Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road accidents - why don't they give details...

• 12-07-2010 11:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭

How's that...

When I moved from Poland to Ireland, I was surprised, that details of everyone convicted in court (even for minor traffic offences) are brought to public f.e. in local newspapers. Not only their names, but also addressed. And sometimes even for really minor offenses like parking, etc.
    That was different to what I was used to, because in Poland, details of people convicted for any offense or crime, can't be published. Only what they can do is to give a name and first letter of surname - f.e. Adam F. was charged for theft. No one would bother even mentioning anyone who was charged for traffic offenses.

Anyway, on the other hand, whenever there's an road traffic accident in Ireland, they seem to keep all the details for themselves.

All we hear in the radio or in newspapers, is that accident happened, where is happen, and how many was injured or killed. No more details.
    They don't reveal any info about how it happen or whose fault was it. They don't say what was the reason that accident happened.
    Just all they say, is that it happened, as that accident would just happened for no reason. That's not true - there's always a reason for an accident, and I think that people should know why that things happens just to be able to avoid it in the future.

In Poland when accident happens, every detail is brought to the public including whose fault was it, and what was the reason.
    There are even TV programmes showing results of accidents and describing exactly how and what exactly happen and at whose fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

they can only give details after it has been legally processed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

This is to protect the families involved, who in some cases may not have heard yet or not had a chance to notify all those who'd prefer not to hear it on TV or Radio first.

I agree with you about the 'reason' being broadcast.

/edit: all processed now: http://www.irishtimes.com/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

kasper wrote: »
    they can only give details after it has been legally processed

Yes officials have to be careful about what they say to the media lest they prejudice any legal proceedings, as that Hog Harney did with Charlie Haughey which resulted in him never facing criminal prosecution.

Of course, fatalities etc have to be treated sensitively too by media and families have to notified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I couldn't agree more!
    I've long been of the opinion that we need to make such details public if we want to educate people as to what causes accidents. There's far too much ill-founded sentimentality for the bereaved. The "god love the parents having to bury their son" brigade. Yes, it's a tragic loss for the family left behind, but if publishing ALL the details saves another family from a similar senseless loss, then no right minded person would be against it.
    There were eight people in that Passat in Donegal last night. EIGHT! All guilty of the same thing if you ask me. Being feckin' eejits. Not as tragic a loss to society as RTE news would have you believe, in my opinion.
    Publish and be damned I say. I emailed these sentiments to auntie Gaybo when he took the RSA job. I'll let you know when he gets back to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

milltown wrote: »
    I couldn't agree more!
    I've long been of the opinion that we need to make such details public if we want to educate people as to what causes accidents. There's far too much ill-founded sentimentality for the bereaved. The "god love the parents having to bury their son" brigade. Yes, it's a tragic loss for the family left behind, but if publishing ALL the details saves another family from a similar senseless loss, then no right minded person would be against it.
    There were eight people in that Passat in Donegal last night. EIGHT! All guilty of the same thing if you ask me. Being feckin' eejits. Not as tragic a loss to society as RTE news would have you believe, in my opinion.
    Publish and be damned I say. I emailed these sentiments to auntie Gaybo when he took the RSA job. I'll let you know when he gets back to me.

Exactly. We Irish are far to precious about things like this, i believe it's a hold-over from the good auld Cat-lick Small Ireland days. Everything is a tragedy even when it was caused by utter stupidity and was completely avoidable.

Another recent-ish example is the whole Katie French debacle. Some ditsy socialite kills herself by indulging in a bit too much nose-candy and it becomes a national tragedy and there's a media witch-hunt to find her 'killers'. Start by looking in her coffin.

In some countries this story about the young lads would be a borderline zany news bit because of how many of them there was in the car. Once again we're far too afraid to honestly and openly discuss things of this manner so they get the hushed tones and deference that causes them to happen again and again.