Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PR60 planned for Midlands this Sunday?

• 07-07-2010 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads & Ladies!

Does anyone know if the PR60 planned for this Sunday in Midlands is still going ahead? My email and phone are on the fritz, so I may not have got any messages about this.

Anyone know what the story is?

Any word?

Would be a pity not to happen - Need the practice, me!:o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

dCorbus wrote: »
    Hi Lads & Ladies!

Does anyone know if the PR60 planned for this Sunday in Midlands is still going ahead? My email and phone are on the fritz, so I may not have got any messages about this.

Anyone know what the story is?

Any word?

Would be a pity not to happen - Need the practice, me!:o:D

First I heard of it!;), lets hope someone knows!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Its on the NTSA website for Saturday 10th July (3P) and Sunday 11th July (Prone). Half way through checking i got a warning notification from my security center and it took me out of the website stating it was harmful.

Cannot get back in (and wouldn't chance it). Its probably only a technical hitch, but i'll wait to see if it gets corrected.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭intershoot

I'll ask if I can go........I know when I'm whipped!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

ezridax wrote: »
    Its on the NTSA website for Saturday 10th July (3P) and Sunday 11th July (Prone). Half way through checking i got a warning notification from my security center and it took me out of the website stating it was harmful.

Cannot get back in (and wouldn't chance it). Its probably only a technical hitch, but i'll wait to see if it gets corrected.

Depends, if you use mozilla it says everything can harm your puter "which is technically correct"

I was impressed with the new 50m set up last time I was down in MNSCI.

When is the 1200 open do ya know?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

The event has been on the calendar for a good while now, so I'm going to presume that it's going ahead.

Come and say hi if you're down there on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Nothing wrong that I can find. Site is scanned daily and AVG safe search reports no problems. Opened on three different computers with three different browsers and no problems reported.

What security centre are you using? Norton (your PC is safe because we won't allow you use it) or something else?

Anyone know the format and starting time on this?

cheers!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

I'm going to head down anyway, so see you all there!:cool:
    Trying to get hold of JP to find out start times etc. (but no joy yet).

Just heard that this may not be happening!:(
    I may be wrong.

I'm happy to help with the organising on the day - But wouldn't personally have a clue where to start.

Could someone (i.e. someone else, who knows about running these things:o) contact Midlands and see if they need a hand running this event? I'm sure a couple of us can help out on the day?

I'll help out with whatever is needed.

Just heard that the range is available on Sunday for the shoot - but some bodies are needed to assist with the organising! Any volunteers? Me & the IRLConor chap are on for helping out, but one or four more may be needed?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Wish I could, but I'm swamped with wedding stuff that morning.

Sorry guys we'd help out if there was more time but myself and Sam will be on a tight schedule, as it’s the 11th we need to get back home before the lunatics start !!;)

rrpc wrote: »
    Norton (your PC is safe because we won't allow you use it)..............

Correct. Even sites I have used before are now deemed unsafe. Must try and " loosen" the restrictions.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

The range was "put aside" for this event as it has been on the NTSA calendar for over a month (that i know of). It has been improved and "upgraded" since the last comp a month ago after some helpful suggestions by some of the shooters that attended.

There seems to be alot of confusion as to who exactly is running the competition. Personally i think this is secondary to the actual event itself.

On that note i am personally curious. There was a low turnout for the 3P event at the last comp. I was wondering if there is much of an interest or would it be better to hold the prone event on Sunday only. Any thoughts or opinions on this?

Just to note, i have no say in how, when, where or in what format any competition is to be run. It is simply a curiosity and a possible suggestion.

Booking is up on the NTSA site!!;), myself and Sam are booked in for the 12.30 detail!
    See you guys there!!;)

Booked myself in for the 12:30 slot.
    See youse there!

(What's on the 11th that has you Nordies so jumpy and in a mad rush to get back to canada?!:rolleyes::D)

Booked myself in for the 12:30 slot.
    See youse there!

(What's on the 11th that has you Nordies so jumpy and in a mad rush to get back to canada?!:rolleyes::D)

As you know we get very bad snows coming into winter!! and the only shop that sells snow chains closes at 6pm!!;)

There's some sort of sponsored walk on the 12th. Happens every year. Something to do with oranges? I can never figure it out though, they all look serious but they're carrying signs that say LOL. :confused:

Correct. Even sites I have used before are now deemed unsafe. Must try and " loosen" the restrictions.
    It might be because you used targetshootingireland.org which resolves to targetshooting.ie and doesn't exist in its own right.

Mr. Norton mightn't have liked that you went somehwere you didn't start out going to ;)

Norton complaining because it's a DNS C-record instead of a A-record.
    Utter facepalm.

Sparks wrote: »
    Utter facepalm.
    What always surprises me is that people will fork out good money for this piece of bloatware when there are so many excellent free products out there. The sheer neck of Norton which acts like a protection racket when your sub runs out; the equivalent of lighting a match and saying "lotta dry wood around here guv"...

And of course unless you have dual quad-core processors and the equivalent of a hard disk in RAM you may as well not bother trying to use your PC when it's installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

In Germany for the week, so won't make this one lads, but have a good one. Looking forward to seeing results.

Utter facepalm.

rrpc wrote:
    And of course unless you have dual quad-core processors and the equivalent of a hard disk in RAM you may as well not bother trying to use your PC when it's installed

funny-pictures-this-kitten-is-confused.jpg

Maybe if i turn it off then on again ..................... :D

Just checked the bookings for the shoot tomorrow - The 12:30 detail is fully booked now!:)

The 11:00am detail has a couple of bookings in.
    Plenty of spaces still available on the 2:00pm Detail.

See you all in the morning.

A big thanks to all concerned in helping run the shoot yesterday at Midlands!!;)

The range has improved ten fold since my last visit to Midlands to shoot the Nationals last year!, and a big well done to those who put all the work and effort in to making the improvements!!
    Looking forward to the next comp at Midlands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Results?

A big thanks to CG, ezridax, and all the midlands crew for helping out on the day. Major kudos to LC for rounding up the troops and getting everyone to pitch in.

It was a good shoot - Personally enjoyed the whole day myself.

I said 5 shots!:D;)

Just checked the NTSA site - No scores on the doors yet: But Gary scored a 593 (or was it 592) to win. Not sure of the rest of the scores and positions.

All in all, a very enjoyable days shooting. Shows what can be done when everyone mucks in, so thanks to all!:)

Just checked the NTSA site - No scores on the doors yet: But Gary scored a 593 (or was it 592) to win. Not sure of the rest of the scores and positions.

A very lucky 592!, the gauge was kind to me, but it was gauged in front of me and I was pleasantly suprised!!

I'm off now to have no pride in my sport, until I can be deemed to be eligible to don the emerald cloak and bring glory to our sainted isle.:D:rolleyes:

Thats 4 sighting diagrams, 12 scoring diagrams so 40 rounds should do for the 60 shot match!!......................................oh wait!!:eek: lol

I think we can drop that whole line of chat Floydster, since it got nasty just a few posts back (in another thread, which some posts have since been moved to here from).

I think we can drop that whole line of chat Floydster, since it got nasty just a few posts back.

Not sure what you mean "whole line of chat"? , but I guess you had to be there!!

Ah, one did indeed have to be there - I did say 5 shots!:D;)

Midlands match?

Correct, sir - a wee bit of a mix-up for one shooter (who's name shall be withheld to protect the innocent) and an issue with the number of scoring-shots per target and an incompetent "RO" who obviously was not CLEAR enough!:rolleyes: :o

(Floydster seems to be implying, rather scuriously and in a blatantly mischievious manner i might add, that one should probably make sure to fire the requisite and permitted number of scoring-shots when representing ones club or country :p - following on from the earlier points raised)

But now that particular branch of the discussion has been well and truly lopped off: Gentlemen, as you were - and sorry for the hi-jack!

Hijack abducted and released into the wild into its natural habitat and urged to run free.

FLOYDSTER wrote: »
    Thats 4 sighting diagrams, 12 scoring diagrams so 40 rounds should do for the 60 shot match!!......................................oh wait!!:eek: lol

Kiss me arse ye shower of piss-takin cock-jockies.............arrrrgh, couldnt hold that in any longer!! :rolleyes:

Yes....it wasnt my most triumphant moment, but not to worry, long runs the fox my friend, long runs the fox!! ;)

And ye DC, I do believe you made it perfectly clear it was five shots, but I was in the "Glass Box" at that point, mind over matter an all that sh1te!! :p

Anyway....it was nice to get the rifle in me hand again after numerous weeks of neglect!!

Nice meeting the lads down there, and I too would like to thank Midlands and LC (despite the barrage of pointed jibes!) for an enjoyable shoot!

This may help your shooting career!!

Countvocount.jpg

o0o0o0o0 you funny man! you velly funny man!!

KNOBBER!

Results are up on the NTSA web site!;)