Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talking to girls in the gym

• 25-07-2010 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 forest gunner

Not sure if this is the right forum etc...

Anyway, been going to the gym about 7-8 months now and of course theres a few lovely looking ladies there.
    Problem is those headphones that most of them wear.
    There is one girl in particular I wouldnt mind chatting to but she seems so focused on what shes doing that Id feel like a sap going over and shaking my hands in some sort of improvised sign language to get her attention - "HIIIIIIII, HELLOOOOOOOOOO, NICE TO MEET YOUUUUUUUUUUUUU".

So girls, do you use the headphones as a bloke repellant or is it simply for some music and youd secretly like to talk to other people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If I'm in the gym and I've got headphones on, it's because I want to listen to music when I'm working out. No other reason.

A girl might be extra self conscious if you're talking to her while she's red-faced and dripping buckets... just a headsup :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ERR!

Yeah just a head nod is fine in the act gym!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

This seems kinda off to me. I think its pretty rude to interrupt someone in the gym when they are doing their routine etc. I remember even in the past having a girl who worked in the gym coming up to me whilst I was pretzled in mid stretch, tap me and proceed to tell me I shouldn't do the stretch that way (she wasn't a trainer - she just worked there). I was soooooo freaking mad. a) I was busy concentrating b) her intrusion could have actually caused me an injury by distracting me from the yoga pose i was doing that she apparently didn't recognise

Anyhow - thats off the point. The point is - people go to the gym for their own reasons - for alot of people its to get thru their routine and escape from work stress etc. Its usually a solitary focussed exercise imho. If someone is wearing headphones then its at least in part to block out the outside people. i.e. they don't want to get chatted up by randomers.

So I say - if you happen to get talking to the girl you like on the way out of the gym or something then great, fantastic. But don't go up and interrupt someone in the middle of their session and attempt to get to know them. It won't go well at all at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Most serious gym goers think that the gym is off limits when it comes to chatting girls up. I can understand this and i have chatted up a girl in a gym. But i do all my talking to women at weekends with the help of my friend alcohol anyway so thats nothing new.
    I wouldn't reccommend you go around chatting up all the hot girls in your gym. But there's nothing wrong with saying hello and being friendly...just maybe don't try it when they are on the treadmill with their headphones in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I would not want anyone talking to me in the gym. I'm in there to do my stuff and sweat a **** load. I usually look like I'm about to pass out so no, I wouldn't really want a guy chatting me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

If I were single, the gym is the last place I'd want a guy to chat me up.

It's meant to be the one place that it's OK to wear what you want and look like crap and not even care about what you look like - because nobody is looking at you. Or so you hope.
    So girls, do you use the headphones as a bloke repellant or is it simply for some music and youd secretly like to talk to other people?

I use headphones at the gym to listen to music. Not to give guys signals/anti-signals. I would imagine most girls are the same.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Guys check girls out all the time in the gym and vice versa. If she makes eye contact with you or smiles at you I don't see any reason why you shouldn't chat to her. I don't really like talking in the gym, but if he was hot I'd probably change my stance on that. No harm in having a little chat a couple of times if you're both there at the same time - I wouldn't dive right in the first time you talk though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

If I were single, the gym is the last place I'd want a guy to chat me up.

a-f*ckin-men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭LilMsss

I have been asked out at the gym ... and I was mortified :o:o:o

It was by someone I had never seen before and I had just finished my warm up and was heading over to the weights section. He wasn't really my type and I really wasn't expecting anyone to do that at that moment so I was totally unprepared.

When I was going to the gym all the time, regulars (male and female) would chat away to me in between sets, which I had no problem with, although it does effect concentration a little.

There are some very attractive men at the gym, and there are always wayward glances etc., so I'd be open to someone coming over to say hello, or commenting on an exercise I was doing, like 'those deadlifts are a killer' or something to break the ice. If you're shy, you can leave it at that but chat again then next time you see that person, and work up to asking them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I'm not sure! I think interrupting someone mid-session is a bit rude, but if you do it at the right time then maybe it's ok.

As for not looking the best, I think if a guy even fancies you then, you have no problems!

A guy who worked in the gym I went to years ago came up to me with a cup of water after a particularly horrible erg session and told me I must be the fittest girl in the gym, then asked me out! I had a big red face, totally sweaty, still catching my breath...but he did get my number ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

It depends really!! Sometimes I use earphones cos the music in the gym in awful, and other times I use them because I just want some quiet time.

If I'm in the middle of an interval session then I wouldnt want to be interrupted cos I'm trying sooo hard just to breathe,... to be honest wouldnt even be able to give a head nod.

But if I'm doing a weights, resting between sets then yeh I don't see a problem with talking to someone. I've often taken out my earphones when been given a nod by someone.

It really depends on what she is doing, if she's going hell-for-leather at something then leave her alone, if not, a quick chat aint bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

girls dont go to the gym to be chatted up. just like the ladies lounge isnt for you to ask advice on whether or not you should chat up women :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I go to the gym to get fit and what not!

I don't wear head phones after a nasty incident on the treadmill with them but I dont want anyone chatting me up either! I look like a tomato in the gym with sweaty hair and all!

If anyone is brave enough to talk to me like that then fair play to them but I'd rather them wait until I am finished on the machines I can fall off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I go to the gym to work out and I wear headphones to listen to the tv...but...I also chat away to some of the guys there if I don't have my headphones on. Now, if they were to stand in a corner eyeing me up and down until I took my headphones off so they could talk to me then I'd be creeped out :p

Maybe try to organise a gym night out if you know a couple of other people who go thee? Good informal setting and you get to see her minus the sweat and sports socks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Urrrgghh I would absolutely hate it. The gym is my shut out the world time.
    I would feel so uncomfortable if I was chatted up there.

If Im not concentrating on my reps or my run then Im thinking about what I'll do next, so even between or after machines would be a no go too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

The gym is one of the worst places to consider even approaching a girl.I wouldn't do it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

If there's a cafe at the gym, you could ask to meet her there after the work out if she's free. It won't be too formal and she'll appreciate that you're not interrupting her workout (or your own). She'll also appreciate that you want to get to know her, and will know you haven't assumed she's the love of your life because she's in the same building as you!:)

Who knows, maybe it'll lead to a joint work out :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It's funny reading this thread, it makes me very glad I don't train in commercial gyms anymore - not a treadmill or a stepper in sight (although we do have a Concept II rower, but that's for those unique indviduals who love their cardio :p). I rely on having the craic and banter with the lads when I train, although it's not chat in a chatting up kind of way, more like calling each other names and teasing each other, fun stuff like that :D

I can imagine though that for the majority of girls they wouldn't feel very comfortable being chatted up in a gym setting - lets face it, you're hardly looking your best! But by the same token, if a guy sees you looking all red and sweaty and puffy and still thinks you're just gorgeous, well, it's a good thing right?!!? :D

The only thing I'd say though is be careful of shítting on your own doorstep. The gym is many people's haven, myself included. It's a safe, peaceful place for a lot of folk, and I think it's better to assume they don't want to be disturbed - by all means make eye contact, a quick nod and follow it up when you're both finished training, but leave them be when they're in the middle of a session unless you know that it's going to be well received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭chickenchaser

I'd chat away to anyone in the gym. Though guys probably know not to try to chat me up in gym cos I'm having eye contact and nods and form advice from my bf when I'm there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

I look awful in the gym, beetroot red, sweat everywhere, would definitely not appreciate anyone talking to me.
    I wear earphones, to block out the radio that the gym has blaring at full volume!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

I wear headphones (on the rare occasions I actually use the gym as opposed to the pool) as a person repellent. I don't want to talk to anyone!

Generally if I'm cycling or in the gym, my face is bright red and shiny, and despite what my boyfriend says, I don't think I look great dripping sweat :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Idina

I am a woman who uses the gym & the dreaded headphones! I couldnt get through a gym session without watching a bit of TV. However I would love a guy to chat me up in the gym. If he finds me attractive there thats great! if you dont chance your arm youll never break a leg. Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Assets Model

Xiney wrote: »
    a-f*ckin-men.

I'd be flattered someone would fancy me with a red sweaty face but i'm not single. I've had people talk to me in the gym before and we just had a chat it was grand/nice. It depends what you say I guess. If someone notes the fact I'm doing something other than bicep curls i'd acknowledge that and maybe have a chat about lifting with them. I wouldn't say definitely don't talk to her OP but wait until she's having a break maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Let her finish her workout and head for her shower
    Wait 15 minutes
    Go for your shower
    You'll come out at the same time and you can chat her up on the way to the car.

Bingo bango the rest is up to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Speaking from a female perspective here. To be honest girls we can't have it both ways. Girls often complain that guys only go after you if your "hot" or whatever, so to be honest if a guy can see something nice in you after a workout, I wouldnt be complaining. In fact, Id be more complimented if someone asked me out in that scenario rather than a bar or night out. Seems pretty decent. :)

Back to the question in hand, I would however maybe wait till she's off the machines and such, as some posters have pointed out. I know for instance when Im listening to music when working out, Im in my own zone and I'd probably jump out of my skin if someone touched me and give a yell...lol, as Im pretty much in my own world at that stage...lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The gym is for working out/de-stressing. People generally wear earphones to listen to music. And if a bloke chatted me up in the gym I'd be mortified for him.

It's blokes like this that make me glad I'm bi-sexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I talk to people all the time in the gym. I have a changing room buddy who I see a number of mornings a week, there's a guy in his 60s I talk to every morning, I say hello to the people I meet on a regular basis, and quite often I'll have a good chat to someone leaving the gym at the same time as me, because I can't help talking.

That said, I have headphones for a reason. I plug into the TV or my MP3 player to distract me from the target I'm trying to reach, otherwise I'd feel like I was never getting there. If someone was to distract me while I was mid-workout, I don't think I'd be too happy to be distracted (although I'd be very flattered!). If I wanted to talk to someone, I'd have one headphone out.

I think it really depends on whether the opportunity organically presents itself. Just beware coming across as a bit of a stalker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I think dating someone from the gym is a bad idea though.

Happened to a friend: go on a few dates, realise you have nothing in common & he's a bad kisser... and now you have to break up with him AND see him all the time (or else avoid the gym, which would suck!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Legen_Dary

Speaking from a female perspective here. To be honest girls we can't have it both ways. Girls often complain that guys only go after you if your "hot" or whatever, so to be honest if a guy can see something nice in you after a workout, I wouldnt be complaining. In fact, Id be more complimented if someone asked me out in that scenario rather than a bar or night out. Seems pretty decent. :)

I agree 100%. If I was at the gym and someone asked me out I would be so flattered. My gym look is very unatractive. I always wonder if the people in my gym would even recognise me in my regular clothes with my make up on and hair down.

I do think it would be best to wait untill she is finished working out or if she goes to get some water maybe you could chat at the fountain or cooler?

Legen_Dary wrote: »
    I agree 100%. If I was at the gym and someone asked me out I would be so flattered. My gym look is very unatractive. I always wonder if the people in my gym would even recognise me in my regular clothes with my make up on and hair down.

I do think it would be best to wait untill she is finished working out or if she goes to get some water maybe you could chat at the fountain or cooler?

Same as, jesus, if someone fancies you in your tracksuit and t-shirt while your face resembles a tomato, my god what will they think when they see you done up to go out on the town, you've hit a winner there!! I'd be drawing up legal contracts, haha!!!:) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You know I'm amazed at the number of women who think they aren't attractive looking because they don't have the slap on and are in their gym gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I would hate if a guy talked to me in the gym cause I look so disgusting and red and sweaty! Of course it has never happened to me for this exact reason.

You know I'm amazed at the number of women who think they aren't attractive looking because they don't have the slap on and are in their gym gear.

lol, opinion guy, I think its our red faces and being all sweaty that we're conscious off, lol.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Watching a woman's (or man's) body in action is pretty much always attractive. There you are demonstrating your fitness and stamina, showing that you are in tune with your body and are keeping it fit. What's not to like?

I'd have to say an athletic body in action beats a posed model any day...

Red faced and sweaty has its own attraction too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Never understood the attraction of this... I always feel like i'm cheating somehow if I stop to talk with anyone in the gym!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

Never understood the attraction of this... I always feel like i'm cheating somehow if I stop to talk with anyone in the gym!

No way,there's absolutely nothing wrong with talking to someone in between sets as long as you're neither impeding your or their workout. The gym is a great place to get to know people who have similar interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

It's a compliment really. I mean if a guys going to chat you up when you're red and sweaty and huffing and puffing like Thomas the Tank Engine then I'd say you're in with a good chance:p

I've no prob chatting to people in the gym so long as it doesn't get in the way of my workout. For example if I'm trying to keep my heart rate up between exercises I don't want to be standing chatting for half an hour. As for being chatted up, I've a boyf so it doesn't really apply, and knowing me I'd just assume they were being friendly anyhows! (which in fairness is usually the case)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

So girls, do you use the headphones as a bloke repellant

Nope!
    So girls, do you use the headphones simply for some music

Yep!
    youd secretly like to talk to other people?

Ah no, not really! If someone wants to ask me something or talk to me fair enough,hasnt happened yet so il deal with that when the situation arises! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

So is started a spin class this evening, and I think it' be if a guy talked to me there, even though I still look awful. Like just before class starts would be fine. Although I'm sure that as the class went on the guys I was chatting to before hand looked at me like I was Fiona in Shrek and the sun had gone down. But classes are a bit more social than the gym itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

Gym = workout.

why do people have to complicate things:rolleyes:

things like this make me paranoid about even just chatting to fellas...why do some people think there's always some silly undertones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

I got asked out in the gym recently.......take it from me it was just wierd.

I was sweaty and red faced.hot stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Larianne wrote: »
    I would not want anyone talking to me in the gym. I'm in there to do my stuff and sweat a **** load. I usually look like I'm about to pass out so no, I wouldn't really want a guy chatting me up.

Wouldnt that be height of compliments when looking like that he wants to chat you up?

To OP wait till she is done and then approach her with a smile :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

As a girl, I chat away to regulars before my training session and afterwards in the jacuzzi, I often have a great laugh or debate but when I'm working out, forget about it, anyone talking to me is messing up my routine and making it harder for me to get fully into it.
    Everyone I know understands that this is how it is with people working out but there was a guy a year back who would follow me up and down the pool trying to start a conversation each time I finished a length or hop on the threadmill next to me and start nattering to me even though I had ear phones on (I have asthma and find it difficult to keep my breathing steady and speak at the same time) this didn't endear me to him in any way (I am married but he didnt know as I never wear my rings to the gym) and after a few interrupted sessions, he started really annoying me. I was always polite but it got to the point where I did anything I could to avoid him. The staff on the desk even used to have a system with me where they'd warn me if he was in the pool or in the gym and I'd do the opposite.

OP if you want to chat to this girl wait till she's finished - never interrupt her session or yr most likely to do the same to her as that guy did to me. Train with her and wait till later.

Just to give you hope though, I met my now husband in the same pool - the way he did it was, he trained with me but waited till after to chat to me. We were up to 100 lengths in 30 mins before he asked me out! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Usually one or two nice looking women at the gym, but not sure its an ideal spot to chat someone up.

For one you'll probably catch them unawares and hence they won't know what to say. They might also end up trying to avoid you if they are not interested and may think you will become a stalker so they won't go back to that gym. Hardly an ideal solution.

That said, nothing wrong with getting friendly with a girl and giving her your number at some stage.