Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

limerick to Galway N18

• 11-07-2010 3:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

Hi guys

i am wondering if anyone could help.

I live in Oranmore in Galway and have been offered a job in Limerick. I know there is currently road works on the galway-limerick road and I am wonderinf is it realistic to be able to communte from galwayto limerick daily for a job.

Thank you

molly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

Congratulations on the job.

Its do able but is it worth it, 2.5 hours a day + petrol.

What part of limerick? Sometimes it can take 10 mins to get from one side of city to other other times 45 depending on time of day. (our tunnel is opening soon might make a difference might not)

i would say get a house share in limerick cheap enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭oxygenman

Hi Molly,

I also live in Oranmore and have done that journey hundreds of time (when I had a job :D ). I used leave at 6:45 am to get to UL for 8 am and always made it, traffic is quiet in the morning at that time. Took a bit longer to get home because of the traffic in the evening. Also the Gort/Crusheen bypass will be opening next year and that will make a huge difference. If I got a job in Limerick I would definetly drive every day.

Hope that helps :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

HI

thansk a so much for the replies. just wondering if i got a desiel car would it be cheaper and also were you wrecked driving up and down each day. I would be driving to the thormound pk area of the city.

thanks so much

molly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I'm investigating the possibility of doing this in the Autumn. I want to see how things go with the GortCrusheen section first.

That you live in Oranmore and will work on the Northside is a significant help. If all goes well in the Autumn I'll do the same as you in reverse. At least the most time consuming and winding section where you get caught behind trucks and slowcoaches will then be bypassed.

I work in Ballybrit and live in Clonmacken(Limerick)/Roscam(Galway). I go back once to Limerick midweek, but feel it is best to rent in Galway for the meantime.

There are works now around Gort and Cratloe. They are also working on the motorway tie-in at Ballyline. It is the worst it has been in a while. All for the good ultimately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭oxygenman

molly09 wrote: »
    HI

thansk a so much for the replies. just wondering if i got a desiel car would it be cheaper and also were you wrecked driving up and down each day. I would be driving to the thormound pk area of the city.

thanks so much

molly

Hi Molly,

You get used to driving the journey, lots of people would drive that much and further. Roads are getting better and cars are more comfortable. It often took me an hour to get to Salthill from Oranmore, little bit longer and your in Limerick. Plus Thomond is on the right side of Limerick for you.

I drive a 2 litre diesel Avensis and on average about €40/€50 of diesel a week for Oranmore to Limerick, well worth it when it meant I was getting home every night and cheaper than staying in Limerick.

Hope this helps a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

hi molly, im a big fan of galway and iv been there loads, i live 5 mins walk from thomond and myself and the lads would get to the oranmore roundabout from there in about 1hr 10mins, and in the morning when its quiet, u could head down here in under an hour, motorway most of the way at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

dave 27 wrote: »
    motorway most of the way at this stage
    not quite, motorway only covers to Ennis, after that its a pretty poor standard of national primary road.

Molly, I would recommend you get 1.6 litre diesel car. Something like a Ford Focus or Mazda 6. Tax will be a little higher but you'll save big time on fuel consumption, you'll get 40+ miles to the gallon. I commute to Cork twice a week and bought a 1.4 ltr petrol recently. I'm filling up twice at the pumps every week and am getting less than 35 miles per gallon. So go TDI, diesel is the clear winner for commuting.

HI

Thanks so much for all your advice, it was all very helpful,

I have taken the job in limerick but will not be starting for nearly another 2 months.

I really hope it works out .... ans that I wont be so wrecked that I wont have a life in the evenings!!!!

thanks again

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Congrats Molly!
    and you never know, if you like the place you might consider moving down to us. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Congrats Molly!
    and you never know, if you like the place you might consider moving down to us. :)

An old colleague of mine was offered a position in Limerick with the company he works for and took it. He commuted for 4 months and eventually himself and his fiancee moved down when she found a job herself.

When the Limerick to Gort Motorway/DC is finally open it will considerably cut down the travel time between Oranmore and Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

There is a few reports on the Clare Herald that the Gort to Crusheen section may open in October. It should open this year anyway.

A few photos of the road taken today are here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

In secondary school one of the teachers used to drive to Limerick from Galway every day

well will defo let ye know how it goes,

went to college in limerick for 4 years and really loved it there, but am in my 30s now and just need to settle a bit.

if anyone else has any advise on which car would have less fuel consumption I would really like the advice.

thanks a million

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Mc Love wrote: »
    In secondary school one of the teachers used to drive to Limerick from Galway every day

Good old POC I'm guessing?!

Mc Love wrote: »

POC??

hi_im_fil wrote: »

He's some man!! Met him in Eyre Square recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

hi_im_fil wrote: »

You guessed right - some man for the weather reports :D