Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best games for a small group?

• 24-07-2010 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

There's a few of us heading out in a while doing our first bit of skirmishing. It's just our own group going to a woods owned by one of our friends.
    There'll be 5 maybe 6 of us. Just looking for advice on some games to play and the best format for such a small group?

Also, any general advice, it being the first time we'll be shooting at each other :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭touge_drift

dont get cought, its highly illegal having aeg's out in the public domain. you never know there could be walkers and cyclists about.

a days skirmishing is only 20-25 quid tops, and sites have their own well organised games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

dont get cought, its highly illegal having aeg's out in the public domain. you never know there could be walkers and cyclists about.

a days skirmishing is only 20-25 quid tops, and sites have their own well organised games.
    jimbling wrote: »
    going to a woods owned by one of our friends.

It's private land.

Any advice on games to play amongst ourselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Make sure you all have eye protection - don't play if you don't.

Game wise, for a group that small you're looking at playing scenario driven games. So things like 5 guards patrolling an area, and the last player has to try and sneak past, stealing what was guarded. Things like that. It makes it more fun, and allows a lot of different styles of play to be used.

With 6 people I'd steer away from any kind of deathmatch-esque games. The element that makes those any sort of fun, is usually the large amount of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭touge_drift

jimbling wrote: »
    It's private land.

Any advice on games to play amongst ourselves?

so is my garden but if the neighbours seen id be introuble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Inari wrote: »
    Game wise, for a group that small you're looking at playing scenario driven games.
    I don't particularly agree with that - I've had lots of fun at games with that number, playing normal skirmishy stuff. Certainly helps if there's lots of good cover so you can sneak around though.

Put the two respawn areas quite far apart, on opposite sides of the area you want to be playing in (like wherever the objective or what have you is).

If you have a chess clock, you could stick it in the middle and each team is trying to rack up as much time on their side of it as possible. Means assaulting the area and then holding that ground. Play for half an hour or whatever, decide amongst yourselves before you start and have someone watch the time.

One life each, playing to elimination of one team is fun too, very tense and sneaky. Or every man for himself.

Avoid games that can be won by wiping out the other team, because with only three people on it that can easily happen and will make for an unsatisfying game. I'm talking about stuff like nabbing an objective, or whatever.

You can find some game rules online if you have a bit of a search. Have fun! And as has been said, be utterly vigilant about eye protection - it does not come off anyone at all while there are magazines in the guns - and don't let anyone see. You don't want to be the ones who get airsoft banned!

Edit: Actually I'm not even sure on the legalities of this at the moment. Better do some research to make sure it's okay without the local Garda superintendent's permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Cheers for all the options lads, some good ideas there.

On the legalities... I'll check it out, but cant see how there can be an issue. If its legal to shoot rabbits with a real rifle on private land (with owners permission, and obviously a gun license) I doubt its illegal to shoot airsoft guns :D