Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Kilomarathon" in moone, Kildare , 8th August

• 16-07-2010 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭

Hi, I searched here but cant find any threads on this. Anyone have any information, opinions about this. Thinking of entering as part of my Novemeber marathon preparations......
    LL

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Athmosphere, Value, Organisation 12 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    58%
    TheRoadRunnerGit101tunguskarunnerboyFortrathkciaranronnie085 7 votes
    3 stars (average)
    33%
    hf4z6sqo7vjngimacinallivinny1313Aquals 4 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    8%
    itsalltrue 1 vote
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭aero2k

Lex Luther wrote: »
    Hi, I searched here but cant find any threads on this. Anyone have any information, opinions about this. Thinking of entering as part of my Novemeber marathon preparations......
    LL
    I did one in Derby in March. It's a good distance as part of marathon prep, you can race hard and it doesn't take weeks to recover. Beware though, that extra 3 and a bit miles past half marathon distance feels like a long way if you've run hard up to that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

Just bumping this to see again if I'm the only one in these parts going to do this one..........you know that feeling when you realise that everyone else has got the joke , except you .......well I'm begining to worry that I've missed some very obvious problem/drawback in relation to this race ....:eek:
    LL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

I'm giving serious thought to doing this one. I'm due to do a 24k LSR that weekend so the distance is there or thereabouts for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Patdusty2010

Where is Moone? I take it that this race is 26.2km's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Lex Luther wrote: »
    LL

This is the first kilomarathon in Ireland ever isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

4 stars (good)
    I'll certainly have a think about doing this, I really fancy trying a kilomarathon. My only concern is that it's so close to Gael Force.
    The 10k on the same day or the 10 mile at Tulfaris may be a better option for me this time but you never know !!

Kilomarathon booking/info here

Where is Moone? I take it that this race is 26.2km's?

yup , about 16 and a bit miles. Moone is South Kildare way. They also have a 10k on at the same time apparently.
    LL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

tunney wrote: »
    This is the first kilomarathon in Ireland ever isn't it?

Not according to this thread.....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055965335

Ok well I've taken the plunge and handed over my credit card details.............hope I'm not the only one there on the day :eek: !!
    LL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

3 stars (average)
    Have no interest in this kilomarathon but would like to try a 10k before my holidays. Has anyone run here before? Do the organisers know their stuff? Am pretty much set for a PB on the day, don't want any 'short-course' surprises!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭runnerboy

4 stars (good)
    don't worry lex i know the race director he assures me that about 200 have entered and more are entering by the day. he is trying to raise money for the childrens hospital in crumlin.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Anyone know if there's entry on the day? Don't want to enter another race if I'm not running...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

http://www.runireland.com/news/time-enter-irelands-first-kilomarathon-winner-will-be-first-irish-record-holder

So €25 on the day and no medal maybe. And register before 11:30 so a bit of waiting around as it starts at 1:15. So you will probably miss the Cork Kilkenny game as well.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

4 stars (good)
    Feck it, might aswell. Im in. Use it as a 16mile temp run.

4 stars (good)
    tunguska wrote: »
    Feck it, might aswell. Im in. Use it as a 16mile temp run.

I've decided to do the 10k instead.

I'll keep an eye out for you.

4 stars (good)
    Git101 wrote: »
    I've decided to do the 10k instead.

I'll keep an eye out for you.

Probably shouldve gone for that option myself Git. Didnt realise the 16miler doesnt get going until 1:15pm while the 10k is a bit earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

3 stars (average)
    Having had little or no training the last 2 weeks due to hols and sickness i will be running this as part of my DCM training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

2 stars (poor)
    i'm the same ran 13.5 2 weeks ago but have missed the last 2 weeks. Going to go at a very slow pace just to make sure i complete the distance

4 stars (good)
    Heres the route map:

http://www.runireland.com/sites/files/runireland/img006.jpg

Anybody know what that route? If so would you be able to describe the route profile i.e. where the hills are and if theyre significant?
    Cheers

4 stars (good)
    I got this e-mail from the race organisers:
    the course starts in the village of Mone and for the first 3 Km's is down hill, There are about 3 hill's which are heavy enough, but they are not that long. The good thing about having to run up them is it makes it all the better comming down.

I have run some of the course, and i won't lie to you,it is challenging, but i enjoyed running it. The last 7 Km's or so are mostly down hill or flat.

I think we could be in for a rough afternoon........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

4 stars (good)
    Anybody know anything about the 10k route? Thinking of doing this one. Not too worried if it's not the fastest course in the world but want to make sure it's nothing too mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

Don't know what the course is like but I've signed up for the 10k myself. Hopefully it's a fast one. :D

4 stars (good)
    Anybody know anything about the 10k route? Thinking of doing this one. Not too worried if it's not the fastest course in the world but want to make sure it's nothing too mental.

Theres an e-mail address on the entry page, you could e-mail your man and ask him about the course profile. I asked him about the kilomarathon profile and he got back to me straight away.
    Closing date for entry is tomorrow by the way.

http://www.runireland.com/events/2010-08-08/jim-roche-festival-10k-262k

4 stars (good)
    I assume everybody got the email from the race oganiser last night stating that registration closes at 11.30 am. I say "assume" as he didn't BCC email addresses so I could see it was sent to all registered participants :rolleyes:

Anyway there is no way I'm going to be picking my number up 90 minutes before I run. I'm hoping he is just trying to scare people into arriving early for registration to avoid race start delay.

I assume everybody got the email from the race oganiser last night stating that registration closes at 11.30 am. I say "assume" as he didn't BCC email addresses so I could see it was sent to all registered participants :rolleyes:

Anyway there is no way I'm going to be picking my number up 90 minutes before I run. I'm hoping he is just trying to scare people into arriving early for registration to avoid race start delay.

Yeah, I was wondering about that alright. I've registered online, but does that mean I have to be there by half 11 as well as those registering on the day? Seems crazy! I registered online for handiness so I wouldn't have to be there mad early......

4 stars (good)
    annieee wrote: »
    Yeah, I was wondering about that alright. I've registered online, but does that mean I have to be there by half 11 as well as those registering on the day? Seems crazy! I registered online for handiness so I wouldn't have to be there mad early......

I think the organiser is just being extra cautious. I'm aiming to be there just after 12. get sorted 2 mile warm up some stretching, ready to roll by 12.50 and then finish any lasy minute stretches bowel evacuations

4 stars (good)

Bit controversial this. The guy Im heading down with didnt know about this and when informed was none too pleased. He's convinced theyre bluffing, that if you arrive there before 1pm(for the kilomarathon 12pm for the 10k)there'll be no problems. But I wasnt so sure so I got another one of the lads who lives down that way to pick up our numbers at 10am sunday morning so that we can take it handy and not have to head down too early.

It'd be no problem for him to pick up your number aswell RR. Just send me a PM if thats what you wanna do.

Also They contrary to what is stated on the race homepage, they are taking entries on the day. Between 10am-12pm.

I completely agree with the comments about registration - I was completely taken a back myself by the 11.30 requirement. Leaving family and driving down from Dublin on Sunday morning so no way I'll be there before 12. It will be an interesting row if they try not to let me into the race on that basis.....
    LL

4 stars (good)
    But I wasnt so sure so I got another one of the lads who lives down that way to pick up our numbers at 10am sunday morning so that we can take it handy and not have to head down too early.

It'd be no problem for him to pick up your number aswell RR. Just send me a PM if thats what you wanna do.

Thanks for the offer but I'm just going to ramble down at my own time. By the way it says on the email that ID is required to collect numbers as well so don't be surprised if you're friend can't get your numbers.

I just checked the entrant search on the runireland website and there are 117 and 125 people registered for the 10k and kilomarathon respectively. Hardly a huge number and even if the same number again turn up for on the day registration it shouldn't require a huge amount of time to process all entries

4 stars (good)
    I will be arriving early maybe even before the required time so I can get in my usual 1.5 hour warm up for 10k races :eek: ....only joking.

I agree with Lex Luther... It'll be an interesting row

I'm also not happy about my email address being CC'ed to the world.
    I think I'll email the organisers about it (and cc it to everyone on the list :D)

4 stars (good)

I'm also not happy about my email address being CC'ed to the world.

either was I but I'd say this was an honest mistake. I talked to the race organiser the other night on the phone and he seemed a nice bloke and was very helpful.

4 stars (good)
    either was I but I'd say this was an honest mistake. I talked to the race organiser the other night on the phone and he seemed a nice bloke and was very helpful.

Fair enough, probably a genuine mistake, still a bit careless though.

Hopefully we'll all have a good day on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

3 big hills but you get to come down them, jesus thats good of them. im getting a pain in my hole with people trivialising hills. sure lets run up mount everest and run back down. lets cop on lads and callma hard course a hard course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    3 big hills but you get to come down them, jesus thats good of them. im getting a pain in my hole with people trivialising hills. sure lets run up mount everest and run back down. lets cop on lads and callma hard course a hard course.

Jack and Jill syndrome eh? Sounds severe too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

4 stars (good)

Only known cure, get out and run some hills :)

4 stars (good)

If I remember rightly that didn't finish so well :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Oisin11178 wrote: »

You really need to start throwing some hills into your training.

3 stars (average)
    Heading down from Drogheda and do not plan to get there until after 12, no way i am hanging around for the guts of 2 hours. Best of luck to everyone running their race tomorrow.

How did everyone get on? I ran the 10k.

Gorgeous weather - I was not expecting that. It was warm out there. A few stinkers of hills at the start!

It was pretty well organised, though some of the junctions/turns could have been marshalled/signposted a bit better. I overheard a girl saying she had taken a wrong turn!

Parking and changing rooms and stuff were grand.

Still didn't get my sub 50 though - 2 minutes over. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

4 stars (good)
    ran the kilomarathon, great day. Car Parking and reg spot on, in and out in a min. V tough coarse but enjoyed it apart from blowing up last 2 km, will prob get usual complaints about to many hills but life would be boring if the world was flat, will be back next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 kciaran

4 stars (good)
    did this in 2.12.18 today - tough, hot and hilly so pleased with that. well organised and no issues - all good.

3 stars (average)
    Really tough course with the warm weather around 23 degrees and hill after hill after hill. There was a good few people around the course complaining about the hills but hey what goes up must come down.
    I ran a 2.16.54 in the end, a good 7 mins off my target time. All was going well up to mile 6 in terms of pacing but the hills between 2.5 and 8.5 miles took a lot out of me so i had to revise my plans.
    Like most hilly courses you can take advantage of the declines but the hills took that much out of me i was not pulling sufficient time back on the declines to keep up the 8min mile pace. I decided to drop the pace for the last 10 mile trying to keep it around the 8.30/8.40 mark.
    I was in stitches laughing at some guy around mile 6 who commented ah ffs not another fcking hill what are they trying to do kill us!! A valuable lesson learned....must study the routes before i run a race.

Well organised and scenic route apart from looking at hill after hill :rolleyes:
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/43694088

4 stars (good)
    I thought it was a fine race. Very well organised, no complaints at all. Tough as **** though. Jaysus that was like running the tour de France. Hard to judge pace because you just didnt know if there was another col de Tourmalet around the next bend..........which there usually was.
    Really nice atmosphere.
    Wrecked now though, definitely took a bite out of me. Good to meet Lex Luther who put in a great run. 1:49 I think? Good to see aero2k there also, although he wasnt running, on photo duty today. Git101 was there aswell, doing the 10k, dont know how he got on though. Although he's a man well accustomed to tackling hills so Im sure that was a walk in the park for him.

4 stars (good)
    kciaran wrote: »
    did this in 2.12.18 today - tough, hot and hilly so pleased with that. well organised and no issues - all good.

Hey don't ruin it for me.

I only did the 10k route.

As per previous posts I had issues about my email addess being broadcast to all and sundry and especially about pre-registered particapants having to arrive hours before the start.

I arrived today to well organised parking, easy number collection (well after advertised closing) good route, chip timing, nice course, plenty of drinks etc.
    I suppose I wanted to bitch but I can't....

Well done... I'll be back next year

4 stars (good)
    Git101 was there aswell, doing the 10k, dont know how he got on though. Although he's a man well accustomed to tackling hills so Im sure that was a walk in the park for him.

Thanks tunguska.
    Not a walk in the park, actually a bad day. I hope I can learn from it..
    I'll put my thoughts on my blog when I have the energy :D

Well done.. I look forward to reading your report..

4 stars (good)

Well done.. I look forward to reading your report..

Eh, Im afraid that was my report. I like to read other peoples race reports, not so big on writing them myself. Sure I'll catch up with you at Sean's place for the 10miler.

4 stars (good)
    I did the 10k. First couple of miles were very tough but after that the ups and downs weren't too bad. Lost some time on miles 2 and 3 but made up a little on mile 4 (I think).

Really well organised, nice atmosphere (the heat helped), good value for money (as all goes to charity as well).
    Scenery was grand,
    Roads were relatively quiet and well marshaled, although I heard one guy took a wrong turn but there was arrows painted on the road at junctions without marshalls :confused:
    Maybe PB potential isn't guaranteed, unless you run the kilomarathon obviously :D
    I'd definitely go back and run the kilomarathon as training run for my next Autumn marathon.

4 stars (good)
    Roads were relatively quiet and well marshaled, although I heard one guy took a wrong turn but there was arrows painted on the road at junctions without marshalls :confused:
    QUOTE]

I'm trying to figure out where he could have taken a wrong turn, I thought it was well marked and marshalled...

I thought it was a fine race. Very well organised, no complaints at all. Tough as **** though. Jaysus that was like running the tour de France. Hard to judge pace because you just didnt know if there was another col de Tourmalet around the next bend..........which there usually was.
    Really nice atmosphere.
    Wrecked now though, definitely took a bite out of me. Good to meet Lex Luther who put in a great run. 1:49 I think? Good to see aero2k there also, although he wasnt running, on photo duty today. Git101 was there aswell, doing the 10k, dont know how he got on though. Although he's a man well accustomed to tackling hills so Im sure that was a walk in the park for him.
    Thanks tunguska and well done to you on your 1:41 or so and 5th place overall.
    It really was a very hilly race for the distance but no complaints from me - it was well organised, lots of water ( in bottles thank god ) at the stations, well marshaled, not much traffic to deal with, started on time, good cause and nice tea and cakes afterwards so all in all a big thumbs up.

(By the way T. I googled that yoke and you're right, it IS interesting)
    LL

3 stars (average)
    What was the winning time? are the results up anywhere? Great 1.41 Tunguska thats a good time on that route.