Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford Mondeo - Stuck on Radio Function/No CD or AUX

• 29-07-2010 8:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Hi. I can only listen to my Radio in Ford Mondeo 2004. It is stuck on TodayFM. Cant change station. Can't press CD or AUX button. The arm for controlling Volume etc does not work also. Only control that works is Main On/Off & Volume knob. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Thats strange - you could try disconnecting the battery and after you reconnect enter the Radio code.

Make sure you have the code though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭fed16

thewools wrote: »
    Make sure you have the code though!!

Big time...cost me 20e to get the flipping thing after disconnecting the battery the last time. RIP OFF!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭LarryMac

The code is on a sticker on the glovebox. I'll disconnect battery when I get home from work. Probably wise to get home before I do any disconnecting...:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

It also could be that one of the buttons is stuck.
    If that is the case no other input will work (as in your case) and you could try and press each button, if it feels wrong (i.e. stuck down or flat and not engaging), keep pushing that button until it frees itself.
    That might solve your problem.

Tanx folks. I disconnected battery yesterday. Now I cant enter code for radio (cause buttons still wont work). Now i've nothing! :(. I bought clips in Harfords and removed radio. All cables tightly secured. Looks like Radio is fecked...

Try spraying the front of the radio with window cleaner (anything alcohol based) and keep pressin all the buttons.
    Otherwise ALdi does a car radio with all the bells and whistles for €50 or thereabouts, better than nothing...

Still nothing. Disconncected everything again. Will have to source another one. Anyone know where i'd pick up 2nd hand Mondeo 2004 radio unit? Model 6000.

LarryMac wrote: »
    Still nothing. Disconncected everything again. Will have to source another one. Anyone know where i'd pick up 2nd hand Mondeo 2004 radio unit? Model 6000.

My local Ford dealer (Ennis) always has a pile of them in the service department, try your Ford dealer, you may be in luck, otherwise scrappies, buy and sell, e-bay...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I think you can buy a cheap panel with a cutout that allows you to fit any standard player?

Or try www.summerhillspares.ie

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 mojo25

hi,

Just came across your message, im new to the site today.

I have a 2003 mondeo tdci, i changed my radio to one from lidl last week for €69 got a facia plate in hallfords for €8, i listen to usb, so wanted to change, if you use after market radios you will loose the steering control functions,

anyway,

i still have the old cd/radio if you want it, works perfect, i just wanted a change, have code aswell, living in Athy if you want to collect, let me know and ill give you directions,

Hi Mojo,

Thanks for the offer. I am dropping the car to Mechanic next week for Service and a few small issues. If he cant fix it i'll be in touch.

Cheers

Ye grand no bother, its just sitting there anyway. dont let him charge you if you can have mine for free...

Hi Mojo. Was away for a week. Do you still have radio? If u do i'll take it off you. Mechanic gave car a service but couldn't get radio working...

Larry,

Sent you a PM with my details, give me a buzz.

nice to see a bit of generosity on boards, fair play mojo :D

Ha, thanks, aw sure you know yourself, waste not want not.....Nothing worse then having no music on long drives :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 kopfan09

Hey guys have posted this elsewhere just thought I'd put it here,I have the same problem,radio stuck on 2fm,cd not working neither are the controls on the steering wheel only the on/off works.This is a second hand unit only got yesterday as the original unit was locked and had no joy trying to fix it ,any help would be much appreciated,cheers