Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Community Service

• 09-07-2010 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

Just wondering if anybody here as had to do Community Service?

What type of work do you have to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Moderate AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

What did you do?

Knowing this country, you probably committed murder, did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Had to let biko moderate AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Did you **** your bird to death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

orourkeda wrote: »
    Did you **** your bird to death?

She did it herself.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Mark25

Got drunk and got into a row and did some stupid stuff - not proud of it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mark25 wrote: »
    Got drunk and got into a row and did some stupid stuff - not proud of it at all.

Is that you Lindsey?

Do you know anyone on your local football team? I know a lad who got his stuff signed off by his football manager, saying he had helped keep the pitch, look after goals, clean up kit etc etc

(He didn't actually do any of that, he just played on the football team)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Do you know anyone on your local football team? I know a lad who got his stuff signed off by his football manager, saying he had helped keep the pitch, look after goals, clean up kit etc etc

Fuck that he obviously done something bad, don't be giving him tips on how to get out of it.

That sounds handy enough - play at my local GAA club. Would be great if that's what I could do. Didn't think they'd let you just do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

You do what your told:rolleyes:

That sounds handy enough - play at my local GAA club. Would be great if that's what I could do. Didn't think they'd let you just do that.

There you go so, ask to help out around the GAA with various stuff and get the owners to sign off on the hours put in.

Fuck that he obviously done something bad, don't be giving him tips on how to get out of it.

To be honest, the real incentive here is the fact that he was given community service, if he gets into trouble again, its the next step, prison.

Genuine people make mistakes, these things happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

He got into a drunken row, he didn't rape or murder anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Well he might have. We don't know yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

So all anti-social behaviour should be let off with a warning ?
    No, there has to be punishment for scumbag behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

phill106 wrote: »
    Well he might have. We don't know yet!

You can get community service for rape/murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

When I did it as a kid it involved a little street cleaning, putting up new road signs, and helping with a police booth at a shopping mall expo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Community service is a punishment, its a criminal conviction. You cant lock someone up for something like getting into a fight if its there first offence,or can be shown to be an isolated incident. Community service gives people that chance, and if they dont take it they'l be sent down on their next conviction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

funk-you wrote: »
    She did it herself.

-Funk

It wasnt Euthanasia was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I wear clothes when outside. That's my service to the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

It can depend OP. It could be like mowing some local football pitches, painting up some fences, tending to stuff in the locality, e.g flower beds etc. And the work is supervised, its not just if you say you did it they believe you .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

I don't know the full story and you don't know the full story..only the OP does (if he can remember :pac:)....so you can't just say he was acting like a scumbag.

on topic I know a few people who did community service and they were painting a community sports center and lifting up litter...so it shouldn't be to bad for the OP once he turns up on time and does a bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I'm hardly calling for the electric chair for the chap. He said himself he done something stupid which he isn't proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It can be anything, from picking up litter on the streets to helping in centres (elderly mainly). You won't notice the time passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

To be honest, the real incentive here is the fact that he was given community service, if he gets into trouble again, its the next step, prison.

Genuine people make mistakes, these things happen.

Does conspiring in a lie that you did your community service when you didn't constitute getting into trouble again?

dvpower wrote: »
    Does conspiring in a lie that you did your community service when you didn't constitute getting into trouble again?

You can't lie about it. Tis all recorded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

DarkJager wrote: »
    You can't lie about it. Tis all recorded.
    I know a lad who got his stuff signed off by his football manager, saying he had helped keep the pitch, look after goals, clean up kit etc etc

... why I said conspiring.

dvpower wrote: »
    ... why I said conspiring.

A big difference between someone covering for you and telling porkies yourself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Burn her, burn her! :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

A big difference between someone covering for you and telling porkies yourself...

Just read that sentence back to yourself a few times.

There is no difference.

Just read that sentence back to yourself a few times.

There is no difference.

Just read that response to yourself a few times... THERE IS A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SOMEONE TELLING LIES TO COVER YOU AND TELLING LIES TO COVER YOURSELF.

Is that clear enough or shall I break it down into nursery ryhme prose for you to understand?

We are referring to community service here, which you obviously have no clue about.

Thanks for the info. Think I will find out next week anyway. The second last day I was in court the judge asked for a report to be carried out to see if I was suitable for community service. No idea what would make somebody unsuitable for it?

I have a fair number of hours to do and don't really mind what I have to do. I think I was in court 5 times over the past few months getting this sorted out.

Whatever people think community serviceis a punishment and I have a criminal record which isn't good. Thought for a while I could lose my job over it but I think I'm alright on that score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

biko wrote: »
    Moderate AH

I've served my time :)

I didn't get to choose what to do - they told me what I would be doing.

It doesn't sound too bad though - it's mainly going to be at around a community centre - cleaning the place up, painting, taking off grafitti and maybe helping out with some of the stuff they run there. There are a few lads doing the same thing so I'm not on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

It doesn't sound too bad though - it's mainly going to be at around a community centre - cleaning the place up, painting, taking off grafitti and maybe helping out with some of the stuff they run there. There are a few lads doing the same thing so I'm not on my own.

Good for you,and you get a tan aswell :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Keep us updated, especially if there are hilarious and/or violent incidents with your fellow convicts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

My friend had to work for a local charity shop every weekend. He ended up having to do it for ages because he said he couldn’t afford to pay any fine. He actually (kind of) enjoyed it in the end because he liked the people he worked with.

He wasn’t a bad guy just drove on a suspended license or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Doc wrote: »
    My friend had to work for a local charity shop every weekend. He ended up having to do it for ages because he said he couldn’t afford to pay any fine. He actually (kind of) enjoyed it in the end because he liked the people he worked with.

He wasn’t a bad guy just drove on a suspended license or something like that.

In fairness, it takes a fair bit of acting the boll*x on the roads to get a suspended license. And driving on one, is just taking the piss altogether.

Yea you’re right he’s the devil.

No - just a commoner gardener law breaker, who got caught.

I don’t consider everyone who ever broke the law to be a bad person. If you do fine but there are things that are illegal that aren’t necessarily all that bad or that mean that someone is a bad person for doing it.

Please don't put words in my mouth. I said he broke the law & was caught - that is all.

The fact that he had his license suspended, means that he was caught doing something really stupid like drink driving, or was really stupid for getting caught for a sh*t load of small offences.

The fact that he was then caught again, driving on a suspended license, would suggest that he's a f*cking idiot. Not a bad person, mind, just a not very bright one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No it won't, it'll be more community service, fines and if he's really unlucky a suspended sentence. I've seen plenty of lads up in court multiple times for fighting and after 5 or more times in front of a judge spent only a few days in prison.

You only get heavy sentences for drugs. Alcohol related violence is overlooked by the courts in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Just read that response to yourself a few times... THERE IS A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SOMEONE TELLING LIES TO COVER YOU AND TELLING LIES TO COVER YOURSELF.

Is that clear enough or shall I break it down into nursery ryhme prose for you to understand?

We are referring to community service here, which you obviously have no clue about.

no there is no difference because both cases require the person to choose dishonesty/evade a punishment

if you do the crime, you do the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Community service is what judges hand down to normal,mostly decent people who've never been in trouble before.

Scumbags and proffesional criminals get away with it completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Degsy wrote: »
    Community service is what judges hand down to normal,mostly decent people who've never been in trouble before.

doesnt matter, it's still a sentence which you have to complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Degsy wrote: »

Other than the fine, maybe that's why they release them back into the wild again, guaranteed money spinner when they're back in two months on a different charge.