Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guitar Hero: Warrior's or Rock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

The set list really and truly does read like the DLC from RB, for me there are good songs there but I have them already :D

Over all too much Metal, although I'd happily play I'm broken by Pantera :)

I really thought they were going to turn it around after GH5 , which I quite enjoyed, granted I'm not playing it still but I did enjoy the challenges and being made hop between instruments. They really have a hard on for the old fashioned (can I say Wayne's World / Bill and Ted / Tenacious D ) view of rock / metal which is just boring by now, hell it was boring 3 or 4 games ago, I have been skipping the cut scenes for years in these games, who cares about the gods of rock ...... Im a bloody atheist :D

Worst part is it looks the same as all the other games in terms of graphics.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

2112 you say? That would certainly be epic. Are there even people out there who care about this Franchise anymore? I didn't think so. Personally I think they've got a really good thing with DJ Hero, and that's where they should be spending their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

not to mention they have completely and shamelessly ripped off the whole look and feel of Tim Shafer's (a brilliant man) Brutal Legend.

I'll be totally honest and up front here lads, much as I'll give out about this game, I know I won't be able to resist playing it such is my addiction to rhythm games :mad:

Hell I even got GH:Aerosmith the other week as it was only 9.99 , they should have given me that to play it, and lets not mention GH: Van Halen :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Hold on a sec, aren't we avoiding the important question : what's Soundgarden - Black Rain? I knew the lads were back together but is that a fresh recording? Score!

Anyhoo, looking through that setlist, I was actually quite happy that they're going back to the more traditional spiderman-hands-in-the-air greasy foul smelling rock and metal that got me into the games. Sure, it's not evolving the game series but my attitude to Guitar Hero is the same as my attitude to making intergalactic love to alien women. Sure, a being of pure energy is a highly evolved lifeform but I think I'd prefer to be ravaged by the green skinned sex-savagettes of Rosario 9.

Banjo wrote: »
    Hold on a sec, aren't we avoiding the important question : what's Soundgarden - Black Rain? I knew the lads were back together but is that a fresh recording? Score!

Well spotted, It's out on August 10th , compilation album to follow in September. Loved this band until I saw them live about 15 years ago , never felt the same way about them since.

That'd be at Sunstroke then? They were awful, and Chris sounded uncharacteristically bad, a bit like listening to that Teenage guy from the Simpsons (you know, the one who fills in any menial job that Willie isn't doing) singing. White Zombie blew them off the stage... mind you the fact that no one knew any of the songs or shouted "Hey!" during Drawing Flies didn't help, the atmosphere was severely lacking at that gig.

Banjo wrote: »
    That'd be at Sunstroke then? They were awful, and Chris sounded uncharacteristically bad, a bit like listening to that Teenage guy from the Simpsons (you know, the one who fills in any menial job that Willie isn't doing) singing. White Zombie blew them off the stage... mind you the fact that no one knew any of the songs or shouted "Hey!" during Drawing Flies didn't help, the atmosphere was severely lacking at that gig.

Ah good times, I remember being picked up a good way back during white zombie by 2 old rockers and launched over the crowd , was surfed the who way to the front :D

Thats what RB3 needs , more going on in the crowd. /keeps post on topic ;)

Pshh, caring about off topic is for busy forums :P

Yes, I've always said that, the crowd is always the weakest part of any RB/GH game, the same 6 or 7 models swaying at the same time, looks stupid.

At least you have a crowd. On the Wii it's not "the same 6-7 models" it's 6-7 people swaying.
    *shakes fist in the general direction of Harmonix HQ even though it's Nintendo's fault for building their console out of obsolete mobile phone parts*

I wonder if Rockband : Pearl Jam will incorporate a bit of crowd participation to make things more like being in the band, such crowd surfing, a minigame for locating and recruiting the dancing sign-language girl, the moral imperative to stop playing if you notice people have fallen over or the security guards are being to rough, regardless of what it does to your score (the higher your Moral Imperative score, which you get for eschewing music videos and ticketmaster, the more benefit gigs you can play and left wing rants you can deliver)?

That may be the oddest request of a game ever made :P it must be done!

This just in , Black Rain is from the Badmotorfinger sessions :eek:

and the full album a greatest hits in a way will be available as DLC on launch day which is the same day the album is out, hmmm where have I seen albums release and DLC put out same day before :rolleyes:

This f##king sucks, no way I'll buy GH DLC no matter how good it is , I'm still fuming over them getting Pavement stuff and one or two others :mad:

Source and a well written piece as always http://www.gamersireland.ie/?p=6344

Oh the track listing is not on there ,
    1. Hunted Down
    2. Hands All Over
    3. Outshined
    4. Rusty Cage
    5. Birth Ritual
    6. Black Hole Sun
    7. Spoonman
    8. My Wave
    9. Fell On Black Days
    10. Burden In My Hand
    11. Blow Up The Outside World
    12. Black Rain (Previously Unreleased)

Am I seeing things or is Birth Ritual on there , now im just sick :mad:

Hand's up who remembers that movie and the awesome soundtrack with that one on it !!!!!!!!!!
    My favorite bloody Soundgarden song and it's on GH ffs too pissed to even look for a youtube of it look for your self

Look, we all know it's one of the top 3 Soundgarden tunes but take heart - great songs do NOT always make for fun RB/GH play. Check Kyuss's "Demon Cleaner" on GH Metallica for proof!

Djang! djugga djugga djugg! djugga djugga djugg! Djing-djang x4
    It's a great riff when you hear it but apart from issues strumming it it'll be a piece of piss. Although the vocals would be savage! rrrrRRITUAAAAAAAAAAAL! rrrrRRITUAAAAAAAAAAAL! I've lost count of the number of times I've gotten looks while stopped at traffic lights and screaming that. I don't even have the CD in my car, I just like screaming that at passers by. Sure, who wouldn't?

There's no "Full On Kevin's Mom Reprise", "limo wreck" or "Big Dumb Sex" so I'm not buying it.

Full setlist revealed: http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/news/general_music_news/guitar_hero_warriors_of_rock_unleashes_all_tracks_on_ug.html

Some good stuff in there but not enough that would have me buy the game. Now to play the waiting game for the RB3 setlist!

RB3 one is looking pretty decent although the last update wasn't too promising :rolleyes:

That setlist would be actually ok on seeing the whole thing now if I didn't have a lot of the songs in RB already. Sum 41 and Pantera are win's though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Like a drug that ya know will feck ya up and is no good for ya but ya get a slight high, reckon will end up gettin it for pantera, nin and apc,play it for a week and then trade it in cause I know the same songs will pop up on rockband...wait thats nothing like a drug at all, just a poor choice by an idiot with too much money to waste on crap gimmicky games.

Ugh, this is looking utterly more stupid as the days go on.
    Totally new and totally metal is the new Guitar Hero Warriors of Rock character artwork and this nifty new trailer! Despite what some people say about the series, I think it looks interesting. Of course, I love heavy metal and think this sort of stuff is hilarious, but that's just me. The art assets are all one shots containing before and after shots of the transformations focused on in the new game. Besides that, also contained were images of the loading screens featuring each characters metamorphasis.

The idea here has to do with the characters transforming into all new, more powerful versions of their looks from previous games. Each character is shown off with all their complexities readily visible. There was the punk rocker girl becomes all angelic with some gigantic boots. This other face painted guy turns into boar warrior with an axe guitar. I liked that. Guy with a mohawk flips into this green spiked monster, I found that particularly prickly design fascinating.

My favorite one is the hat guy with those glasses because he has that cool looking goatee. Goatee's are the most menacing of all facial hair styles. He looks cool to me! I like that he has dreadlocks and is wearing a hat too, that looks pretty funny. Homeboy then for whatever reason became the headless horseman. He had green ectoplasm seeping out from his neck and this wonderful jack o'lantern guitar.

http://www.destructoid.com/a-look-at-guitar-hero-s-crazy-warriors-of-rock-183004.phtml

What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dave D

wow a lot of GH hating going on in here.
    Am I the only person on boards thats actually looking forward to playing Wor??? :o

Dave D wrote: »
    wow a lot of GH hating going on in here.
    Am I the only person on boards thats actually looking forward to playing Wor??? :o

Perhaps the only one in here anyway. They're just flogging the beast at this stage with gimmicks. GH3 shoulda been the last one, they're just playing catch up at this stage.

As I've said before, they've a good thing going in DJ Hero. They need to drop GH now. This battle is long lost.

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    they're just playing catch up at this stage.

That's the thing though isn't they are not trying to catch up ? This game has zero new like you would expect in a numbered game release. I really just hate the Tenacious D / Wayne's World story of gods of rock etc they tack on, I mean I have skipped all the cut scenes since GH2.

The right thing to do would have been to have incorporated the ''wheels of steel'' from DJ Hero into it in parts at least. I will play this game eventually but not a day one purchase and in all likelihood enjoy it, but just like every other GH game it will hold my interest for little over a week or so.

I don't like to bash them for the sake of it and I have said many times here I loved GH5 and really thought it was a step up and forward for them, but 6 for me seems to be 2 steps back, and I have also said the main thing they need to change forgetting aobut story or looks is the hit boxes on the charts, It is just not tight enough and makes anyone look good, after that ditch the characters and story that no one cares about, make the graphics look like they belong on current gen hardware

I can't say why but if you forget about careers in GH and RB they are essentially the same game in quickplay, even share some songs, so why is it that I just can't bring myself to play GH over and over in quickplay like I do in rockband several times a week :confused:

Even forgetting about imports and dlc both of which activision royally screwed up, I was still playing RB "raw" so to speak before I got masses of dlc and imported everything.

I really don't want to turn this thread in to GH bashing either, but those hit boxes need to be tightened up, you're very right. There's nothing more annoying than practising in RB to be good at the game only to look as good as someone who is probably crap in GH.

At least they're not GH3 hitboxes I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dave D

I guess its because I only play GH casually (as a break from my ultra competitive Pc play :P )
    I can forgive GH for most of its faults in recent games, or it could be the fact i really like the look of the new guitar!
    ha I agree with yous on the cut scenes I skip them to, for me its just a quick jump in and play session for a bit. If I played it more often I might very well jump ship to RB

Demo is up now. It has 4 songs.

• Black Sabbath - "Children Of The Grave"
    • Foo Fighters - "No Way Back"
    • Slash featuring Ian Astbury - "Ghost"
    • Dethklok - "Bloodlines"

Edit:
    Ok after playing it, plays the same as previous games, looks the same as GH:WT with a different filter on the graphics. Gone is the better looks of GH5. The in game sound effects and menus all look like older games, and the massive hit boxes that make you look like a legend on expert are still there. I got 10stars on one of the songs :D I did like the progress bar that showed you how far into the song you are.

The worst part of the demo at least was not being able to skip the story bullcrap !!!!!

Many would say GH died a long time ago, here Activision are defiling it's rotting corpse. Harsh ????? Maybe a bit, True??? Most certainly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

calex71 wrote: »
    Demo is up now. It has 4 songs.

• Black Sabbath - "Children Of The Grave"
    • Foo Fighters - "No Way Back"
    • Slash featuring Ian Astbury - "Ghost"
    • Dethklok - "Bloodlines"

Edit:
    Ok after playing it, plays the same as previous games, looks the same as GH:WT with a different filter on the graphics. Gone is the better looks of GH5. The in game sound effects and menus all look like older games, and the massive hit boxes that make you look like a legend on expert are still there. I got 10stars on one of the songs :D I did like the progress bar that showed you how far into the song you are.

The worst part of the demo at least was not being able to skip the story bullcrap !!!!!

Many would say GH died a long time ago, here Activision are defiling it's rotting corpse. Harsh ????? Maybe a bit, True??? Most certainly.

I was downloading it until I read that, sounds like boredom to me. They could move away from the metal crap and find a niche with some, you know, songs people have heard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Good points - Something different the story mode might be fun

Bad points - The sound, my tv was up loud, it was blaring then when i put the game on the sound mixing sounded a bit off, on the foos song the guitar could not be heard, the vocals where a little off. All in all the quality was poor

- Will probably get it after it comes down in price. Could be a laugh but gonna wait for RB3

Not just your tv Alan, Im using a monitor and separate speakers and found the same, mind you GH has a history of this. Was only playing GHII recently and it really annoyed me. It's the reverse in RB, the instrument you play gets tiny boost over the others.

Makes you wounder how much they actually care about the work they put into the game, surely something like that would be noticed in QA if not long before, yet they and many other companies release games with obvious flaws.

What are the charts like on this? Is it the usual GH shenanigans of making one bend note 4 hit rising hammer ons?

Thats it in a nutshell, and so what if your a split second off, the game will ignore that and score you for it anyway and keep your streak intact :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

calex71 wrote: »
    I'll be totally honest and up front here lads, much as I'll give out about this game, I know I won't be able to resist playing it such is my addiction to rhythm games :mad:

Hell I even got GH:Aerosmith the other week as it was only 9.99 , they should have given me that to play it, and lets not mention GH: Van Halen :(

I borrowed Aerosmith off a friend and completed it in a day for the achievements. It was a horrible experience :(

You have to admit, sweet emotion was a good song !!!!! Reminds me I have half a playthrough left for enough cash to get the toys in the attic cheevo lol :D

Mind you I've been working myself up to going nback to it for 3 months now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

Well at 9.99 I might get it just to finish the few achievements I'm missing. If I do do you want to get the "play all songs as lead guitarist" and "play all songs as lead rhythm/bass" with me?

Wanting to get them and having the will to get them are very different things :D

Think it's been long enough now for me to muster another play though on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

MORE Guitar Hero

Lots of great stuff going on with our friends over at Activision!! First up, the release of Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock on September 28 that includes our version of "Paranoid," recorded with none other than Ozzy Osbourne at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25th Anniversary Concerts. To celebrate this release, you'll be able to import your songs from Guitar Hero: Metallica for free for one week. Finally, check out the DJ Shadow re-mix of "The Day That Never Comes" with Kanye West's "Love Lockdown" on DJ Hero 2, which hits the streets on October 19.

The importing the Metallica songs for free is a pretty cool little stunt. How many of those are you allowed to bring over?

All but 3 or 4 if I recall , the article listing the missing songs escapes me at the moment, I did read that it was not just metallica but GH5 and WT also for the 1st week but that it might have been US only.

It's actually tempting to pick this up now in the morning to tide me over till RB3 , must resist :D

Edit: Was in HMV on henry st earlier and they had this with new guitar for €80 !!!!!!!!! it was 99 next door in game stop ouch.
    Might have a root around at home and see if I have any games to trade in :)

Ok so after all my bitching and moaning I got it :o

got it in hmv for 79.99 with the guitar (as if i needed it) but had a fair few games I was in need of getting rid of. So it cost little over 20 in the end. + they have me a free copy of GH5 which still has a high resale value. (no sure if is all hmv and it wasn't displayed anywhere)

Only played quickplay didn't bother with story mode. Have to say I am shocked. quickplay + is where it is at, from the demo I thought they took out all the challenges etc that I loved in GH5. Nope they just stashed them in quickplay. There is a massive amount to do there.

I have read that the guitar is now 6 buttons, is that right?

no standard 5

Was going well until I hit Dragonforce, it's no fire and flames but it's still dragonforcefarce :mad:

The Rush 2112 bit in the quest mode is ace!!!!!!!

Does that game have all of 2112?! NO! I wont be tempted!!

It has

Rush – “2112 Pt. 1 – Overture”
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 2 - The Temples Of Syrinx”
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 3 – Discovery”
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 4 – Presentation”
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 5 - Oracle: The Dream”
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 6 – Soliloquy” <
    My personal favorite
    Rush – “2112 Pt. 7 - Grand Finale”

So no, not the whole album like they told us, it has all of 2112 but not all of 2112 , at least I assumed it was the album not just the song they ment.

There is this kind of narration thing going on between songs by members of rush in quest mode, you play the songs in one go back to back. Mind you they did feel really short, must go back and play them no I have them unlocked for freeplay. They are pretty easy when you compare to spirit of radio for example.

Spirit of Radio was mad hard alright. And I only meant the song not the album :P

joystiq review here: http://www.joystiq.com/2010/09/29/guitar-hero-warriors-of-rock-review/#continued

not really much positive to say about it and more or less confirms what we all assumed when the game was announced (also weirdly the new guitar omits the touch strip introduced in GH5)

I think his point about the fact that "you still just have to play well, nothing has changed" is the most important bit. The last bit about missing what GH1 made him feel made me a bit sad too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I got it for the xbox, the strip part lower down is gone. Its a stripped down version all right but still what i want. Just chuck it on blast out a few good songs and knock it off. The songs are not the best but any game with Neil Young in the soundtrack is all right by me. Working through the quest mode its something Jack Black would come up with.

Over all nothing new, stuff taken away from the last game and not much more than a song pack in truth but still i like it !

See, I don't understand this, if it's just extra songs you want why not get RB and lots of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

See, I don't understand this, if it's just extra songs you want why not get RB and lots of them?

Activision gave it to me for free to review for the site thats why i got it not sure if id have bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Am I Evil?

Got this yesterday, Great game.. loving it so far. Much better then the last two proper sequels (nothing beats Metallica :pac: )

Excellent set list for my taste :D

Was gonna get the full bundle as my Rock Band 1 drum set is a bit battered at this stage :(

Decided to hold off for the Rock Band 3 pro drum set though.. been hearing the Guitar Hero one has some issues

drums are 11.99 in hmv at the minute, and be quick and get metallica imported into GH6 before the offer allowing you to do it free expires