Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a number to ring to report to insurance companies of wrong engines fitted?

• 28-07-2010 10:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭

I see it all too often, people with cars that have replaced their engines and/or fitted turbo's and the insurance companies are NOT informed, and claim "Its just a 1.0 on the book!".

(Biggest culprits: Starlets / Galanza's)

Do these people not know that they are NOT insured if they are in a crash? Insurance companies are know to get out of paying a claim for such reasons.

And not to be stereotypical, but the vast majority of these are unfortunately "boy racers" that cant afford the insurance on high HP engines, so just upgrade/replace the engines and say nothing.

Me for one, I do not want to be hit by a non-insured driver.

So who can I ring to report this?

Ideally I just want an insurance assessor to visit these cars and do a small report, I dont really want to get the Guards involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

90% of the lads with a "glanza" are just in a starlet no matter what shíte they talk with their mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

mullingar wrote: »
    I see it all too often, people with cars that have replaced their engines and/or fitted turbo's and the insurance companies are NOT informed, and claim "Its just a 1.0 on the book!".

(Biggest culprits: Starlets / Galanza's)

Do these people not know that they are NOT insured if they are in a crash? Insurance companies are know to get out of paying a claim for such reasons.

And not to be stereotypical, but the vast majority of these are unfortunately "boy racers" that cant afford the insurance on high HP engines, so just upgrade/replace the engines and say nothing.

Me for one, I do not want to be hit by a non-insured driver.

Ideally I just want an insurance assessor to visit these cars and do a small report, I dont really want to get the Guards involved

It does not affect you. If you are hit by them you will receive a pay out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Arent we all paying extra on our premiums to cover uninsured driver payouts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Generally it's the Jap importer that registers the car like this, not the lad driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Are you sure about this?

This would be standard for the "third party cover", but their insurance is clearly void due to the insurance T&C's and the question that they always ask "has the vehicle been modified in any way"

I've NO problem with lads and their turbo'd Galanza's, fair play to them if they can afford it (Hell, I was no Saint when I was 18/19:D), but insurance is insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

Bit of a conflict of interest here, your raisin d'etre is to avoid getting caught speeding by the Gardai, unsure of how the admins have let your account continue given its illegal to hinder a Garda in the course of their duty and that is the only reason for the Website in your sig to exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

steve06 wrote: »
    Generally it's the Jap importer that registers the car like this, not the lad driving it.

Doesnt matter what the car is down as, its up to the driver to have it insured properly!

Im sure there is some sort of anonymous tip off line that you can ring, if not then there should be! it would be a good idea!
    can you imagine the the persons face when the assessor calls round to have a quick look under the bonnet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

My strong belief is that, if you know someone is driving without insurance or with incorrect insurance, you should be calling your local Garda station or Traffic Watch (1890 205 805) and letting the Gardai sort it out.

If you feel strongly that it's illegal, then let the law look after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Bit of a conflict of interest here, your raisin d'etre is to avoid getting caught speeding by the Gardai, unsure of how the admins have let your account continue given its illegal to hinder a Garda in the course of their duty and that is the only reason for the Website in your sig to exist.

If you have an issue with a poster's signature then you should use the report button (it reports sigs now too) and let the admins/mods look into it.

Please don't bring these issues on-thread.

@IrishSpeedTraps - please don't respond to this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Actually the presence and awareness of speed cameras is what's meant to reduce road fatalities, not being caught by them.

Sure the Garda website itself details locations of fixed speed cameras as well areas where mobile cameras and speed checks take place.

@Mullingar,

Check the insurance cert of the cars you suspect of doing this if you can, get who they are insured with, take the reg and inform the insurance company. They will probably check it up, I've heard of insurance companies sending people to car shows to check up on peoples cars to see if they are modified and not declared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

How is he hindering the Gardai? The purpose of speed cameras is to slow people down. If people know where they are then they will drive more slowly, ie, job done.

Are you sure about this?

This would be standard for the "third party cover", but their insurance is clearly void due to the insurance T&C's and the question that they always ask "has the vehicle been modified in any way"

I've NO problem with lads and their turbo'd Galanza's, fair play to them if they can afford it (Hell, I was no Saint when I was 18/19:D), but insurance is insurance

Yes, if you are hit by a driver whos insurance is for whatever reason invalid (active policy but going against t&c or whatever) then the comapny will still pay out to the third party; its just the policy holder who they might refuse to pay out to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

djimi wrote: »
    How is he hindering the Gardai? The purpose of speed cameras is to slow people down. If people know where they are then they will drive more slowly, ie, job done.
    Fixed speed cameras yes. The purpose of covert, mobile speed traps is to slow people down everywhere, on the basis that they might get caught - like with drink driving checkpoints.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Fixed speed cameras yes. The purpose of covert, mobile speed traps is to slow people down everywhere, on the basis that they might get caught - like with drink driving checkpoints.

I take your point with the mobile cameras, but still isnt it better to know where they are so that some people might at least slow down around them as opposed to not knowing where they are and having most people still go too fast and just get caught? Plus his site doesnt show where every mobile speed camera is all of the time, so the the factor of their location being unknown is still there, its just at least people might slow down when going past the ones they know to be there.

I take your point tho.

I take your point with the mobile cameras, but still isnt it better to know where they are so that some people might at least slow down around them as opposed to not knowing where they are and having most people still go too fast and just get caught? Plus his site doesnt show where every mobile speed camera is all of the time, so the the factor of their location being unknown is still there, its just at least people might slow down when going past the ones they know to be there.

I take your point tho.
    Substitute drink driving checkpoint for speed check and tell me whether you still feel the same way.;)

Point taken :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

does the nct not pick up on these cars like the emmisions levels will be higher than what the tester is expecting and so on i would imagine:confused:

deaglan169 wrote: »
    does the nct not pick up on these cars like the emmisions levels will be higher than what the tester is expecting and so on i would imagine:confused:
    I remember asking this before myself here, and being told that the NCT emissions figures aren't car or engine specific - ie they're the same for a 1.0 as for a 4.2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Doesnt matter what the car is down as, its up to the driver to have it insured properly!

A 1ltr turbo is still a 1ltr. The log book doesn't have to say turbo on it. Because an ad says "1ltr on log book" you automatically think it's an insurance scam but the fact is that it is a 1ltr on the log book because it's a 1ltr and you have no idea if the owner has informed the insurance company of modifications etc. And you can be guaranteed with the likes of a Glanza, the insurance companies know well what they're insuring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 JasonMcNulty

all glanza's and GT turbo starlets and 1.3 on there log book, none of them say turbo. its a factory modification. these "boy racers" dont go out buying turbo kits... and how do u know that all of these people dont declare them as a 1.3 turbo on there insurance? u cant just go around sayin everyonein a glanza isnt insured because it doesnt say turbo on the log book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

u cant just go around sayin everyonein a glanza isnt insured because it doesnt say turbo on the log book.

100% agree, However; there are many who are deceiving the system.

Wikipedia Quote:
    The Glanza S was powered by the naturally aspirated 1331 cc 4E-FE and the Glanza V was powered by the turbocharged 1331 cc 4E-FTE.

The 4E-FE used in the Glanza S generated 85 PS (63 kW; 84 hp) which, for the extremely light Starlet, was enough to propel the car from 0-100 km/h in 9.6 seconds.

The turbo 4E-FTE used in the Glanza V generated 133 PS (98 kW; 131 hp) at 6400 rpm with a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds (factory brochure stats)

The Galanza is just an example, both engines are 1331cc .

The insurance companies might not know if it is a 4E-FE or a 4E-FTE. The VLC's dont say the engine code or the rated kW (HP), only the serial number & cc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

VLC should state whether it's a Glanza S or V though, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

If you have an issue with the legality of the vehicle or the insurance (with no actual proof) it's really a case of outlining your concerns to AGS and hope you are not wasting their time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Are you sure about this?

http://www.mibi.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

-Chris- wrote: »

If you have an issue with a poster's signature then you should use the report button (it reports sigs now too) and let the admins/mods look into it.

Please don't bring these issues on-thread.

@IrishSpeedTraps - please don't respond to this post.

Which is exactly is exactly what I did!

And that's fine, but you also brought it up on-thread which is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

Often wondered about the engines on logbook.

Noticed this on alot adverts of lads selling mainly Japanese cars.

"2Lt turbo, but non-turbo on the logbook" I'd guess this is slightly

illegal. They shouldnt be able to get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Sadly the system lets them away with it.

As regards the insurance the company must pay out all 3rd party claims made but they will seek to get their money back from the owner who has lied to them. Nothing to do with the MIBI.

mecanoman wrote: »

Theres nothing illegal about retrofitting a turbo, so long as the insurance company is notified about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Theres nothing illegal about retrofitting a turbo, so long as the insurance company is notified about it.

and it is passed safe...
    do Shannon need to be informed of it too, to adjust their records?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

There's nothing wrong with that, it's a CC based registration system, it's not declaring for insurance is wrong, and assuming that you don't have to because the log book doesn't mention it is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Its not illegal, my Ford Focus ST has no mention of a turbo on the logbook.

It just says 2522cc.

Insuring it as a non turbo is whats illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

How interesting to see not one objection to the OP being "sexist"!!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Gophur wrote: »
    How interesting to see not one objection to the OP being "sexist"!!!! :rolleyes:

maybe cos there is no sexism in the post?

........... but the vast majority of these are unfortunately "boy racers" ..............

maybe cos there is no sexism in the post?

Ahem!

BTW, the OP is correct, but so many got their knickers in a twist over an ad, yet have no problem with a similar statement in this thread! ;)

Meh girls can be boy racers too; my sister used to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

In relation to them not being insured, its true the insurance will refuse any payout to the actual driver/owner if lies have been told however the insurer is obliged to pay all applicable 3rd party claims. This remains true no matter how serious the lies were so you really have no worries as long as there is a policy in force.
    The insurers can however seek to recover any costs from the falsely insured driver so really all the risk is on the drivers own head.
    The bigger problem is where they aredriving around with no insurance at all sometimes with a fake disc or a disc from a policy they bought but then cancelled the direct debit. If one of these guys hit you, it will be lots of headaches to get sorted.

Meh girls can be boy racers too; my sister used to be!

Was she a girl-racer or did she/he have some drastic surgery? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭2yung2adm

To get back on topic. Insurance companies are advertising every day to contact them re fraud. having a lager engine in a car and misrepresenting it to the insurance company is defrauding them. report it via that hone number.
    You may also report it to the Gardai Giving all the details to them to include the time and place. Within a month a Garda can demand production of a certificate of insurance or exemption and can have the car impounded and have the details verified through the Garda PSV inspoector.
    The detention is authorised under Sec 41 (b) Road Traffic Act 1994 as ammended
    ( a ) the person driving the vehicle refuses or fails to produce there and then a driving licence then having effect and licensing him to drive the vehicle, when production of such a licence is demanded of him by a member of the Garda Síochána under section 40 (1) of the Principal Act and the member is of opinion that the person is by reason of his age ineligible to hold a driving licence licensing him to drive the vehicle,

( b ) the vehicle is or a member of the Garda Síochána reasonably believes it to be registered in the State and the member is of opinion that the vehicle is being so used in contravention of section 56 (1) of the Principal Act, or

( c ) a member of the Garda Síochána is of opinion that any excise duty payable under section 1 of the Finance (Excise Duties) (Vehicles) Act, 1952 , in respect of the vehicle, being a vehicle which is or which the member reasonably believes to be registered in the State, has not been paid in respect of a continuous period of 3 months or more immediately prior to such use.

These regulations have been updated for instance the power to detain for no tax has been reduced from 3 months without tax to 2 months without tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

steve06 wrote: »
    A 1ltr turbo is still a 1ltr. The log book doesn't have to say turbo on it. Because an ad says "1ltr on log book" you automatically think it's an insurance scam but the fact is that it is a 1ltr on the log book because it's a 1ltr and you have no idea if the owner has informed the insurance company of modifications etc. And you can be guaranteed with the likes of a Glanza, the insurance companies know well what they're insuring!

I think the OP was referring to the likes of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭2yung2adm

fullstop wrote: »
    I think the OP was referring to the likes of this.
    well spotted and he wants to chip it and it a 2ltr.
    The sooner there is a huge clamp down on this the better.

1996 FORD FIESTA,1.1LITRE ON LOGBOOK SO EASY INSURANCE AND CHEAP TAX,CAR HAS NCT UNTIL 06/11,TAX EXPIRED.THE CAR HAS A FULL XR2i KIT,XR2i SEATS AND UNDERBODY SUPPORTS,G-MAX SPRINGS AND SHOCKS,ROSSO RED IN COLOUR,HAS A 2LITRE ZETEC RED TOP MONDEO ENGINE AND GEARBOX FITTED,RUNNING ON SUZUKI GSXR 1100 MOTORBIKE CARBS,ALL THE CAR NEEDS IS A TUNE AND OR CHIP.ONE OF KIND! €3000 CASH,MAY P/X WITH CASH MY WAY ,MAY SWOP FOR RIGHT CAR TRY ME!

Apart from the insurance issues he is also defrauding the state out of €328 per year in road tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Ah shur jaysus wouldnt we all do it if we could!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Quite ironic that your sig is the perfect response for almost every post you make in this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

and it is passed safe...
    do Shannon need to be informed of it too, to adjust their records?

Nobody is required to 'pass a turbo as safe' after it's been installed. It could be a deathtrap ready to explode but once the NCT deem it as 'roadworthy' then that's all the owner needs.

When you are declaring the newly added turbo to your insurance company, they don't follow that up with the question, "is it safe?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

anyone interested in reporting these guys has a very VERY sad life, go get a hobby or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭kev250

Its not going to affect your insurance claim if they crash into you only their own so i wouldnt worry about it. And most of these boyracers with the starlet's are 3rd party anyway.

Why would you tell the local garda station? (maybe if you dislike the person) personally i wouldnt dream of telling them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

Vertakill wrote: »
    When you are declaring the newly added turbo to your insurance company, they don't follow that up with the question, "is it safe?".

They will folow it up with a request for an engineer's road worthiness report though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Hey Op, if you do get that number to report people with incorrect engine size declarations, will you also ask them if it's the same number to ring for those people insured as a "Named Driver" on their parents car where the named river is the only driver in practice also.

kev250 wrote: »
    Its not going to affect your insurance claim if they crash into you only their own so i wouldnt worry about it. And most of these boyracers with the starlet's are 3rd party anyway.

Why would you tell the local garda station? (maybe if you dislike the person) personally i wouldnt dream of telling them
    Well it bothers me if they are defrauding the state of motor tax revenue.