Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st year of college !!!

• 20-07-2010 11:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭luv-eirexx

Startin college in September ( hopefully!!) and just wondrin is it really as mad as it's supposed to be, going out and gettin drunk every night??

Anyone else startin out as a fresher in 6 weeks time?? 1st year is SUPPOSEDLY the best year of college ..... I've heard some mad stories!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

First year will probably be your last year if you don't start using 'g' at the end of 'ing.'

GRAMMAR NAZI, AWAY!!!

*leaves thread through the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Depends on the course and the people you end up gravitating to. You'll probably go out a lot for a little while, then the reality of lots of work will hit you like a tonne of bricks. Then you'll push yourself so that you get the work done and can go out when you want. It really is a pretty brisk awakening to how much you can cram into your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭luv-eirexx

Sanjuro wrote: »
    First year will probably be your last year if you don't start using 'g' at the end of 'ing.'

GRAMMAR NAZI, AWAY!!!

*leaves thread through the window.

Ha!! Sorry, I didn't even notice I was leaving out them g's ....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

By all means have fun, go out, party, have lots of sex etc but don't abandon your studies you don't want to face repeats during the summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

luv-eirexx wrote: »
    Startin college in September ( hopefully!!) and just wondrin is it really as mad as it's supposed to be, going out and gettin drunk every night??

Anyone else startin out as a fresher in 6 weeks time?? 1st year is SUPPOSEDLY the best year of college ..... I've heard some mad stories!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

From what I remember from 1st year in college, we drank copious amounts of booze, took lots of LSD & slept around a lot.

2nd year was pretty much the same.

By 3rd year, things had changed dramtically.

Ecstacy had replaced the LSD. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Depends on the course and the people you end up gravitating to. You'll probably go out a lot for a little while, then the reality of lots of work will hit you like a tonne of bricks. Then you'll push yourself so that you get the work done and can go out when you want. It really is a pretty brisk awakening to how much you can cram into your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

From what I remember
    Pffft... lightweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What if you're a mature student ?

KTRIC wrote: »
    Damn old people. :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Depends on the course and the particular college.

My visions of college were trashed upon realising that engineering is essentially a sausage-fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

get thee to the nearest grab-a-granny event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

get thee to the nearest grab-a-granny event

Niiiiiiiice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Drink for longer without puking! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Depends on the course and the particular college.

My visions of college were trashed upon realising that engineering is essentially a sausage-fest.

whats a sausage fest?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

1st year is SUPPOSEDLY the best year of college ..... I've heard some mad stories!!!!

took me a while to settle in first year given that i wasn't coming from school (in fact had left school some 6 years previous)

my final undergrad year was my favourite year, i was out 3 nights a week and still got a 1.1 degree :D depends on the person i suppose, quite a few of my class didn't make it past christmas in first year so if you do party, don't forget there is work to be done at some stage

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Even better. Like re-birth straight back into adolescence.

humberklog wrote: »
    Even better. Like re-birth straight back into adolescence.

So fcukin true!! :D Lovin' it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Male to female ratio of about 7:1.

Copper Face Jacks!

best year you'll have in college! won't have as much work to do as compared to your other years! each of them will get tougher and tougher as you go along! but depends on the course and people you be assocciated with. but likely to party the most that year and probably even more so as the years go by as you get to meet and know more people!:D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Larianne wrote: »
    So fcukin true!! :D Lovin' it!

Much better (personally speaking) 2nd or even 3rd time around. And each time you still get to be a 1st year! Win, win, win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

It'll be like that if you make it like that. If you go on the nights out and make friends with people and ask them out, then you'll probably get drunk quite a lot.

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Male to female ratio of about 7:1.

Copper Face Jacks!

ah I see now! thanks :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ThatWouldBeNice

I've just finished my first year. It was great, pretty much everything I hoped for. Lots of drinking, lots of going out, not very much work!

If you get there and realise your coursemates are losers, don't worry. I joined a 5-a-side football team, and through those four other people met the majority of my friends now. There are plenty of other things that you can get into at college to meet people, to be honest there are very few of the people on my course who I socialise with.

Enjoy yourself, don't waste it by holding back! You'll never have another year like it :(

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    It'll be like that if you make it like that. If you go on the nights out and make friends with people and ask them out, then you'll probably get drunk quite a lot.

I'd join a club or society too. So you then have your classmates to go out with but also your club mates to go out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I'd join a club or society too. So you then have your classmates to go out with but also your club mates to go out with.

The morning after pill society was very popular in my college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭beccabeccabecca

I'm just finished my first year in college, it was great :). I was out all the time during freshers' week and for the first week of classes until things started to get into full swing. I figured out that I needed to balance college work with going out if I wanted to pass the year, so I ended up going out two to three times a week on nights when my first class the next morning started at ten or eleven and catching up on assignments and the like on the other nights. Worked for me, had a great craic, made loads of new friends, didn't miss out on anything really and got a 1.1. The girls I shared with went for the "every week is RAG week" approach. They were constantly hungover, always broke, their skin was terrible and after a few months ging out stopped being fun and was just the thing to do. They're now set to repeat first year after not only failing their exams but the repeats as well.

tl;dr: Go mad, but get a bit of a balance to make sure you pass the year and get to continue the craic in second year ;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Ha!! Sorry, I didn't even notice I was leaving out them g's ....!

Those g's.

Sorry sorry.

Personally, I hated every minute of college. Thankfully it was only two years long, couldn't have hacked any longer. Going out on the píss seven nights a week, man, sometimes I just wanna sit by the fire with a spliff and watch a movie.

But there again I'm just a cynical, grumpy fúck so don't listen to me and have fun op.

"every week is RAG week"

Jeez, I hope there were no guys living with you...must of been like a house of banshees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The morning after pill society was very popular in my college.
    The morning after pill society was very popular in my school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭beccabeccabecca

Jeez, I hope there were no guys living with you...must of been like a house of banshees.

There were no guys living with me, just four other girls. I don't think I'll ever have full hearing again :(. My other housemate and I used to get our revenge on them for blaring Dizzy Rascal and the likes at four and five in the morning by slamming every door in the house before I left for college. Twice. Oh yeah, we were hardcore :pac:.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

great year, drink lots, easy to pass first year

I partied seriously hard in year one, slighty less so in year 2 , less again in year 3 .

Year 4 I was on 1st name basis with the librarians :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I was only 17 in my first year of college, so it wasn't all that great for me. I only got a fake ID at the end of the second semester, so I went out about twice! :o
    Everyone else seemed to have a deadly time though, they'd usually come into class still pissed.

I have to travel to and from home every day next year... not much time for partying eh.. :(

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I have to travel to and from home every day next year... not much time for partying eh.. :(

Don't most people have to do that? :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I partied seriously hard in year one, slighty less so in year 2 , less again in year 3 .

Year 4 I was on 1st name basis with the librarians :(
    Ah I drank more in second year(if possible), bad move! By fourth year it's friends in the library all right. Actually feels like you know people in there without ever talking to them, you just see them so much.

I was only 17 in my first year of college, so it wasn't all that great for me. I only got a fake ID at the end of the second semester, so I went out about twice! :o
    Everyone else seemed to have a deadly time though, they'd usually come into class still pissed.
    Guy in my class was 16, drank in 3rd year !

ye we would, or with a naggin to help the hangovers in class heh heh..or to get drunk in class if it was rag week

Guy in my class was 16, drank in 3rd year !

ye we would, or with a naggin to help the hangovers in class heh heh..or to get drunk in class if it was rag week

Wow, didn't think being younger than 17 was possible in college. **** for him!

Don't most people have to do that? :confused:
    Over an hour on the bus... most of my mates are getting accomidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

meh its not "Animal House" crazy....just a seriously good laugh.....

DON'T DO WHAT I DID!!!

went into college...started out really well enjoying the nights out having a great laugh then BOOM!! girlfriend....

been going for 8 months now but I want out before college starts back up....

why?

1st year poontang! :)

WHAT UP!:cool:

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Over an hour on the bus... most of my mates are getting accomidation.

Ah that's pretty rough. Long journeys are not cool. :(
    But you'll still manage to find time to party, don't worry!

Ah that's pretty rough. Long journeys are not cool. :(
    But you'll still manage to find time to party, don't worry!
    I wil stake my claim on my mates couches pretty quickly! Thats the plan anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I Love College

Ah I remember this vid and so many flashbacks now. Corrib village and kayak sheds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

i wouldnt say first year for me was the most fun but it was the most care free, enjoy yourself,dont be afraid of what people think of you

I Love College

Never heard that song before. Wish I could rewind time after hearing it. Not to the time when I was in college... just to the point before I pressed "play".

This one is way more accurate for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

What course do you plan on doing?