Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's not your race/gender/sexuality...it's you!

• 06-07-2010 2:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭

On the bus the other day, it stopped as buses do, two lads were about to get off but before they could a large black woman with child and buggy basically rammed her way through...the two lads then got off (whatever happened to waiting for people to get off first)...anyway she then walked straight by the bus driver without even saying a word, went to place the buggy in the area for buggys/wheelchairs, there were old people there, she didn't say a word them, just kind of stared at them, they moved back to make way, she then placed the buggy and talked to her child for a bit...all the time the bus was stopped, she then placed some bags down, rooted through her hand bag for an age, finally got her purse out (it must be tough picking stuff up with such fat fingers) and then fished around for change for ages, she went back to the bus driver, again not saying a word and placed a few coins in the bus driver's hand, bus driver said that's not enough so she flicked her eyes to the heavens and started moaning in her own language and then give the bus driver a large note, bus driver said "Have you anything smaller?"...at this point she almost erupted as I think she thought he was making a joke about her weight, he then gave her probably all the change he had and she was still wailing and bitching about it...this whole process, meant just due to this woman the bus had been stopped for about 5 minutes...then she went back to her buggy and kid and got her phone out and started talking to someone in her bingo-bongo language in the loudest voice imaginable, positively opera-singing down the phone minus the melody, for the rest of the journey, her kid was going mental too in the buggy, biting and pawing at things and screetching and shouting all the time (wonder where he got that from?) and she didn't even lay an eye on him.

Now would you be more or less likely to criticise this woman because she was black? I would say less, there is an awful frightful tendency to tiptoe around minorities, whether they be black or gay or foreign and to a lesser extent even women. We fear speaking out as we may be labelled a racist, xenophobe, homophobe or misogynist....but the reality of the situation is that just as a significant number of white men are morons, so too are a significant number of blacks, gays, foreigners and women.

But often they will get away with it because if you dare to criticise they will play the card that makes you seem like the bad guy, when the truth is I am treating them exactly like I would anybody else which is what I thought the wanted.

Is this true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭andy winter

In before thread is moved to recycle bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

So what exactly did you do to her OP to make you seem racist/sexist? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Anthony Walsh

I think you are right, it would put people off giving out. In my opinion though if somebody was that annoying I think I would just have a go at her, and if she did call the race card or sexuality card and would just say it is not because of that it's because your an ignornant waste of space and shouldn't be aloud on the bus and needs to be thought manners even if it takes a slap up side her face, thats what anyone acting like that deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Where can I get a "Teach Yourself the Bingo-Bongo Language" audio tapes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

She turned you down, didn't she OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

prinz wrote: »

Linguaphone have them I think...

Bingo-Bongoland. Not to be confused with their neighbours Bongo-Bongoland.

bonerm wrote: »
    So what exactly did you do to her OP to make you seem racist/sexist? :confused:

or a sexy racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Is what true?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Is what true?

who what when

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Good point.

There has been a decade long civil war in Bingo-Bongoland between the Bingos and the Bongos. The weapon of choice is a large inflatable hammer. Terrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Noopti wrote: »
    Linguaphone have them I think...

Cheers, if I'm going to give someone a piece of my mind I might as well do it in a way they'd understand.

O Nib Ing Bin Go boN nig Bo - Get off the bus you twat! (rough translation)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Do you not think some of the minorities have a massive chip on their shoulders? If you're not extra-nice to them them somehow you are in the kkk or the nazi party or something?

I mean do they not understand that the I carry around "Mein kampf" with me for purely academic reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

If the op wasn't using the bus I could have sworn to have heard a similiar rant from a taxi driver before.:rolleyes:

"Yes thank you bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

donfers wrote: »
    Do you not think some of the minorities have a massive chip on their shoulders? If you're not extra-nice to them them somehow you are in the kkk or the nazi party or something?

same could be said about the irish,major chip on some peoples shoulders

Is that the swimmer?

mike phelps :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

OP - It's not race/gender/sexuality...it's you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

On the bus the other day, it stopped as buses do, two lads were about to get off but before they could a large black woman with child and buggy basically rammed her way through...the two lads then got off (whatever happened to waiting for people to get off first)...anyway she then walked straight by the bus driver without even saying a word, went to place the buggy in the area for buggys/wheelchairs, there were old people there, she didn't say a word them, just kind of stared at them, they moved back to make way, she then placed the buggy and talked to her child for a bit...all the time the bus was stopped, she then placed some bags down, rooted through her hand bag for an age, finally got her purse out (it must be tough picking stuff up with such fat fingers) and then fished around for change for ages, she went back to the bus driver, again not saying a word and placed a few coins in the bus driver's hand, bus driver said that's not enough so she flicked her eyes to the heavens and started moaning in her own language and then give the bus driver a large note, bus driver said "Have you anything smaller?"...at this point she almost erupted as I think she thought he was making a joke about her weight, he then gave her probably all the change he had and she was still wailing and bitching about it...this whole process, meant just due to this woman the bus had been stopped for about 5 minutes...then she went back to her buggy and kid and got her phone out and started talking to someone in her bingo-bongo language in the loudest voice imaginable, positively opera-singing down the phone minus the melody, for the rest of the journey, her kid was going mental too in the buggy, biting and pawing at things and screetching and shouting all the time (wonder where he got that from?) and she didn't even lay an eye on him.

Now would you be more or less likely to criticise this woman because she was black? I would say less, there is an awful frightful tendency to tiptoe around minorities, whether they be black or gay or foreign and to a lesser extent even women. We fear speaking out as we may be labelled a racist, xenophobe, homophobe or misogynist....but the reality of the situation is that just as a significant number of white men are morons, so too are a significant number of blacks, gays, foreigners and women.

But often they will get away with it because if you dare to criticise they will play the card that makes you seem like the bad guy, when the truth is I am treating them exactly like I would anybody else which is what I thought the wanted.

Is this true?

its disgraceful isnt it, they should have to sit down the back. i mean who do they think they are barging on and expecting some sort of rights.
    maybe they should be just towed on the back. they're always so loud and annoying and they take up so much space.

i hate women with prams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

people who don't know how to behave in public annoy the living sh1t out of me. i don't care where you're from, be it down the road or from the other side of the world for christs sake behave yourself in public and stop acting like everyone else is just scum sent here for the sole purpose of making your life difficult whilst the world revolves around you and your self important little life. and for the love of jebus stand under some running water once a day for 5 fecking minutes and have a wash, you stink like a 3 day old corpse. water is free in ireland you know!

/rant. :)

I think if I was a busdriver and someone tried to "hand" me money I'd probably tell them to get the fúck off the bus and take their little bollix kid with them.

Either that or I'd probably just point at the coin mechanism between us. I'm not a professional bus driver so I don't know how I'd react in a pressure situation like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I was waiting for the obligatory "left the buggy behind, will get new one from the government' post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Some people are just assholes, regardless of race and gender.

If someone is being an asshole, and you tell them and they play the race card, tell them to cop the **** on. I'm a non-white immigrant living in Ireland, and I'm sick of people crying "RACISM!!!" for everything...people aren't looking at you funny on the bus because of your race, they are looking at you funny because your kids are out of control, and you are screaming into your cellphone. Crying racism over everything only makes people tune out...then when there really is a problem, there is nobody left to listen. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I ****ing hate
    fat women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

The Bingo-Bongo shop silly! Its on Bingo-bongo lane... In little bingo-bongo town? Do you not know it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

I mean do they not understand that the I carry around "Mein kampf" with me for purely academic reasons

i agree, some of them are so intolerant, can't respect that i have a swastika tattoo for luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

aDeener wrote: »
    i agree, some of them are so intolerant, can't respect that i have a swastika tattoo for luck
    it's like an extreme 4 leaf clover. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

As a wise man once said: just because someone's a member of an ethnic minority it doesn't mean they're not a nasty, small-minded jerk.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Couldn't give a rats ass what colour the woman is... She should waited for passengers clearly getting off... she should have her change ready while getting on the bus and pay before going pass the bus driver, she should have controlled her rodent of a fúcking kid as well...

biko wrote: »
    I ****ing hate
    fat women

Lazy annoying
    flabbers
    the lot of em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Ignorance is universal. It transcends race colour and creed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Now would you be more or less likely to criticise this woman because she was black?
    Less.I wouldnt have opened my mouth at all. Alot black women scare the crap out of me when they get mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

anniehoo wrote: »
    Less.I wouldnt have opened my mouth at all. Alot black women scare the crap out of me when they get mad.

More scared than when loud, ignorant Irish people act a fool on the bus? I have yet to see black girls/women in Ireland start a brawl; I can't say the same for their Irish counterparts.

Now in the US, on the other hand...I just assume everybody on the bus is loco. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think the "fat woman with buggy" syndrome transcends any colour or creed.

Rosa Parks was a hero btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

biko wrote: »
    I ****ing hate
    fat women
    Fattist

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...then she went back to her buggy and kid and got her phone out and started talking to someone in her bingo-bongo language in the loudest voice imaginable, .......

Theres no subtlety in modern trolling, there really isn't.
    Do you not think some of the minorities have a massive chip on their shoulders?

Course they have, with all their threads about asylum seekers, muslims, "forun" taxi drivers......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭christmasinjuly

haha Ive actually pulled the racist card many a time...etc, teachers,security men awh good times

Hope they told you to go fúck yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭christmasinjuly

nope, only scared hey loved it :D