Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí

• 28-07-2010 6:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭

First of all this isn't a police bashing thing. But I again witnessed today how ignorant and disrespectful the Gardaí can be. I'm 25, and have lived in the same working-class area for 23 of those years. In the occasions where they have been present in the estate they have almost never been anything other than rude and hostile.

I'm really tired of it. I don't want to bear a grudge against anybody, and realise that my own experiences amount to nothing more than anecdotal evidence, but I'm really starting to resent their presence, despite being grateful for the work they do.

Very frustrating.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

This is a tricky issue. Often times people only see the Gardaí reaction but ignore the provocation. Which is equally annoying.

Generally it is important to remember that the Guards are just people, like anyone else. There are good and bad guards. Can you expand on what the Guards have done that made you think they were disrespectful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Denerick wrote: »
    This is a tricky issue. Often times people only see the Gardaí reaction but ignore the provocation. Which is equally annoying.

Generally it is important to remember that the Guards are just people, like anyone else. There are good and bad guards. Can you expand on what the Guards have done that made you think they were disrespectful?

Was taking a girl home after a few drinks. Garda pulled up and asked me where I was going. I said I was taking the girl home to her estate (upper class area). He asked me where I was from. I told him the name of my estate (working class area). He smiled at me and asked how I managed to 'pull' her. (Considering the piss poor area I'm from?)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

ThirdMan wrote: »
    Was taking a girl home after a few drinks. Garda pulled up and asked me where I was going. I said I was taking the girl home to her estate (upper class area). He asked me where I was from. I told him the name of my estate (working class area). He smiled at me and asked how I managed to 'pull' her. (Considering the piss poor area I'm from?)

That particular guard is just a wánker. There are wánkers in every walk of life.

I should mention that this happened a few years back. This issue today was much more subtle. I was playing ball with my nephew and the ball ran onto an adjacent road. My nephew made a dash toward the ball but stopped when it went onto the road. He knows better than to run out in front of traffic. The approaching Garda spoke to me as if I was recklessly putting my nephew's life at risk. Like I said, very subtle, but disrespectful. I don't need lessons from a total stranger.

Denerick wrote: »
    That particular guard is just a wánker. There are wánkers in every walk of life.

I know. It just gets to me. I'm not playing the 'poor me' card, but I know who I am, I know where I'm from. Just sick of getting **** about it.

Gardai are people too, not machines. The point is, as mentioned above, that there are good Gardai and there are bad Gardai, and there are the Gardai that are just normal people. I hold the utmost respect for them simply because of the professionalism I received one night after being beaten up by 7 guys in Cork. They helped me and my friend, they found the people responsible, and they sought to convict them in a proper manner. I've also had the opportunity to see them in action in relation to other problems my friends have had with stalkers, muggings, and theft. So I tend to let a lot of the minor things/irritations slide because they are there to help when you do need them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Gardai are people too, not machines. The point is, as mentioned above, that there are good Gardai and there are bad Gardai, and there are the Gardai that are just normal people. I hold the utmost respect for them simply because of the professionalism I received one night after being beaten up by 7 guys in Cork. They helped me and my friend, they found the people responsible, and they sought to convict them in a proper manner. I've also had the opportunity to see them in action in relation to other problems my friends have had with stalkers, muggings, and theft. So I tend to let a lot of the minor things/irritations slide because they are there to help when you do need them.

just because you had a perfect ten out of ten experience with the guards does not mean everyone else has , the THIER PEOPLE TOO line is pure drivel, if a non public sector worker made a snide comment about a persons adress , you wouldnt have posters on defending them along the lines of , THIER ARE GOOD PEOPLE AND BAD PEOPLE

irishh_bob wrote: »
    just because you had a perfect ten out of ten experience with the guards does not mean everyone else has , the THIER PEOPLE TOO line is pure drivel, if a non public sector worker made a snide comment about a persons adress , you wouldnt have posters on defending them along the lines of , THIER ARE GOOD PEOPLE AND BAD PEOPLE

And what is your experience of the Gardai? You haven't provided anything other than the above. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

First of all this isn't a police bashing thing.

That's exactly what this is and you know it.

That one Garda may have been a prat but there are plenty who are honest hardworking individuals who put their lives on the line regularly, working long hours and not getting half the recognition they deserve.

Don't tar them all with the one brush, you might be in bad need of them one day.

I've tried to raise a discussion in an honest and respectful manner. If you doubt my sincerity then that's fine. But do read all of my post, not just the first line. I realise that my experiences are just anecdotal, but they are making an impression on me, one that I regret because I don't wish to bear any kind of a grudge. This is my primary reason for posting, as I think I already expressed.

But rather than trying to explain myself again, I'd like to give you the opportunity to explain how you've come to this conclusion after reading my three relatively benign posts?

ThirdMan wrote:
    But rather than trying to explain myself again, I'd like to give you the opportunity to explain how you've come to this conclusion after reading my three relatively benign posts?
    ThirdMan wrote:
    but I'm really starting to resent their presence, despite being grateful for the work they do

And despite of being grateful.. the only stories you have told are negative... You haven't said anything positive about them so its quite reasonable to question your motives.

I wasn't asked to offer any positive experiences. I was responding to the second post. I don't see what the problem is.

I hold the utmost respect for them simply because of the professionalism I received one night after being beaten up by 7 guys in Cork.

This experience has influenced your view of the Guards.

My experiences have influenced my view of some Guards, particularly those that patrol my local area. It seems a little unfair that your experience lends credence to your post, while my experiences make me look prejudiced?

ThirdMan wrote:
    I wasn't asked to offer any positive experiences. I was responding to the second post. I don't see what the problem is.

You weren't asked to provide any negative experiences either just to expand on your original post. You threw them out on your own initiative.
    This experience has influenced your view of the Guards.

My experiences have influenced my view of some Guards, particularly those that patrol my local area. It seems a little unfair that your experience lends credence to your post, while my experiences make me look prejudiced?

Ahh but I've never alluded to my being neutral in this. I am biased. I do believe that the Gardai do a very difficult job faced with some rather ignorant attitudes amongst the general population. So you see, I do approve of the Gardai, and feel that a few minor incidents don't tarnish them as a whole.

Whereas you started this thread, and only focused on the negative, which is highly suggestive in itself.

You weren't asked to provide any negative experiences either just to expand on your original post. You threw them out on your own initiative.

Ahh but I've never alluded to my being neutral in this. I am biased. I do believe that the Gardai do a very difficult job faced with some rather ignorant attitudes amongst the general population. So you see, I do approve of the Gardai, and feel that a few minor incidents don't tarnish them as a whole.

Whereas you started this thread, and only focused on the negative, which is highly suggestive in itself.

So it's not possible to make a critical argument, and only focus on the areas that I am critical of?

Should I punctuate every negative point with a positive story, so as not appear biased? Hardly.

I did start this thread, perhaps as a way of venting my frustration, and had practically forgotten about it until Ms Hepburn used my words to misrepresent my position.

Notice this thread has ceased to be about Gardaí, but whether or not I'm biased against them. It seems discussion has been shut down in favour of attacking me.

So it's not possible to make a critical argument, and only focus on the areas that I am critical of?

Should I punctuate every negative point with a positive story, so as not appear biased? Hardly.

I did start this thread, perhaps as a way of venting my frustration, and had practically forgotten about it until Ms Hepburn used my words to misrepresent my position.

Notice this thread has ceased to be about Gardaí, but whether or not I'm biased against them. It seems discussion has been shut down in favour of attacking me.

You were asked if this was a Gardai bashing thread. Since you have not posted anything except negative opinions, I figured quite reasonably that it was one... And regarding a critical argument... when you make one, I'll respond to it as such.

As for attacking you? Nothing I have written has been an attack, and you're more than welcome to ask one of the mods to check. :rolleyes:

in relation to being shut down, I'd actually recommend it since there's nothing of substance here suitable for humanities. Perhaps ask your "question" in After Hours?

You were asked if this was a Gardai bashing thread. Since you have not posted anything except negative opinions, I figured quite reasonably that it was one... And regarding a critical argument... when you make one, I'll respond to it as such.

As for attacking you? Nothing I have written has been an attack, and you're more than welcome to ask one of the mods to check. :rolleyes:

in relation to being shut down, I'd actually recommend it since there's nothing of substance here suitable for humanities. Perhaps ask your "question" in After Hours?

Your written tone, your obnoxious bold lettering, your referring to "ignorant attitudes amongst the general population" and suggesting I take this to After Hours, a forum known for it's particular flavour shall we say. All this amounts to an attack, one of manners if nothing else.

I have objected to the manner of your post. Nothing i have written was directed at you personally. Again, if you feel I am attacking you contact a mod. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭clarke1991

there are sound people and there are just pr!cks. in my hometown there are some sound guards but there are cúnts aswell. had to go in and give a statement one time (over something that wasn't my fault, and everything was admitted) and there were these two old farts changing my story as i was talking, while there were other people in the room (they didn't get away with it, and got an earful;)) and at one moment the sargent said 'your in big trouble', while i was saying everything! he then had to call out to the house a few days later and even my dad reckond he was a tool:p!

also a friend of mine was in an accident and while the other person involved wanted to take half the blame, the guards wouldn't let her.

another time, one of the above who was interviewing me followed another friend of mine around town for about 10 mins, and its not a big town lol!

saying that, some are sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

You are right to be fustrated nobody should have spoken to you in the way they did. Why did it happen? firstly police are effectively civil servants so I assume if there is the odd bully among them they cant be weeded out if they engage in low level sneering as in your case. Secondly by definition, the ecounter isnt an equal one in that if a rent-a-cop or sales assistant said something similar you would have 3 options, flip them the bird, report them to their supervisor or as in the recent lidl case getting compensation for having your good name questioned whereas I doubt you can exercise any of the choices above in your situation.
    And just to say I've never had a smart remark said to me and I am not generalising :)

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

I have objected to the manner of your post.

You have objected to the manner of my post. Read back over the tone you have taken with me. I had been respectful and courteous up until the point where I felt I was being judged unfairly.

Anyway, this isn't going anywhere.

All the best.

You have objected to the manner of my post. Read back over the tone you have taken with me. I had been respectful and courteous up until the point where I felt I was being judged unfairly.

Anyway, this isn't going anywhere.

All the best.

Judged unfairly? I asked you to explain yourself, and instead you took the stance that i was attacking you. Previously, I was open to the idea that the Gardai may have been out of line, saying that my experience was different, but that Gardai are individuals. Perhaps you completely misunderstood and got defensive, just like you're doing now.

silverharp wrote: »
    You are right to be fustrated nobody should have spoken to you in the way they did. Why did it happen? firstly police are effectively civil servants so I assume if there is the odd bully among them they cant be weeded out if they engage in low level sneering as in your case. Secondly by definition, the ecounter isnt an equal one in that if a rent-a-cop or sales assistant said something similar you would have 3 options, flip them the bird, report them to their supervisor or as in the recent lidl case getting compensation for having your good name questioned whereas I doubt you can exercise any of the choices above in your situation.
    And just to say I've never had a smart remark said to me and I am not generalising :)

There certainly is an odd bully. An old soccer buddy of mine is a guard now. Stationed in Tallaght. He takes a lot of stick from some of the commanding officers. Laughing at his low wages, etc. It's all done in jest of course, but then again any amount of slagging can become too much when it ceases to be funny. If that can go on within the ranks, it reasonable to presume the general public can be victim to a bit of bull**** as well. But of course that's only anecdotal, god forbid I incur the wrath of previous posters :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

That one Garda may have been a prat but there are plenty who are honest hardworking individuals who put their lives on the line regularly, working long hours and not getting half the recognition they deserve.

Don't tar them all with the one brush, you might be in bad need of them one day.

There's plenty of hardworking people in other professions that dont get the recognition they deserve, infact I would have thought the guards get more recognition.

In my experience, i've come accross some absolute pr!cks, who really aren't fit to wear the uniform, it's a very important job that requires people with a level head and a good measure of cop on.

I have also come accross some excellent guards btw who are a credit to the force.

It's just a shame that there does seem to be a large proportion of people that don't have the mental attributes required, making it through to the guards.

The garda ombudsman is a step in the right direction, and theres been an obvious need for it for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

First of all this isn't a police bashing thing. But I again witnessed today how ignorant and disrespectful the Gardaí can be. I'm 25, and have lived in the same working-class area for 23 of those years. In the occasions where they have been present in the estate they have almost never been anything other than rude and hostile.
    He smiled at me and asked how I managed to 'pull' her. (Considering the piss poor area I'm from?)
    Like I said, very subtle, but disrespectful. I don't need lessons from a total stranger.
    I don't care what your motives for creating this thread are, but starting the thread off saying it "isn't a police bashing thing", but "how ignorant and disrespectful the Gardaí", and going on to give two examples who that it actually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Personally I think Nurses and Guards are the only members of the civil service who probably earn their wages, and for the kind of ****e they routinely have to put up with I say put up with what ignorance you do encounter because let's be honest, there's pricks in every profession, and the guards are no different in that respect.

The said I've personally never had any problems with the Gardaí in this or any other country, I believe that in most situations you get what you give and if someone if going to give lip to a members of the guards then I think they can fully expect to get lip back.

That's not a dig at you OP, but my experience of other people who give out about the "attitude" of the Gardaí is that they tend to be mouthy little pricks, the kind that cause trouble and then deny any involvement, get arrested and then do it all over again as soon as the dust settles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I've had garda get thick headed when I have said where I was going home to, serval times over the years. Not that I legally had to tell them but thier attitude went from reasonable to being smart in a blink of an eye. They dont' like it when you ask for their name, station or who thier super is and who the desk sarge on thier shift is.

I know they do a hard job, it is good to see them have a presence in an area but assuming everyone from an estate which has over 600 houses and houses easily 1,000 is scum and trouble just on that one fact is going to get a lot of regular law abiding people's backs up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Thaedydal wrote: »
    I've had garda get thick headed when I have said where I was going home to, serval times over the years. Not that I legally had to tell them but thier attitude went from reasonable to being smart in a blink of an eye. They dont' like it when you ask for their name, station or who thier super is and who the desk sarge on thier shift is.

I know they do a hard job, it is good to see them have a presence in an area but assuming everyone from an estate which has over 600 houses and houses easily 1,000 is scum and trouble just on that one fact is going to get a lot of regular law abiding people's backs up.

I take your point, but I think the Gardaí get a LOT of unwarranted stick. You're correct about the badness of attitude in assuming everyone from X estate is a trouble-maker is not great, but speaking about my own city and some of the trouble spots there, I'm hard pressed to hold these views against them considering the ****e that goes on at times.

the_syco wrote: »
    I don't care what your motives for creating this thread are, but starting the thread off saying it "isn't a police bashing thing", but "how ignorant and disrespectful the Gardaí", and going on to give two examples who that it actually is.

That day I witnessed an ignorant and disrespectful Garda.

Spade anyone?

dont waste your breath , he or she is most likely related to a guard , seems some people wont tollerate anything but endless eulogizing of gardai

So, let me get this straight.... If we defend the Gardai against criticisms made towards an individual encounter then the poster thats objecting must be related to someone in the Gardai? Seems rather simplistic and flawed.

The thing I find interesting about the people complaining here is that there is nothing truly awful about the Gardai's behavior and could easily come down to a simple misunderstanding by either side.

On a side note, irishh_bob, are you going to answer my previous question or continue jumping in and out with such comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Klaz your posts are waaaaay too aggressive. If the same thing happened to me (and something like this did happen to me back in the day only I was the girl from the nice estate), then I´d want to be venting as well. I think it´s perfectly alright to begin a discussion about the bad element within the police because it does exist and if people want to talk about it, then they´re entitled to without being shouted down. He´s talking about his own experiences, which are more than just a one off. There´s a bad element within the police and people are perfectly entitled to share their experiences. Cool it.

The thing I find interesting about the people complaining here is that there is nothing truly awful about the Gardai's behavior and could easily come down to a simple misunderstanding by either side.

That's possible. That's why in the criticisms I've made I picked two examples where I know there was no misunderstanding.

Look, you criticised me earlier for having nothing positive to say. Well, here's my most recent positive experience. On Halloween last, some kids placed fireworks in our letterbox. It blew it to pieces, made an awful racket, and really frightened my mother.

The guards arrived in decent time, were respectful and polite, took the details, and while there was nothing they could do, they put my mother at ease. I was grateful for their presence, and thankful that they arrived and done their job.

My first negative experience was watching a guard rugby tackle my brother to the ground slamming his head of concrete paving, drag him into a squad car, take him to their HQ where they kicked the **** out of him.

My brother used to be a bit of a jack the lad, and on the night in question he refused a dug search. Having never taken a drug in his life being the principle reason. He ran around the place (he's very fast), embarrassed the guards in front of crowded take away, and laughed his head off while he was doing it. It wasn't right what he done, but I'm almost certain it's illegal for three men to kick the **** out of an 18 year old.

These positive and negative experiences don't cancel each other out. Violently assaulting somebody is not acceptable. That is true when it's a member of the public. But when it's the guards themselves it's an absolute disgrace. These are the people enforcing the law.

I imagine the number of guards who have done something similar to this is very, very, small. So this isn't a damning indictment of the whole organisation. But nonetheless, they are actions carried out by a small number who are representative of the whole organisation.

If you'll allow me an extreme example. The Catholic church in this country has just about had it, the actions of a relatively small number of priests being the main reason. Prudence demands that we not tar everyone with the same brush. But I don't think it's too much to question the role and the reach of an organisation that can't keep individual members in line.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Klaz your posts are waaaaay too aggressive. If the same thing happened to me (and something like this did happen to me back in the day only I was the girl from the nice estate), then I´d want to be venting as well. I think it´s perfectly alright to begin a discussion about the bad element within the police because it does exist and if people want to talk about it, then they´re entitled to without being shouted down. He´s talking about his own experiences, which are more than just a one off. There´s a bad element within the police and people are perfectly entitled to share their experiences. Cool it.

Cool it? Personally I don't think any comment I have made has been out of line or aggressive. I haven't said his comments were crap but rather asked for positive examples in addition to the original posting. Due to the habit of some posters to constantly bash the Gardai on these boards, its a reasonable request if he wished to maintain his position as being different.

I grew up in a rough town with a major problem with drugs (still has to a limited degree). I've seen gardai brutality first hard applied to both the guilty and the innocent. I haven't and won't seek to make the Gardai as being wonderful little angels. But at the same time, I will object to senseless bashing on these boards.
    ThirdMan wrote:
    These positive and negative experiences don't cancel each other out. Violently assaulting somebody is not acceptable. That is true when it's a member of the public. But when it's the guards themselves it's an absolute disgrace. These are the people enforcing the law.

I imagine the number of guards who have done something similar to this is very, very, small. So this isn't a damning indictment of the whole organisation. But nonetheless, they are actions carried out by a small number who are representative of the whole organisation.

If you'll allow me an extreme example. The Catholic church in this country has just about had it, the actions of a relatively small number of priests being the main reason. Prudence demands that we not tar everyone with the same brush. But I don't think it's too much to question the role and the reach of an organisation that can't keep individual members in line.

This is the kind of post I was hoping to see from you. More reasoned out and a lot more balanced. And nothing I can particularly disagree with. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

clarke1991 wrote: »
    there are sound people and there are just pr!cks. in my hometown there are some sound guards but there are cúnts aswell.

This is horrible language.

I've tried to raise a discussion in an honest and respectful manner. If you doubt my sincerity then that's fine. But do read all of my post, not just the first line. I realise that my experiences are just anecdotal, but they are making an impression on me, one that I regret because I don't wish to bear any kind of a grudge. This is my primary reason for posting, as I think I already expressed.

You began by saying you weren't going to bash the Gardai yet a few lines down you say you resent their presence. You admit you have a bad impression of them based on your experience. You are clearly baring a grudge.

Again don't tar them with the same brush, it's unfair and helps no-one.

So we're not allowed to support them now?

You began by saying you weren't going to bash the Gardai yet a few lines down you say you resent their presence. You admit you have a bad impression of them based on your experience. You are clearly baring a grudge.

Again don't tar them with the same brush, it's unfair and helps no-one.

I said that this wasn't a garda bashing thread. I never said I wouldn't be making criticisms of the garda. There is a difference between the two.

The point I made in my original post is that against my better judgement, I'm starting to resent their presence, because of certain negative experiences. I think I made it clear that I'm not happy about developing this resentment, but it is a consequence of said experiences.

Really, I think this is quiet clear, and I have made it even clearer in later posts. Perhaps read through the entire thread before jumping in. I mean, the last point you made I made myself an hour ago. Word for word. Catch up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭clarke1991

This is horrible language.

So we're not allowed to support them now?

you ( personally ) can support to the hilt who you like , others however dont have to support them in all instances , the OP is being silenced for merley raising the issue of thoroughly obnoxious garda behaviour , were he to mention such behaviour with regard to any other proffesion , thier wouldnt be a word against him , the gardai have powers that seperate them from the average citizen , they are also extremley well paid , instances of them abusing thier power should not be excused with banal replys like , dont tar them all with the one brush , franly , this thread is bordering on supression of free speech

you ( personally ) can support to the hilt who you like , others however dont have to support them in all instances , the OP is being silenced for merley raising the issue of thoroughly obnoxious garda behaviour , were he to mention such behaviour with regard to any other proffesion , thier wouldnt be a word against him , the gardai have powers that seperate them from the average citizen , they are also extremley well paid ,

Actually no, if he had posted up the same kind of opinion against Nurses, Doctors, Teachers etc I would still have responded in the same manner.
    instances of them abusing thier power should not be excused with banal replys like , dont tar them all with the one brush , franly ,

Except that the examples given were not abuses of power but rather infractions made on a personal level. Did you read the examples/experiences given?
    this thread is bordering on supression of free speech

LoL. How exactly? His post wasn't removed, or edited. He wasn't banned. The Mods haven't come in and regulated the thread. How exactly can this be anything close to a suppression of free speech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

My general rule when dealing with the Guards is to kill them with kindness,''yes guard,no guard,sorry guard'' that sort of thing.Don't give them any hint of attitude/lip from you and usually you'll be grand,it's always worked for me whenever I've been stopped by them for doing anything wrong.Even more so if the guard you come across seems to be acting the prick.

I have a massive respect for the work that they and nurses,doctors and paramedics do after hearing first hand the crap they deal with on a daily basis from friends who are in the job themselves.

My general rule when dealing with the Guards is to kill them with kindness,''yes guard,no guard,sorry guard'' that sort of thing.Don't give them any hint of attitude/lip from you and usually you'll be grand,it's always worked for me whenever I've been stopped by them for doing anything wrong.Even more so if the guard you come across seems to be acting the prick.

I'm sure that works well. But I like to think I treat all people with the same common courtesy, regardless of their profession. I shouldn't have to kiss anyone's ass.

+1 , yet klaz and other posters seem to believe the OP should have taken the snide remarks by the gardai with gentle good humour , they believe guards are entitled to special exemption in the event they make offensive comments , had a regular citizen pulled up and passed judgement on the OP,s adress , no one would see a problem with the OP telling them to **** off

Actually no, if he had posted up the same kind of opinion against Nurses, Doctors, Teachers etc I would still have responded in the same manner.

Except that the examples given were not abuses of power but rather infractions made on a personal level. Did you read the examples/experiences given?

LoL. How exactly? His post wasn't removed, or edited. He wasn't banned. The Mods haven't come in and regulated the thread. How exactly can this be anything close to a suppression of free speech?

ah i get it , your one of those people who have a list of sacred cow professions , guards , nurses , teachers etc

Whereas you seem to lack respect for people doing an extremely difficult job. Its likely that its people like you that make that job so difficult, and make them so cynical when dealing with the public.

I have asked you twice for your experiences with the Gardai and you have ignored both requests except to pop in and out of the thread making these sort of remarks.
    +1 , yet klaz and other posters seem to believe the OP should have taken the snide remarks by the gardai with gentle good humour , they believe guards are entitled to special exemption in the event they make offensive comments , had a regular citizen pulled up and passed judgement on the OP,s adress , no one would see a problem with the OP telling them to **** off

I believe that the Gardai should be treated with respect since they're in positions of authority, and that its complete and utter stupidity to insult them. But then I wouldn't be suprised if you did show off and insult the Gardai, and then come whining online about doing nothing wrong. There are indeed limits to which should be allowed from the Gardai, but frankly there has been very little of that mentioned in this thread. But responding in any aggressive manner to the Gardai is going to end you in trouble, and honestly, trouble you probably deserve.

I don't have anything against either the OP nor what he wrote, except for looking for a more balanced post if he did wish to maintain his "balanced" viewpoint. You've obviously had problems with reading the whole thread, since we've moved onwards since.

I could say more, but you'll just continue to ignore anything directed to you, since that might require you to make a post of substance. Gotta avoid that. :rolleyes:

There's a rather large difference with being polite and kissing someones ass.

Honestly I find the the general public to be rather ignorant and lacking in general politeness. One of the reasons I refuse ever to work in Customer Service or Credit Control ever again. Its seems like they can't be bothered with even that minimal effort. Btw I'm not directing that at you.

An even patient tone and a willingness to help, is a good attitude when dealing with the Gardai, and it works even better in other countries where they have more police power/influence and weapons. And if you think the Gardai are difficult to deal with you really should try places like Russia, Thailand, or parts of Italy. But the manner I described generally works there too. But blowing your mouth off, showing disrespect, or acting aggressively like irishh_bob seems to approve off, will guarantee you harsher treatment.

My general rule when dealing with the Guards is to kill them with kindness,''yes guard,no guard,sorry guard'' that sort of thing.

This is what I was referring to. This isn't being polite. This, to me at least, seems to be awfully close to kissing ass, or being otherwise submissive.

I would speak to a guard in the same courteous manner that I use with everyone.

That's enough, surely?

Edit: I've already said this in my last post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭harr

my house got robbed last year for the third time, got sick of the guards not doing anything twice i went into station to see what was happeing and there was not even a report on the first two times it happened.so the third time the same gardai came to the house it took her 48 hours to turn up i gave out about why no reports and how long it took her to come out to me. she took details did not look happy said nothing and went off..next day driveing home from work blue lights behind me it was the same garda she did me for not haveing enough air in my tyers 3 points and 60 euro fine. what can people do about people like this?.i know not all of them are the same i have friends and family in the force i know a lot of there friends in the guards and most are sound but you do get a fair few on power trips. :mad:

Whereas you seem to lack respect for people doing an extremely difficult job. Its likely that its people like you that make that job so difficult, and make them so cynical when dealing with the public.

I have asked you twice for your experiences with the Gardai and you have ignored both requests except to pop in and out of the thread making these sort of remarks.

I believe that the Gardai should be treated with respect since they're in positions of authority, and that its complete and utter stupidity to insult them. But then I wouldn't be suprised if you did show off and insult the Gardai, and then come whining online about doing nothing wrong. There are indeed limits to which should be allowed from the Gardai, but frankly there has been very little of that mentioned in this thread. But responding in any aggressive manner to the Gardai is going to end you in trouble, and honestly, trouble you probably deserve.

I don't have anything against either the OP nor what he wrote, except for looking for a more balanced post if he did wish to maintain his "balanced" viewpoint. You've obviously had problems with reading the whole thread, since we've moved onwards since.

I could say more, but you'll just continue to ignore anything directed to you, since that might require you to make a post of substance. Gotta avoid that. :rolleyes:

what would be the point in sharing my experience of the gardai with someone who has clearly formed an opinion already , foregone conclusion and all that

if you think being polite is all it takes to always ensure you get a fair deal with guards , then your as naieve as you are sanctimonious and smug