Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duck shooting anybody?

• 31-07-2010 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭

A friend of mine in Wicklow has some duck shooting dates available. Fantastic setting with a great pond. 12.50 per shot duck and no other charges. 6-8 guns per day. Safe and insured guns only please.

pm me for further info

Seoirse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

12.50 per duck???:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    12.50 per duck???:eek:

Must with flied rice and sweet and sour sauce:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

what sort of duck?
    is it a fed flight pond?
    any geese?

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Must with flied rice and sweet and sour sauce:D

At that price I'd expect them to be landing on me dinner table,not in front of me on a pond alright!:)
    Another point are these ducks actually wild fellahs or just hand reared yokes that are like semi tame farmyard fowl.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

it sounds very dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

€12.50 per duck is cheap. Some shoots were charging up to €25 a bird in the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

If that really is the only charge, then it's fair enough.

I hate when they nickle and dime you, so to speak. Oh, there's a €20 you didn't shoot anything fee.

Plus there's the sit in my field that has been shot out for years fee.

If you shoot nothing and pay nothing, fair enough.

As for myself, if I had land, anyone that stepped on it would have to pay something - just for insurance sake.

FISMA wrote: »
    If that really is the only charge, then it's fair enough.

I hate when they nickle and dime you, so to speak. Oh, there's a €20 you didn't shoot anything fee.

Plus there's the sit in my field that has been shot out for years fee.

If you shoot nothing and pay nothing, fair enough.

As for myself, if I had land, anyone that stepped on it would have to pay something - just for insurance sake.

As far as I can make out the OP is talking about a driven duck shoot.

I haven't a clue what your on about though:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭seoirse1980

It's 12.50 per shot (Mallard) duck. If you don't shoot anything you don't pay anything. The owner is happy having no fee for the day on top of your bag fee. Most places i've heard of charge around 50 euro for the day regardless of any birds shot.

I know this isn't for everyone. But for those that don't have access to duck or haven't shot at duck before i think it could be a great day out.

It will also be a great oportunity for those with young dogs to work them in a relaxed and friendly shoot enviroment.

Also you certainly won't get a hundred duck per day on any other pond for 12.50 a bird.

It will certainly be more enjoyable than shooting down to tesco to pick up a duck or two!:P

When you say driven ducks ...How does that work exactly??I know of driven pheasents,but ducks ???
    BTW just a EU comparision,havent got the price for quackers yet,pheasents in Hungary are 3.50 per bird shot.Been invited to a shoot there in Nov.:cool:

I am assuming that with one pond the duck will be fed in different places by the gamekeeper during the day, in the surrounding field.. that way the birds become accustomed to being driven off the pond and flying to where they are being fed. At least tats how I think it works, was on a shoot last year that used to catch the ducks in traps and then fly them out flying from pond to pond very artificial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

When you say driven ducks ...How does that work exactly??I know of driven pheasents,but ducks ???
    BTW just a EU comparision,havent got the price for quackers yet,pheasents in Hungary are 3.50 per bird shot.Been invited to a shoot there in Nov.:cool:

Please PM me the details of the outfitter. I would gladly go for a driven day at 3.50 a bird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

typical irish . if this was a english fourm the guys pm box would be full .

if you dont want his shooting FTFU .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

jwshooter wrote: »

if you dont want his shooting FTFU .

What is FTFU??
    STFU maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

€12.50 is a good price it's £25 in Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Sounds very reasonable OP,i'll be having some of that,i'll pm you for details.
    And for those who think is "quare dear" ,rabbits/crows are free:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

P.m's sent.

There's 8 days left for anybody else who wants to get in on some action before it's taken up.

I was down there yesterday and all is well, 1500 mallard out on the pond enjoying the short spell of sun we had. My 7 month old pointer nearly destroyed herself when she saw them. She couldn't resist a dash at them and brought me back one unharmed thankfully!

I forgot to mention the duck were bought in two batches with four weeks between them. This is the third year shooting on this pond and has been a great success in the past. Heading down this week to keep charlie and the local mink at bay.

I'll post some pics when I finish work.

Seoirse

just a small part of the pond and the ducks

Seoirse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

**** me its well stocked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

How big is that pond?

I'm not sure exactly but thats about a fifth of the overall size of it you can see in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Pm sent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

just a small part of the pond and the ducks

Seoirse

it looks like lambs to the slaughter:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Hey Grizzly45, I asked you to PM me with details of the outfitter who is offering pheasants in Hungary for E3.50 a bird.
    I have a group of shooting friends who are willing to take 2 days back to back 250 bird days this winter.
    This is seriously good value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

TBH not my kind of hunting :o

Thanks for all the pm's lads, best of luck to you all and I hope you all have a great day. The dates are first two saturdays or sundays in september with the next weekend off then the next two saturdays or sundays and a break the next weekend etc.

I hope people who have shooting to offer will post it up as in the uk forums. For sale,for favour or to swap days. An outing shooting geese for woodcock, snipe for duck or a stalk perhaps. We all live in various parts of the country. Some species that may be plentiful to us may be of particular interest to some who just don't have access to hunt that quary.

If you have no interest in any particular type of shooting thats fine. But if we all posted notes when we are not interested in a particular subject. I believe that would be counter productive.

Seoirse

OK so :rolleyes: ................to me this is not hunting and it fuels the antis onslought on all hunting.

You may not like or appreciate my opinion but it is my opinion.

I am a firm believer in each to their own sport, as long as it's legal, BUT that does not mean I have to or do I agree with everyone elses idea of sport.

The number in the bag is not important to me. It's more about the hunt, shooting and eating of my quarry and the quarry after having a sporting chance to get away !

This type of shooting, I may as well be clay shooting IMO ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

OK so :rolleyes: ................to me this is not hunting and it fuels the antis onslought on all hunting.

You may not like or appreciate my opinion but it is my opinion.

I am a firm believer in each to their own sport, as long as it's legal, BUT that does not mean I have to or do I agree with everyone elses idea of sport.

The number in the bag is not important to me. It's more about the hunt, shooting and eating of my quarry and the quarry after having a sporting chance to get away !

This type of shooting, I may as well be clay shooting IMO ;)

Why do you feel the need to post that here though?

No one asked for opinions on the rights or wrongs of it?

TBH not my kind of hunting :o
    ....If you have no interest in any particular type of shooting thats fine. But if we all posted notes when we are not interested in a particular subject. I believe that would be counter productive.

Seoirse
    Vegeta wrote: »
    Why do you feel the need to post that here though?

No one asked for opinions on the rights or wrongs of it?

Now does it make sense to you?

Please explain considering the content of some of the other posts here why you have singled mine out?

Now does it make sense to you?

No, he didn't ask your opinion. He asked you not to post your negative thoughts, but you did anyway.
    Please explain considering the content of some of the other posts here why you have singled mine out?

There are 3 posts which could be argued as negative when it comes to the type of shooting and 2 are from you. The other is Spunk84.

No, he didn't ask your opinion. He asked you not to post your negative thoughts, but you did anyway.

It is an opinion and not a "negative thought". And I replied to his post following my "negative thought".

My comment was not in breech of the hunting forum charter? The thread is in the hunting section. Maybe it should be in the For Sale/Wanted section where I could understand a no comment rule? ;)
    There are 3 posts which could be argued as negative when it comes to the type of shooting and 2 are from you. The other is Spunk84.

My other negative post being?

And I ask again, why I singled out ?

It is an opinion and not a "negative thought". My comment was not in breech of the hunting forum charter? The thread is in the hunting section. Maybe it should be in the For Sale/Wanted section where I could understand a no comment rule? ;)

Well actually bunny it was. I'll just direct you to this section
    This is a hunting forum so if you're anti-hunting, don't post and don't read any posts; you are going to be offended. Any muppetry will result in a temp or perm ban.

My other negative post being?

Number 26 I believe
    And I ask again, why I singled out ?

because you were doing something which I thought was pretty sh1t

I am not acting as a mod here bunny I was merely asking why you felt the need to post negative opinions when the OP asked you not to. Thought it was lousy thing to do tbh

I think that there were a number of people who posted negatively that the price was to high, even though for driven duck shooting €12.50 a bird is actually dirt cheap. What would they know anyway.

But bunny shooter and spunk84 were the only two that came on here to knock it. Unless you have tried any type of driven shooting you have no right to knock it.

I'ld be surprised if either bunnyshooter or spunk84 own a dog not to mind a pair of boots........ were all part of the hunting community even if the two posters in question don't know a whole lot about it.

Don't knock another mans sport because one day it may be your sport that the greens are trying to ban.

Well actually bunny it was. I'll just direct you to this section

In light of my explanation as to why I didn't agree with this type of hunting I think you are clutching at straws :rolleyes:
    Number 26 I believe

This could be viewed as negative. I assume the reply to OP is the second negative post. Therefore IMO I have one negative post as does Spunk. Yet I was singled out :eek:
    because you were doing something which I thought was pretty sh1t

Is that as Vegeta or as a Mod or both? :p
    I am not acting as a mod here bunny I was merely asking why you felt the need to post negative opinions when the OP asked you not to. Thought it was lousy thing to do tbh

A luxury I don't have two different 'hats' :D

Lads I think this has run it's course and anyone who wants to go can PM the OP

I would like to give bunny the last word though so I am going to lunch and will lock it when back. is that fair,

....But bunny shooter and spunk84 were the only two that came on here to knock it. Unless you have tried any type of driven shooting you have no right to knock it.

Read my other post :rolleyes: * I simply stated it wasn't for me :)
    I'ld be surprised if either bunnyshooter or spunk84 own a dog not to mind a pair of boots........ were all part of the hunting community even if the two posters in question don't know a whole lot about it..

I have an Irish Setter and a Labrador and I use Meindl boots for rough shooting :p
    Don't knock another mans sport because one day it may be your sport that the greens are trying to ban.

Read my other post :rolleyes: *

* http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67251628&postcount=28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

I get the impression that the density of birds in the picture is fuelling the negative sentiment. Nonetheless the birds look healthy and have adequate space. Is the set up any more objectionable than a typical gun club pheasant release pen? I think not when you consider how favourable these conditions are for the birds compared to free range farming for slaughter.

There are simply not enough wild ducks to sustain the sport of duck shooting in ireland. I suspect quite a few of these ducks will find their way into game bags around the country to be tallied as wild mallard. Without releases would mallard even be the most abundant wild duck?

If the ducks fly well and the bag is not excessive on a night, I couldn't see any problem. Sounds like good value.

Shame the thread is being closed, Thanks for the enquiries one and all.

Seoirse

Lads I think this has run it's course and anyone who wants to go can PM the OP...........

A classic manouvre from Spark's "Strategies for Mods" book :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

A classic manouvre from Spark's "Strategies for Mods" book :p:D
    Is that the one you bought for use elsewhere? :pac: