Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crossfit Games 2010 Live Streaming

• 17-07-2010 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭

Crossfit Games are being streamed live online at http://live.crossfit.com/ Can get times of heats etc at http://games2010.crossfit.com/ I think we are 8 hours ahead.

Second event about to start now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Stream is pretty good quality too.

Did the first workout this morning from it
    9-7-5
    Muscle Ups
    Squat Snatches, 60Kg

Took me 11:01. Chris Spealer did it in 3:29. Mikko Salo, current champion, did it in 5:15 or so. The next two workouts look tough

1200m Run
    63 Kettlebell swings, 24kg
    36 Pull Ups
    800m Run
    42 KB Swings
    24 Pull Ups
    400m Run
    21 KB Swings
    12 Pull Ups

after you finish you've 90 seconds to establish a max jerk. Ouch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Rob Orlando is in good shape after the first event.

I think those snatches are close to bodyweight for Chris Spealer as well.

Second WOD looks horrible. Women from my affiliate is competing in the masters. In 8th place so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Why Should I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Castro you utter dick.

Is being tall a new mode of fitness?

Not a fan of that wod. Shorter people are at a huge disadvantage in it. Kristan Clever is doomed in the womens I think and Chris Spealer looks in trouble in the mens. I could be well wrong though :)

One could argue the taller people were at a disadvantage in snatches,muscle-ups, kb swings, pull ups and jerks (longer arms, large ROM to go through)

Liking the games overall so far. Really want to try that Hell-in and Deadlift/Pistol/Double Under workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

Is the site down, or is it just me? Was hoping to look back over a few.

One could argue the taller people were at a disadvantage in snatches,muscle-ups, kb swings, pull ups and jerks (longer arms, large ROM to go through)

You could do that, but I don't think its anywhere as significant as the disadvantage the shorter girls were at.

Funnily enough it didn't seem really badly affect Spealler. But it definitely looked to me that the only factor in this (apart from a high level of GPP, which they all have) is height. Which I think is bollox. (harsh guys)

That deadlift pistol workout looks punishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Liking the games overall so far. Really want to try that Hell-in and Deadlift/Pistol/Double Under workout.
    keep posting up the events people

Next one looks like it involves a pullup complex...but apparently there's a 'no kipping' rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I went out last night so missed events 3 & 4 :(

Event 5:
    7 rounds for time of:
    3 cleans (205/135 lb.)
    4 ring handstand push-ups (men)/4 handstand push-ups (women)
    12-minute cap

Rob Orlando was on the mainsite doing a metcon with ring hspu's with a 22lb vest on him lately and 90kg is like a broomstick to him so he'll bust this event. Gotta fancy Speal too as ring hspu would be nothing to him and while 90kg is al most 1.5 times his bodyweight I don't think it will slow him down much.

token wrote: »

If you're watching live there's a drop down menu allows you to watch back by hour.

token wrote: »

I had noone to go out with so I stayed in and actually watched the whole thing. Its interesting. The poster boys are mostly not having a nice time.

Also, Annie Thorisdottir is a machine.

I got in at 4am and just caught the end of that sandbag workout, it makes great watching, they've done it well in fairness to them for entertainment value.

Yeah Annie Thorisdottir is ridiculous. I'm not sure where you're getting this information about a pull up complex from? For ring handstand push ups do you still use a wall to keep you up?

cmyk wrote: »
    I got in at 4am and just caught the end of that sandbag workout, it makes great watching, they've done it well in fairness to them for entertainment value.

I thought the deadlift wod was better.
    Thorisdottir vs Clever was an awesome race.

Molly wrote: »
    Yeah Annie Thorisdottir is ridiculous. I'm not sure where you're getting this information about a pull up complex from? For ring handstand push ups do you still use a wall to keep you up?

You wrap your feet around the straps to stay upright.

She was practically smiling throughout the whole thing. I heard the panel discussing the pullup/no kipping thing just before the workout was announced...must have just been speculating.
    d'Oracle wrote: »
    I thought the deadlift wod was better.
    Thorisdottir vs Clever was an awesome race.

I missed that one, I just watched a bit of the men's, can't believe how badly salo suffered on the double unders.

Yeah. Maybe he doesn't do them much.

I am annoyed that I get a stupid little yoke in the middle of the screen if I turn off the sound.
    These commentators are a tad annoying.
    If I hear the phrase "fittest athlete in the world" again, I will have to do something.

Just turn off the sound on your browser

Ah...
    You are just full of good suggestions, aren't you?

These commentators are a tad annoying.
    If I hear the phrase "fittest athlete in the world" again, I will have to do something.

I'm just turning the sound down on computer....to avoid the icon.

Can't listen to the kicking mid 90s alternative hip-hop sounds of New Kingdom, if I do that.

Can't help with that!....someone's going to have an epic faceplant here!

Moe Kelsey is an animal.
    I think Spealler will kill this.

It seems on the rings that you just start from the bottom and push up. Don't have to go down and up, just up?

Is it not hard enough?:D

Yeah just ground to lock out counts as a rep the down portion doesn't matter. It's the same as regular hspu if I'm down to singles on a metcon I'll just kick off the wall after lockout.

Molly, you can do that to start, but the HSPU is only counted if it starts at the top. The start at the bottom to get balance.

d'Oracle,
    If you turn the sound down to one bar you won't hear it and won't see the sign.

Also, *picks up can opener* CrossFit has offered a definition of fitness which other bodies haven't, so now they're applying that standard to their competition.

*walks away with cheeky grin*

Can't do HSPU's yet so didn't realise that. Thanks token

edit; now i'm a bit confused. Colm the reps were getting counted once they were getting to the arms locked out and the legs up. At least that's the impression I got

They should add an event where you have to run under something really low.
    See how Spencer Hendlel and Iceland Annie like that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Camille Leblanc is hot.

Judges giving reps for cleans starting off the ground.
    Not even bouncing, actually starting the pull when the bar is airbourne.

Molly, you can do that to start, but the HSPU is only counted if it starts at the top.

I stand corrected.

I just went for tea and come back and 'is that Asian person female?'

Zamboni wrote: »
    I just went for tea and come back and 'is that Asian person female?'

Yes.
    Christen Clever.
    She is a strong performer.

I think Mikko will have trouble with the RHSPU.

I think Spealler will kill this.

My years of sitting on the couch watching other people get sweaty are starting to pay off...:D

Camille Leblanc is hot.

Yes!

My years of sitting on the couch watching other people get sweaty are starting to pay off...:D

Lol!

Why do we have no IRISH over there ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Camille Leblanc is hot.

Yup yup, daycent!

They need to work on (shoot) those commentators although the girl that's on now is pretty funny. Also in the sandbag race between Voight and Bergeron, Voight clearly dropped the bags first but there was less than a second between them so they were given equal times and therefore points. Bergeron lies one point ahead of voight in the standings. I think they should settle it with mudwrestling.

The events were fairly cool though although you'd have to question some of the programming for the women seeing as only ten or so finished the first one. With the way things are going though, people need to be proficient at just about everything now, so a massive engine isn't going to win it for someone who can't skip or kip the hell out of a ring hspu.

Impressed with Spealler's power cleans, he really is a little monster! Clever is a feckin machine too and she definitely deserves to win (even if I want Annie to win).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Lol!

Why do we have no IRISH over there ! :D
    In time my friend in time

Seen as its new to Ireland, Do we have anyone thats near the level of the people at the games now?

Some of them men and women over 50 put alot of us to shame lol!

Transform wrote: »
    In time my friend in time

Good on ya.

You going to try any of these workouts out soon?

CrossFit Big Brother.

Wtf, Castro, you goon.

For the lads...

chrisw_Camille__article.jpg

This team final is going to be savage.

It is, 10:25 for all that workload, Thats insane

I would estimate Ireland will have athletes at regional level next year, games standards a year or two after.

You need a large enough base of athletes to raise the standard. The larger the pool, the further the bar is raised.