Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

youth conference

• 06-07-2010 6:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

Hi there all,

I am currently researching for a pal who is fronting a youth conference at the end of july for a very large trade union in ireland. I need the opinions, experiences and feelings from youth in ireland on the current economic and job situation. I would appreciate your uncensored feelings on it. This is a good chance to get your opinions out there and seen by the government. There will be plenty of media coverage. Comment on this or thread or private mail me if you wish. These will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

This isn't suited to News/Media so I'm going to move it.

It's obviously at the discression of the AH mods but it might help if you were more specific about the organisation you're working for before you expect people to give their uncensored opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 louicious09

yeah thats fine bad use of phrase i'm not a regular user.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Which union is it?

It wont be its head bear that in mind. It will be high level executiveswho would represent workers from several different areas across the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Head bear?

I must say, that would be worth seeing. Is it a polar bear or the grizzly one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I think private sector unions are obstructionist and stuck in the past, who refused to acknowledge the dire economic straits that we're in, and more interested in looking after the interests of their generally middle class and comfortable members, than with championing the cause of the poor and lower classses.

Oh, and FF are incompetent.

Will these views be aired?

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Head bear?

I must say, that would be worth seeing. Is it a polar bear or the grizzly one?

You're thinking of Papa Grizzly himself, Jack O' Connor.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

How does the organisation feel about being complicit and active in the practices which have led to our economic disaster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

With the advanced employment legislation and labour courts we have in this country, does the union see itself to be relevant in its original spirit or is it mainly a pressure group aiming to achieve proseperity for its members to the potential detriment of the rest of society?

Sorry i have lost my glasses luckily i will not be making the speech. We will compile your responses and a make a speech which represents the majority view.

The union is trying to figure out really how to help the youth of the country by getting their views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

The union is trying to figure out really how to help the youth of the country by getting their views.

The union does not give a thundering shít about the young people of Ireland.

Now this might be news to some people but, the union cares about getting its subscriptions and the union leaders care about justifying their obscene pay packages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

CiaranMT wrote: »
    How does the organisation feel about being complicit and active in the practices which have led to our economic disaster?
    A lot worse than the bank execs and building contractors who played no roll and are still living the high life.........oh wait
    Hi there all

I am currently researching for a pal who is fronting a youth conference at the end of july for a very large trade union in ireland. I need the opinions, experiences and feelings from youth in ireland on the current economic and job situation. I would appreciate your uncensored feelings on it. This is a good chance to get your opinions out there and seen by the government. There will be plenty of media coverage. Comment on this or thread or private mail me if you wish. These will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
    Wrong place my friend. All you'll find here is a group of bitter 20/30something year olds, many of whom work in low end private sector jobs and are bitter at just about everyone and everything, especially unions of any type.

Your best bet is the teenagers' forum here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1146

I know exactly what your saying I am bitter too. This conference is there for you though. Why don't you voice your anger. Love them or leave them unions will be here stay they have lobbying power against so why not utilise this power for the youth of the country by voicing your issues. Unfortunately unions dont really have an idea of what's in the heads of the unemployed and employed youth in the country at the moment and they want to get the general consensus and represent your views to the government .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The job situation sucks at the moment. There are jobs but there are also tons and tons of very experienced people to take the jobs, so young people with little or no experience have no chance to get a start.
    /bitter

It's times like these I wish I had some friends, maybe they could get me a job.

phasers wrote: »
    The job situation sucks at the moment. There are jobs but there are also tons and tons of very experienced people to take the jobs, so young people with little or no experience have no chance to get a start.
    /bitter

It's times like these I wish I had some friends, maybe they could get me a job.

do you feel like you have adaquate support from the services like fas ?? or do you feel the government are encourage mass emigration of irish youth

K4t wrote: »

Wrong place my friend. All you'll find here is a group of bitter 20/30something year olds, many of whom work in low end private sector jobs and are bitter at just about everyone and everything, especially unions of any type.

Oh, you commissioned a poll did you?

I'm unemployed. Not particularly bitter. But I do apportion a degree of blame to the unions for the mess that we're in. It's a tad simplistic to think that because the banks shoulder the majority of the responsibility, no other group in sociey has questions to answer.

I don't mean to be overly dismissive of the union's good intentiosn towards the youth louicious09, but actions speak louder than words and, up til the Croke Park agreement, the unions were vehement in defending promotion though seniority rather than merit. This not only put the public service at a disadvantage, but severely curtailed the opportunities open to the young people they now purport to champion.

Einhard wrote: »
    Oh, you commissioned a poll did you?

I'm unemployed. Not particularly bitter. But I do apportion a degree of blame to the unions for the mess that we're in. It's a tad simplistic to think that because the banks shoulder the majority of the responsibility, no other group in sociey has questions to answer.

i actually agree the tuc could shoulder a degree of blame. Why not be proactive could we shorten the dole queue. Are people happy with the services there recieving to help them find a job or to pay the bills

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't mean to be overly dismissive of the union's good intentiosn towards the youth louicious09, but actions speak louder than words and, up til the Croke Park agreement, the unions were vehement in defending promotion though seniority rather than merit. This not only put the public service at a disadvantage, but severely curtailed the opportunities open to the young people they now purport to champion.

I appreciate what your saying and your not being overly dismissive. I don't actually work for the union and I am doing this as a favour as the person in question has an extreme case load but volunteered to organise this. Quite possibly your onto something that maybe there's not enough communication between unions and youth in ireland. A lot of anger exists really which i wasnt aware of till tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'll shout this out, because my question was ignored in my last post....

WHICH F*CKING UNION?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Most trade unions in this country are about as much use as the credit union in an industrial dispute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

i actually agree the tuc could shoulder a degree of blame. Why not be proactive could we shorten the dole queue. Are people happy with the services there recieving to help them find a job or to pay the bills

TUC is British - Trade Union Congress

The Irish lot are called the Congress of Trade Unions, or Congress for short.

I was supporting the ICTU (or was it the Dublin Council?) who organised the marches for health service reform- The Campaign for a Decent Health Service, but it fizzled out with rumours that there was infighting over Who controlled What and so on....petty stuff which stopped the entire campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

We are fcuked. Plan is to spend as long as possible in University and hope everything will be ok then.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Job situation? There are NO JOBS for people like me. I have no experience because my parents forbade me to work while I was still in secondary school. Once I finished up, LAST SUMMMER, and started looking for part time work to get me through college etc, nowhere was interested. No matter where I apply (even the lowliest newsagents there are), I'm turned away because I haven't got 2 years experience sitting on my arse at a till. Bollix :mad: So how the fcuk am I going to get a proper job when I finish up in college if I can't even get an unskilled one as a student? Who the feck will want to hire me??:mad::mad:

As for my friends - the ones who have jobs either got them before the market dried up and held onto them, or knew/are related to people who could give them work. I have about 4 or 5 friends who are in the exact same situation as I am.

Not to mention my parents who are pretty much stuck paying for my education since I can't just yet. They don't begrudge me this at all but I still can't help feeling like a fcuking useless turd since I can't even get a job in a McDonalds or whatever

*wanders over to R&R filled with rage*

I don't know if this os the sort of opinion your friend is looking for but meh. I needed to vent a bit :o It is a very frustrating situation to be in.