Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Ireland Players' Championship

• 06-07-2010 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

The Fixtures List for the 2011 Ireland Players' Championship has now been finalised as follows - - -

Round One:
    Sunday, October 31st., 2010.
    Springhill Court Hotel, Kilkenny.

Round Two:
    Sunday, November 28th., 2010.
    Limerick Strand Hotel, Limerick.

Round Three:
    Saturday, January 15th., 2011.
    O'Shea's Hotel, Tramore, Co. Waterford.

Round Four:
    Saturday, February 26th., 2011.
    Silver Springs Moran Hotel, Tivoli, Cork.

Round Five:
    Sunday, March 20th., 2011.
    Clonmel Park Hotel, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary.

Round Six:
    Sunday, May 8th., 2011.
    Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, Abbeyleix, Co. Laois.

Grand Finals:
    Sunday, June 26th., 2011.
    Springhill Court Hotel, Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Excellent, thanks very much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 dartfan

Great to see 2011 ipc all planned out. new venue
    in limerick looks good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Holy long drives, where do i claim expenses for petrol

Limerick and Cork are almost definitely too big of a drive for me. Think i'll be Kilkenny and Laois and Clonmel for me, can't see myself doing Limerick and Cork, its too big of a drive to do on the morning of a competition from Dublin, Tramore at 3 hours is a toughie, your on the road from 8ish and barely have time to settle before your match.

Can't believe Dublin is gone

Holy long drives, where do i claim expenses for petrol

Limerick and Cork are almost definitely too big of a drive for me. Think i'll be Kilkenny and Laois and Clonmel for me, can't see myself doing Limerick and Cork, its too big of a drive to do on the morning of a competition from Dublin, Tramore at 3 hours is a toughie, your on the road from 8ish and barely have time to settle before your match.

I dont speak on behalf of the ipc, but my own opinion is, there fairly fair venues on all... Dublin was a big drive for us cork lads for the last 2 yrs, and there where more cork players in the draw for the green isle than dublin ones.

Abbeyleix last yr was a great turnout and a great comp. Never played in clonmel, as it usually clashes with a celtic rangers match so i wud be away in glasgow.

But it is easy to see why Dublin was binned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Two main reasons why we are not going to Dublin for the 2011 Championship - - - poor support from the Dublin players {8 in the Men and 1 in the Ladies}and one of the Dublin leagues clashing with the Green Isle in Round Five last March !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

I think its possiblty the nicest spread so far in the IPC, i'll almost certainly go to Limerick along with a few mates as will many more from the west, its good positioning too imho as if those from the north/west do well they'll almost certainly make the trip to another 2 imho.

dartfan wrote: »
    Great to see 2011 ipc all planned out. new venue
    in limerick looks good

Two great new venues for the Players' Championship - - - the Limerick Strand Hotel at the end of the Ennis Road {Sarsfield Bridge} and the Silver Springs Moran Hotel, Tivoli, Cork.
    Two massive Conference Centres at our disposal on the outskirts of the cities and easy to get to with plenty of parking.

padr81 wrote: »
    I think its possiblty the nicest spread so far in the IPC, i'll almost certainly go to Limerick along with a few mates as will many more from the west, its good positioning too imho as if those from the north/west do well they'll almost certainly make the trip to another 2 imho.

Hopefully, we will get some more players turning up from your corner of the country.
    There are some great throwers up in the North/West who would have no problem holding their own against the rest of the country !

cork and limerick are first class venues for the ipc
    and the players to play the game of darts. over the
    last 5 years darts in ireland have risen to a new level
    and now the players are playing in venues they deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭irishleedsfan

The strand in Limerick will be an outstanding venue. I just wish i was playing but hopefully in the next few years:)

yes, i agree with you on the limerick venue, hope the
    players now support it as i'm sure they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mussha

great to see that at least one darts organisition has there heads screwed on and have thing sorted with the dates out now i should be able cancel or move diff things to try get to all of them.

ya ,good to see all the dates sorted out.now the indo
    and thier county board followers can see what they
    can hijack.no douth they will.:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Antoine56

For feck sake can't you give it a rest with the INDO bashing, and you might want to use a spell and grammar check before you post, then you might be taken at least a bit seriously :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭vindaloo1

ha ha good one dartfan, hijacking - your word - works both ways.

For your info, there is one clash with an INDO competition later this year and probably clashes for 2 international dates in that list.

Antoine56 wrote: »
    For feck sake can't you give it a rest with the INDO bashing, and you might want to use a spell and grammar check before you post, then you might be taken at least a bit seriously :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I didnt know we needed a english degree to post here... If we did, there wud be very few posts.

As regards the INDO bashing, im a very big critic of the INDO and the systems they use, the limited amount of respect shown for there players in unreal at times. These people are expected to travel to ranking events, make a team for the likes of the last world cup, and have to pay it out of there own pockets, while the green blazers go free... Hardly fair.

But this is a thread for IPC events/dates/venues... Considering the IPC is up and running 6 yrs now, and has paid out €140k prize money and offered darts players tv coverage, i wud say they dont need bigging up by me.

I do agree with Vindaloo bout dates clashing later in the yr, but then i suppose it will only effect a very very small minority of players.

The spread is better this year.

An extra hour 3 hours travel for me if I get to all events, no big deal.

One thing I like about the fixtures is that Abbeyleix is now the last - a very tight spot for the crowd that turned up the last few years.

The IPC/INDO debate will continue, but it does affect very few people.
    You wont get 20 or 30 extra lads turning up, there's always plenty of days out on the calendar that do not clash.

vindaloo1 wrote: »
    The spread is better this year.

An extra hour 3 hours travel for me if I get to all events, no big deal.

One thing I like about the fixtures is that Abbeyleix is now the last - a very tight spot for the crowd that turned up the last few years.

The IPC/INDO debate will continue, but it does affect very few people.
    You wont get 20 or 30 extra lads turning up, there's always plenty of days out on the calendar that do not clash.

Singles on saturday in south dublin Mick....

The silver tassie pub.

Also one on here august 8th in mallow, €400 winner.

And 1 in Rock chapel the 14th august...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Dicie wrote: »

The silver tassie pub.

Are you travelling up to play in this mate?

The silver tassie pub.

Working Saturday, so no go for me.

Where in Mallow, and where the feck is Rockchapel?

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Are you travelling up to play in this mate?

Yes m8, by looks of it there is me, quinny, damo and John paul... But its early yet, come saturday i be on my own

Where in Mallow, and where the feck is Rockchapel?

It will be the arches bar, the John Sheehan Memorial...

Rock chapel is the kerry road from mallow... Not to far from mallow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Yes m8, by looks of it there is me, quinny, damo and John paul... But its early yet, come saturday i be on my own
    Yeah I know what you mean.
    Might head out myself ill see if Glen and Shane are going.

It will be the arches bar, the John Sheehan Memorial...

Rock chapel is the kerry road from mallow... Not to far from mallow..

Thanks, any start times etc?

WIll know more friday night when i pop out for a pint.. Will let you know then.

dont you worry about my grammer or spelling, I say it as i see
    it and if you dont like it that's your problem.it's still true.:rolleyes:

vindaloo1 wrote: »
    ha ha good one dartfan, hijacking - your word - works both ways.

For your info, there is one clash with an INDO competition later this year and probably clashes for 2 international dates in that list.

The date's for the ipc have been set in stone for the last few
    month's now.the limerick venue was the last one to sort out
    and that's why they were only posted last week.

The date's for the ipc have been set in stone for the last few
    month's now.the limerick venue was the last one to sort out
    and that's why they were only posted last week.

They may have been set in stone for the last few months, but the players have only found out about them in the last few days...

The indo dates are there in black and white for all to see since febuary, but they manage to change them at short notice, as iv said before, it wont effect many players.

That's true Dicie but i'm just saying mick and joe
    have always done their best not to clash.as i'm
    sure you know.

That's true Dicie but i'm just saying mick and joe
    have always done their best not to clash.as i'm
    sure you know.

Yep, wont find 2 better lads, doing things for the benifit of the players, poeple dont see what goes on behind the scenes, early mornings, loading vans, taking everything down when we are all p i ssed up and dont care... Unreal the amount of effort that goes in.

my point was, it doesnt matter what dates Mick/Joe the ipc pick, other Irish darts orgs will go out of there way to clash as has been proved over the past 5 yrs...

We (as players) arent stupid (well apart from mac cracken) we see what goes on, we can see who is out for the benifit of the players, and who care less just interested in there free holidays, and dont be fooled, i dont only say this on a forum, i wud have no issues saying it to there faces.

ya,all true Dicie.2011 ipc has the making for a great
    year in darts.

WIll know more friday night when i pop out for a pint.. Will let you know then.

Any times for Mallow comp yet?

no

Lads, I am around long enough to realise that very little can be done about fixture-clashing - - - it has been going on for years !

Some organisations/ organisers/ individuals clash deliberately, some clash unwittingly and others just organise competitions to suit their own areas.

The I.P.C. has never dictated to anybody on when they should organise their competitions but we have tried over the past five years not to clash with any established events.

We have found, however, that others have changed dates and deliberately clashed with our fixtures list.

For the 2011 Championship we have arranged our dates to suit ourselves, the venues and, hopefully and most importantly, the Irish dart players.

We will let the darts players decide !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

Dartgod wrote: »
    Lads, I am around long enough to realise that very little can be done about fixture-clashing - - - it has been going on for years !

Some organisations/ organisers/ individuals clash deliberately, some clash unwittingly and others just organise competitions to suit their own areas.

The I.P.C. has never dictated to anybody on when they should organise their competitions but we have tried over the past five years not to clash with any established events.

We have found, however, that others have changed dates and deliberately clashed with our fixtures list.

For the 2011 Championship we have arranged our dates to suit ourselves, the venues and, hopefully and most importantly, the Irish dart players.

We will let the darts players decide !

Well said Dartgod!!!!!!!!!!

Just my luck, 3 of the dates clash with Irish dancing comps..... HAte telling lies to the kids, but it is for there own good!!!!:D:D:D:D:D

Entry forms for Round One in Kilkenny on October 31st. will be available at the Green Isle Hotel over the weekend.
    They may also be downloaded from www.dartsinireland.com.

Entry forms for Round One will be available at the Tramore Autumn Festival next week and entries will be accepted from the 'early birds'.

Remember, lads, we have one simple rule - - - get your entry in early and if you discover before the closing date that you are unable to attend then just give us a call and we will take your name out.

Your money will be safe - - - we will either return it or hold it for one of the future rounds - - - your call !!!

All systems go for Round One of the 2011 Ireland Players' Championship which takes place at the Springhill Court Hotel, Kilkenny, on Sunday, October 31st.

Entry forms will be available at the Killarney Darts Festival over the coming weekend.

I got a great response in Killarney for the Players' Championship which starts in Kilkenny on Sunday, October 31st., and in particular from the young lads that played in the John McEvoy Bronze Dart Singles on the Sunday.
    These are the stars of the future and they provided some great entertainment for the spectators in the Ballroon of the Gleneagle.
    Hopefully, we will see many new faces in the Springhill Court next week.

The age limit for the youths is Under-18 on June 1st., 2011, and entries for Round One of the Youths' Championship will be accepted at the venue at 12 noon on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tonmachine

Lads just to let you'se know I emailed the Springhill Court Hotel about the room rates for the weekend of the IPC round 1 and they have quoted me €139.00 pps thats to include 3 nights, Full Irish breakfast and an evening meal.

tonmachine wrote: »
    Lads just to let you'se know I emailed the Springhill Court Hotel about the room rates for the weekend of the IPC round 1 and they have quoted me €139.00 pps thats to include 3 nights, Full Irish breakfast and an evening meal.

Mini bus hired Kev???:D:D

C'mon Ladies, we need your support for the 2011 Ireland Ladies' Champiionship which gets underway on October 31st.

We have changed the Qualifiers' rule for this year - - - the Top 16 players on the Ladies' Rankings List after Round Six will be invited to compete in the Grand Finals.
    They will be divided into four groups on Finals' day and will play-off on a Round Robin Basis.

Entries for Round One of the Ladies' Championship will be accepted on the day at the Springhill Court Hotel at 12 noon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭ciarraibhoy

tonmachine wrote: »

I got a cracking deal, 3 nights bed, breakfast & evening meals, free Guinness, Bulmers, wine and soft drinks €00.00 pps :eek:

It's at my mothers house ;)

I got a cracking deal, 3 nights bed, breakfast & evening meals, free Guinness, Bulmers, wine and soft drinks €00.00 pps :eek:

It's at my mothers house ;)

That will cost you in the long run, Mammy's Boy !

C'mon lads get your finger out and get the entries in for Round One.

The closing date is Wednesday, October 27th. - - NO TELEPHONE ENTRIES !

The JACKPOT PRIZE for the first 9-dart check-out is 2,000.

Due to unforeseen circumstances the venue for Round Two has been changed to the Abbey Court Hotel, Dublin Road, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary, and the date is the same - - Sunday, November 28th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Dartgod wrote: »
    Due to unforeseen circumstances the venue for Round Two has been changed to the Abbey Court Hotel, Dublin Road, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary, and the date is the same - - Sunday, November 28th.

Damn and i had somewhere to stay in limerick aswell, anyway not to worry i intend to go anyway, i want to make a go at it this year cos i have never been at a players championship before.

I might be the fiirst person from an island to win the players championship:D

jamesbere wrote: »
    Damn and i had somewhere to stay in limerick aswell, anyway not to worry i intend to go anyway, i want to make a go at it this year cos i have never been at a players championship before.

I might be the fiirst person from an island to win the players championship:D

You won't win anything, James, if you don't get off that island and start travelling to the competiitions !
    Make sure that your pasport is in order before you travel to the mainland !

See you in Kilkenny.