Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adidas 5 mile this Sat. What to eat night before and morning?

• 15-07-2010 8:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭

Doing my first ever 5 mile run on Saturday and would appreciate some tips on preparing the night before and morning of the race. Apart from getting plenty of sleep the night before what else should I do in terms of eating? What should I bring along to the race on the day?

Cheers

Ben

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

BRING YOUR NUMBER

You could get all your race gear - number, Garmin/HRM, top, shorts, socks,runner - ready the night before to make sure you're not forgetting them.

You don't need to eat anything special the night before, just don't go out on the drink.
    In the morning, follow your usual routine for a weekend run as much as possible. If you usually eat porridge an hour before your run, do that. If you like a banana half an hour before you run, have one tomorrow. Don't change your routine, and don't feel you need to eat more than usual - you could have a bad run because your stomach feels full.
    There'll be water at the finish, and probably some food in the goodie bag at the end. You could bring a top to put on after the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

The night before make sure you dont go on the beer, eat take away or something heavy, eat something you know and always have.

It might be 5 miles but Hydration is important. Alot of people leave it to the morning before which I dont like as you feel heavy etc.

Just ensure you drink a good bit on friday and have a luzoade sport on the way to the park. Stop drinking with 30 mins to go and go to toilet:)

On the morning i always got up at 7, had my breakfast and watch tv before i left.

No harm getitng there early, i always parked at castleknock end as was coming in from that way and enjoy the nice walk to the starting area.

The most important thing: Enjoy the race and crossing that finish line! Be sure to smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Thanks Lad's,

Would a nice big steak with onions and a couple of fired egg's be a good idea Friday night along with a few pints of water followed by a good nights sleep then a good bowl of porridge with some bannana's and a couple of poached eggs around 7:30am Saturday morning be a good idea?

I have it in my head that footballers eat loads of pasta and boiled chicken before a game so maybe I should have that instead of the steak?

Ben

That sounds like a huge amount to me (but I am a short-arse)

What do you usually eat for dinner? What is your usual breakfast?

Hi Ray, dinner would normally be smaller and healthier than a grilled steak with fried onions and eggs and breakfast is normally a fruit smoothie with two poached eggs in brown goat with marmite and a cup of tea or a bowl of porridge with bananas or natural yoghurt with toasted granola instead of the poached eggs but from time to time if i'm really hungry or know I won't get much chance to grab lunch I'll have eggs AND porridge. I don't like going into battle on an empty stomach!

I'm guessing I should hold off on the steak, eggs & onions then in favour of a more suitable pre dinner dinner? Any suggestions?

Ben

steak is not a great idea and no need to worry too much about carbs as its 5 miles.

Just have normal dinner like you have during the week. If i was running i would probbaly have pork chop with potatoes(2 spuds medium size) and some veg! Always drink water with dinner anyhow :)

Yeah, there's no need to eat more than usual. Just eat a normal dinner. Something from the healthy end of the spectrum, but there's no need to eat anything special.

If you eat a lot more at dinner or breakfast, it won't give you more energy but it could leave you feeling bloated, or like you're carrying all that extra food around with you in the race.

Cheers lads, sound advice. I would have erred on the side of loading up to build up energy but had a feeling that wasn't the right thing to do and I'm sure I would feel bloated so will probably have a nice piece of steamed Salmon (or might even stretch to a fresh tuna steak) for dinner and a simple bowl of porridge and bannanas for brekkie.

I'll bring a couple of bottles of Lucozade sport and should be good to go!!

Can't believe I'm a bit nervous about doing my first run. At 42 you'd think I'd know better!! I guess it's because I'm not as prepared as I should be. I mistakenly thought it was a 5km not a 5 mile which my recently completed C25K programme could have handled but what the hell I'll give it a go. In the last two weeks I've managed to get to 8k in 55 mins on the treadmill but can't get close to that on the road/paths where I live as I find the hills around where I live tough (and there's no avoiding them) but in time I'm sure I'll adjust to it. I'm hoping that on Saturday a combination of motivation and embarrasment will get me round without having to walk any of it.

Ben

If it's your first race, be careful with your pacing. Racing is a lot of fun, and the excitement of being in a crowd of runners can be great - but the downside is, it's really easy to get carried away at the beginning, run the first mile really fast and then lose heart when you hit the first uphill bit.

Go out easy. The first mile or so in this course is downhill, but take it at a comfortable pace. Do that and you should be able to run the whole thing.

(And remember to start in the 50+ time zone)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Dont try and drink too much before the start or it will just run through you. If you think youll need water, carry a small bottle which you can always sling in a bin if you need to get rid.

Youve already got all the advice about keeping your pre race routine normal and simple. Usual kit, usual socks, normal food. No need for anything out of the ordinary. Put your timing chip on your shoe, if you have it. Make sure you have your number and pins in your kitbag.

As with what RayCun said, for the first mile definitely watch your pace, try and keep it comfortable and easy, or you may suffer in the latter stages. It is so easy to run off a bit fast at the start because youre fresh and following the pack.

Relax as you run. Tell yourself how well youre doing (honestly!) and enjoy the race. Nothing like coming in across your first ever finish line. Good luck.

Oryx wrote: »
    Put your timing chip on your shoe, if you have it.

Timing chip is on the number. Don't take it off and put it on your shoe. :D

RayCun wrote: »
    Timing chip is on the number. Don't take it off and put it on your shoe. :D
    That would be a good hint. Forgot thats how they do it, I mean it was last year and I am blonde. OP>> scratch that advice. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

Have at least 3 pints of Guinness and a rubymurray the night before. It will help you sleep.

Thanks all, I think I'm good to go now and don't worry I've no illusions, I'll definetly be starting in the 50+ wave.

Cheers.

Ben

No matter what it be a PB for you, just enjoy the experience, as its great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,107 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

+1 on the porridge.
    I usually have mine about 90mins before a run but lately I'm having it 3-4 hours beforehand because I'm up in the middle of the night feedin the little one and I find this much better espically on the longer runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Novice runner here so I concur will all the advice, have the gear laid out night before, well hydrated from today
    A few that need to be emphasised from the beginners perspective though.

Go to the toilet before you leave the house and before the start
    DON'T RUN OFF IN THE DISTANCE WITH THE ELITES AT THE BEGINNING, you'll pay for it later,
    Talk to everyone and have the craic
    Keep running, jogging, staggering, going- don't give up (there are a few hills!)
    Big smile at the end as you sprint to the finish line like an Olympic athlete
    Enjoy the post race high to the max, suck in the endorphins- this is what all the training was for

Thanks for all the advice lads. Just had a lovely dinner of grilled Tuna with salad and some boiled new potatoes so well sorted and will have some porridge in the morning.

Where is everybody parking? I'm driving in from the southside so thinking of parking in Heuston Station and getting the shuttle bus from Parkgate street. Is that the best solution? What time should I aim to be in Parkgate street? 8:45???

Hope ye all have a good run tomorrow.

Best of luck.

Ben

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

I love the advice, W.B. - especially the bit about crossing the line like an Olympic athlete :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I ran the 5 mile myself today. Then it lashed out of the heavens and took an hour and a half to reach Heuston in the car. It was a brilliant run and I beat my PB. Seen a lot of people give their best, but I still think alot struggle with the hills.

Usually I take it handy going up hills and bomb it down the other side, but then I see so many poor people do the opposite and they do be wrecked when they reach the finish line. Any one heading to the 10 mile next month?

Just a quick note to say thanks to all for the advice, it worked a treat. Did the run in 48:37 (chip time) or 49:38 finish time. What's the difference?? Came 245th in the M40 category which I guess is for the old farts like myself?

Felt great to actually finish without stopping or puking!

Thanks all, must do another one soon or try for a 10k.

Ben

BenEadir wrote: »
    Did the run in 48:37 (chip time) or 49:38 finish time.

The siren went to start the race, and you crossed the finish line 49.38 after that.
    But since you weren't right at the front, it took you about a minute to get to the start line. From the start line to the finish line took you 48.37.

Thanks Ray,

Have to say I'm well pleased with that.

Ben

Thats a great time. Well done. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Well done one and all that finished today
    Especially those that were coming in at the end when it was hard, it was tough and it was raining.
    I salute all you athletes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Done the race myself. Really enjoyed it apart from the rain. But Im nearly sure it was short. My garmin was 4.89. Now I accept its not always going to be bang on. But every one on garmin connect was more or less the same. None showed 5 miles. Check out Here. Seems unusual for the race series if it was.

Well done everyone, great times.

So all ye have left now is the 10 miler, half marathon and the marathon.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Really enjoyed this race, particularly as I was late and ended up in 3rd or 4th wave and spent the entire race passing people, made a nice change from the usual for me.

Thought the organisation was great on the day.