Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quarterlife Crisis!

• 14-07-2010 1:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

Howdy, I'm 25 and have just come to the self realization that I am a homosexual man. I came out of the closet, told the friends, family some co-workers etc. That was surprisingly easy. The funny thing now is that I don't really know where I stand. I've checked out some of the support groups, but they all seem to be quite teen oriented and focus on coming out advice. I've done all that but now I seem to be unsure of what exactly is the next step to take? As I'm in my mid 20s, what is the best place to meet other people in a similar situation? I'm based in Dublin. All advice welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

lionchild wrote: »
    Howdy, I'm 25 and have just come to the self realization that I am a homosexual man. I came out of the closet, told the friends, family some co-workers etc. That was surprisingly easy. The funny thing now is that I don't really know where I stand. I've checked out some of the support groups, but they all seem to be quite teen oriented and focus on coming out advice. I've done all that but now I seem to be unsure of what exactly is the next step to take? As I'm in my mid 20s, what is the best place to meet other people in a similar situation? I'm based in Dublin. All advice welcome.

I'm actually in a similar situation. The vast majority of my friends are straight, and although I've come out, it's quite difficult to meet LGB people outside of college.
    I wouldn't meet anyone online and I wouldn't go to a gay bar on my own either. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

snap...
    kinda missed the boat on the support group things as they do all seem teen orientated.... just took mne a little longer to feel comfortable enough..

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Sounds to me as if you’ve worked it out already and you don’t need support, so your next step is to get on with life to its full and be happy.

You’ll hear loads of arguments for the scene and an equal amount against it. Same with Gaydar and etc… my advice is trying them out yourself, as you sound as if you have a head on your shoulders and you’ll work out what you prefer. Best of luck. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 lionchild

Good advice. Yes I do have my head on my shoulders and I am a pretty down to earth, focused man. The thing is, and I mean no offense, but I don't act campy or have that stereotypical gay accent. I also don't share a lot of gay interests like fashion/celebrity gossip/music etc. I feel like a pretty normal guy who happens to like men. I feel totally comfortable with this. One of the comments above talked about the gay scene. So is this gay scene predominantly made up of the more campy element or is there a wider mix of people on the scene? Oh well, I'll guess I'll soon find out! I'm gonna take a pack of dispirin out with me to the G just to be safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Don't go the G first - go to Pantibar or front lounge! Also do you have any interests; films, books, sports, politics, theatre, music - there are many different groups that you could go to - tell us what kind of stuff interests you - also we've just had an LGBT forum meet - 'queer beers' - other fora such as gaire and Queerid do this sometimes as well

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Drop into outhouse as well for a coffee sometime and ask them about the different groups they have

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

good advice, I'm a music teacher anyhow and play in a band, so I guess I can always move in that direction...but a Kylie tribute band....I dunno!!! Thanks for all the opinions...queer beers...classic!

Good advice. Yes I do have my head on my shoulders and I am a pretty down to earth, focused man. The thing is, and I mean no offense, but I don't act campy or have that stereotypical gay accent. I also don't share a lot of gay interests like fashion/celebrity gossip/music etc. I feel like a pretty normal guy who happens to like men. I feel totally comfortable with this. One of the comments above talked about the gay scene. So is this gay scene predominantly made up of the more campy element or is there a wider mix of people on the scene? Oh well, I'll guess I'll soon find out! I'm gonna take a pack of dispirin out with me to the G just to be safe!

No offense taken! I’m not camp…… neither is my partner….. we both love rugby and just one look at me and you’d know that I don’t do fashion.

Wouldn’t go down the NORMAL road if I was you, one mans Normal is another mans Camp etc. Mate we all feel normal, it just depends who’s looking! I don’t do the scene anymore been there bought the T-shirt but it’s like all of life, it can reflect all flavors. Go have a look and if you don’t like it, then vote with your feet.

There are loads of groups that you can join too, as was stated in one of the posts.

Bet there’s loads of like minded lads out there just hoping to meet a guy like you too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

good advice, I'm a music teacher anyhow and play in a band

You might be interested in Glória then? One of my friend's old flatmates used to sing with them, and found it an absolutely amazing way to get to know people and indulge his passion for music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Outhouse has a group for everything, book clubs, writers groups, the first out thing is specifically for people your age. Pop into them at some stage, they're always so friendly and nice in Outhouse :)

DubArk wrote: »
    No offense taken! I’m not camp…… neither is my partner….. we both love rugby and just one look at me and you’d know that I don’t do fashion.

Wouldn’t go down the NORMAL road if I was you, one mans Normal is another mans Camp etc. Mate we all feel normal, it just depends who’s looking! I don’t do the scene anymore been there bought the T-shirt but it’s like all of life, it can reflect all flavors. Go have a look and if you don’t like it, then vote with your feet.

There are loads of groups that you can join too, as was stated in one of the posts.

Bet there’s loads of like minded lads out there just hoping to meet a guy like you too. :)

great! thanks for that! one last question, would you voluntary tell people you're gay or would you wait for them to ask you or find out?

I'd wait for them to ask me or find out on there own! I can’t see why I’d want to tell people such a private thing. Saying that most people know we’re a couple and I’d lay a bet that if we’re in mixed company in this country people would be told before I’m ever introduced lol.
    It just isn’t a big deal anymore so don’t make it one.

DubArk wrote: »
    I'd wait for them to ask me or find out on there own! I can’t see why I’d want to tell people such a private thing. Saying that most people know we’re a couple and I’d lay a bet that if we’re in mixed company in this country people would be told before I’m ever introduced lol.
    It just isn’t a big deal anymore so don’t make it one.

Great advice, Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Aikon2009

I'm new to the hole scene only out the last few months, and I'd be like yourself but its really not that camp, also depends where you go out n stuff. Like an time am in Panti Bar or Front Lounge its not really full of teens the likes of Prhomo Basebar on a Thursday is. I know a lot of gayers whole go out on the scene and none of that more than 10% camp i'd say! Good luck:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭esposito

Ditto! Same age as yourself and only recently came out- though not to family. Into sport, music, just like any regular guy, only I like men.

Been to the G once, quite enjoyed it, not as many camp guys as I thought. I want to try Front Lounge or Panti bar next. I live in South Dublin.

Aikon2009 wrote: »
    I know a lot of gayers....

–noun, plural -gayers, ( especially collectively thinsp.png) -gay.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Same here.

I'm on the same situation. I'm out to pretty much everybody I know in Dublin. But all my mates are straight, not even one gay friend in Dub... Yeah, one of my straight mates says he wouldn't mind going out with me to places like Front Lounge, Panti Bar or The G (never been to any of them though), but it's not the same. Besides, he's hot and would pull :D

And I missed the queer beers last saturday :(

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Barna77 wrote: »

And I missed the queer beers last saturday :(

There's enough of ye in this thread alone to meet up for a few beers.

Beruthiel wrote: »

i'm absolutely amazed at how many are in the same boat. True what they say "you're never alone!"

I was just thinking the same thing actually ;)

Terry Pratchet

good advice, I'm a music teacher anyhow and play in a band, so I guess I can always move in that direction...but a Kylie tribute band....I dunno!!! Thanks for all the opinions...queer beers...classic!
    ok - anything else that interests you? drama? books? any sport?

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Queer piss up 2.0 :D

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    ok - anything else that interests you? drama? books? any sport?

music, film, travel, books, not too keen on sports but i enjoy outdoor activities like paintballing, hill walking etc!...and of course going out!...oh yeah and a bit of drama, nothing too pretentious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

Yeah I missed last weekends meet up :(.. would be up for an impromptue one tho.... :)

Doop wrote: »
    Yeah I missed last weekends meet up :(.. would be up for an impromptue one tho.... :)

feck it, will we go for an impromptu meet this weekend so? it'd be a first for myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Start a new thread and round up the troops! :)

music, film, travel, books, not too keen on sports but i enjoy outdoor activities like paintballing, hill walking etc!...and of course going out!...oh yeah and a bit of drama, nothing too pretentious!

Music - Gloria
    Film - Film Q Club
    Books - Theres a book club in Outhouse
    Outdoor activities - Hiking and Wet and wild sports group and even Skiing
    Drama - Acting out

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Heebie

I'm in the same boat too. I'm in my 40's, and I don't have the slightest clue how to meet guys... and all the support groups do seem to be for the 14-23 age bracket.