Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do we do?

• 29-07-2010 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Hi everyone,
    i've had a look on here and i'm sure theres no one asking this question (prob because it's so feckin easy to answer and i'm just a stupid pleb).i'm sorry if i put this in the wrong section. couldent find the "music industry help" forum if theres such a thing

anyway........

basically my problem is this... myself and the band are after recording an e.p. ourselves over the last couple of months, now were able to do all the recording, mixing, mastering and have even thought about duplication on our own which is fine, however i'm not sure what we do with it once we have the final cd in our hands.
    how do we go about registering our cd with the likes of imro and the mcps. i am registered with imro myself and i reckon the other lads in this band are too, but when i registered i was playing in another band years ago and the manager took care of all the messin to do with registering albums and getting barcodes and all that other stuff that i know we have to do now...

i wont lie, i am a complete novice when it come to things of this nature, so if you have advice and a way to point me i only ask if you can be as clear as you can be as i dont want to mess anything up over a silly mistake like not doing the right paperwork and the likes.

it just seems to me it's something that everyone does and noone talks about... if we register our music with imro and maybe a song from it gets picked up and becomes popular on the radio say for arguments sake...how does that translate to the band getting money from imro, or maybe i'm getting ahead of myself here, so i'll keep my question simple and direct

how do bands go about registering their music (that they have mastered themselves) with imro and what other relevent irish bodies do we need to register with in order to make sure we dont lose out if we sell some of our music or it gets played on air?

yeah... i think thats it lol... it's all very confusing.

anyway i hope somonme can help out and thank you all in advance for reading my very confused question..
    thanks again
    EdVandal

http://www.myspace.com/culture_vandals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭stevood

Hey man,

Fair play doing it all yourself

As regards radio airplay and royalties, in the mastering process you should have added ISRC codes to each tracks. They are logged by the radio stations when played.
    You contact Imro and they'll give you the number. Its quite simple getting the codes but not sure how they are added in the mastering process.

Also i'd ask Imro the question about changing your own details for your band and songs. They're quite friendly and helpful.

Any other questions, fire them out, made so many mistakes with our Ep and single and have learned a lot (the hard way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 culture vandals

thanks so much you've pointed me in the right direction man ..nice one..i'll get onto imro first thing tuesday morn.