Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General hotel facilities...WTF???

• 17-07-2010 9:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

Just looking to book a few days break so took to the interweb for a hotel deal.
    Anyway in the location I'm looking at I found a hotel that looks nice, is central to everything etc.

But under hotel facilities it says that the hotel is gay friendly?

When did it become an issue to hotels or indeed the paying customer whether they are 'gay friendly' or not?

Now the hotel is what I'm looking for but that kind of stupid remark is enough to stop me booking it.

I thought times had moved on...obviously not.

P.S: I'm not giving the hotel name. But it's a four star that presumably isn't run by the catholic church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Perhaps they mean the staff are gay (the old definition) and friendly:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Does it have a back entrance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

What, do other hotels not cater for the needs of gay people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Does the hotel have adult channels? Maybe they have gay porn?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Does it have a back entrance?
    I know a Hilton that does!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Perhaps it is simply an advisory for those parents not wanting their children seeing openly gay interaction which for many people is a no no for them and open to their choice (is it not)?

Not a problem really why should it be?

Personally I would love an advisory letting me know they are 'hen and stag party friendly'

Does the hotel have adult channels? Maybe they have gay porn?

Ha never seen this and I am often in Nordic Germanic countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Just book the facking hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I remember the OH (a woman) and myself booked a B&B, when we got there a little old lady (the owner) asked if we were married to which we replied "no".
    She said she dosent let unmarried couples stay in her B&B and closed the door.
    I wonder is she embracing Gay Friendleness?

Biggins wrote: »

did she get it up the poo poo (new one I learned on AH earlier) on her videos?

sligopark wrote: »
    Ha never seen this and I am often in Nordic Germanic countries

I was staying in a hotel in Frankfurt and around midnight the tv channels turned to porn. They also advertised the red light district nearby

I wonder is she embracing Gay Friendleness?

Probably not - 'we're brothers' LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Are the showers built for two?
    did she get it up the poo poo (new one I learned on AH earlier) on her videos?
    Yes ... but I had to check repeatedly to be sure! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I was staying in a hotel in Frankfurt and around midnight the tv channels turned to porn. They also advertised the red light district nearby

Whats the name of that hotel?

Was the porn any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

LOL, a lot of gay people are discouraged from booking hotels as the staff or other residents don't approve (I know, I know,)

It's much the same as the reason for places being listed as being family friendly.

You don't have to feel bad if your kids/bound and gagged fella are screaming the place down all night. They understand.

Not a problem really why should it be?

Not a problem for me either; only if its hot lesbians though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Maybe it's really gay friendly... colony kind of thing...

orourkeda wrote: »
    Whats the name of that hotel?

Was the porn any use?

It was the Savoy in Frankfurt :D

orourkeda wrote: »

Was the porn any use?

Was it any use?:D
    You wouldn't be able to change a tyre with it I doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Just looking to book a few days break so took to the interweb for a hotel deal.
    Anyway in the location I'm looking at I found a hotel that looks nice, is central to everything etc.

When did it become an issue to hotels or indeed the paying customer whether they are 'gay friendly' or not?

Now the hotel is what I'm looking for but that kind of stupid remark is enough to stop me booking it.

I thought times had moved on...obviously not.

P.S: I'm not giving the hotel name. But it's a four star that presumably isn't run by the catholic church.

Nice!

Reminds me of a sign on the door of a certain English Club in Magaluf, Majorca.

"No dogs, No Irish"

If we did'nt think they meant it literally at the time we could have had a good night in there!

Cullen82 wrote: »
    Nice!

Reminds me of a sign on the door of a certain English Club in Magaluf, Majorca.

"No dogs, No Irish"

If we did'nt think they meant it literally at the time we could have had a good night in there!

time for an english accent and for those who wanted, the option of better looking girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

the bus boys where sailor hats and the bar serves appletini on draught.

Overheal wrote: »
    the bus boys where sailor hats and the bar serves appletini on draught.

cowboy chaps, thongs, big thick moustauches and german accent too LOL

time for an english accent and for those who wanted, the option of better looking girls

Irish girls are better looking than English girls!

yes of course they are

They are too

English girls are more giving.

Irish girls are more understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Its not to warn families with kids, its to save gay people the hassle of B&Bs suddenly becoming full or rooms being double booked when it turns out the double room is for two men or two women :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Its down to being conservative or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

are they :confused:

Irish girls are more understanding

Giving is better than understanding.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    are they :confused:

Fact.

I have also witnessed this.

Giving is better than understanding.

Irish lads are not that great looking.

In general women need to be "understanding" to be giving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Roll it there Collette.

Irish lads are not that great looking.

In general women need to be "understanding" to be giving.

Or just drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I still can't get my head around it. I have no problem with anyone who is gay, once they are not overly affectionate in public. I can't stand couples, gay or straight, all over each other in a restaurant/ bar.

I'm straight & I'm offended by that 'hotel facility' being offered, so how do gay people feel?

And for anyone saying it's to warn families with small kids that's a bit of a cop out. No one wants their kids to see anything inappropriate when on holidays. I'm sure those kids could be subjected to worse than, God forbid, seeing a gay couple enjoying a few days in a hotel.

Or just drunk.

Now we're getting somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »

Is that the one with two revolving doors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

It's not that this particular hotel has decided to just say that they're gay friendly for the sake of it...I've booked loads of hotels through booking sites, and I can only assume that it's one of these "tick all the boxes that apply" sorts of thing when they're advertising their hotel on these booking sites, because I've seen it many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

It's because Ireland is still quite a conservative country and word gets around about people being refused rooms because they are gay or turning up to stay in a booked double room and being refused or a big fuss made - so now hoteliers that aren't prejudice often advertise the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Check the wardrobe when you get there, there's probably assless chaps inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭OneForTheTeam

My gf was going to Dublin with a female friend it was a last min thing as my gf had gotten a interview for the next day and they had oxegen the day after so my gf rang i think 1800 hotels to book the hotel the interview was in, in her rush to book it she said a double room instead of twin and when she gave the names the person on 1800 hotels was saying to her are you sure you dont want a twin room:confused:

My gf said no its grand, seemed like she was looked down on for booking a double with a same sex person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Ireland still has it's share of backward thinking f*ckwits. Some of them are even very educated, but they still think homosexuality is a lifestyle choice & a deviance from the norm.

Most hotel chains are anonymous & wouldn't know or care if you f*cked a midget sheep backwards until Sunday as long as you paid for it.

Some backward thinking ****w*t hotels think that being gay means that you are a sexual deviant, so if I were gay, I would be glad to know that the hotel I booked didn't think that I was a midget sheep shagger, instead of a man who likes to sleep with men.

Gay friendly. Sound.

If only we could announce, as a country, that by law, we are all equal, then there would be no need for this.

My gf said no its grand, seemed like she was looked down on for booking a double with a same sex person.

Are you sure it was a mistake by your girlfriend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Maybe they were just trying to fill out the hotel facility list, while booking hotels recently I have seen some hotels advertise the fact that they have windows that open and hot water...oh lalala!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

extra soap or something?

no bible in the bedside locker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭OneForTheTeam

Are you sure it was a mistake by your girlfriend?

I dunno, I will ask her some night when shes drunk:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

In fairness they're simply saying that, so gay people know they wont be hit with a load of attitude or turned away for booking a double room. As a gay guy I dont really think its neccessary as I'd rather go on the assumption that all hotels are gay friendly!

TBH tho I cant imagine hotels giving a feck as previously said as long as you pay for it.

Link http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/mar/21/gay-couple-refused-hotel-room

I believe there was a thread on it at the time, think B&Bs are a different kettle of fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

It's there to let gay people know that the the hotel will have no issue with giving them a double room. I see it all the time and it's no big deal but, like Doop, I'd assume every hotel to be "gay friendy" without question these days. That said my boyfriend and I have occasionally been asked if we're sure we didn't actually mean to book a twin room..