Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trolley Bag System Aldi

• 06-07-2010 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭

An Irish inventor from Carlow has a product in Aldi this week which I think is a great system.

It allows you to quickly and simply fill out your trolley into bags and allows you easily pack them at the checkout and then pack into the car.

They are €8.99 for the set available on Thursday http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/special_buys3_13391.htm

Product_detail_Wk27T30.jpg

I have no connection to the product other than I know the inventor is from Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

Are you the inventor by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Coincidence! I actually thought up the exact same idea about 3 months ago! Did nothing with it, then was raging when i saw the aldi flyer. Assumed some american must have thought of it ages ago, and i just never heard of it!
    Please tell me he planned this agggesssss ago! Please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

LOL read the small print, I certainly wish I was but no I just know the person is from Carlow, I have no connection and get nothing out of it other than promoting Carlow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

fifib wrote: »
    Are you the inventor by any chance?
    Villain wrote: »
    I have no connection to the product other than I know the inventor is from Carlow

Don't you take his word?

invest4deepvalue.com

phill106 wrote: »
    Coincidence! I actually thought up the exact same idea about 3 months ago! Did nothing with it, then was raging when i saw the aldi flyer. Assumed some american must have thought of it ages ago, and i just never heard of it!
    Please tell me he planned this agggesssss ago! Please!
    Yep years ago from what I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Yep years ago from what I know

thank god! Id be raging otherwise :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Good idea - fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Never use a trolly that big myself, but is a good idea none the less and I'm sure many people would find those very useful. Hope he does well out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭brian plank

so you put your shopping in the bags, take it all out again at the counter before putting it back in the bags? how is this easier exactly? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Shhhhh its a bargain alert.
    Only €9.. Better than four reuseable bags in your trolley.

so you put your shopping in the bags, take it all out again at the counter before putting it back in the bags? how is this easier exactly? :confused:
    I think the idea is you leave the bags neathly compacted behind the trolley as shown, then unload onto the checkout. Pull out the bags and fill out the trolley with the bags and then pack your shopping into the bags and when you get to the car just unload all the bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Well if you didn't have the bags you'd be taking the shopping out of the trolley and then putting it in bags anyway!

With these you can just place the shopping into the bags as it comes off the checkout rather than having to pack them into your own bags and then placing them in the trolley.

:confused: indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

the check out staff probably wont allow you to set up that thing but order you to go to the baggage packing area :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beanhead

No, you fill your trolley as normal, the bags stay hooked under the handle per the pic.

then you upload the contants of the trolley on the conveyor belt (again as normal) to be scanned.

Once the trolley is unloaded, you rack the bags in the trolley as you approach the checkout till.

I think the idea is that you have a very stable/organised 'bag-base' to place your items in.

The counter staff appear trained to fire the goods at you & the fact that there is so little counter space after the checkout can't be by accident either, they want you paid-up & gone.

Also I think the less time you have, the less likely you are to decide against that impluse pickup of that dohickey in aisle2.

I guess it helps manage the fluster better, that you get in ALDI/LIDL when checking out

I have nothing to do with these bags/ALDI/LIDL/etc or retailing/manufacturing at all!

Well if you didn't have the bags you'd be taking the shopping out of the trolley and then putting it in bags anyway!

With these you can just place the shopping into the bags as it comes off the checkout rather than having to pack them into your own bags and then placing them in the trolley.

:confused: indeed.

so you cant do that with an ordinary €1 reuseable bag? :confused: and €9 for 4 :eek:.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

But how is it a bargain?

snubbleste wrote: »
    But how is it a bargain?
    Its a bargain because it saves time and they are re-usable and durable so you won't need any other bags.

If you shop at Aldi or Lidl you will realise that you end up having to put everything back into the trolley after its been scanned before going to side and then putting everything into bags again, so this saves you having to take them out of the trolley again and bag them, instead using this system you just bag them as they scan them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭gazzaman22

snubbleste wrote: »
    But how is it a bargain?

This is a bargain......when you empty your bags onto the belt make sure and leave some expensive item in the bottom of the bags .....and no one will cop on or see it ....

BARGAIN!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's not a bad idea but it's really only saving a minute of time. Besides, the good thing about going to the packing area is you don't hold up a queue and you can pack without rushing. Plus you'd have to make sure you put the items on the conveyor belt in the right order. Wouldn't want to pack your bread and eggs only to have your beans and pasta sauce fired at you and no empty bag left to put them at the bottom of.

Its a bargain because it saves time and they are re-usable and durable so you won't need any other bags.

have you used them?
    If you shop at Aldi or Lidl you will realise that you end up having to put everything back into the trolley after its been scanned before going to side and then putting everything into bags again, so this saves you having to take them out of the trolley again and bag them, instead using this system you just bag them as they scan them.

why would you put everything back in the trolley if you have bags there ready to go? this is just a reuseable bag that someone (from carlow, yahooo) stuck a handle on and they want 9 quid for 4 of them. for that reason, i'm out :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭budhabob

I think this is a great idea, and doing our weekly shops in aldi i can most definitely see the benefit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

What next....

teapot%20choc3.jpg

have you used them?

No but I know someone who used a prototype and they found it great.

why would you put everything back in the trolley if you have bags there ready to go? this is just a reuseable bag that someone (from carlow, yahooo) stuck a handle on and they want 9 quid for 4 of them. for that reason, i'm out :pac:.

Obviously you haven't shopped in Aldi or Lidl, they don't give you time to pack stuff into bags, when you have a large amount of shopping you have to put it into the trolley move out of the way and then pack the bags.

dont give you time? while they scan the stuff you put it in a bag, its hardly rocket science. if you want to have the bags in the trolley first then its just a matter of getting around 7 or 8 in dunnes for the same price as 4 of the fancy handle bags. they hold their shape so you can place them in the trolley and put the stuff into them.

20039so.jpg

LOL they throw it at you very quick and the check out's have no space after they scan it to put like other stores

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

LOL they throw it at you very quick and the check out's have no space after they scan it to put like other stores
    I think they are a great idea. Tbh I think most of those giving out never have to do a big weekly shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

I think they are a great idea also,

Will i get one, yes, will I use it allot no, Its as useful to me as a camera on a keyring, but i still got one of those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭k123456

Great invention and its Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

adamski8 wrote: »
    the check out staff probably wont allow you to set up that thing but order you to go to the baggage packing area :rolleyes:

Then leave all the shopping at the checkout and go and spend your money elsewhere. They'll come around, trust me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭collegemum

It is a great little invention. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beanhead

dont give you time? while they scan the stuff you put it in a bag, its hardly rocket science. if you want to have the bags in the trolley first then its just a matter of getting around 7 or 8 in dunnes for the same price as 4 of the fancy handle bags. they hold their shape so you can place them in the trolley and put the stuff into them.

20039so.jpg

The important part is that they hang I think, most empty bags placed in an empty trolley actually fall over or concertina closed in my experience & you definitely need 2 hands for a regular bag for this constant adjusting.

I think you could deal with a small kid with one hand & fill with the other.

Sure it's a small difference, but thats what separates competition.

In saying that I would be most impressed if I were to see someone with cheaper bags & bamboo rods from the garden centre making their Heath Robinson debut, kudos to you Sir & your frugality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

looks like other stores are copping on to what Lidl & Aldi are doing and they want you out quick, tesco have spent a fortune on a new design and got rid of the belt at the back so when the cashier scans the item you don't have as much room as you used to and they fling the stuff at you now, where as it used to come to you on the belt :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,526 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

i also can see the benefit of these. doing a bid shop at the likes of lidl, they really give you no time at checkout, and i also find myself putting the goods back into the trolley and putting them into bags maybe out at the car.

you can also keep your meats , veg , cleaning products etc separate from each other at all times.

anything that makes life a bit easier is good IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Think they look like a good idea alright. I think i'll get a set too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It would be fantastic. Unfortunately I am one of those people who constantly forgets to bring my bags Rio the shop and end up having to buy more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭dowtchaboy

casio4 wrote: »
    looks like other stores are copping on to what Lidl & Aldi are doing and they want you out quick, tesco have spent a fortune on a new design and got rid of the belt at the back so when the cashier scans the item you don't have as much room as you used to and they fling the stuff at you now, where as it used to come to you on the belt :(

Interesting - any of you over 50 (am I alone in here?) might remember the FIRST time Tesco came to Ireland - early 80's when they took over Albert Gubay's 3Guys discount operation - there was one on the Tullow Road out of Carlow - they had this dreadful checkout where there was a tiny space where the checkout operator placed your stuff - no belt - was a bit of wood about 12 inches square - and the idea was you had to throw everything into the cart and then move to the bag packing area (where they had free bags, or you could reuse cardboard boxes). It was very much like LIDL/ALDI style - stuff in boxes on the floor - cheap and cheerful.

Tesco pulled out - and came back ten years later by buying Quinnsworth - with a completely different kind of operation.

I'll bet Herself will go for a set of these bags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

will seem great until you find out that they won't fit in your local supermarket's trolleys, the trolley shown in the picture is very narrow and deep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Tbh I think most of those giving out never have to do a big weekly shop!
    Or never been in lidl/aldi, its a whole different experience, and I love the policy of "get the f*ck away from my till you subhuman, somebody else has to be served".

I have the pick of 2 shops some days, supervalu & lidl, I usually go to lidl as I know they have this policy, in supervalu I have been stuck queuing ages while the auld fella behind the till is chatting away for ages to other customers, and they are also woefully inefficient at taking payments. Of course some people in the area might go to supervalu specifically since they do not like the GTFO policy and want to chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

I think its a brill idea!! I for one will def buy them and give them a go. If I think they are ****e, i will be happy in the knowledge that I helped support an Irish inventor!
    Fair play to whoever he is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

rubadub wrote: »
    I have the pick of 2 shops some days, supervalu & lidl, I usually go to lidl as I know they have this policy, in supervalu I have been stuck queuing ages while the auld fella behind the till is chatting away for ages to other customers, and they are also woefully inefficient at taking payments.

yeah, they are a bit slow at the tills in that supervalu, but they have some decent offers, and the 10pm opening all week is a big plus

I used to work there (albeit 10 years ago), so I still know some of the staff, good to have a bit of banter while you shop

lidl i'd mainly go in for the twice a week non-food offers, I'm not adventurous enough to try alot of lidl's brands of foods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

will seem great until you find out that they won't fit in your local supermarket's trolleys, the trolley shown in the picture is very narrow and deep

yeah i'm sure this was invented not to work on most trolleys :rolleyes: - where do you get this idea that trolleys in different supermarkets are all different? they're nearly all made by the one company.

i think it's a great idea and fair play to the inventor, we need more people like him in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mayfire

I have no connection and get nothing out of it other than promoting Carlow :D

Ah! So thats what Carlow has to offer!
    "Carlow, the shopping trolley capital of Ireland......roll in there".

mayfire wrote: »
    Ah! So thats what Carlow has to offer!
    "Carlow, the shopping trolley capital of Ireland......roll in there".
    lol we have Plenty something to offer apart from bags for trolleys, we have a fine Dolmen big stone and also a great GAA Team Jersey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

To be honest i don't see how it is an invention,

I don't see how it would make my job easier to be honest,

I'd prefer the normal bags i use, but then again i don't shop much in aldi.

I prefer to pack the bag at the end of the conveyor belt in front of me, then lift the bag into the trolley,

I suppose they will work for some people as some people seem to like the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Old Idea TBH ... been around Germany for ages.

http://www.kochen-essen-wohnen.de/detail112.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Just another gadget IMO - fit for one of those mail order catalogues (can't remember the name now:o).

Don't let Irish pride cloud over the common sense folks!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

LOL read the small print, I certainly wish I was but no I just know the person is from Carlow, I have no connection and get nothing out of it other than promoting Carlow :D

Ah come on now!! you don't expect us to believe that!! We all know theres only a couple of dozen people living in Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 lilyface

Hi guys, don't post much on this thing, more of a lurker TBH. anyway bought a set of these on Thursday morning and did a big shop using them. having a one year old with me they were really great and saved alot of time. so I recommended them to my sister and she called into Aldi to get a set in the evening. They were totally sold out. Hope they get them back in soon as I have a few friends who are interested in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭TM

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Just another gadget IMO - fit for one of those mail order catalogues (can't remember the name now:o).
    BetterWare or Kleeneze or one of those junk catalogues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭dowtchaboy

lol we have Plenty something to offer apart from bags for trolleys, we have a fine Dolmen big stone and also a great GAA Team Jersey :D
    I reckon there's an export business there - flogging Carla GAA jerseys in Jamaica....
    As former scallion-ater meself I am stunned when I see a Carlow match actually shown on telly - and to beat Wexford..... WTF?