Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much can a beggar expect to make in a day?

• 19-07-2010 11:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

Reading through the best scumbag stories thread & on the last page they are discussing a 'deaf' beggar that's annoying a lot of people.

Anyway, how much should a beggar expect to earn in a day?

Do you get more if you have a disability?

And would you give change to beggars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

He can expect to make nothing.

Anything over that is a bonus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Some beggars depending on location, are supposed to do very well I hear sometimes.
    No idea of actual figures but I suppose there might be some truth in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

A kick in the face for the ones that plant themselves beside ATMs.

That never fails to irk me; what do they actually expect - oh look here, 50 for me and 50 for you. Roll it up into your cup there like a good man. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

A million euro. And at night they hop in their lamborghinis and head back to their mansions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

The one selling the Big Issue beside the AIB ATM in Blackrock can expect over 9000.

Always there, always whiny, always 20c to make her shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

€80 odd grand if yer name is Callely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

I heard there's one king begger who controls all the other beggars and they live in a mansion in North Wicklow. They travel in to Dublin each day in their gold plated mercedes and they have their manky begger's clothes personally tailored by Paul Costello.

This must be true, the Daily Mail wouldn't lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Lend us a quid and I'll tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Bout tree fiddy.

Trashbat wrote: »
    I heard there's one king begger who controls all the other beggars and they live in a mansion in North Wicklow. They travel in to Dublin each day in their gold plated mercedes and they have their manky begger's clothes personally tailored by Paul Costello.

You sure they are not hinting towards Calley again? :pac:

Only kidding ...I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Trashbat wrote: »

To an extent this is true. In the mornings all the beggars meet wherever it is. Then they are given their bus fare and get a Dublin Bus to their destination. They then beg for the day. When it reaches in or around 11 they get the bus back to their 'master'. He counts all the money and gives them a tiny fraction of what they have got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Try it out and report back to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

cson wrote: »

That never fails to irk me; what do they actually expect - oh look here, 50 for me and 50 for you. Roll it up into your cup there like a good man. :rolleyes:

Yeah - the oluld "Have you got any change boss?" line. Of course I don't, since when did ATM's start dispensing coins???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

cson wrote: »

In fairness to them, I reckon that instead of expecting to be given the notes from the ATM, they're probably sitting there cause that's a point where someone will stop and stand for a minute and maybe part with any spare change in their pocket.
    I wonder why there isn't beggars at bus stops? I mean, people come up to me when I'm waiting for the bus and ask me then move on but I would've thought it would be a good place to sit under a shelter with a little sign and a cup, is it illegal maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Well if minimum wage is 8.75 per hour they only need 9 people an hour to give them 1 euro and they're earning more than a lot of people. On a busy street in a city I would say they could easily make 20 - 30 euro in 1 hour and if they're out all day they could be pulling in a few hundred quid a day.

Saying that, I give them nothing and it actually annoys me when I see others giving them anything. They're a horrible bunch of letches. No need to be begging or homeless in this country unless you're so off your face on heroin you can't figure out the generous welfare system or you're a career beggar going home to a warm house later on.

Doyler92 wrote: »
    To an extent this is true. In the mornings all the beggars meet wherever it is. Then they are given their bus fare and get a Dublin Bus to their destination. They then beg for the day. When it reaches in or around 11 they get the bus back to their 'master'. He counts all the money and gives them a tiny fraction of what they have got.

That sounds like something that is well, well known to go on in India alone.
    Sad but as you mentioned it, in some cases elsewhere, very true.

I wouldn't give them the steam off me piss!

Tho one day I did stop on the Ha'penny Bridge when asked for change. Told the beggar I hadn't any money but he looked desperate so I gave him a tip......over the Ha'penny bridge into the Liffey, "Get a job ya scruffy cnut!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

'Tis hard to say really as they mostly work on a commission basis. The take home will depend on both the patch and the pitch.

There are some other perks above and beyond the basic salary which need to be considered:

1) A sepcial tax rate is available to beggars and Bono - it's quite lenient.

2) The open air nature of the job usually brings a healthy leather-like tanned appearance - windswept and interesting as Billy Connolly would say.

3) The dress code is liberal and laid back, hints of shabby chic without the need for the chic part.

4) The work can be tremendously varied and certainly suits those who like to interact with their customers on a daily basis.

5) There appears to be a thriving social scene amongst this class of professionals, anecdotal evidence of all night, after work, booze fuelled liasons by moonlight along the boardwalks are rife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

I was getting the galway bus from dublin city the last day, (across the bridge, at the end of oconnells street)

Anyways before i try to get on bus, this relatively well dressed chap says
    the following,

Hi do you know kenmore, ....
    Its in kildare,
    Well i am trying to get home.
    Do you have 4euro for the bus.

I Walked off and said nothing because his little speech felt so
    rehearsed and i aint fallin for something so stupid,

Anyways I get on the bus.. and this scumbag starts asking everyone, who walks by,but he is not being desperate, just talks to someone, puts his head down and walks up to next person,

3 of the 5 people i seen him approach gave him money,come on how stupid are these people

At one stage he took out the change of his pocket and counted it and threw
    the coppers to the ground and let out a smug smile, he needed room in his pockets for all the real money he was getting

I videoed some of this from the bus, on my phone btw

clived2 wrote: »

To pleasure yourself to later??? :eek:

I was getting the galway bus from dublin city the last day, (across the bridge, at the end of oconnells street)

the following,

Its in kildare,

Anyways I get on the bus.. and this scumbag starts asking everyone, who walks by,but he is not being desperate, just talks to someone, puts his head down and walks up to next person,

3 of the 5 people i seen him approach gave him money,come on how stupid are these people

the coppers to the ground and let out a smug smile, he needed room in his pockets for all the real money he was getting

I hope he made it home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

no to post it up,on dem dar internets

so chumps stop giving this leach money,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

the following,

Its in kildare,

He's been around a while now. he got me at the Jervis Luas stop on a Friday saying he was in DIT Bolton Street, left his bag in his mates and needed to get home for the weekend. Honestly believed him (normally dressed, well spoken, think he may even have had a DIT hoody) but genuinely had no change.

Saw him next week doing the same speel at College Green Bus stop then again at Smithfield Luas Stop, cheeky fecker! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Some Dublin radio station was doing a piece about how much money a beggar in Dublin city centre could make in a night and planned on havinhg one of there team at one of better locations for the night. The spot they picked was at the Grafton Street ATM's and had their offer of €200 to the beggar there refused as he reckoned he could make around €500-600 seeing it was a Friday night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Do you think it might still be there?:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

about €29......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

NothingMan wrote: »
    Well if minimum wage is 8.75 per hour they only need 9 people an hour to give them 1 euro and they're earning more than a lot of people. On a busy street in a city I would say they could easily make 20 - 30 euro in 1 hour and if they're out all day they could be pulling in a few hundred quid a day.

Yeah, my guess is that the minimum wage is easily exceeded by beggary.

Why dont more people do it? Probably loss in social status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Pittens wrote: »
    Yeah, my guess is that the minimum wage is easily exceeded by beggary.

Why dont more people do it? Probably loss in social status.

Or even a little thing called dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

I would rarely give any money to beggar's because you know exactly where the money is going, to drugs and drugs are bad mmmkay.

Buskers though I would give them money because they are entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

id say they make enough! My sisters friend gave one her last 5er when she was in town a while back - it ment she had no money left for lunch but she gave it to him anyways. later that day she seen a rolls royce (sp?) pull up and in the begger jumped, she was raging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Superbus wrote: »
    The one selling the Big Issue beside the AIB ATM in Blackrock can expect over 9000.

ha, that woman wrecks my head. she always puts on a really sad weak voice. then you walk by again 5 mins later and the mobile is out and shes shouting & laughing down the phone :rolleyes:

I give to the guys selling the Big Issue. That is, after all, a job. Same as anybody selling anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Superbus wrote: »

i hate that woman - she's always smoking so she can't be so badly off as to be a beggar.

i knew a guy once who trained with my club a couple of times, he masqueraded as a homeless person one paddy's day and claimed to have made e1500 from sitting outside some church in town. this seems astronomical, but it's actually so ludicrous that i'd nearly believe it.

i hated the prick for doing it either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

id say they make enough! My sisters friend gave one her last 5er when she was in town a while back - it ment she had no money left for lunch but she gave it to him anyways. later that day she seen a rolls royce (sp?) pull up and in the begger jumped, she was raging!

there are very few of those in this country, you should try find the pox and take the money back, plus interest, plus expenses, plus annoyance money, plus a piece of his face.

*spelling is correct by the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

ah beggars... hate that sh*t, especially the organised beggars.

Some mornings when I am going to work early I see the usual group of Roma beggars arriving in my area before they split up and take their designated spot for the day. They are still there in the evenings, showing their scars, missing limbs, kids with their puppy dog expressions, etc. That lot can all f*ck off as far as I am concerned, contribute nothing and expect handouts.

At least the ones that play some music or make an effort are not so bad.

Same thing happened to me only the beggar jumped into a Bugatti Veyron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

There are beggars and there are beggars. There are those few (a visible minority) who do it as a profitable criminal alternative to real work; there are those that do it because their habits and pasts make it almost impossible to get regular work for the money they need; and there are those, the great majority I imagine, who do because they have hit the bottom and have absolutely no other choice. Calling them all 'beggars' is accurate, but unfair.

Back before the boom I used to work part-time doing pedestrian counts around Dublin's various shopping streets and centers (landlords need footfall figures so they can screw more rent out of tenants). I'd be standing with my back against a shop window or wall for maybe 10 hours a day, and several times beggars plonked themselves down near me and inevitably we'd get to talking. They'd often ask how much I was getting paid, imagining from my plummy student accent that I was raking it in - and were universally horrified by how much less I'd get (it was about £5 an hour, good money in 1991).

One old lad on Grafton Street, at the Harry Street junction, told me he could make as much in an hour as I got in a day (40 or 50 quid). One guy outside the Ilac couldn't stop laughing and offered to buy me a coffee. One guy on Henry Street was living in the same pretty comfortable hostel a fully-employed Canadian friend of mine was living in at the time. Now obviously these were prime spots in kinder times, and I've no idea how those figures scale up, but some beggars certainly seemed to do alright.

I'm sure it's a very different matter if you're huddled against a railing on Tara Street because you've nowhere else to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

A Begatti Veyron even? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I would rarely give any money to beggar's because you know exactly where the money is going, to drugs and drugs are bad mmmkay.

Buskers though I would give them money because they are entertaining

Most muscians I know do drugs so if you give money to buskers you are giuving money to them so they can buy drugs!

I cant believe your aiding people taking drugs! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

There was a guy in front of me in the local Spar on a friday evening last yeargetting notes for all his change-€230.

He cheerfully told the rest of us on the queue that he made it begging in town and we were all mugs for working. Ten minutes later I passed him sitting outside another shop with a can of lager and he asked had I any odds.

I never give. While I wouldn't consider the Welfare system overly generous, it is there for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Quick! Turn your footage over to the Gardai - they must stop this criminal master mind!

Why did your sister give away her lunch money to an imaginary urban myth?

I gave 1 euro to a beggar once. He must have been a magic beggar though cause he walked down the road and turned into an alleyway! Right before my eyes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Ive heard storys of up to 500 euros a day :eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

I wonder why there isn't beggars at bus stops? I mean, people come up to me when I'm waiting for the bus and ask me then move on but I would've thought it would be a good place to sit under a shelter with a little sign and a cup, is it illegal maybe?
    This reminds me of when I was a child in town with my mam and we were waiting for the bus on O'Connell St. I was sitting on the ground next to the bus stop and still had a paper cup from MacDonalds and a woman walked by and threw some money in it. I was thinking "ch-ching" but my mam got all offended and took the money and chased after the woman saying "we don't need your money! :mad:" and gave it back to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I ****ing love the way that AH makes out that beggars have it great

Whats the counter argument?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭hbr

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Do you get more if you have a disability?

Or if you had a disability and then you were cured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

They make 14 euros and 23 cent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Never give them anything, no excuse for being homeless in this country. Almost as annoying as the charity collectors looking for my bank details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Can anyone spare a euro? I need food.

I swear it's not to buy drugs or alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Over the past few weeks, there have been about 10 threads about beggars on boards. I'm starting to suspect that some people here are beggars, using the internet in the library, looking for begging tips. I mean, in one section there's a thread where someone says they're homeless and does anyone have a spare tent to give them!