accident which was your fault. The seller is suggesting insurance fraud.

I simply fail to see the appeal of a brown 96 VW Caddy van with a 2.8 petrol engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Expensive, looks crap, uninsurable, not that powerful and a little bit sad.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

SV wrote: »
    I wouldn't think so...definitely wouldn't qualify as a sleeper for me anyway.

I have180(bout 170tothe tonne) and i'm constantly aching for more.
    The point of a sleeper is that it is a lot faster than it looks. I've never been a huge fan of the VR6 engine myself, but I still wouldn't expect a Caddy to be putting out 190bhp.

Anan1 wrote: »
    The point of a sleeper is that it is a lot faster than it looks. I've never been a huge fan of the VR6 engine myself, but I still wouldn't expect a Caddy to be putting out 190bhp.

I suppose so, I don't think it'd shock anyone though.. That's what i'd expect a sleeper to do. 190 brake isn't enough to be stunned by. Unless it's on a 500kg body :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Registration 96G6214
    Make VOLKSWAGEN
    Model CADDY
    Description 1.9 D
    Fuel Type DIESEL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Why are the Gardaí not all over this vehicle?

Haddockman wrote: »
    Why are the Gardaí not all over this vehicle?

Why would they be !!!! Its not illegal to tax it as a commercial , no matter what engine is in it , its still a van. And what you tell the insurance company it is is between you and the insurance company. He never said he insured it the wrong way. Why would the guards go near him unless he's breaking a law :confused:

If there is a 1.9 engine on the registration cert and a 2.8 installed that is breaking the law.

I have no time for scumbags like that.

If there is a 1.9 engine on the registration cert and a 2.8 installed that is breaking the law.

Oh would you cop on to yourself.
    He's a scumbag for doing that is he? What else qualifies someone as a scumbag?

What law is he breaking by doing that by the way?

Failure to notify a change of engine.

Also the VRC contains inaccurate information which is an offence. It should contain the correct details of the engine including the engine number and size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Surely asking 5k for a 16 year old brown van is criminal ?

Failure to notify a change of engine.

Also the VRC contains inaccurate information which is an offence. It should contain the correct details of the engine including the engine number and size.

An offence under what act?

S.I. No. 318/1992

Care to point out exactly, there's a lot in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,160 ✭✭✭✭L1011

17.3 I believe

Basically you HAVE to get the VRC updated if particulars change.

YOU ARE REQUIRED BY LAW T0 NOTIFY YOUR LOCAL VEHICLE REGISTRATION OFFICE OF CHANGES TO ANY OF THE DETAILS 0N THIS DOCUMENT, AS SOON AS THEY OCCUR.
    There!

MYOB beat me to it .:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Shocking waste of a nice powerplant and it looks like the recaros were taken from a cossie after it'd been fished out of a lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

It's a scum bag mobile, by virtue of the fact that it isn't and cannot be legally insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Surely asking 5k for a 16 year old brown van is criminal ?

Maths fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

was hoping for a rear engined porche conversion or the like

Lads the arguments ye are having here , I think you're all missing the point ( Forget the legalities of it for now ). This yoke is a fantastic sleeper. Waste of a good motor or not , only 190 brake etc etc , could you just imagine the look on the guys face driving a fairly new A4 TDI when this thing stuffs him from the traffic lights. Infact it'll stuff every family car sub 20 grand to 60 and will give some quick cars a right good shock. Proper sleeper in my book ;):cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

The corrado that came with this engine will do 0-60 in around 6.70 secs,the van is a good 150 kgs lighter so i would reckon a 0-60 closer to 6.4 or less is not pie in the sky,call me old fashioned but a caddy that can do does times is a sleeper,it will give a mk5 GTI,ST,OPC a run FFS!

I've seen this van in the flesh when it had nicer wheels it was a nice bit of kit,since then its had a few owners most of them clueless twats that fitted flamer kits etc so im sure its been neglected!

For all the rest of the do gooders give Joe Duffy a shout sure isn't it cars like this that have our roads the way the are! sure sure....yeah yeah...sure :D

How's the weather up on that horse of yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Nice sleeper van, Saab Ed :D
    Max_Damage wrote: »
    How's the weather up on that horse of yours?

The seller is a tax evader and he's driving around without valid insurance. Are you condoning this? Me and all the other tax and insurance paying drivers around here are paying the bill for that and we are not happy people are getting away with it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Oh Christ, not more stupid "high horse" remarks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

I'm not getting involved in the morals of this, but...

190bhp in a Caddy? OK in a straight line but don't ask it to corner :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Its like something off of Pimp my ride: Bog edition - bring ur own hang sangiches

The engine should be taken out and the rest of crushed.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I think its just a waste of a perfectly good engine if you ask me.. shame really.. :rolleyes:

unkel wrote: »
    The seller is a tax evader and he's driving around without valid insurance. Are you condoning this?

Couldn't care less to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

I actually saw/heard this the other day. The exhaust does not make the bestuse of the engine IMO.
    T-Square wrote: »
    It's a scum bag mobile, by virtue of the fact that it isn't and cannot be legally insured.

Correct, it is not insured at the moment if they are led to believe it is still a diesel van but it can be legally insured if you get a mechanics/engineers report of roadworthyness to satisfy the insurers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Fishtits wrote: »
    190bhp in a Caddy? OK in a straight line but don't ask it to corner :eek:

wellllllllll.............here, let me help you on that one... ;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

T-Square wrote: »
    ..., by virtue of the fact that it isn't and cannot be legally insured.

..what complete and utter fiction.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Why can it not be insured properly? I thought the insurance company will just ask for an engineers report to ensure the car is safe and that the conversion has been carried out properly etc. ????

cool car by the way too! (but for the size of the engine im disappointed with power output)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Mr Smithers

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Couldn't care less to be honest.
    It is people like this that make this cesspit of a country great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Mr Smithers

Why can it not be insured properly? I thought the insurance company will just ask for an engineers report to ensure the car is safe and that the conversion has been carried out properly etc. ????

cool car by the way too! (but for the size of the engine im disappointed with power output)
    And what about the VRC? I am sure they would want to see that the alteration has been notified to the relevant authourity.

I dont mean to be rude but have you read all the posts , this thread is about a sleeper , not morales. If you want you could always start a thread about wrong information on a VRC.