Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't know which MA to start.

• 26-07-2010 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Heres the deal, ive lately started eating right and got back to the gym, i'm a student on placement in cork city, live in west cork and hit the gym every evening after work. I was/am overweight by about 2 stone.

Ive done some reading and apparently i'm crossed between a mesomorph and endomorph body type(more mesomorph). This means that I have alot of muscle really but with any added weight I quickly become fat, this works in the opposite also, I find it quite easy to lose the weight once I have the right program. Anyway what i'm posting HERE about is I need to know out of Muay Thai, Kickboxing and TKD which would be best recommended?

From what I can gather TKD is a series of set movements, Muay Thai looks intense but enjoyable and I doin't know much about kickboxing. Ive been told im built for Judo but I want a striking discipline really.

What I would be hoping to get from it would be a routine, motivation, be able to defend myself competently, and enjoyment. I really could do with something like this as I haven't played sports in a while.

I'm not looking for a whole new lifestyle yet I just want something for a beginner and after that I can decide on how serious I want to get. Don't confuse that with relaxed attitude because I am a very enthusiastic student and do appreciate peoples time. One of the biggest problems I have is my location, or maybe not if I choose TKD, theres a class close to me in Dunmanway.

I have asked around and made contact with ^^^Warrior but I never ended up starting, partly because id feel better going with a friend and partly because when I asked he said there wasn't really any beginners in the class, I immediately felt intimidated at the thoughts of joining in on a session full of experienced fighters.

But now im feeling much more confident that I could go it alone and I need to find out is there any of the above mentioned sports gyms in either west cork or the western part of the city? And if so do they "welcome beginners"? Also any suggestions on which sport to start would be welcome.

Thanks a mill for reading and I look forward to reading any replies!

Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

You're best off making a list of all the places that are within a reasonable distance of where you're based and then trying them all out.

I also think you should give judo another consideration. I used to do Thai boxing and I thought that striking was for me. Then one day I tried judo and I realised that I much preferred grappling styles. You don't know these things until you try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'd say give them all a bash and see which you like the most. :)

edit: beaten to it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

You're best off making a list of all the places that are within a reasonable distance of where you're based and then trying them all out.

I also think you should give judo another consideration. I used to do Thai boxing and I thought that striking was for me. Then one day I tried judo and I realised that I much preferred grappling styles. You don't know these things until you try.

+1.

Give 'em all a bash.

My background was kickboxing, then I went to a Judo class and got mauled by a blind man (no kidding).

All are hugely popular.

Aerobically I was fittest when I was kickboxing, strength & sheer tough'ness (its a word I've made up) goes to Judo.

I've never tried M.T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

Just a point on not wanting to go by yourself or to classes in which there aren't other beginners. It's something I've been guilty of myself but you have to suck it up. Just say screw it and go by yourself.

The less beginners the better, you'll learn more from people with experience and no matter what gym you go to they're going to help you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

Holy christ, I sneeze and turn around to a bucket load of replies!
    Doug Cartel You're best off making a list of all the places that are within a reasonable distance of where you're based and then trying them all out.

Good idea on the "local" choices.Ok so i'll aim give it a try, as long as its fun thats all I want like! Thanks.
    flynny51 Just a point on not wanting to go by yourself or to classes in which there aren't other beginners. It's something I've been guilty of myself but you have to suck it up. Just say screw it and go by yourself.

The less beginners the better, you'll learn more from people with experience and no matter what gym you go to they're going to help you out.

Ya I know I should but I always get cold feet! I'll make it my business to go regardless of who's there, my short term goal if you will.Thanks.

Thanks to all of ye.

One more question, if I would try judo and it's for me, is there any especially good gyms in Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

How can somebody be "built for judo"? That's as much a genuine question as it is a rhetorical question by the way.

Why not go try a few different ones and see which you like.

Personally I never really wanted to do anything on the ground and a year ago I gave BJJ a go and I love it. I think if you get rid of any preconceptions and just go to a class or 2 to see what it's about then you should be able to make an informed decision.

Whatever build you are, I think that you might be surprised by one particular style over another and choose one you had previously thought might not be for you...

Also, don't feel nervous or apprehensive about it. When you start anything you're generally going to be fairly sh!te at it, and half the people there are probably sh!te compared to the other half training.

By built for judo,i mean im short and I have a good bit of muscle.

As I said ive been told. By people who do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

+1.

My background was kickboxing, then I went to a Judo class and got mauled by a blind man (no kidding).

QUOTE]

I take it you are talking about Tony. That guy has a neck on him like a bull.

I was told a story (can't remeber if it was by him or someone else) about his brother getting into a fight in a chip shop and tony putting some dude through a door. Wouldn't be much craic telling ur mates you got a beating by a blind fella.

Is him and Timy still competing (sorry for thread hijack)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Definitely check out Muay Thai (or good 'ol western boxing) & that two stone will drop real quick :).

Not only are they great sports, but like all good striking arts, you'll increase your chances in any street encounter.

Thanks mate, will do, along with all the fitness and goodness that goes with one of these sports the whole being confident and able to walk home thing is a huge thing for me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I take it you are talking about Tony. That guy has a neck on him like a bull.

I was told a story (can't remeber if it was by him or someone else) about his brother getting into a fight in a chip shop and tony putting some dude through a door.

Probably because he couldn't find the window :p

Is him and Timy still competing (sorry for thread hijack)

I haven't seen Timmy in donkeys, but Tony is back training and getting the weight off. He went very heavy for awhile.

He's talking about competing again, I wouldn't be surprised. And even now I hate getting caught with his drop Seoi nage. And on the ground he's a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Jessup1

ive done both TKD (WTF) and ive just started muay thai. and i can see the benefits of both

TKD is more structured and ur advancemnt can be seen alot better too tthrough the techniques u use (and by belt obviuosly). its more focused on leg work wtih some really good stretching. the TKD i did had some grappling and set self defence moves that the instructors set out of possible "street" situations

Muay thai is great aswell. there isnt as many "moves" as such but u can see the skilled fighters a mile off my how quick and strong they are. the knees and elbows are lethal too and the fitness level i tink is a bit more demanding i think so the waight will drop off u. Muay thai seems to be based around breaking you apponent is half haha. its a seriuos good MA.

Ya I know what you mean, I watched some Muay Thai videos and they all looked straight out of mortal combat! Nuts! But it's something that that looks like it would be class to learn.
    Looks like it might be better for really light people though!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Looks like it might be better for really light people though!?!
    Not really. The traditional Thai style of fighting you see is probably more suited to skinny people simply because the Thais on a whole are not as tubby as we are over here. Bigger guys can still do it, it just looks a bit different.

I wouldn't let your body type dictate your choice. Muay Thai is flexible enough to accommodate people of all sizes, though obviously big guys are going to fight with a different style to small guys, also the training you do will knock a fair bit of weight off you.

Cool theres a gym in Ballincollig which is probably the closest to me, but they do look serious. Which I suppose is good once I get used to it, anyone on here train there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Plastikman_eire

Rebel MMA in cork. Then you can cover Muay Thai and grappling.

Any hope of a link? The website keeps bringing me to an architects website.?!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

Think that's just a website template they're using, although it's not unheard of for architects to practice the martial arts!:)

Either way theres NO info on it. If thats anything to go by, no offense to rebelMMA but it doesn't look too professional, maybe they're just starting out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

Either way theres NO info on it. If thats anything to go by, no offense to rebelMMA but it doesn't look too professional, maybe they're just starting out?

Err, I did one search and this was the first thing I found

"mma cork is located in the sun beam up over craig o flynns high profile thai boxing camp,our trainer is ken who has vast experience in all kinds of contact sports training times 6.00pm and 7.00pm wednesday 12.00pm 1.00pm saturdays"

They have a website too, it is a template but has most of the info you need. Nothing to do with architects?

http://www.corkmma.com/?p=1

TBh judging a martial arts gym by their website isnt the most logical approach, now if you're interested in learning multimedia development on the other hand....

Anyway Rebel is run out of Sitjaipetch Muay thai, and the head coach is Craig O'Flynn; A very respected kickboxer and Thai fighter. Dunno who their wrestling or grapping coach is though.

Ah there we go, thats the job thanks! This is what I kept getting
    http://www.rebelmma.com/

Ah ya I know it's probably not the best thing to go by, but if you check the link^^ it doesn't seem like whoever runs that site gives a crap about it! And thats all ive got to go by at the moment cos I haven't a clue whos good or bad.

Thanks though, if I started there would it be MMA training with bits from clinch,ground and striking disciplines mixed together or would it be mainly Muay Thai/Kickboxing with a bit of clinch and ground work added?

Thanks again lads, I know the info is probably there if I looked but I don't know what im looking for!:rolleyes:

Thanks though, if I started there would it be MMA training with bits from clinch,ground and striking disciplines mixed together or would it be mainly Muay Thai/Kickboxing with a bit of clinch and ground work added?

Thanks again lads, I know the info is probably there if I looked but I don't know what im looking for!:rolleyes:

Ive never trained there myself(not from cork), but I imagine the MMA class is an even mix of stand up, sub work and wrestling, although given the stand up pedigree in that gym I think they'd be mad not to focus on Muay thai as their base.

(not from cork)

Shame on you!

So if one were to fancy Muay Thai and MMA that would be a good place to start?

Shame on you!

So if one were to fancy Muay Thai and MMA that would be a good place to start?

Yep, and if you find that you prefer any one aspect of MMA, then you can search out gyms that concentrate on that one aspect.

Ok cheers, its the farthest id travel for anything so it may take some orgainisation / relocation first.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Cool theres a gym in Ballincollig which is probably the closest to me, but they do look serious. Which I suppose is good once I get used to it, anyone on here train there?

http://www.spartanthaiballincollig.com/

I train there. There has been a good few new guys who joined recently that are just starting also with little experience so its a great time to start.

Its a very new club as its only been there about 2 - 2.5 years or so. The only reason that they look serious because the fighters are put to the forefront on the website. There are many others at the club who do it just for fitness/weight loss which I fall into at the moment.

Come along Mon-Thurs at about 6:50 or give John or Seamus a ring if you have any questions. Numbers are on the site.

Cool thanks, ill try next week so.:D:D