Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the GAA charging too much into croke park?

• 19-07-2010 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

Considering the cost to bring a family in particular, to Croke Park are the GAA in fact failing to promote the game of both football and hurling and is this substantial cost aligned with TV coverage the main contributing factors to the recent poor turnouts? or is the game disappering with the recent Celtic Tiger?

Recent events highlighted the GAA's inability to supply adequate security at matches and therfore put the Safety, Health and Welfare of all who attend at risk, they seem incapable to make decisions, however they seem to have a cunning ability to make lots of money.

What can be done to promote the game?
    Should the overall organisation of the GAA come under scrutiny?

Remember the people of Ireland built Croke Park not as a money making machine but as stadium where those lucky enough to be graced with immaculate talent can display (without charge) the wonderful gifts they possess and is also an inherient part of Irish society both culturally and historically.

Some views please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

5 euro for kids is fair its the 30 euro for adults thats not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

15 per ticket should be enough its an 80 od thousand seater stadium its ridiculous charging a packet for tickets like that!!!!!!!!!

have they forgotten its an AMATEUR game:mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

30 euro for 2 games is great value to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

kids should be free, its an amateur game,

a tenner for adults should be enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Where else will a kid get into a major sporting event for a tenner around the world. If you don't like don't bother turning up as their are plenty of genuine GAA supporters who would pay that money to get to a big game. Anyway buy a season ticket get a fiver off per game.

DH2K9 wrote: »
    Where else will a kid get into a major sporting event for a tenner around the world. If you don't like don't bother turning up as their are plenty of genuine GAA supporters who would pay that money to get to a big game. Anyway buy a season ticket get a fiver off per game.

Now I wouldnt go on that much of a rant.

Amateur or not your still getting the same amount of entertainment for an awful lot lower than say a rugby game. Rugby games in Croker were around 85 euro for stand! and thats only one game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Don't think there's much wrong with €30 for two games. It's even more attractive for families with kids tickets just a fiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

Don't think there's much wrong with €30 for two games. It's even more attractive for families with kids tickets just a fiver.
    I remember Ireland played Cyprus in Croker at about €60 a ticket around the same time we had Dublin v Tyrone and fireworks for about €20 so it is cheaper than Soccer and Rugby. I still think the prices are a bit steep. They cant get alot cheaper tho. Maybe the price of a pint (which is alot to me!!! hehe). While id gladly pay the 15-20 for the terrace for the games, if i was paying for a seat i simply couldnt afford it thru the qualifiers as the games come weekly. No problem with the GAA making a few bob as it comes back to the sport again usually but think they could have kept the qualifiers prices the same all the way thru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

They're two qualifiers though. What are the prices going to be like for the quarters, semis and final if they're charging €30 for the qualifiers? Attendances have been ridiculously low so far this year and I believe that the ticket prices (and cost of going to games in general) are a major factor in this.

Fandango wrote: »
    I remember Ireland played Cyprus in Croker at about €60 a ticket around the same time we had Dublin v Tyrone and fireworks for about €20 so it is cheaper than Soccer and Rugby. I still think the prices are a bit steep. They cant get alot cheaper tho. Maybe the price of a pint (which is alot to me!!! hehe). While id gladly pay the 15-20 for the terrace for the games, if i was paying for a seat i simply couldnt afford it thru the qualifiers as the games come weekly. No problem with the GAA making a few bob as it comes back to the sport again usually but think they could have kept the qualifiers prices the same all the way thru.

It's all about supply and demand tbh. People were willing to pay those prices for rugby and soccer tickets because they were international matches and the FAI/IRFU had to charge those prices because of the rent that they had to pay to the GAA.

An Citeog wrote: »
    They're two qualifiers though. What are the prices going to be like for the quarters, semis and final if they're charging €30 for the qualifiers? Attendances have been ridiculously low so far this year and I believe that the ticket prices (and cost of going to games in general) is a major factor in this.

But that is the beauty of the GAA. Croke Park has the cheaper option of Hill 16 for 20 euro so problem solved and I think the GAA will leave it at 30 for the quaters and 35 for the semis max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

gally74 wrote: »

sorry don't agree with that at all, they take up a seat so they should pay, anyway what age of kid are we talking about here

lets say for instance every primary school in the country decides to arrive at croke park on all-ireland semi final day, everyone gets in free, no seats for anyone else :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Well 45000 kids could have turned up last sat for Armagh Dublin, 20000 for the wat cork replay etc, maybe free with an adult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

But that is the beauty of the GAA. Croke Park has the cheaper option of Hill 16 for 20 euro so problem solved and I think the GAA will leave it at 30 for the quaters and 35 for the semis max.

Semi Final tickets are usually €45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Loadie

Yea €45 for semi, was €30 for stand ticket last weekend in Thurles for the replay, think for a replay, prices should be reduced...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

castie wrote: »
    Now I wouldnt go on that much of a rant.

Amateur or not your still getting the same amount of entertainment for an awful lot lower than say a rugby game. Rugby games in Croker were around 85 euro for stand! and thats only one game

Well that was only because the IRFU had to give the GAA its cut before they got their own money.

Croker is filled with volunteers on GAA match days and there are probably a lot more people who have to get paid on IRFU days, never mind the players.

At what point do they stop the student refund? Will there be a refund at the quarter finals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭the long lad

to get the student discount/rebate, do you have to be in a certain stand or can you just get a ticket for anywhere?

You had to be in the Cusack or Davin stands for the discounts at the games I was at this year anyway.

buckwheat wrote: »
    Semi Final tickets are usually €45.

Oh ye. You see it's a long time since the dubs reached the semis!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭the long lad

You had to be in the Cusack or Davin stands for the discounts at the games I was at this year anyway.

interestingly, only hogan stand tickets are available on ticketmaster.

You'd be better off getting them on the day then imo. There'll be plenty of tickets left and it's really just luck of the draw as to the seats you get. You wont have to pay a booking fee on top of the ticket price either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I bought 5 tickets today in maynooth, 32 with the service charge each, 160 euro......ouch.

at least when the lads pay me saturday ill have my drinking money for the day and night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

30 euro for 2 games is great value to be honest.
    Rugby games in Croker were around 85 euro for stand! and thats only one game
    Don't think there's much wrong with €30 for two games.

Does the 'two games' thing really make much difference to whether its value? The whole 'but you get two games for that price' always seems like a false argument to me, except for the hardcore neutral.

I'd have thought a large proportion of the fans of the first game will either a) want to leave with their tail between their legs or b) go somewhere to celebrate, and that a lot of the fans of teams in the second game will a) just have a few extra pre-match drinks in the pub or b) use the late kick off as a chance to get a few things done that morning and set off later to the game.

Suddenly €30 for one game, a qualifier 4/5/6 games away from the allIreland final looks less of a good deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Yes, they are too expensive full stop.

Its interesting to see people in this thread compare it to professional sporting events because I feel that with the GAA being amateur, one cannot compare a GAA match to that of a Magners League game etc... Even Connacht Rugby - as cash straped as they are - dont charge in as much as the GAA do for championship, and they've wages to pay and what not.

I dont want to go on a tirade but for anyone to argue against the GAA being a shower of ripping-off bastards you're in dream land, or just defending the organisation for the sake of it. €35 for a stand ticket for the Connacht football ticket was a joke, never mind the €25 to sit on a concrete clab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

€25 into portlaois i thought was fairly harsh..

Does the 'two games' thing really make much difference to whether its value? The whole 'but you get two games for that price' always seems like a false argument to me, except for the hardcore neutral.

I'd have thought a large proportion of the fans of the first game will either a) want to leave with their tail between their legs or b) go somewhere to celebrate, and that a lot of the fans of teams in the second game will a) just have a few extra pre-match drinks in the pub or b) use the late kick off as a chance to get a few things done that morning and set off later to the game.

Suddenly €30 for one game, a qualifier 4/5/6 games away from the allIreland final looks less of a good deal.

I went to Cork Donegal last year and stayed for Kildare Tyrone I think it was.
    That game was better than the cork one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Yes, they are too expensive full stop.

Its interesting to see people in this thread compare it to professional sporting events because I feel that with the GAA being amateur, one cannot compare a GAA match to that of a Magners League game etc... Even Connacht Rugby - as cash straped as they are - dont charge in as much as the GAA do for championship, and they've wages to pay and what not.

I dont want to go on a tirade but for anyone to argue against the GAA being a shower of ripping-off bastards you're in dream land, or just defending the organisation for the sake of it. €35 for a stand ticket for the Connacht football ticket was a joke, never mind the €25 to sit on a concrete clab.

The €25 I spent to sit on a concrete seat in Castlebar was money well spent. The big cost for me going to GAA games is petrol - about €50 for petrol and tolls on Sunday. Mind you I won it all back from the bookies at the rediculous 7/2 odds:)
    Sorry back on topic: The GAA is the backbone of most rural communities. They provide sport free for underage children while parents have to cough up huge fees for Karate, Dance lessons etc. Even in Soccer you need a few Euro to pay the ref - even though Soccer is still great value. There isn't some obscure off shore account that this money goes into.
    Most people I know who go to GAA intercounty games spend their free time volunteering at their local GAA club and fundraising for it. If the GAA can get some much needed extra funds from so called fairweather supporters who only go to Intercounty Senior Championship games - then great I say.
    I know the recession is tough on all of us, don't get me wrong, but gate receipts are an important method of fund raising for the GAA, and relative to other sports/concerts etc, they are still good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

wow sierra wrote: »
    The €25 I spent to sit on a concrete seat in Castlebar was money well spent. The big cost for me going to GAA games is petrol - about €50 for petrol and tolls on Sunday. Mind you I won it all back from the bookies at the rediculous 7/2 odds:)
    Sorry back on topic: The GAA is the backbone of most rural communities. They provide sport free for underage children while parents have to cough up huge fees for Karate, Dance lessons etc. Even in Soccer you need a few Euro to pay the ref - even though Soccer is still great value. There isn't some obscure off shore account that this money goes into.
    Most people I know who go to GAA intercounty games spend their free time volunteering at their local GAA club and fundraising for it. If the GAA can get some much needed extra funds from so called fairweather supporters who only go to Intercounty Senior Championship games - then great I say.
    I know the recession is tough on all of us, don't get me wrong, but gate receipts are an important method of fund raising for the GAA, and relative to other sports/concerts etc, they are still good value.

Exactly, therefore reduce the price and increase the attendance in so doing, a family of 4 costs €70 stiff for an amateur game by any standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What is GAA short for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭123easy

Gaelic Athlethic Association

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

In general Croke Pk is better value than provincial venues with poor facilities.
    In any case Louth people have spent little enough in Croke Pk over the years, so shouldn't complain.
    What is GAA short for?

Don't feed the trolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

123easy wrote: »
    Gaelic Athlethic Association

Ah come on, if I didn't know that I wouldn't be in this forum :)
    ardmacha wrote: »

Don't feed the trolls.

I'm not sure what I've done wrong here
    That poster was ranting, "we all know what GAA is short for"

I asked what they meant.
    That post and their answer are now deleted for some reason.
    anyway it's all finished now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Another benefit to the season ticket, €5 off the price of the qualifiers and the other non final games.

Not much but it all helps.

While we're here a word of praise to the ticket office who have been very good this year with allocations etc..,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭holidaygirl

I got my ticket for €10 through the local gaa club, so I can't complain with that :)

From the Tipperary GAA website
    Ticket Details
    The All Ireland quarter finals are a ticket only fixture with Adult Stand tickets costing €35 each. The Hill 16 terrace will not be open and only the lower Cusack and Hogan stands will be open unless demand dictates otherwise. Tickets are available through clubs, from Lar na Pairce GAA Shop Thurles and online on www.ticketmaster.ie. Senior Citizens/Student Stand tickets cost €25 and apply to the Cusack Stand only. Concession refunds are available at the Block D turnstiles to rear of Cusack Stand prior to entry. No refunds are available after entry to stadium. Details of a special club package have been sent to all club secretaries. These include a club pass where a minimum of 15 and maximum of 50 people from a club can get tickets costing €10 each. Juvenile groups can also be accommodated at €3 per child with 1 adult per 10 juveniles free of charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

30 euro for two matches in Croke Park this week at this stage of the championship is good value in my opinion.

Compare it to other sports events of a similar magnitude and it fairs very well price comparison wise.

Regarding the old "Grab all Association" rubbish, I love the ignorance of this.
    You'd think the top guys in the GAA were stuffing the cash into their pockets and flying off to the carribbean with cigars in their mouths.

Its the height of stupidity to be honest.

The money made goes back into the clubs to assist in the upkeep and juvenile sections etc. And it works a treat with club facilities around the county putting those of other sports to shame.

They take the money made from the top level of the game and give it back to the grass roots, which keeps the cycle of top class sportsmen coming year after year.
    Thank god we aren't wasting this hard earned money paying this vital income to players while everything around them crumbles, as has been seen in other sports.

30 euro for two matches in Croke Park this week at this stage of the championship is good value in my opinion.

Compare it to other sports events of a similar magnitude and it fairs very well price comparison wise.

Regarding the old "Grab all Association" rubbish, I love the ignorance of this.
    You'd think the top guys in the GAA were stuffing the cash into their pockets and flying off to the carribbean with cigars in their mouths.

Its the height of stupidity to be honest.

The money made goes back into the clubs to assist in the upkeep and juvenile sections etc. And it works a treat with club facilities around the county putting those of other sports to shame.

They take the money made from the top level of the game and give it back to the grass roots, which keeps the cycle of top class sportsmen coming year after year.
    Thank god we aren't wasting this hard earned money paying this vital income to players while everything around them crumbles, as has been seen in other sports.

Have you seen the state of some of the County Grounds around the country, not exactly encouriging to "Top Class Sportsmen" unless your from one of the bigger counties.

I was more so referring to the club facilities.
    Yes there are some bad ones, but overall the standards are way above those of other sports.

I moved to Meath a few years back and was shocked at the good standard of club grounds / facilities.

I was more so referring to the club facilities.
    Yes there are some bad ones, but overall the standards are way above those of other sports.

I moved to Meath a few years back and was shocked at the good standard of club grounds / facilities.

Brought about by the success of the 80's and 90's probably. You have to admit though, people particularly with families would prefer to pay €15 into see just one match, however those who love the game will be happy to see two high profile fixtures.

there should definately be better deals for family tickets, forgot to mention that!

35 euro on its own does not sound so bad but for instance the next day at the game there will be my dad,aunt,uncle and next door neighbor @35 euro, myself and my 2 sisters @25 euro and my cousin @ 5 euro. Thats 220euro from one family (well a neighbor too). Thats a lot of money.

This getting two games does not cut it either. Its ok the next day as the first game will be good. But what about a few weeks ago, what neutral wanted to go in and watch KK beating Dublin out the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

In fairness to the GAA they have good packages which begin after the qualifiers.

http://www.gaa.ie/tickets-and-merchandise/tickets/gaa-ticket-packages/
    GAA Season Ticket
    The cheapest & best way to follow your county through the League & the Championship. Only the loyal need apply. Visit the www.gaa.ie/tickets to find out more.
    Register your interest for 2011 by emailing seasonticket@gaa.ie.
    Outstanding Value Ticket Packages for GAA fans of all sorts
    Ticket Packages for 2010
    For the dedicated neutral...
    Hurling Heaven Package
    Includes the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Quarter Final day & 2 Semi-Final days:
    €90 per person
    Seat in 308 (Cusack Lower) in Croke Park
    Seat in 208 (O’Coinneain) in Semple Stadium or similar if another venue
    Add juveniles at EUR 5 per fixture each
    BUY NOW
    Football Feast Package
    Includes 2 GAA Football All-Ireland Quarter Final days & 2 Semi-Final days:
    €99 per person
    BUY NOW
    GAA Dual Package
    A combination of the Heaven & Feast Packages:
    €175 per person
    Includes the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Quarter Final day & 2 Semi Final days plus 2 GAA Football Quarter Final days & 2 Semi Finals days.
    BUY NOW
    For the confident county fan...
    GAA Quarter & Semi Combo
    Purchase tickets for one quarter final and the corresponding semi final in one code together
    €65 per person
    Includes a quarter final and semi final combination (based upon draw)
    Seat in 308 (Cusack Lower) or 708 (Cusack Upper) in Croke Park
    Buy online in advance of your selected quarter final
    There are no refunds after the quarter final!
    Tipp Hurling Combo - BUY NOW
    Galway Hurling Combo - BUY NOW
    Antrim Hurling Combo - BUY NOW
    Cork Hurling Combo - BUY NOW

35 euro on its own does not sound so bad but for instance the next day at the game there will be my dad,aunt,uncle and next door neighbor @35 euro, myself and my 2 sisters @25 euro and my cousin @ 5 euro. Thats 220euro from one family (well a neighbor too). Thats a lot of money.

This getting two games does not cut it either. Its ok the next day as the first game will be good. But what about a few weeks ago, what neutral wanted to go in and watch KK beating Dublin out the gate.

Totally agree with comments on prices, instead of trying to promote the game as a family friendly sport, the GAA are unwittingly turning crowds away from the home of Gaelic Games, a claim supported by recent poor turnouts. And I refer to a recent post I entered and until recently an inherent part og our Irish culture, Croke Park built by the people FOR the people.

I got my ticket for €10 through the local gaa club, so I can't complain with that :)

We managed to pull this off today as well. My local club is a pure football club so didn't think they would get the hurling tickets but they ordered some for us. 8 tickets @ 10 euro each. Happy days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

gally74 wrote: »

a tenner for adults should be enough
    Why would a young goat go to a football match :rolleyes: This side of the Atlantic they are still called children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why would a young goat go to a football match :rolleyes: This side of the Atlantic they are still called children.

There should be a non thanks button :(

Sam Kade wrote: »

Children/kids, it makes no difference. Posts like this add nothing to the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

Considering the cost to bring a family in particular, to Croke Park are the GAA in fact failing to promote the game of both football and hurling and is this substantial cost aligned with TV coverage the main contributing factors to the recent poor turnouts? or is the game disappering with the recent Celtic Tiger?

Recent events highlighted the GAA's inability to supply adequate security at matches and therfore put the Safety, Health and Welfare of all who attend at risk, they seem incapable to make decisions, however they seem to have a cunning ability to make lots of money.

What can be done to promote the game?
    Should the overall organisation of the GAA come under scrutiny?

Remember the people of Ireland built Croke Park not as a money making machine but as stadium where those lucky enough to be graced with immaculate talent can display (without charge) the wonderful gifts they possess and is also an inherient part of Irish society both culturally and historically.

Some views please

Croke Park belongs to the GAA - not to the people of Ireland.

I think that too much, far too much is being charged for admission to GAA matches - and not just at Croke Park. I think that the GAA's pricing policies might be doing the Association harm - as very many boys are growing up with no habit of being taken to matches by fathers who cannot afford to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

15 per ticket should be enough its an 80 od thousand seater stadium its ridiculous charging a packet for tickets like that!!!!!!!!!

have they forgotten its an AMATEUR game:mad:

The GAA is not run to make money but it takes money to run the GAA.

crucamim wrote: »
    Croke Park belongs to the GAA - not to the people of Ireland.

I think that too much, far too much is being charged for admission to GAA matches - and not just at Croke Park. I think that the GAA's pricing policies might be doing the Association harm - as very many boys are growing up with no habit of being taken to matches by fathers who cannot afford to go.

I didnt state it belonged to the people of Ireland, I did state it was built by the people for the people.