Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipp Vs Clare U 21 Munster Final

• 26-07-2010 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭

Should be a cracker. Hopefully the Tipp lads aren't too drained after some playing Sunday. Tipp team was named tonight.

The Tipperary under 21 hurling team to play Clare in the Munster final on Wednesday evening at Semple Stadium shows 2 changes from the team which defeated Cork in the semi-final. Sean Carey and Brian O’Meara, both of whom came on as subs against Cork start in place of Adrian Ryan and the injured Denis Maher. The team is:

1. James Logue (Ballingarry)
    2. Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields)
    3. John Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy)
    4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
    5. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)
    6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) Captain
    7. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)
    8. Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
    9. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
    10. Seán Carey (Moyle Rovers)
    11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha)
    12. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
    13. Michael Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
    14. Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg)
    15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

Clare team named as:

1. Donal Touhy (crusheen)

2. Diarmuid Nash (scariff)
    3. Cathal Chaplin (broadford)
    4. James Gunning (broadford)

5. Liam Markham (cratloe)
    6. Caimin Morey (sixmilebridge)
    7. Pat O Connor (tubber)

8. Nicky O Connell (clonlara)
    9. Sean Collins (cratloe)

10. Pat Vaughan (smith o briens)
    11. John Conlon (c) (clonlara)
    12. Eoin Hayes (newmarket)

13. Conor McGrath (cratloe)
    14. Darach Honan (clonlara)
    15. Fergus Kennedy (crusheen)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Looks a strong enough Clare team save for a few question marks over the full back line, it says much about the quality of Tipp side that they are such hot favourites for this one.

Even though it has been the same way for a few years now, I am still amazed every time I look at a Clare underage team these days and see how few players from traditional big clubs like the Bridge, Clarecastle and Doora Barefield have on the teams. I think it is great for Clare hurling and arguably one of the reasons for our woeful underage record all along has been overlooking players from the smaller clubs (And I mean no disrespect to the big clubs in saying that).

Back to the game anyway I am sure we can push Tipp all the way in this one and have a shout of winning if everyone is at the the top of their game, especially if a few Tipp players are still feeling the effects of Sundays game. It should be a cracker anyway between two good hurling teams teams jam packed with skilful players.

Great excuse for a few midweek pints. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 gaa2010

Should be a cracker. Hopefully the Tipp lads aren't too drained after some playing Sunday. Tipp team was named tonight.

The Tipperary under 21 hurling team to play Clare in the Munster final on Wednesday evening at Semple Stadium shows 2 changes from the team which defeated Cork in the semi-final. Sean Carey and Brian O’Meara, both of whom came on as subs against Cork start in place of Adrian Ryan and the injured Denis Maher. The team is:

1. James Logue (Ballingarry)
    2. Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields)
    3. John Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy)
    4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
    5. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)
    6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) Captain
    7. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)
    8. Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
    9. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
    10. Seán Carey (Moyle Rovers)
    11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha)
    12. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
    13. Michael Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
    14. Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg)
    15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

Could be a classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭ALTESSE12

Are there many of last years Clare tean still around?

Was thinking of having a little punt on Tipp -3 but not 100% sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭MikeyGorse

Few of us heading down to this,should be a cracking game. Clare were 5/2 with Boyles,great value. Clare to win by the bare minimum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Is it on the box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭MikeyGorse

Is it on the box?

TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Come on the banner :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

ALTESSE12 wrote: »
    Are there many of last years Clare tean still around?

Was thinking of having a little punt on Tipp -3 but not 100% sure

From last years panel I think it is seven starters plus a few subs who featured at various stages last year.

Donal Touhy, Camin Morey, Nicky O O'Connell, Sean Collins, John Conlon, Darach Honan, and Conor McGrath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Nickibaby*

Up the Banner, should be a cracking game :D

Unfortunately wont be able to get to Thurles midweek but it's great they are showing it on TG4 (wish it was on RTE/TV3 though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

c'mon clare yeeeeeeehoooooooo
    ya aint heard nothing yet till ya heard the banner roar

great start shocking keeping tipp not in it yet clare up 1-3 to nithing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

oh ****. wicked bad start for tipp

after saving a penalty and a one on one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

tom thum wrote: »
    oh ****. wicked bad start for tipp

great response from them though. Tipp have got some mighty scores in the last five mins. Tipp no 12 O Meara best player on the pitch so far. Hennessy and McGrath look very strong in midfield for them. Honan living off scraps for Clare.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

U21 is so much better than senior its not even funny. Great game.

an awful dirty tackle by honan. tipp are battling well but they would want to keep the foot on the gas for the second half

tom thum wrote: »
    an awful dirty tackle by honan. tipp are battling well but they would want to keep the foot on the gas for the second half

it wasnt as dirty as it looked sure he came in quickly but he was bent far too down and over exagerated abit of a ronaldo did a full 360 before going to the floor

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Good game of hurling in the first half. I agree that Honan's "tackle" looked bad, but he's such a big lad chances are if he mis times anything it's going to be bad. I would have thought Clare would have pushed on from the great start, shows how good Tipp are that they re-organised and came back. 4 minutes into second half now and 1 point up.

BTW, for the heathens here that don't like Irish use a radio station like Clare FM for commentry, although it'd be a lot easier to understand the Irish

It took TG4 long enough to register Hayes score, Tipp had another score on the board before they changed it to 1-11. Hayes point was the best of the nite.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Blatant penalty, good save from it though, CMON THE BANNER

Clareman wrote: »
    Good game of hurling in the first half. I agree that Honan's "tackle" looked bad, but he's such a big lad chances are if he mis times anything it's going to be bad. I would have thought Clare would have pushed on from the great start, shows how good Tipp are that they re-organised and came back. 4 minutes into second half now and 1 point up.

BTW, for the heathens here that don't like Irish use a radio station like Clare FM for commentry, although it'd be a lot easier to understand the Irish

clare fm commentary is ace:D

It's about 32 seconds behind online in case someone wants to work some live pausing into Sky plus. This is 1 of the best games of hurling I've seen this year, some great skill in it

u-21 hurling so much better to watch than senior! Far less cynicism from the players and way more solid hurling. Tipp are fantastic, that catch and score from Paddy Murphy was as good as you'll see. Clare will need a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Whatls the score now? (In work :()

deisedevil wrote: »
    Whatls the score now? (In work :()

Tipp won 1-22 to 1-17.

Bringing Paddy Murphy out to centre forward worked a treat for Tipp. He must have scored four points from there and curbed Morey's influence.

Fair play to Tipp, totally deserved it, you'd have sworn that they were the defending champions the way they were picking off scores to stay 4 points in front while Clare were completely aimless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Future looks bright for Tipp. Some quality players in there, was an excellent half that I saw (the second).

There was some great play in the game, few "loose" belts but nothing dirty, I know it's easy to live life with what if's, but Clare could have pushed on from the start, if they scored the second goal I don't think Tipp could have come back, but still fair play to Tipp

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    it wasnt as dirty as it looked sure he came in quickly but he was bent far too down and over exagerated abit of a ronaldo did a full 360 before going to the floor
    in fairness, i though honan had plenty of time to pull out of it.

Honan is awkward to say the least, I don't think it was dirty to be honest, guy bending over to pick up the ball and a fella coming in who's 6"7 is always going to look bad

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »

what about his pull on the dublin lad recently or the dig he gave padraig maher afterwards?

exaggerrated me bollo*ks he should have seen red.

what about his pull on the dublin lad recently or the dig he gave padraig maher afterwards?

It was a bad foul but i think in fairness there was no malice in it, a yellow was about right. For the foul that it was, a red card would have been over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭jkbrackens11

Paddy Murphy had some ending to the game. He was just about to be taken off for Tom Butler. Tom had the helmet and all on and then Murphy turned on the style. Come On Tipp! ;D

Ah here now if that was a red card we might as well all give up hurling. He definately tried to check across the tipperary player and got a deserved yellow card, but the tipp player dropped late attempting to rise the ball making it look far worse that it actually was. As for the pull on the Dublin player certainly agree that a a red card would have been warranted but it is a bit early to go brandishing anyone a dirty player on that basis and I don't think it is fair on the young lad to attempt to link it to the incident tonight.

Aside from that it was a great game of hurling shame that we could not build on our good start, but after the first ten minutes Tipp were always in complete control of the game and ran out most deserved winners. In fact I felt they probably had another gear in them if they really realy needed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭jkbrackens11

A hit to the head is a red card so he should have went simple as its happened plenty of lads so far this year buggy o meara for one

I don't know the particular incident you are referring to, but if this is current policy regardless of intent and other players have got sent off for the same type of offense then I could certainly understand why people are annoyed and that is fair enough.

All I am saying is that I do not believe that Honan went out out to 'do' the Tipp player any malice or pre intent.

marco_polo wrote: »
    Ah here now if that was a red card we might as well all give up hurling. He definately tried to check across the tipperary player and got a deserved yellow card, but the tipp player dropped late attempting to rise the ball making it look far worse that it actually was.

Im just after watching it on tg4 player. He had loads of time to pull out. he wasn't even going into Maher that fast. DaNiEl1994 on about exaggerating.What about Honan's own little tumble for the "penalty"? fair enough there may have been contact but Honan done his own little 360.

Having read this i really don't think we are really in much disagreement. I fully accept that he that he could have pulled out of the challenge, the only thing I am defending is that it that contact with the head of the Tipp which made it look far worse than it was was in any way intentional.

I would even agree it was a soft penalty, my main annoyance is that he should have buried it in the first place. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

marco_polo wrote: »
    Having read this i really don't think we are really in much disagreement. I fully accept that he that he could have pulled out of the challenge, the only thing I am defending is that it that contact with the head of the Tipp which made it look far worse than it was was in any way intentional.

I would even agree it was a soft penalty, my main annoyance is that he should have buried it in the first place. :)
    Agree with you. If anything the 2 penalties were a bit dubious.

Better team won but Honan's miss/save was the turning point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭HHH

Was at the game. Good atmosphere. No better entertainment on a wednesday night for a tenner (student). A lot of tipp players have played nearly too much hurling the last few weeks. Offaly, Galway, Clare u21, Prob club senior championship at the weekend. Tough going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Does Noel McGrath always play midfield for the U-21s?

Missed the match but just saw the team sheet there.

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Does Noel McGrath always play midfield for the U-21s?

Missed the match but just saw the team sheet there.

bizarrely he does!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

I'd say it's a while since any county bar Cork pulled off the Under 21 Provincial Double in a season!! Well done Tipp! (me mothers from Monard!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

bizarrely he does!
    Interesting. Must catch their next one if it's on TV somewhere, see how he does there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭sonic boom

great game. we needed to be at our best to beat a very good clare team. u21 this season is a lot more competitive than the senior in that there was a lot of teams in with a genuine chance of winning the all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭HHH

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Interesting. Must catch their next one if it's on TV somewhere, see how he does there.
    He played all of his school and club hurling out the field (half back/midfield/half forward line). I think he's a little bottled up in the corner tbh