Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Camera Van on N4 Lucan ALL DAY Last Sunday .

• 21-07-2010 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭

Certainly it was parked city bound just pass Superquinn ,Lucan flyover at 10am and still there around 5pm.Now if a speed van in Wexford made 48 grand in 2 hours (600x80) this yoke should be paying for NAMA by Christmas !!!At that particular spot they seem to specialise in getting people in 'dips'/downhills :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Put it on the M50 or M1, and it would pay for the Toll!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

ytareh wrote: »
    Certainly it was parked city bound just pass Superquinn ,Lucan flyover at 10am and still there around 5pm.Now if a speed van in Wexford made 48 grand in 2 hours (600x80) this yoke should be paying for NAMA by Christmas !!!At that particular spot they seem to specialise in getting people in 'dips'/downhills :(

Ah that stretch of road is a favourite haunt of theirs.
    Anywhere between the Spa hotel and Woodies on either side of the road is a regular vantage point to shoot fish in a barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Heroditas wrote: »
    Ah that stretch of road is a favourite haunt of theirs.
    Anywhere between the Spa hotel and Woodies on either side of the road is a regular vantage point to shoot fish in a barrel.

Well Little Fishy's stop speeding!:rolleyes:

jock101 wrote: »
    Well Little Fishy's stop speeding!:rolleyes:

Actually, ignore what I said. Apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

they later moved it to the quays and set it at 30 km/h :mad::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

EXACTLY 30kmh?I remember the fuss about the introduction of this limit but never dreamed theyd enforce it to the kmh!!!I guess the lads on bicycles going faster then 30km wont be pulled !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭frank gooding

That 80 kmh is a pain all the way to lexlip.

Money collecting exercise

EXACTLY 30kmh?I remember the fuss about the introduction of this limit but never dreamed theyd enforce it to the kmh!!!I guess the lads on bicycles going faster then 30km wont be pulled !

not sure at exactly 30, i got caught at 45 on my speedo which is about 37-38 really

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

they later moved it to the quays and set it at 30 km/h :mad::mad::(

Whereabouts and when?

antodeco wrote: »
    Whereabouts and when?

heading out of the city to the n4 just after the haypenny bridge pulled into a loading bay , sunday night 2am, pure money making tactics id say they got ever person who drove there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Come on lads, we all know that the N4 around Lucan, is lethal, people being killed everyday down there. Thank god the Gatso van has been deployed, we can all sleep easy now. :rolleyes: Money grabbing mission, pure and simple:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Noticed that myself on Sunday.

It's not on their list of collision prone zones, and according to the RSA, there have only been a couple of minor collisions on that stretch of road.

Conclusion: money-making racket.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Absurdum wrote: »
    Noticed that myself on Sunday.

It's not on their list of collision prone zones, and according to the RSA, there have only been a couple of minor collisions on that stretch of road.

Conclusion: money-making racket.

I know of one fatal crash there

godtabh wrote: »
    I know of one fatal crash there

When was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭Patser

Anyone know who is actually responsible for the positioning of these cameras? Are the drivers of the van told where to set up, or are they told go out there and get them where ever you feel like?

Just curious to know, so as I know who the feel annoyed at. Is it some Super in the station and are the lads in the van 'Just following orders!' or is it the lads in the van looking for good stats so they can knock off early and 'Just doing my job!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,113 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There's a memorial for a fatal crash on the Lucan bypass anyway, as well as one nearer Leixlip but I suspect that dates from the old road.

Both predate it being a fully grade seperated, solid median D3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

You sure what you saw was a speed camera van? I drove that road Sunday at 80k as they are always out on it and maybe saw an old van dumped up on the left in the maintenance bay just past the on ramp certainly wasn't a Gatso van.

I have to laugh at all the people blindly racing along there at motorway speeds in an 80 zone. Still don't understand why it's not at least a 100k zone

You sure what you saw was a speed camera van? I drove that road Sunday at 80k as they are always out on it and maybe saw an old van dumped up on the left in the maintenance bay just past the on ramp certainly wasn't a Gatso van.

I have to laugh at all the people blindly racing along there at motorway speeds in an 80 zone. Still don't understand why it's not at least a 100k zone

well it said garda on the side and flashed me so i can only assume it was

Ok defo wasn't there at 1.30 pm when I went passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Ok defo wasn't there at 1.30 pm when I went passed.

Eric is talking about on the quays near ha'penny bridge. Bazza, I think you're talking about near Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

I saw two guards across from the Spa hotel recently with bicycles and one of them was holding a speed camera pointed towards traffic coming from the west!

1st time i ever saw them with a speed camera/gun on bikes and no squad car.

Yeah I was talking about Lucan alright and them boys cycle up from Lucan cop shop and do the check from the bus shelter seen them there before. Also far side of road west bound they set up with a tripod looking under the bottom of the flyover catching people as they start down the dip beneath the bridge very sneaky you wont see them till its far too late.