Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complusory Purchase Order of Lambay Island?

• 21-07-2010 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭

Why in 2010 is the largest island off the east coast of Ireland still inaccessible to Irish people and under the control of members of the “British elite” who only visit the island occasionally? This island could be a major boost to the economy with all the tourists it would attract. It’s Scuba Diving grounds, its wildlife, it’s wallabies!! Obviously purchasing the island in the current climate would be difficult (although I feel in the long run it would create numerous tourist related jobs and generate income), however, why wasn’t a CPO put on it during the boom??? People in Ireland seem to have just accepted that a jewel of the east coast has always been inaccessible to them. This country will never progress unless creative and daring action is taken by the Government. There’s only so long tourists can be fooled into visiting the rat infested rock that is Ireland’s eye. Lambay island has the potential to be a goldmine, but no-one in Government has the balls to CPO it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

This thread is going places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

What a wonderful idea, we could rename it FR. Ted crilly Island :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Build an Irish Alcatraz on it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Why in gods name would we buy something we cannot do much with?
    Don't we already have NAMA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Do you have any idea of the cost for maintenance of upkeep of the castle and grounds alone? Piss off would you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Rock on Lambay!.

Biggins wrote: »
    Don't we already have NAMA!

It is like the time I bought a frog , hours of fun but then the inevitable..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    Why in 2010 is the largest island off the east coast of Ireland still inaccessible to Irish people and under the control of members of the “British elite” who only visit the island occasionally? This island could be a major boost to the economy with all the tourists it would attract. It’s Scuba Diving grounds, its wildlife, it’s wallabies!! Obviously purchasing the island in the current climate would be difficult (although I feel in the long run it would create numerous tourist related jobs and generate income), however, why wasn’t a CPO put on it during the boom??? People in Ireland seem to have just accepted that a jewel of the east coast has always been inaccessible to them. This country will never progress unless creative and daring action is taken by the Government. There’s only so long tourists can be fooled into visiting the rat infested rock that is Ireland’s eye. Lambay island has the potential to be a goldmine, but no-one in Government has the balls to CPO it.

So invade the f*ckin' thing then and then declare squatter's rights. Can't call the cops. Can't call the Brits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Honestly, if the lack of a 2.5km island in the public property portfolio is the only thing holding this country back, then that's pretty pathetic of us.

To put it in context, Ireland is 85k square km. Anything people can do on Lambay they can do elsewhere in Ireland.

Silly idea is silly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why? Put tourists there and the wildlife will start to die out. It would never make that much money really anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

!

Thats exaclty our problem. Nobody seems to have any creativity in this country at all. The boom was the worst thing that could happen to us becuase people made money by doing nothing. Buying property cheap and selling it when it was worth more. We have created a generation of lazy, unispired moaners. If that island was off any other country I guarantee they would utilise it. It has amazing wild life, scenery, scuba diving areas. Plenty could be done with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Why? Put tourists there and the wildlife will start to die out. It would never make that much money really anyway.

Your just raging its not off Cark - give us back Spike yiz shower of redneck feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The largest island off the east coast of Ireland is UK, and I don't want it.

Your just raging its not off Cark - give us back Spike yiz shower of redneck feckers.

Ye can have spike, but ye have to take cobh with it! It's a joint purchase, price €0.01. Just to make it a proper business deal! :D

Isn't Spike full of scummers on holiday at our expence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

I'm looking out at it now. I'm glad it's not a big tourist spot, I couldn't think of anything worse.

Kasabian wrote: »
    Isn't Spike full of scummers on holiday at our expence?

No longer a prison.

Nevore wrote: »
    Honestly, if the lack of a 2.5km island in the public property portfolio is the only thing holding this country back, then that's pretty pathetic of us.

To put it in context, Ireland is 85k square km. Anything people can do on Lambay they can do elsewhere in Ireland.

Silly idea is silly imo.

Islands, as a geograhpical feature, are an attraction. Comparing it to the rest of Ireland is silly in my opinion. But of course nobody in this country would support utilising it, creativity and hard work are two things that modern day Ireland knows nothing about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's a chunk of private property, why do you think you deserve access to it?

WRONG! Lambay is rich in minerals and hydrocarbons off coast that the british lay claim to.

Thats exaclty our problem. Nobody seems to have any creativity in this country at all. The boom was the worst thing that could happen to us becuase people made money by doing nothing. Buying property cheap and selling it when it was worth more. We have created a generation of lazy, unispired moaners. If that island was off any other country I guarantee they would utilise it. It has amazing wild life, scenery, scuba diving areas. Plenty could be done with it.
    Far as I know there are preservation orders on it regarding the wildlife that is on it and there are European protection orders applying too.
    There are some rare, ecology creatures living on it I remember seeing some time back in an Irish documentary.

So beside breaking laws and slapping buildings everywhere there is a decency of green space, and it being of no further advantage to do just that - I don't agree with you.

Do you have any idea of the cost for maintenance of upkeep of the castle and grounds alone? Piss off would you.

Lol, I wonder does your mother know you're typing such language from the computer in her basement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

This Island might be under the control of British people, but it's a family Island, and as such you can't really except someone to give up their own land...whether it's alone in the sea or not....this isn't the USSR, the state doesn't own everything

Still privately owned by the Baring family trust, Lambay is home to an adapted medieval castle and an Edwin Lutyens-designed estate. The castle is enclosed by a sturdy circular wall which is about 4m high at the lowest point. The estate includes domestic extensions to the old castle, a village of cottages, a communal hall, two family houses, a harbour and boathouse and a distinctive open-air real tennis court, the only one remaining in Ireland (there was one in the old University College Dublin complex on Earlsfort Terrace).

The chapel is located on an isolated promontary. Due to its deep surrounding waters, the island is a particularly popular location for scuba divers. The island is accessible, by prior permission only, from Rogerstown Harbour, 4 km away, 27 km north of Dublin, near Rush.

Among the mammals of the island are Grey Seals (Ireland's only east-coast colony) and introduced fallow deer (a herd of about 200) and wallabies (whose ancestors were exiled to the island in the 1980s when Dublin Zoo became overcrowded).

I'd personally like to go to be honest but the Irish Government shouldn't just steal it from someone whose owned it for centuries

Lol, I wonder does your mother know you're typing such language from the computer in her basement.

How many Irish people have basements? American stereotype much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We can rename it Malvinas and invade it. I'm sure those people on that bigger island won't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Does anyone live on it?

How many Irish people have basements? American stereotype much?

Most houses in my neignbourhood have basments. In fact most Georgian houses do.

American stereotype much?

What are you trying to say here? Could it be you're using American slang grammar? Are you trying to be ironic?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    We can rename it Malvinas and invade it. I'm sure those people on that bigger island won't care.
    The Malvinas/Falkland Islands to some lay around one of the richest oil basins in the world. It all about the black gold. We have a similar situation with Lambay and that's why they lay claim to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

would be a massive loss-making money pit if it was publicly owned.
    then we would all be cursing the government for wasting public money (again!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

CPO? we should just take the fcuking thing back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The British govt makes no claim to Lambay.

Contrary to some people's wishes, when the Irish State was born, British citizens didn't all of a sudden lose their rights to property they held.

Dealing with the financial and legal concerns of a cpo order requires something a little better thought out than "Oh, we want an island to scuba dive off of".

I'd personally like to go to be honest but the Irish Government shouldn't just steal it from someone whose owned it for centuries

The current family haven't owned it for centuries and they rarely visit it now. The Irish were forcefully removed from the island to make way for the British settlers. The current family bought it. A CPO is not stealing, they would be paid for their property in a similar way to the way CPOs are put on property in the way of motorways etc.

The island has the potential to make money if managed correctly. It would be a long term project though, something Irish people aren't used to. Its certainly not a "buy now sell next year" job. If it was, everybody in this country would be on board because its all people here know how to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Sounds like an ideal hideyhole come the zombie apocalypse.
    They can keep it...for now....

Your idea OP of compulsory purchase the island reminds me of a well known prayer:

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."
    1.The current family haven't owned it for centuries and they rarely visit it now. The Irish were forcefully removed from the island to make way for the British settlers. The current family bought it. 2. A CPO is not stealing, they would be paid for their property in a similar way to the way CPOs are put on property in the way of motorways etc.

The island has the potential to make money if managed correctly. 3. It would be a long term project though, something Irish people aren't used to. Its certainly not a "buy now sell next year" job. If it was, everybody in this country would be on board because its all people here know how to do.

1. So what if when or when not they have visited it? If there is wildlife on it, maybe thats a good thing if they stay away more?

2. This is Europe - not China stealing land from under the people's feet!

3. Insult Irish people much?

4. Just plain ignore the points and information posted in post 22 and 24 and carry on anyway?

I think you should get to know the prayer up above and maybe learn from that at least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's probably just as well it's in private hands, because if it was compulsorily purchased, some fuckwit in the government would make sure that we'd have to pay €500 to get there on some leaky old tub, before being robbed blind by anyone on the island selling stuff.

A well known historian once said to me, " always be wary of the opinions of the majorities for it is those of the much abused minority that more often prove to be correct."

Its easy to jump on the bandwagon and abuse someone because thay have, what appears, to be an odd idea. Its much harder to take the other stance and therefore people that do, generally have good reason to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Does anyone live on it?

Some of the family and the apartments are let during the year. Generally more on the island in the summer months.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's probably just as well it's in private hands, because if it was compulsorily purchased, some fuckwit in the government would make sure that we'd have to pay €500 to get there on some leaky old tub, before being robbed blind by anyone on the island selling stuff.

Sure we could shtick an auld interpretive centre on dere ye know for a few million right beside the souvenir shop and redevelip de golf course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The current family haven't owned it for centuries and they rarely visit it now. The Irish were forcefully removed from the island to make way for the British settlers. The current family bought it. A CPO is not stealing, they would be paid for their property in a similar way to the way CPOs are put on property in the way of motorways etc.

The island has the potential to make money if managed correctly. It would be a long term project though, something Irish people aren't used to. Its certainly not a "buy now sell next year" job. If it was, everybody in this country would be on board because its all people here know how to do.

You sound like Robert Mugabe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

CPO is a joke.

Your idea OP of compulsory purchase the island reminds me of a well known prayer:

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

1. So what if when or when not they have visited it? If there is wildlife on it, maybe thats a good thing if they stay away more?

2. This is Europe - not China stealing land from under the people's feet!

3. Insult Irish people much?

4. Just plain ignore the points and information posted in post 22 and 24 and carry on anyway?

I think you should get to know the prayer up above and maybe learn from that at least?

That did seem a bit harsh, I didn't mean to insult all Irish people. Obviously there are some brilliant Irish visonaries skilled in business like Michael O'Leary.... Oh Sorry he gets thrashed all the time on these boards doesn't he??? It seems anybody that proposes anything new on boards is ridiculed. Its the Irish mentality, don't try anything new and sit back and laugh at the failure if anybody that has the balls to do it. If they succeed, sit back and jeer them from your armchair. I love being Irish, but its this mentality, that drove me to emmigrate. Not suprising that most successful Irishmen had to do the same.

Long story short: nice idea in theory.
    In practise - its a non-starter. One should move on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

I've never heard of it.

Pauleta wrote: »
    You sound like Robert Mugabe.

And you sound like a typical boards member using a one line cliched hyperbole response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,518 ✭✭✭✭briany

This has been discussed before. Ultimately it's no different from other pieces of privately owned land except that it's surrounded by water. If the owners ever decide to sell it, that's another story.

I like the fact that you can't just go there. It has a great mystery and beauty about it. One article described it as a hermitage. It's like the moon in a way, it's there in front of you but just beyond your reach and it looks so peaceful, a world apart.

http://www.gorrygallery.ie/Catalogs/pkct0410.pdf

...Obviously there are some brilliant Irish visionaries skilled in business like Michael O'Leary.... Oh Sorry he gets thrashed all the time on these boards doesn't he??? It seems anybody that proposes anything new on boards is ridiculed. Its the Irish mentality, don't try anything new and sit back and laugh at the failure if anybody that has the balls to do it. If they succeed, sit back and jeer them from your armchair. I love being Irish, but its this mentality, that drove me to emigrate. Not surprising that most successful Irishmen had to do the same.
    I don't want to side-track the topic of the thread so will ignore the OP's lack of knowledge in regards to Irish people that have shown long term planning ability in their/our history previously...

Ignoring other side-tracking points too that can be replied to easily...

Just one thing... "Not surprising that most successful Irishmen had to do the same." - do you have figures to back the "most" claim up?
    Far as I know (including myself) the vast majority of Irish business men & women (too!) have stayed and are still helping to keep our economy going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

biko wrote: »
    The largest island off the east coast of Ireland is UK, and I don't want it.

its actually great britain

I don't want to side-track the topic of the thread so will ignore the OP's lack of knowledge in regards to Irish people that have shown long term planning ability in their/our history previously....

By responding you didn't ignore anything. Some Irish people have showed long term planning ability of course. Do I have to spoon feed you now? Do I have to qualify everything by saying some? I assumed that as one Irish man speaking to another I could use the term "Irish people" to mean Irish people in general. Irish people (IN GENERAL) are not particulary creative when it comes to making money. Our current economic situation is a good indicator of this. Most people made fast money in property and don't have a creative bone in their body. What long term plan did the bankers have? Run the country into the wall and then wait for the tax payers to bail them out? What long term plan did the builders have? Keep building inferior buildings for ridiculous prices, declare bankrupt when that fails and open up under a different operating name?
    Just one thing... "Not surprising that most successful Irishmen had to do the same." - do you have figures to back the "most" claim up?
    Far as I know (including myself) the vast majority of Irish business men & women (too!) have stayed and are still helping to keep our economy going.

Oh so we're citing sources on Boards.ie now are we? Or do we only need sources when expressing an opinion different to yours? I don't remeber you displaying any sources to back up your OPINIONS. And its my opinion that a lot of these Business men and women are the problem. Loads of ego, no talent, taking advantage of nepotism, and fire blanketing any creativity that the younger generation have. The only option for a lot of young talented Irish people is emmigration. Maybe when the current generation of morons finally stop flogging the dead horse that they killed with their stupidity and greed, the next generation can return and start from scratch.

By responding you didn't ignore anything. Some Irish people have showed long term planning ability of course. Do I have to spoon feed you now? Do I have to qualify everything by saying some?
    It would be nice seeing as you said instead:
    "Not surprising that most successful Irishmen had to do the same."
    ...its my opinion that a lot of these Business men and women are the problem. Loads of ego, no talent, taking advantage of nepotism, and fire blanketing any creativity that the younger generation have...

Jeasus we all must be terrible people for staying and starting up our own businesses here instead!
    ...And here was I thinking that Irish business people are appealing to the banks to open their lending facilities again to maintain their evil businesses! Of course its their ego thats makeing them do that too! :rolleyes:
    ...The only option for a lot of young talented Irish people is emigration.
    Its one option.
    Another is to stay and help their homeland by using same inherent talents and make our economy stronger.
    Not all of us decide the boat/plane is the first and only option.
    We have the foresight to see that at least!
    ...At least before our stupidity kicks in! :rolleyes:
    ...Maybe when the current generation of morons finally stop flogging the dead horse that they killed with their stupidity and greed, the next generation can return and start from scratch.

The vast business people in this country are neither stupid nor greedy.
    They are too busy making the food you eat and the clothes you wear to be stupid.
    ...As for greed! Save that for a small political mafia in Dublin, the rest of the country is just too busy trying to keep their heads above water and save themselves from going under!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Any truth to the rumour there's a population of wallabies on the island?

Biggins do you have sources to back up anything you just said?

Oh sorry we've moved passed that now. Are you aware of the unemployment figures in Ireland?? Do you fully understand the gravity of the situation?

I think you're being a bit patronising saying that young Irish people should stay at home and help the economy. Im sure they have looked for jobs before making the tough decision to emmigrate. Home means the dole for many young Irish people.

I should have clarified my problem with "Business men." I would consider myself an etrepreneur not a business man. Likewise , i have nothing but respect for Irish entrepreneurs. I know how difficult it is to set up and run a buisness in the Irish climate of begrudgery. "Business men" on the other hand are the type of people that do an MBA. The type of people that work their way up the slippery ladder of the financial industry ****ting on everyone beneath them and brown nosing anyone above. Similar characteristics to our politicians. People like these have shaped our country over the last twenty years.