Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 5 series or Audi A6??

• 09-07-2010 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭

Hi lads,

The missus wants to change the motor - 520d 2007 estate

Looking at the same again or an A6 for a change.
    Company in blanchardstown called PF cars have offered her a 2009 bmw520d for an additional 16,495 - it is a fully loaded english car with full history and warranty. That is a price to drive the car away...all paperwork complete.

Would that sound correct?

Also would NI dealers be interested in a trade of a car with southern reg?

Finally.....can anyone recommend a garage/dealer/independent that would give a decent trade with a few quid for an upgrade??
    Wouldn't mind if it was an english motor as long as it was well specced and looked after.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Seems like an odd move, why pay so much to change to effectively the same car, albeit 2 years younger? Crazy if you ask me. The new 5 is just out and if I was you that is what I would be trying to get into.

A6 leaves me cold and would not see that as a forward, or even sideways move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

mfceiling wrote: »
    Hi lads,

The missus wants to change the motor - 520d 2007 estate

Looking at the same again or an A6 for a change.
    Company in blanchardstown called PF cars have offered her a 2009 bmw520d for an additional 16,495 - it is a fully loaded english car with full history and warranty. That is a price to drive the car away...all paperwork complete.

Would that sound correct?

Bit crazy changing up 2 years for that money.
    Joe Duffy have a 09 520 estate you should also try them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's a woman's world!!

She just wants to stay up the years but doesn't want to put the extra to the new car and suffer the depreciation.
    I'm not pushed on the 520 again tbh......sore enough on diesel and wasn't the most reliable car in the world plus it blows headlight bulbs every month....have become friendly with the local motor factor lad and he tells me this is a common enough problem!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Pure waste of money in my opinion. I know you've come on looking to know if that sounds like a good deal and not to have people tell you not to do it, but all i see is an utter waste of money.

At least justify the price by changing to a different car or stretching to a new 5. Getting a replacement car just to change 1 number on your registration plate is beyond laughable. You'll walk out of that dealer €16k down and and a week later you'll feel no better off.

^^

I agree but again.........it's her money and you know what women are like!!
    I know most of these cars are ex english fleet motors so they should be well looked after.
    Does anyone know any reputable lads who are bringing these cars in?
    Any other motors worth looking at?
    3 kids and all the other usual bits and bobs that come with young kids...........no people carrier suggestions!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭sk8board

is the import an m-sport or an SE? Have to say the msport touring is a fantastic looking car.

8k per year is a lot of money to go up 2 years (same as paying €700 per month just to change 1 digit);

that said, its going to take €16k as you're going from a pre-08 (old tax regime) car, to the new tax regime, and the 520d is the darling of the new regime.

if yours is an SE and the new one is an m-sport, it may be worth it, but only if money is not a concern.
    I know a man with a 3yo s-class that lost 90k in depreciation when he tried to trade it; 16k is not that much in those terms.

^^

I agree but again.........it's her money and you know what women are like!!

I think you are selling most women short with that comment, if anything it usually the women that are the cautious ones and it's us eejits who come up with a crazy scheme like changing a 520D for a 520D.

Talk her out of doing something this misguided, even if it is her money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Was gonna suggest you having a talk with her but didnt want to seem rude, but seeing as Stevie said it first... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

16K sounds like a lot of money for a newer number plate, especially when 16K would get you a very decent car tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Price seems about right. Your car will be very hard to sell privately with it being on the old tax system and Irish buyers extremely anal about motor tax (rather spend 3000 more per year on depreciation so at least they won't have to spend 300 more on tax kinda mentality).

That said, spending 16k to get the same car only 2 years newer would not be something I'd ever be interested in. Stevie Dakota's argument to buy the new model instead of the old model is a very good one. The new 5-series is bigger, better and more comfortable and will ease your pain considerably when it's time to sell again. Be a smart slave and gently convince SWMBO that she needs to increase her budget a little bit and then put it towards the new 5-series :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

16000 euro will buy a whole other brand new car without changing your current one!

Audi A6 is a nice car, but so is the 5 series you have. I'd save my money and change to the new 5 series in Jan 2011, it's only a few months. Changing a car for the same car but a bit younger is old man stuff, keep or change for a new 5 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

What about a Jaguar XF 2.7 might cost extra road tax cheapest I saw for 09 was 47k.

Honestly unless an A6 comes fully fully fully loaded it won't beat a 5 series.

Lets go with she ain't for turning and wants to spend the money. Get the 5 series if its an M sport model unless the A6 is an S line Le Mans edition as it has some nice extras on it.

The A6 has two diesel 2 litre engines a 136bhp e version and a 168bhp version I have the 168 and its very economically and has lots of pull.

Both the BMW and Audi engines are very similar on paper BMW is a few MPG better and is about .8 of a second faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

She just wants to stay up the years but doesn't want to put the extra to the new car and suffer the depreciation.
    Suffering more than €8200 a year to go 07 to 09 is already savage... That logic is flawed.

Thanks for the heads up lads.....new car is unfortunately out of the price range

2009 5 series touring - fully loaded spec is €31,495 from PF cars

2010 new 5 series touring - base model is €44,500

Don't really think we can dig another €13k from the back of the sofa!!

Anyone else bring home a motor from england?
    Was it a positive experience?

I've bought from a BMW main dealer in the UK, the service was outstanding and the car was immaculate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Yes, I got a Honda Accord a year ago over there. Car was immaculate and (so far, touch wood) hasn't given me a moment's anxiety. Service was - pardon the pun - sterling!

And I know it's her money and everything, but saving it up now and waiting a bit longer to get into a new-model 5-series seems to me to make a hell of a lot more sense.

fricatus wrote: »
    Yes, I got a Honda Accord a year ago over there. Car was immaculate and (so far, touch wood) hasn't given me a moment's anxiety. Service was - pardon the pun - sterling!

And I know it's her money and everything, but saving it up now and waiting a bit longer to get into a new-model 5-series seems to me to make a hell of a lot more sense.

The only thing about waiting is that her motor will keep going down in value and we wouldn't be in a position to have the money for the new one.
    To be honest i wasn't really a fan of the 5 series...everyone saying it's the ultimate driving machine but on irish roads, trips to the supermarket and dublin traffic it really is just another car.
    Back to the point in question though...would a northern dealer be interested in a southern car for trade??

If you did not enjoy the BMW was it because it was not comfortable or refined enough? If so Have you considered an E-Class, last of the old shape? More of a wafter and better suited to our roads.

Just wasn't pushed on it at all.....hard to put my finger on it.
    I love the E-Class - but herself reckons it's an old mans car (says a lot for me at 35!!)
    She prefers the sporty look - current bm on 18 inch M5 rims - does look well in fairness - audi would look good also with RS rims on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Just wasn't pushed on it at all.....hard to put my finger on it.
    I love the E-Class - but herself reckons it's an old mans car (says a lot for me at 35!!)
    She prefers the sporty look - current bm on 18 inch M5 rims - does look well in fairness - audi would look good also with RS rims on.

The new 5 series (F10) is supposed to ride as well as an e-class. Wait a year and pick up a one year old one?

^^

Only problem with waiting a year is the gap between the value on her car and the year old one would have increased.
    She's fairly keen on an A6 and was seriously going to take the 1st motor that PF cars "sourced" for her.
    I've told her to stall the ball as there are literally hundreds of those motors coming across the pond regulary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

2009 5 series touring - fully loaded spec is €31,495 from PF cars

That money will get you a nice 06 7 series from a main BMW dealer if you fancy a serious upgrade and are ok with moderately higher running costs. Maybe even an 07.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tinker13

Have you thought about selling the BMW privately?

Getting €16k on a trade in it doesn't sound like a great deal to me. I would think you'd have no trouble selling privately at this type of money.

I've done this with my last two cars then bought with cash from main dealers in the North.

Also, my two-cents-worth, I seriously wouldn't pay big money for a newer old shape 5 series. When you're selling that in, say, two years you'll be up against the new shape. People settling for the old shape will probably go back a few years and will probably be looking for an 08 (cheaper tax) or getting good value on an older car.

(Maybe getting a lovely 07 for about €16k :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

5 series, but its madness to change up just two years especially if it going to cost you 16k extra. If your going to change get the new 5 series!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

What is the spec & miles on the current car? If its got cloth seat, manual and 160km on the clock, €16k is a great deal to move up two years to a higher spec 520d and into the lower tax and ED engine

Equally the exact spec and miles on the 2009 will impact the price greatly, its quite easy to add €10k of extra's to a new 5 series without it looking loaded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Don't really think we can dig another €13k from the back of the sofa!!

Try in the dustbin, that seems to be where you want to put 16k;)

If you must change, get an X5 there is great value in them at the moment, a seven seater will have loads of space, comfortable and is an upgrade not just licence plate bragging rights.