Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowboys & Aliens

• 25-07-2010 10:57am
    Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

John Favreau directing a movie about Aliens in the wild west. Could be lots of fun. First pic was released at comic con.

http://www.aintitcool.com/images2009/CC10cowboys1big.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Aww I thought Craig was keeping his mustache for this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MrSir

James Bond as a sci fi cowboy with Hans Solo and Daniel Plainview's arch nemesis? I'm sold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

Mickeroo wrote: »
    John Favreau directing a movie about Aliens in the wild west. Could be lots of fun. First pic was released at comic con.

http://www.aintitcool.com/images2009/CC10cowboys1big.jpg

Hopefully they wont make a mess of it....Great to see horror/sci-fi in a different environment..Always thaught 'War of the worlds' would have worked better in Victorian setting old world at least..certainly would have had a serious impact on the locals!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I really like Daniel Craig as an actor - he really shone in Defiance, plus it's got Sam Rockwell and Harrison Ford, so consider me sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As long as we get the obligatory Sam Rockwell ass shot I'm there!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

first poster is out for this. Looks pretty bad ass,starting to get excited about this one..........

134935.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

I figured this was going to be another goofy 'Wild Wild West,' but that poster suggests something a bit more moody and serious. Cool.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I figured this was going to be another goofy 'Wild Wild West,' but that poster suggests something a bit more moody and serious. Cool.

Moody and serious indeed! Here's the first trailer and not a gag in sight, this just keeps looking better and better! The folks making the green lantern movie could learn a thing or two from this methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

I miss Firefly now

Make the Aliens the Alliance and give me Fillion in the role that Ford has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Looks great, and its great to Harrison Ford back on the big screen in something that isnt a sh1te romantic comedy, Crystal Skull nonwithstanding he hasnt been in a big movie in years. Considering he is/was one of the most famous actors in the world his output has been kinda rubbish the past decade, ever since the Jack Ryan movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

looks great plus olivia wilde ;)

There's a sort of review of the first 40 minutes of this on aint it cool. I really think this is shaping up to be my most anticipated film of the summer.

here's the article: http://www.aintitcool.com/node/47768

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Really looking forward to this now. It better be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Looked like a perfectly good cowboy movie... until the aliens showed up. :/

They showed th trailer before True Grit a while back. Never heard an audience laugh so heartily when the title, "Cowboys and Aliens' appeared. Know thy audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Galvasean wrote: »
    Looked like a perfectly good cowboy movie... until the aliens showed up. :/

They showed th trailer before True Grit a while back. Never heard an audience laugh so heartily when the title, "Cowboys and Aliens' appeared. Know thy audience.

Yeah, it's a fcuking terrible name...They should have used an enigmatic, western kind of name instead.

"Kang rock", "Kodos Gulch" or something of that ilk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Birneybau wrote: »
    Yeah, it's a fcuking terrible name...They should have used an enigmatic, western kind of name instead.

Its a Ronseal title, does exactly what it says on the tin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

I think it looks really good, the cast speaks for itself and with Jon Favreau and Stephen Speilsberg at the helm.......... nuff said!!!!

And although the title seems a bit silly its obvious why they chose it... Tis a clear play on words of "cowboys and Indians" that everybody is familiar with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭TheoBoone

Birneybau wrote: »

It's based on a graphic novel called cowboys and aliens. The don't judge a book by it's cover thing kinda applies here. The graphic novel is quite good, so hopefully Craig, Faverou and Co will do it justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

krudler wrote: »

Especially when it's a play on Cowboys and Indians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Looks Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Shame they couldn't get the costume right. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

Surprised nobody linked to http://www.cowboysandaliensinterviews.com/

Think it's the first time I've heard Ford laugh (as himself).

Not overly impressed, with the TV trailer.
    Can not help but have a sinking feeling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

krudler wrote: »
    Whoever came up with that slogan for Ronseal deserves a fecking gold statue outside their headquarters.

Anyone seen this yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭red dave

Anyone seen this yet?

Yeah i thought it was enjoyable.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Just saw it, and it may have caught me in a bad mood, but for me this was a letdown of quite significant proportions. When I saw the trailer I thought it might have been good fun, but IMO the result was a bland, lazy and derivative film with very little to recommend.

My main problem was that the cowboys of the title felt shoe-horned in. This isn't a credible Western setting - it just feels like a backlot with all the actors wearing hats. The dialogue, the characters, the atmosphere all left a lot to be desired. Sure, a few genre tropes pop up, but it created a world that wasn't credible or interesting.

The sci-fi elements don't gel particularly well either. A bizarre sequence where
    Olivia Wilde's character reveals herself to be a... well, a spirit or something particularly stinks of a half-baked idea, trying desperately hard to integrate fantastical ideas despite it having little relevance to plot progression
    . Like so many other blockbusters these days, the aliens themselves are over-complex beasts. That said, a handful of the sci-fi touches bring a bit of colour and imagination to an otherwise blandly directed film.

All-in-all, this just seemed like a wasted opportunity. The last act descends into effects-laden nonsense, and I found it almost impossible to care about anyone or anything in the film (even Sam Rockwell and Olivia Wilde feel wasted!). Everything seems inconsistent: the ideas shoehorned into the plot to provide unsurprising payoffs. Of course, this is a summer blockbuster, so one shouldn't hold high hopes of imagination. But every plot beat is predictable, every resolution signposted miles off. In a summer of bland, unimaginative blockbusters, Cowboys & Aliens does distressingly little to differentiate itself from the crowd :(

I liked the supporting characters more than the lead character especially the ones played by Sam Rockwell, Clancy Brown and Walton Goggins and even Ford's character was supporting it needed more scenes of them but overall it was quite enjoyable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I honestly think there is something about Daniel Craig, he's so bloody plain or something, I dunno.
    I really don't feel he works as a leading man in films,
    regardless of whether it is this or Bond etc.

I felt that the crossing of genres might actually work here, well.....it didn't.
    It probably is possible to make this sort of thing work, but it just didn't happen here.

I won't go into detail as I'm not bothered with putting in spoiler tags,
    didn't particularly enjoy the film, it wasn't bad, but I felt it was rather generic and the story was poorly formatted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I honestly think there is something about Daniel Craig, he's so bloody plain or something,

Lose the L. He looks like he is in PAIN, all the time imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

In a summer of bland, unimaginative blockbusters, Cowboys & Aliens does distressingly little to differentiate itself from the crowd :(

This. I enjoyed the two Marvel movies, Deathly Hallows Part 2 and Rise of the Planet of the Apes, but overall it hasn't been a great summer for movies.

Cowboys & Aliens is forgettable stuff, I didn't care too much about the characters and the aliens were quite dull. I was quite disappointed when
    Clancy Brown's character was killed off
    so early on.

Who else immediately thought
    "he's gonna use that to kill one of the aliens" when Harrison Ford gave the kid the knife
    ? Sigh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

For what was an interesting premise, they sure done their utmost to make it into one boring affair. Shame because the relatively-decent opening half hour is let down by an anti-climax which just descends into silliness/laziness territory.

This is just another example of Hollywood just going thru the motions I'm afraid. This was an opportunity wasted IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Looks like the sh### reviews it got aren't completely unfounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

My god finally came out yesterday. Should be an end to having the trailer rammed down my throat in pretty much every movie I watched in the last few months.

I cringe every time the trailer comes up. What a horrible premise for a movie even if it is based on a graphic novel.

Will have to see everything else on offer in cineworld before I consider it.
    And I get good use from my card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Looks like the sh### reviews it got aren't completely unfounded.

There not.

Very meh film and biggest disappointment of the year so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

My expectations had dampened on account of the sheer number of negative reviews - but I loved it. It's not without its flaws; the odd bit of ropey writing (particularly
    when they're amongst the natives and Olivia Wilde's character reveals who she is
    ), and Olivia Wilde herself was horrendous IMO) but for the majority it genuinely had me gripped. I thoroughly enjoyed
    all of the sequences with the aliens themselves; particularly the intensity of the scene where we see one for the first time in the overturned ship.

That's Rise of the Planet of the Apes and now this where I've had very modest expectations and been surprised nicely both times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

finally saw this the other night and by god it was woefull to watch, i considered walking out but was there with others,

there was a kind of set-up which was shown nearly 8 months ago if not longer in the original trailer, so realistically they actually didnt even need that part in the film as we have already seen it and didnt need it to see it again, then the 2nd and third act just seemed non existant, not even the gorgeous oliva wilde with her super duper white eyes and teeth made this enjoyable, hell even if she walked around naked the whole time i would have still walked out if i was there by myself, craig could have been replaced by an manequinn and nobody would have known any difference, hes not leading man material and the sooner they recognise that the better well all be, ford and rockwell just seemed to be hanging around the set poping in between backrubs,

it just didnt seem like a lot of thought went into this film, they either went with the first draft of the storyboard or gutted the first storyboard altogether, even the action scenes felt dragged out,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

finally got around to seeing this myself too on tuesday.

its not bad !

far more "cowboys" than "aliens" for my liking though, and it did seem to drag a bit in the middle, but after the slagging it got i was pleasently surprised by it.

i was really impressed by fords character.

i fully expected him to be a generic villain and while he doesnt redeem himself he's not as hatefull as he is in the beginning by the end.

i do think SciFi fans may feel jipped by this as you dont get much aliens. in fact you get NO character from em at all. but there is a nice bit where they justify why the humans dont get wiped out wholesale
    theyre essentially scouts, so theres no heavy artillery or troops for em to use and they mainly seem to be made up of miners/scientists.

its made clear by wildes character that if they DO get back home and report in on earth theyd be ****ed.

the actors do a credible job, theres some interesting characters on display and it looks lovely. sam rockwell was great in it, for some reason he's been bugging the hell out of me since ironman 2 but he did a great job as the bar owner in this, and i bearly recognaised clancy brown as the priest.

what really surprised me though was the fact that this films been out for ages and there was STILL a fair amount of peopl at a 2pm showing.

usually if i leave a film this long its me and 3 others in the place at best, particularly if its crap.

so someone seems to like it enough to give it a shot

in the end i'd give it a 7.

does what it says and was a good way to waste a rainy tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Was dying to see this but only recently got around to seeing it and I have to say it lived up to all of its hype.

I really enjoyed the film and the performances by all involved and I was genuinely surprised by the negative response it has gotten from so many people.