Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Slate

• 22-07-2010 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭

In the grand and illustrious history of English literature, I think everyone will agree that The Slate magazine which circulated around Dublin in the early years of the current millennium represents the zenith of human literary achievement.

For those who don't remember it (or who lived outside Dublin - distribution outside the Pale was frowned upon), it was a freebie satirical monthly printed on recycled jacks-roll which was to be found sitting on the windowsills of various cafes and record stores in Dublin city centre. It was the home of such fascinating and illuminating articles as "Blacks in the Jacks". They also did a great line in publishing profiles of everyone who had ever pi**ed them off, from the fella with the top hat outside Brown Thomas, to the esteemed members of An Garda Siochana, to every record store owner in Dublin.

Anyway, enough reminiscing. I have just recently, and with great joy, unearthed "The Best of" in a box at home. It is not enough. I want to locate every single back copy of The Slate. Are there any disturbed ex-students with OCD who collected every copy and still has them stashed away somewhere in their parents' gaff? If yes, or if you just want to recall the greatness of this publication, post here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Sounds loike it would fill one with tremendous volumes of chortles, gurrafws and hurrahs old bean. May I wish you the most excellently hilarious adventures in your future rummages through the dusty old chests stowed in the lofts of D4 detached abodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Tester46 wrote: »
    Are there any disturbed ex-students with OCD who collected every copy and still has them stashed away somewhere in their parents' gaff? If yes, or if you just want to recall the greatness of this publication, post here.

If they have OCD and have them stashed, I'm sure they're not going to share them with you. Good luck in your search anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

In the grand and illustrious history of English literature, I think everyone will agree that The Slate magazine which circulated around Dublin in the early years of the current millennium represents the zenith of human literary achievement.

For those who don't remember it (or who lived outside Dublin - distribution outside the Pale was frowned upon), it was a freebie satirical monthly printed on recycled jacks-roll which was to be found sitting on the windowsills of various cafes and record stores in Dublin city centre. It was the home of such fascinating and illuminating articles as "Blacks in the Jacks". They also did a great line in publishing profiles of everyone who had ever pi**ed them off, from the fella with the top hat outside Brown Thomas, to the esteemed members of An Garda Siochana, to every record store owner in Dublin.

Anyway, enough reminiscing. I have just recently, and with great joy, unearthed "The Best of" in a box at home. It is not enough. I want to locate every single back copy of The Slate. Are there any disturbed ex-students with OCD who collected every copy and still has them stashed away somewhere in their parents' gaff? If yes, or if you just want to recall the greatness of this publication, post here.

I think they did a classy memorial to Comet Records. Good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

My Dublin mate used to bring them down to Galway with him, they were feckin class, I'd buy the back issues if I could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

scan them and put them on the internet for free.

Scan them if you have them and share..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I do remember their article about the rudest shop assistants in Dublin. Genius on Clarendon St got a major mention, honourable second place to 'that blonde bollix in the tuxedo in the Savoy Cinema'.

That and their offer of €50 to anyone who made the obvious alteration to the Nagina Tandoori sign on Sth Great Georges St and posted proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I still remember the best two-word verdict on an Avril Lavigne show ever: 'Bring Ricin.'

A great mag, I blame McDowell for making a political football of it and causing a lot of their advertisers to pull out. Until that odious sh1te got involved it was doing rather well. I think most AHers would have loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I found the Best Of during a several-years-overdue clearout of my bedroom last year, think it's in my own attic now, must fish it out.

I can't remember who it was but someone's gig was described as "being attended mainly by the type of people who tell you to shush at a David Gray concert" which made me laugh.

Don't forget the fuss over Blacks in the Jacks too, do I vaguely remember UCD stopping them distributing it when I was there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Yeah man, you have to scan the profile of the Top Hatted Brown Thomas guy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

And the profile of 'that pirate mullet gimp in Lemon'... saw that guy around for years afterward, and every time I laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

When Robert Thompson and Jon Venables were being released from prison and into secret lives, The Slate ran a small piece about it. They said Louis Walsh had signed them up for a new boy band and they were attending the billie barry stage school to learn dancing/singing skills etc.
    That was pretty funny. But the following day a representitive from the billie barry school was on the radio denying that they were there.
    Classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There used to be a few issues online but they seem to have vanished. In the Twisted Pepper in Dublin they have covers of it above the urinals in the jacks.

Sadly I think it may be one of those things that's better in memory than actuality - reading back through it is a bit cringey. Kinda like that Naked Galwegian rag from a few years back, not actually as funny as you'd think it was but good craic in its day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Tester46

Scan them if you have them and share..

If I can get my hands on them I will. Not looking good so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I really loved the Slate, used to read it in Tower Records every week. I remember the Black in the Jacks piece, and the hilarity that ensued when Samantha whatsherface said the article was vile, despite admitting she hadnt read it.

If anyone happens to have an old copy lying around, scan and share please.

Surely between all the AH crowd there must be a full collection out there? There were only ever 27 editions, but it's a bit like Fawlty Towers where it feels like there were loads more...quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I remember when it was banned from the Trinity campus. Always a good sign when you offend the PC brigade.

They once posted a picture of Gavin Lambe Murphy on the front cover, with the headline "**** on this man's head". They also printed his phone number on the cover.

Their review of the Paul McCartney gig in the Point was also fantastic "The word cúnt was invented to describe this man".

Great stuff, sorely missed (and needed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I have the Best Of aswell, its the best thing that ever come out of Ireland... favourite articles were the celebrity peado top-trumps, blacks in the jacks (and samantha mumba's reaction) and the absolute annihilation of cork in one edition, followed by printing all the complaints from the langers offended by it in the next edition and slagging them off individually aswell.

Still funny 6 years later, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Found an old copy while cleaning out my bedroom a couple weeks ago

I'll lend it to anyone who wants to scan it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

This is amazing. I remember the magazine and remember it being hilarious!

I'd love to grab a few copies if someone would scan them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I used to go out with one of the writers from it. He still had had hundreds of copys of Slate and Mongrel in the back of his car. I stole a good few of them but alas don't have a scanner. I'll try and get them up at some stage hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I was their first advertiser. I'd first met the guys behind it when they were writing for a student mag at Trinity. I remember getting serious pressure from many of my friends to pull my advertising after the @Blacks in the Jacks@ kerfuffle.

Gyalist wrote: »
    I was their first advertiser. I'd first met the guys behind it when they were writing for a student mag at Trinity. I remember getting serious pressure from many of my friends to pull my advertising after the @Blacks in the Jacks@ kerfuffle.

Ah Jaysus! Did anyone actually read the Blacks in the Jacks yoke? It was very clearly and indisputably an anti-racism article. That was the wonderful irony of all the tabloid outrage at it. Clearly the self-righteous, moral guardian, residents association-types who complained never read any further than the title.

Ahh, the Slate...the only downside is that everything else is shiite after it. Anyone know what the writers are doing now? Gyalist - any chance you could persuade them to run up a few 2010 editions?

Well considering most of them have proper jobs now (some as journalists) I very much doubt you'd get them going back to the Slate. You can only pull that sort of stuff off when you're an unknown and most people only want to do it when they're young too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

geeky wrote: »
    And the profile of 'that pirate mullet gimp in Lemon'... saw that guy around for years afterward, and every time I laughed.

Or "That little bollocks who wears a tuxedo" in the Screen cinema.

I rember an edition where they published Micky Joe harte's phone number and encouraged readeres to "give him a ring"..bythe time i got round to it he'd stopped answering altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

This discussion pops up all the time there is a website with a lot of the articles/scan on it, think the editor was put them up. Trying to find it now. It was a blogspot if I remember correctly.

Irish Halo wrote: »
    This discussion pops up all the time there is a website with a lot of the articles/scan on it, think the editor was put them up. Trying to find it now. It was a blogspot if I remember correctly.

If you search on boards there's a link to a site from last year but it seems to have been taken down. Not sure if they went up anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

This is what I read now but it doesn't come close. Don't like the onion that much

http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If you search on boards there's a link to a site from last year but it seems to have been taken down. Not sure if they went up anywhere else.
    Yeah found it (http://oneftroad.wordpress.com/slate/) wonder why they took it down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Gyalist wrote: »
    Ah man. I bought a replacement keyboard off of eBay too.