Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European Benchrest Championship 2010

• 29-07-2010 11:50pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I would like to take the opportunity to wish all the lads (Kieran, Paul, Bobby Snr, Bobby Jnr, Justin) traveling to the 2010 European Benchrest Championships in Plzen the very best of luck. They will be contending in the 25 and 50 mtr .22lr benchrest comps. The lads have done very well in individual national comps over the last year and extremely well in team events winning multiple golds. Here is hoping that trend continues.

All details are to be found on the ERABSF website.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Busy week in Irish international shooting! Good luck lads!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Its great to see it though. More lads, shooting more disciplines.

All we need now is the fair coverage in the press that most every other sport enjoys. However i don't want to turn this thread into a political debate.:rolleyes:

Best wishes and we'll leave it at that.;)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Good luck to all :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

+1, Good Luck everyone!:cool:

Just after getting a text from the lads in Plzen.

Paul Cassidy, Bobby Rafter Jr, Anthony Dunne have just taken Bronze in the light varmint class.

Well done lads. First day and medals already. Here is hoping for more to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

This isn't the first time that we (Irl) have taken part in European Championships in 22 BR. I took part with 4 other lads in 2007 in Milan. There wasn't much publicity bar holding up the plane for and hour coming home :rolleyes:

Well done boys.... keep up the good work! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

That's excellent news, looks like it's been a good weekend for Irish Shooting :)

Any more results? Can't find anything on the website.

Nothing as of yet. Don't really want to be texting them incase they are shooting. Waiting for word from them.

The website is poorly maintained when compared to the likes of the ISSF website. There you have live updates as they happen with visuals of the targets of each shooter. I know the format for Benchrest is different, but the website still runs the current and ongoing competition as "it will take place" and "entries can be submitted". Seems to be somewhat behind hence results may be as slow to be published.

When/if i'm talking to them later i'll ask for as many results as possible, not just how the lads themselves got on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

ezridax wrote: »
    The website is poorly maintained when compared to the likes of the ISSF website. There you have live updates as they happen with visuals of the targets of each shooter. I know the format for Benchrest is different, but the website still runs the current and ongoing competition as "it will take place" and "entries can be submitted". Seems to be somewhat behind hence results may be as slow to be published.
    I don't know why benchrest don't use electronic targets. It would seem to me to be a no-brainer, very easy to implement and pretty much every manufacturer would be able to supply them. The only wrinkle is you don't get a centre aiming mark (although you could put a vertical line in the middle), but an off-centre aiming mark is not really a problem. If it was an issue, the Meyton system (light beam rather than microphones) would work very well.

I did a test in Rathdrum using the air rifle target at 25 yards and an off-centre aiming mark and scored two 10.8s and a 10.9 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 adunne123

Hi All some results from plzen.
    Heavy Varment.
    Team
    Captain Robbie Rafter 748 43 x Anthony Dunne 749 46 x paul Cassidy 745 44x
    Subs Bob Rafter 744 43 x Kieran Murphy (The Doc) 744 37 x

Germany/2 /2245-119x’s
    Uk/1/ 2245-117x’s
    Cz/1/2244-125x’s
    Finland/1/2243-138x’s
    Ireland/2242-133x’s
    Italy/2240-132x’s
    Germany/3 /2239-104x’s
    Germany/1/2238-119x’s

Tight Match only 3 points between 5th and First place.

Regards Robbie.

A quick update of the latest scores.

Bobby Rafter Jnr took 6th (738 33x) in individual light varmint and Paul Cassidy took 9th (738 31x). Anthony Dunne 25th (728 28x)(50mtr)

However in the team event Anthony Dunne, Bob Rafter, Paul Cass took Silver at 50mtr.

Still going well and with the heavy varmint/unlimited class individuals and team tomorrow. Should be a good strong showing from the lads.

All over now (bar the shouting :D).

No medals today, but in fairness what a display by the lads. Silver and Bronze to keep them happy on the way home.

Once again well done lads you have done yourselves proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Congratulations to the whole team.

It is great that we were represented at this match and to take home such a haul of medals is the icing on the cake.

Again, Well done to everyone on the team.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Nice one - Well played all involved!:D

:cool: dC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Yes indeed, well done to all!

Report on the RTE Sport website:
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/other/2010/0806/rimfire_ireland.html
    Ireland claim medals in Rimfire Championships

Friday, 6 August 2010 15:36

Ireland have claimed bronze and silver medals at the European Rimfire Championships in the Czech Republic.

The team won two bronze and two silver medals at the European and World Cup levels.

Ireland had to settle for silver in the 50-metres category, missing out on the gold medal by just one point, pipped by host country the Czech Republic.

They also secured silver in the World Cup event and brought home bronze in the two 25-metres categories.

rtesportrimfire2010.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Robertra

Cheers lads for all your best wish's,it was tough going over there our medal haul wouldnt have been possible without the help of the uk lads especially Brian Kelly,i have sent a match report to clubs and orginisations to try a give you's a feel for what went on over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

Bananaman wrote: »
    Congratulations to the whole team.

It is great that we were represented at this match and to take home such a haul of medals is the icing on the cake.

Again, Well done to everyone on the team.

B'Man

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

Congratulations and well done.

From DTSC and VCRAI committee and members.

Sikamick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭intershoot

hypothetically........if someone wanted to get involved in BR shooting what would be the best way to do so??

If i'm not mistaken BenchRest shooting falls under the NASRPC. There are numerous open competitons (almost on a weekly basis) held around the country. You could check out the NASRPC website for upcoming comps and attend a few or better still shoot in a few. Not sure on the whole affiliation/membership with the NASRPC thing, but you could always start at club level and go from there.

Of course there is the whole ordeal of getting setup with gun and gear.

You need to choose what class you would like to shoot in and then find an appropriate rifle to suit. Or buy a rifle and fit it out to suit into the class you would like to shoot.

There are 4 classes.
    1. Sporter
    2. International sporter
    3. 10.5 lbs
    4. Unlimited
    Each has its own variations of the rules with regards to optic powers, weight, etc. A general guide to these and other items can be found here.

Other equipment needed includes (,but not limited to) scope, front rest, rear bag, wind flags.

A quick breakdown of the gear and cost may look like the following, but will differ depending on how "fancy" you go:
    • Rifle - Anschutz is common, but any BR style rifle - 1817 (or something similar) - €600 (Cost can jump dramatically depending on make model) Stay with match 54 action and away from match 64.
    • Scope - Weaver T36 (example) - Target dot - €350-€400
    • Mounts - Any make - 25mm - €80
    • Front rest - Seb/Caldwell - Multi directional/adjustable - €550-€300
    • Rear bag - Any make - €50
    • Windflags - Caldwell - €90 (you can make your own for far less)
    • Tools/cleaning gear - All makes - €150-€200
    • Tuner - Optional extra, but will go towards total weight - €150
    Total cost starting with cheaper, but no less adequate equipment would stand you around €1620 - €2120. The only limit would be the size of your wallet.:D

+1 for what ezridax said

first port of call is your club - if they have a benchrest range then ask to have a go

if your club does not have a benchrest range then find one near you that does - most of them are on the NASRPC site

if it strikes your fancy then you should look at some club and national competitions - there are club shoots on all the time - just ask in the clubs - I know my club, hilltop, has one this weekend the 21st - there is a national shoot most months - check the NASRPC calendar - I believe the next one is in Lough Bo, Sligo in september

not all clubs are affiliated to the NASRPC but as the NGB for the sport they support it wherever it happens - as demonstrated by their providing the Irish strip and financial support for the team in the European championships - all of whom were members of MNSCI -which is not affiliated

bottom line is that there is ample opportunity to try it out, take a look at what other people are using (rifles, rests, ammo, etc.) so just go give it a lash -
    if the bug bites there'll be no stopping you

B'Man

Giving up on the belly-shooting game then intershoot? ;)

BR is the exact same as PR60,

............................. just the rest holds the rifle not the shooter.....................
    ...............................Oh, no dress code (jacket) ...............................
    ...............................there is the fact that you use a scope not apertures,.................................

.............................oh yeah, you sit at a bench rather than lying down.

Other than that they are the exact same. :D

No reason you can't do both

B'Man

Giving up on the belly-shooting game then intershoot? ;)

Well I am actually intending to do both as I have a nice little 1813 in a BR50 stock with a Hawke Tactical type scope on her. Then the last trip to Lapua found a lovely batch of Centre-X which makes lovely wee round groups ;)

I have been shooting the local club leagyes etc and enjoy it.....in fact I know another Eastie, and another Westie, who is also gonna give it a go too!! We have found some lovely little plates that go on the bottom of Bleikers .... pmsl :p did ya ever see a Bleiker with a scope on her IWM??

I may like to take it a little further than the local league, and dunno if UKBR or down with you guys is the way to go next!!

All advice greatly received!!

intershoot wrote: »
    Well I am actually intending to do both as I have a nice little 1813 in a BR50 stock with a Hawke Tactical type scope on her. Then the last trip to Lapua found a lovely batch of Centre-X which makes lovely wee round groups ;)

I have been shooting the local club leagyes etc and enjoy it.....in fact I know another Eastie, and another Westie, who is also gonna give it a go too!! We have found some lovely little plates that go on the bottom of Bleikers .... pmsl :p did ya ever see a Bleiker with a scope on her IWM??

I may like to take it a little further than the local league, and dunno if UKBR or down with you guys is the way to go next!!

All advice greatly received!!

Oh, that the one I saw last time I was up in your place? Nice gun if so. Should do well. I've seen Bleikers being used for BR alright. Results are good, but without lots of tuning work, not as good as you might think. They do the job though. Not really a big fan of benchrest myself, not ready to retire just yet, but lots of folk do enjoy it.

RETIRE! :eek: ye cheeky fecker!

I'd nearly come down on Sat/Sun just to whip yer arse :p - got me new Lapua Midas+, batch tested you know ;), and shooting a treat. Got a modest 583 on the Suis Ascor in the Roberts at the weekend! Floydster still whipped me though on that one, 587 (W*nker!), and anhialated me on the next :(.

I'd recommend you try the benchrest, not as easy as you might think, its actually easier to shoot prone as the recoil is easier to control with each shot. We are shooting NSRA rules, which means only one flat rest at the front, and its a propper c*nt to get the recoil the same each time, still managing upwards from 195 each time - they are shot on the NSRA 6 spot targets!

is a change from the prone as during the week I rarely get time to settle down for too long before someones pestering me, the BR is quicker to get up and running.

RETIRE! :eek: ye cheeky fecker!

I'd nearly come down on Sat/Sun just to whip yer arse :p - got me new Lapua Midas+, batch tested you know ;), and shooting a treat. Got a modest 583 on the Suis Ascor in the Roberts at the weekend! Floydster still whipped me though on that one, 587 (W*nker!), and anhialated me on the next :(.

I'd recommend you try the benchrest, not as easy as you might think, its actually easier to shoot prone as the recoil is easier to control with each shot. We are shooting NSRA rules, which means only one flat rest at the front, and its a propper c*nt to get the recoil the same each time, still managing upwards from 195 each time - they are shot on the NSRA 6 spot targets!

is a change from the prone as during the week I rarely get time to settle down for too long before someones pestering me, the BR is quicker to get up and running.

Very nice. The new rifle is treating me well. Hopefully have a 580+ on saturday in the 50m section. Training scores have been alright (first forty shots were 387/400) and last full match I shot two days ago was a 574 in nasty enough wind conditions with no flags. I've tried benchrest and I just find it doesn't interest me. I can see the challenge, just not my bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Robertra

hypothetically........if someone wanted to get involved in BR shooting what would be the best way to do so??

You could try out an old match 54 anschutz can be picked up for less than 500 and with some small mods and half decent scope can give good results.At the end of the day it will come down to how much you have to spend.The more you pay the easier your repeatability will be.

regards

Robbie