Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do niteclubs and bars still serve drinks in glasses?

• 18-07-2010 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

and not plastic cups? that wouldn't single handedly end people getting glassed on friday and saturday nights. The owners probably wouldn't be much worse off financially as they would save money on dishwashing powder and staff time spent collecting and loading the glasses into the dishwashers. Would also take the pressure off A&E departments which is good for the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Think of the environment dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Plastic glasses suck. If some place started serving their pints in plastic glasses I would make a point of not going there anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Drink tastes better out of glasses :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Plastic glasses suck. If some place started serving their pints in plastic glasses I would make a point of not going there anymore.

Exactly. Drink (alcoholic and non alcoholic) does not taste right from a plastic container.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Pain the arse walkin through a crowded bar/club with a pint in a plastic glass,it feckin spills everywhere if some eejit bumps into you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

You know you are in a scumbag dive or student sh1thole when your drink comes in a plastic cup. May as well give ye a toddlers sippy cup and a high chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

and not plastic cups? that wouldn't single handedly end people getting glassed on friday and saturday nights. The owners probably wouldn't be much worse off financially as they would save money on dishwashing powder and staff time spent collecting and loading the glasses into the dishwashers. Would also take the pressure off A&E departments which is good for the taxpayer.

Provided they don't smash, glasses last 2 or 3 years before physically deteriorating. The cost of a single-use plastic cup is irreconcilable next to the one-off cost of a glass that will last you 3 years. They might save a few quid a year on dishwashing powder as you say but it wouldn't really make a dent on the thousands of euro they'd lose using exclusively plastic cups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

pint always gets warmer and flatter quicker in plastic glasses.. they are ****e..

And drinking guinness out of one is disgusting! hate vicar street for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Because plastic cups suck anus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

I guess my point is it should be made a law that they should be made to serve plastic cups at least on Friday and Saturday nights, say after 8pm, that would be when the vast majority of "glassings" occur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Provided they don't smash, glasses last 2 or 3 years before physically deteriorating. The cost of a single-use plastic cup is irreconcilable next to the one-off cost of a glass that will last you 3 years. They might save a few quid a year on dishwashing powder as you say but it wouldn't really make a dent on the thousands of euro they'd lose using exclusively plastic cups.

Not to mention the money wasted on buying bin bags and binning the thousands of plastic glasses.

and as for people saying beer tastes better in glasses, surely after your first 2 pints your taste buds are shot? I know mines are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I guess my point is it should be made a law that they should be made to serve plastic cups at least on Friday and Saturday nights, say after 8pm, that would be when the vast majority of "glassings" occur

But why make a law for the minority when the majority behave themselves.

If the people want to hurt other people, they'll find a way, glass or not.

VinnyTGM wrote: »
    Not to mention the money wasted on buying bin bags and binning the thousands of plastic glasses.

1 bin bag can hold 1000 plastic cups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

For the same reason we don't drive cars which are running on rails and centrally controlled. Life has dangers, you have to accept them and move on. We curtail our lives or do things differently enough because a minority of people can't control themselves.

-Funk

But why make a law for the minority when the majority behave themselves.

If the people want to hurt other people, they'll find a way, glass or not.

but they all happen in the heat of the moment, so in the heat of the moment all they will have is their fists which usually results in a lot less damage done, and the bouncers usually turf them out soon after a fight starts anyway, so the chance of serious injury will be greatly reduced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Most bars get classes for free anyways from promotionals. Glasses are cheaper.

Besides, if you work in a bar and it's quiet, and the boss is around - you need something to do to pretend like you have work when washing them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

With that logic, would you favour banning driving from 8 on Friday till 8 Monday morning because that's when the majority if drink driving happens?

You are always going to have scum do scummy things. In certain places I'd be in favour of this the likes of concerts.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They still serve Glass Bottles...

so it's not violence they are thinking about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

How would I be able to glass people..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Drink tastes better out of glasses :D

I know most people would say this, but I wonder is it true. Like the composition of the liquid doesn't change..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 B0rn2m0d

OK folks keep it civil please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Am i the only person in the world that likes drinking pints out of plastic cups :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Pauleta wrote: »
    Am i the only person in the world that likes drinking pints out of plastic cups :(

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Keep the glasses you had at the start of the night and use them, experience from 3e drinks night in fibbers!
    Helps if your a regular too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I know most people would say this, but I wonder is it true. Like the composition of the liquid doesn't change..
    Pint glasses have some grooves on the bottom that stop the pint going flat too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

B0rn2m0d wrote: »
    OK folks keep it civil please

I'll glass you and your mod buddies! :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

and not plastic cups? .

because

a: we do not intend to drink from what looks like it should be at a 5 year olds birthday party when we go clubbing!

b: *most* of us have self control and have been taught manners/not to break glasses and stab people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

It's only a matter of time before this happens. Polycarbonate is already becoming the norm in UK nightclubs.

http://www.thamesvalley.police.uk/polycarbonate-glassware.pdf

http://www.readingpubwatch.com/Polycarbonate-Debate/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

if im paying 5 euros for a pint itd want to be coming in a glass.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Because the majority of us are civilised enough to be trusted with a grown up cup..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

1 bin bag can hold 1000 plastic cups

And where are all these plastic cups and bin bags going to go?
    If 1000 pubs go through 1000 plastic cups over a weekend, that's 1 million plastic cups. Where are they going to go?

Magenta wrote: »
    If 1000 pubs go through 1000 plastic cups over a weekend, that's 1 million plastic cups. Where are they going to go?

um, hello- outter space!!! Its only a matter of time before we find an efficient way of shooting our rubbish into the galaxy. Out of sight and out of mind.

xzanti wrote: »
    Because the majority of us are civilised enough to be trusted with a grown up cup..

yeah but the minority aren't, and they ruin it for everyone! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Should we also then ensure everyone wears boxing gloves after 8pm to stop people hitting each other and causing injury?
    Plastic cups = Pub fail.

Lurching wrote: »
    Should we also then ensure everyone wears boxing gloves after 8pm to stop people hitting each other and causing injury?
    Plastic cups = Pub fail.

No because some studies show boxing gloves do more damage then bare fists. Think it might be the extra weight of the boxing gloves or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Would it not be a better idea to prevent the glassing instead of changing to plastic cups?

These people will only find another source to cause damage.

jester77 wrote: »
    Would it not be a better idea to prevent the glassing instead of changing to plastic cups?

These people will only find another source to cause damage.

Banning glass would prevent it though. Fights will always happen when drink is involved, so best not give everyone a potentially leathal weapon to carry around all night.

Maybe not everyone intends to glass someone, like if they were attacked, they are not going to bend down and put their glass on the floor while getting beat up, they might have no choice but to smash it into the other person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Banning glass would prevent it though. Fights will always happen when drink is involved, so best not give everyone a potentially leathal weapon to carry around all night.

Maybe not everyone intends to glass someone, like if they were attacked, they are not going to bend down and put their glass on the floor while getting beat up, they might have no choice but to smash it into the other person.

It that's the case, then removing the drink sounds like a better solution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

into the incinerator!

...oh wait :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Good point OP.
    Actually, why allow alcohol at all?

Wait! I have it! Lets just ban people from going outside. Everyone can live in their own personal tube. If you never see another person, then you can't glass them!

We can use robots to feed us and provide the internets in our tubes. The robots can be powered by our yellow sun. Nothing can go wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The tabloids pay the nightclubs a pint glass levy so they can continue to run gory stories about knacks slicing each other open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

No because some studies show boxing gloves do more damage then bare fists. Think it might be the extra weight of the boxing gloves or something.

This is mainly because people think once they're wearing gloves, hitting the other guy in the head is fine.

In response to the OP, plastic glasses would be more expensive and the additional number of annoyed people at crappy plastic cups would surely just increase violence if this thread is an indicator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Polycarbonate is rigid, reuseable, washable and durable. The glasses are not the flimsy plastic like watercooler glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

This is mainly because people think once they're wearing gloves, hitting the other guy in the head is fine.

(Off topic).

That's not quite it. If you are hitting someone with your bare fist, very hard, you will injure your hand, and can break knuckles. You have to take it a bit easy after a while.

If you are wearing gloves, you can hit just as hard, without injuring yourself, so you can punch full force for a whole boxing match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

wyndham wrote: »
    Polycarbonate is rigid, reuseable, washable and durable. The glasses are not the flimsy plastic like watercooler glasses.

and do ya seriously think that pub owners will pay for the dearest plastic glass.

Anywhere that serves beer in plastic, i'll stay for the night but never go back.
    drink is too expensive to be drinking outta a vessel that makes it taste crap and go flat quicker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

and do ya seriously think that pub owners will pay for the dearest plastic glass.

Anywhere that serves beer in plastic, i'll stay for the night but never go back.
    drink is too expensive to be drinking outta a vessel that makes it taste crap and go flat quicker

Well then surely they would pay for the expensive ones, if the alternative is nobody coming to the pub.