Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Injuries & Suspensions Thread 10/11

• 26-07-2010 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Better to start a new one than bump the old one IMO. I'll try to keep this updated as much as I can.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/glasgow/8856659.stm

Glasgow Warriors' Johnnie Beattie and James Eddie will undergo shoulder surgery this week.

Back-row forward Beattie, 24, who won his 14th cap in Scotland's Test series triumph in Argentina last month, could be out for up to six months.

"If I regain the strength at the same level as my right shoulder then it should be sooner," said Beattie.

Scotland A cap Eddie, 25, dislocated his shoulder in training last week and is also expected to undergo surgery.

Warriors head coach Sean Lineen said: "Currently there are a number of bumps and bruises within the camp.

"However, our physiotherapists are confident that the vast majority of players on the treatment bench at the moment will be fit for our first Magners League game against Leinster in September.

"It's unfortunate but it's an opportunity for the youngsters to shine over the next few weeks."

Glasgow will complete their training with two fixtures already announced against Sale at Firhill on Friday 20 August, and Wasps at Adams Park on Saturday 28 August.

Beattie's absence is a massive blow to Glasgow and Scotland. Glasgow have lost Kelly Brown to Saracens too so they will only have one 'Killer B' on the park for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭sweetthing

Can't see Glasgow having the same impact this season now so. It's a shame, because the Ireland/Scotland game really opened my eyes to how underrated Scotland's forwards are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

sweetthing wrote: »
    Can't see Glasgow having the same impact this season now so. It's a shame, because the Ireland/Scotland game really opened my eyes to how underrated Scotland's forwards are

Especially now that Dan Parks has moved to Cardiff.

Trimble's out for 3 months apparently. Fractured dislocation of a finger that needs surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Trimble's out for 3 months apparently. Fractured dislocation of a finger that needs surgery.

Yup. :(

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/ulster/8866689.stm

Out until October isn't too bad for Ulster, I wonder who will deputise for him until then with Nagusa gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Any word on Luke Fitzgerald?

Edit : Just seen that he and SOB are in pre season training

444485.jpg
    444492.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Jaysus lukey looks like he's bulked up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

durkadurka wrote: »
    Jaysus lukey looks like he's bulked up!

Bleedin Schwarznegger arms on him!

Shoulder injury could delay Ruan Pienaar's Ulster debut

_48597943_pienaar_ap_226.jpg
    South African Ruan Pienaar has signed a two-year contract with Ulster

South African scrum-half Ruan Pienaar's debut for Ulster could be delayed because of a shoulder injury.

Pienaar injured his AC joint playing for Natal Sharks in the Currie Cup.

He was to join Ulster on 1 September but had been given permission to play in South's Africa's Tri-Nations match against New Zealand three days later.

That ruled him out of Ulster's opening Magners League game against the Ospreys and the injury could further delay his first appearance for the province.

It was reported it could take six weeks for the 26-year-old to return to action.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/ulster/8882787.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Yup. :(

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/ulster/8866689.stm

Out until October isn't too bad for Ulster, I wonder who will deputise for him until then with Nagusa gone.

McCrea? Or one of the academy players like Spence I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

this will have an effect on ulster, with boss and willis gone, peineer out for a few months, their very low on 9's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

outwest wrote: »
    this will have an effect on ulster, with boss and willis gone, peineer out for a few months, their very low on 9's

Yes - Paul Marshall and I think the very impressive Queen's scrum half from last season Ian Porter (can kick goals) will be vying for No. 9 spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Leo Cullen is out with his shoulder until Christmas, Leinster have signed an argentinian second row on a short term deal

http://espndeportes.espn.go.com/news/story?id=1068872&s=rug&type=story

Ah feck.

Let's hope POC gets well soon. We don't want to be without both players for the AIs..

From a Leinster prespective, a huge blow but a chance for Devin Toner to step up to the plate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

From a Leinster prespective, a huge blow but a chance for Devin Toner to step up to the plate.

I agree, its a great opporunity for Toner to gain a regular foothold on the 1st team.

Hines will cover one of 2nd row positions as Leinster has plenty of back row cover.

Ah feck.

Let's hope POC gets well soon. We don't want to be without both players for the AIs..

Mightnt be a bad thing. Lordy knows Ireland needs a few more locks to get some game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Ah feck.
    .....a chance for Devin Toner to step up to the plate.
    Going by the June tests, Id say Ed O'Donoghue will be parachuted into the starting 2nd row straight away. He looks a very good player from what I saw of him in June

Forgot O'Donoghue was signed by Leinster, great chance for him then.

He did look promising in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Toner should move on. I'm not exactly sure what he's done wrong but he got feck all game time last season and by signing O Donoghue they clearly don't rate him.

New coach new opportunity? Schmidt might have a place for him in the team

You're probably right, worth another season anyway

http://www.rugby365.com/news/2592440.htm

Biarritz's French international prop Fabien Barcella ruptured his left Achilles tendon on Saturday.

The 26-year-old - capped 11 times - did not play in his side's opening Top 14 match - a 30-22 win over Montpellier on Friday.

He suffered the injury during a scrum, while training on Saturday.
    Barcella, part of the Biarritz team that reached last season's European Cup Final, was taken to hospital where he learnt the seriousness of the injury and will undergo an operation soon according to his club.

Meanwhile, Perpignan are sweating an injury to scrumhalf David Mele, who suffered a suspected dislocated knee in Friday's victory over Clermont at the Stade Aime Giral.

Mele had been deputising for the injured Nicolas Laharrague at flyhalf and his absence increases the likelihood of youth team coach Manny Edmonds being pressed into action at No.10 once he has recovered from a thigh problem.

That's a big blow for both BOPB and France. Who can forget how he scrummaged the Springboks off the park a year ago?

I hope he'll be ok by the World Cup.

That's a big blow for both BOPB and France. Who can forget how he scrummaged the Springboks off the park a year ago?

Big loss for BO but Domingo was excellent for France the last 6 games.

Back to back long term injuries can be devasting I hope Barcella can come back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Personally i think he's one of the most over hyped forwards in the game considering he then let in what basically would of been a penalty try against NZ who's front row wasn't THAT terrifying. Prefer Domingo myself. Anyway hope his recovery goes well but that's two serious injuries in a short period of time gotta feel bad for him.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Personally i think he's one of the most over hyped forwards in the game considering he then let in what basically would of been a penalty try against NZ who's front row wasn't THAT terrifying. Prefer Domingo myself. Anyway hope his recovery goes well but that's two serious injuries in a short period of time gotta feel bad for him.

He destroyed the Bok front row but then so did every club and international front row(except Ireland) on that tour last autumn.

Would like to see more of him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

ffs. Well at least that means Ross or the other Irish TH has to play.

RuggieBear wrote: »

Bad news for Leinster, good for Ireland perhaps as Ross will get more games.

It will be hard to find a replacement, everyone is contracted at this stage.

RuggieBear wrote: »

Thats a hammer blow. He's been their most consistant forward the past three seasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheTMO

Jesus read on another thread Wright was only out till December! Thats a blow heres Ross's big chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

carter out injured, right after new zealnd won the tri nations. if he got injured earlier i wouldnt fancy new zealand to have done so well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Teej

Earls injured at Ireland squad session

Monday, 23 August 2010 23:56
    Keith Earls has been taken to hospital to be assessed after picking up an injury at an Ireland squad session on Monday.
    The Munster and Ireland back was due to have an X-ray on an ankle injury in Belfast. He is understood to have left the training session on crutches.
    Further information on the extent of the problem is expected to become available on Tuesday.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2010/0823/earlsk.html

Not much info at this stage - hopefully its not serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Balls. Hope it's not serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭redroar1942

Robbie Morris's retirement has been confirmed. Pity because he was a good servant to Connacht and was just coming into his proping prime.

Was impressed with how he conducted himself at Connacht. It would have been easy for him to see his move west as a set down but he always seemed to give his all.

What is the reason for his retirement? Has his body just given up on him?

I read the rumours a while ago but when I saw he had a new squad pic like the others I assumed he was good to go for the new season.

Like you said redroar, he was in prime (28 years old): http://www.connachtrugby.ie/content/view/39/2/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/ulster/8940115.stm

Rory Best and Stephen Ferris are to return to action against Leeds this weekend. :)

Caught the article in the Irish Times today, he has some sort of back injury by all accounts.

Can't find a link on their sight

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0824/1224277441179.html

Morris set to retire early
    RUGBY: Connacht have been dealt a big blow ahead of the new season with experienced prop Robbie Morris likely to be forced to retire from the game with a serious back injury.
    The 28-year-old, who was capped twice for England, has been a key figure for Connacht over the past three seasons playing 55 games in the Magners League and European Challenge Cup, but seems poised to be forced to retire because of injury.

Risteard wrote: »
    Balls. Hope it's not serious.

He's grand by all accounts

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2010/0824/earlsk.html

Really dislike this type of journalism

He's grand by all accounts

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2010/0824/earlsk.html

Really dislike this type of journalism

Phew. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheTMO

Teej wrote: »
    Earls injured at Ireland squad session

Monday, 23 August 2010 23:56
    Keith Earls has been taken to hospital to be assessed after picking up an injury at an Ireland squad session on Monday.
    The Munster and Ireland back was due to have an X-ray on an ankle injury in Belfast. He is understood to have left the training session on crutches.
    Further information on the extent of the problem is expected to become available on Tuesday.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2010/0823/earlsk.html

Not much info at this stage - hopefully its not serious

Poor lad, he seems quite injury prone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

im trying to think but hasnt he had a groin injury for a very long time now, as in on and off even before the lions tour.

also the most likely way to pick up an injury is when you are carrying a knock already

To paraphrase he's suffering from growing pains - fingers crossed with appropriate care & time he'll develop & be grand

"With the load going through my body, the injury was bound to come. The physios at Ireland and Munster are telling me that my body is not fully developed yet, my pelvis and core are still developing and my body is not quiet strong enough yet for the workload I have been going through."

http://www.limerickpost.ie/index.php?id=2045:next-year-you-are-going-to-see-a-different-me-keith-earls&option=com_content&catid=23:sport&Itemid=34

http://www.magnersleague.com/news/6105.php

Ryan Jones out for a month.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12331_6330935,00.html

Glasgow coach Sean Lineen has agreed a deal to bring Sale scrum-half Will Cliff to Firhill on a short-term loan deal.

Cliff has joined the Warriors until the end of September to provide cover as Scotland skipper Chris Cusiter is facing up to six months out while Colin Gregor is still working his way back to full fitness.
    Cusiter out for 6 months, Glasgow are ****ed. They let his backup McMillan go in the summer too.

Aironi's South African centre Dylan Des Fountain is out for the season after suffering a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee, sustained in the first minute during last Saturday's match against Ulster at Stadio Zaffanella in Viadana, home of the new Italian Magners League team.

Des Fountain will undergo surgery in the next days in Parma, putting him for the rest of the season.

'We are very sorry about Dylan, Aironi CEO Franco Tonni said.
    'With this injury, we lose a player with great qualities, both on and off the field.

'We are confident Dylan will recover and will be recovered for the end of June, when we will consider his possible return to Aironi.'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/magnersleague/2010/0915/aironi.html

That's a sickener for them.
    Edinburgh have been buoyed by news Argentina international Esteban Lozada has been released from hospital.

The second row, who only joined the Scots in the summer from Toulon, was rushed to Edinburgh's Royal Infirmary after he was knocked unconscious in the clash with Munster.

Lozada needed 15 minutes off treatment on the field after suffering a head injury, but he has now been given the all-clear to return home.

Lozada, though, has already been ruled out of Friday's Magners League outing with Ulster - with the medical team at Edinburgh set to closely monitor his progress.

"Esteban was released from hospital having been assessed for a blow to the head," said an Edinburgh Rugby statement.

"He will be closely monitored by the Edinburgh medical staff but, at this stage, he is at home and in good spirits."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,15180_6374961,00.html

That's great news, it seemed far worse considering the time the medics took to take him from the field.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/edinburgh/9023434.stm

Edinburgh and Scotland fly-half Phil Godman will be sidelined for at least six months after picking up a serious knee injury in training.

The 28-year-old will miss the autumn Tests and Six Nations but hopes to be available for next year's World Cup.

Scotland team doctor James Robson said: "He will have to undergo surgery in due course to repair the knee ligaments.

"But [we] will be working to deliver him ready to be considered for selection for the World Cup squad."

Godman won his 23rd Scotland cap in last season's Calcutta Cup draw with England but is unlikely to return to action before the end of next year's Six Nations Championship.

The fly-half said: "I have to focus on my rehabilitation and target being available to go to the World Cup [in September 2011], which is a massive ambition for me."

Godman tore the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee during an Edinburgh training session on Tuesday.

After the player underwent a scan at Spire Murrayfield Hospital, with the results being reviewed by the Edinburgh and Scotland medical teams,

Robson expressed his confidence that the fly-half would recover sufficiently to resume his international career.

"Phil sustained the injury in non-contact training," he said. "His rehabilitation starts now.

"I have seen Phil this morning and there are many examples of players returning to full international duty having sustained this kind of injury.

"From our own national squad, Jason White and Nathan Hines have both recovered to play a full part in international rugby after ACL damage."

Edinburgh head coach Rob Moffat added: "It's desperately bad luck for
    Phil, who has just played his 100th Magners League game for the club and is a key player for us.

"Clearly, we wish him a speedy recovery."
    Godman's injury means that David Blair will be promoted from the bench as

Edinburgh seek their first Magners League win of the season when Leinster visit Murrayfield on Friday.

Tom Brown, last season's Scotland Under-20 full-back, is called up to the bench and will be making his Magners League debut should he play a part in the match.

A blow for Scotland but a nightmare for Edinburgh. I don't rate Godman much but he's been a key player for his club.

Also, John Smit has been ruled out of the Springboks' end of year tour through injury:
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,15177_6393614,00.html

Long time since I updated this but I thought this thread would be useful to keep tabs on players who could be missing the World Cup.

Tom Prydie will definitely miss the WC after rupturing ligaments in his knee: http://www.rugby365.com/tournaments/sixnation/news/2708421.htm

Mike Tindall won't play again this season, he's out for 3 months: http://www.rugby365.com/tournaments/sixnation/news/2708401.htm

Also doubts remain about Juan Martin Hernandez's availability. At the start of March he was told he would miss 6-8 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

FYI I suffered a high sprain of my ankle on the run home from work today great news for Sean O Brien and Jamie Heaslip ;)

Tindall will be right for the "friendlies" in August though wont he?

France prop Thomas Domingo's Rugby World Cup participation chances are in doubt after suffering knee ligament damage on Saturday.

The 25-year-old Frenchman's season came to an end when he ruptured cruciate ligaments in his right knee during Clermont's 41-13 Top 14 rout of Biarritz over the weekend.

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3818_6850604,00.html

He's a big loss to France!