Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Anglo to cost up to 30Bn!!

• 05-07-2010 12:48AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭

In case anyone missed it over the FG meltdown
    from 17 minutes on - the bank report

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1075248

Now, the headlines said 22Bn, as did the new chairman of Anglo Irish, of which we will never see 20Bn again.

Thats 20,000,000,000.00 !!!!!!!

However, Peter Matthews estimates it will be more like 32Bn, so we the tax payer will never see 30Bn again.

These figures scare the crap out of me.

In the same program Mary Harney said this is the price we have to pay because of reckless lending, I dont remember loaning money to anyone.

The FF/Green keep repeating the problem is outside our control

The Watson/Reingling report shows this to be a lie clearly saying the crisis was home grown - light regulation and political mismanagement.

And yet the press just wander on, focusing on Enda Kennys leadership battle.

Jesus, I can't understand how we take this when in Iceland they have already had a full enquiry - done and dusted - and took to the streets until they got an election.

What really gets on my tits is that we hear that regulation should have been more robust - but the fact of the matter, as so often happens in Ireland, is that what investigations were being done were over-ridden by political/business phonecalls made to senior regulators and investigations - even in a light touch environement - were shelved

All those involved should be named, fired and - where applicable - face criminal charges.
    And people like Fitzpatrick need to return what they owe and bonuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

simonj wrote: »
    from 17 minutes on - the bank report

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1075248

Now, the headlines said 22Bn, as did the new chairman of Anglo Irish, of which we will never see 20Bn again.

Thats 20,000,000,000.00 !!!!!!!

However, Peter Matthews estimates it will be more like 32Bn, so we the tax payer will never see 30Bn again.

These figures scare the crap out of me.

In the same program Mary Harney said this is the price we have to pay because of reckless lending, I dont remember loaning money to anyone.

The FF/Green keep repeating the problem is outside our control

The Watson/Reingling report shows this to be a lie clearly saying the crisis was home grown - light regulation and political mismanagement.

And yet the press just wander on, focusing on Enda Kennys leadership battle.

Jesus, I can't understand how we take this when in Iceland they have already had a full enquiry - done and dusted - and took to the streets until they got an election.

What really gets on my tits is that we hear that regulation should have been more robust - but the fact of the matter, as so often happens in Ireland, is that what investigations were being done were over-ridden by political/business phonecalls made to senior regulators and investigations - even in a light touch environement - were shelved

All those involved should be named, fired and - where applicable - face criminal charges.
    And people like Fitzpatrick need to return what they owe and bonuses

And you know what really drives home the magnitude of this waste ?
    Over the course of our membership of the EU/EEC we received less in structural funds from Brussels.

Imgaine how much infrastructure the above amount could have achieved ?
    Even when we work in the excessive costs of infrastructure projects in this country, we could still have multiple tunnels under the Shannon, multiple Aviva stadia, multiple motorways linking all major towns, etc.
    Hell we could have a decent cystic fibrosis ward in ever major hospital.

And what exactly do we get for our 20 or 30 odd billion ?
    Perhaps the gratitude of the bond holders for repaying their investments ?

These would be the same bond markets that can drop Ireland at any time if the ratings agencies deem us unworthy of their golden seal of approval. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭simonj

jmayo wrote: »

They cant even arange 8 dedicated beds as far as I know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

"Jesus, I can't understand how we take this when in Iceland they have already had a full enquiry - done and dusted - and took to the streets until they got an election."

That's the bit that really scares me.
    How long will it take before we even have an enquiry? And how long will that take?

"Imgaine how much infrastructure the above amount could have achieved ?
    Even when we work in the excessive costs of infrastructure projects in this country, we could still have multiple tunnels under the Shannon, multiple Aviva stadia, multiple motorways linking all major towns, etc.
    "

And this. So true.

Lads I think it's time we stopped writing on boards, stopped using excuses like "we're too busy trying to keep our jobs" and "we have to pay the bills", stopped saying we'll get our revenge at the ballot box, and just have it out here and now with this Government. While I agree we can vote them out, it's another 2 years of reading articles like this and looking at figures like 20 billion before we can vote this Gov out, and that won't change the billions that we are throwing down the tube in the here and now. By the time the next election comes around, we'll have spent 4 years listening to this crap and wasting even more money.

It's time the ordinary people of Ireland spoke out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

And yet Seanie is out celebrating his birthday, and the one guy who actually stood up and said something to him when he was collecting a prize at the Captains days tournament at Greystones could get kicked out of the club:rolleyes:

dan_d wrote: »
    Lads I think it's time we stopped writing on boards, stopped using excuses like "we're too busy trying to keep our jobs" and "we have to pay the bills", stopped saying we'll get our revenge at the ballot box, and just have it out here and now with this Government. While I agree we can vote them out, it's another 2 years of reading articles like this and looking at figures like 20 billion before we can vote this Gov out, and that won't change the billions that we are throwing down the tube in the here and now. By the time the next election comes around, we'll have spent 4 years listening to this crap and wasting even more money.

It's time the ordinary people of Ireland spoke out.

Well, I am at least trying, thats why I got involved in Amhra Nua, Labour seem to have lost direction in the last few years, so it was time for a change and FG/FF are realy two chees of the one arse IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

"change",

thats so 2008

08 and over the pond, nothing here has changed except we are deeper in the crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

08 and over the pond, nothing here has changed except we are deeper in the crap

oh we need change al right

i just dont believe it will come from the top down, or ever has for that that matter

not when some of the population half their heads up their arses, and other groups would do anything to hangon and grow their entitlements

anyways dont mind me im just being cynical :) no coffee yet this morning

Well, as they say - its better to light a cndle than curse the darkness.
    FG's new era program took a lot of ideas and aspects from Amhran Nua policies, and FF are talking about adapting our plans for pensions.

The thing is they dont address corruption and failure in duty of care by local Government and semi-state bodies in the same way as we do, and FGs electorial reform program does not go far enough - and that remains a major issue.

Lets hope they are not just using them for window dressing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

you mean the non-opposition so called leadership contest? Perfect smokescreen for taking the attention of the sheep off Anglo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Well, I am at least trying, thats why I got involved in Amhra Nua, Labour seem to have lost direction in the last few years, so it was time for a change and FG/FF are realy two chees of the one arse IMHO
    Fair play, at least you're doing something.

ei.sdraob, you're very cynical today! Change won't come from the top down, coz well, let's face it, look at what's on top. Better make it come from the bottom up so.That we can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    oh we need change al right

i just dont believe it will come from the top down, or ever has for that that matter

not when some of the population half their heads up their arses, and other groups would do anything to hangon and grow their entitlements

anyways dont mind me im just being cynical :) no coffee yet this morning

Hey welcome to cynic-ville, from a long time resident :mad:

I am afraid no amount of coffee makes this feel any better.
    BTW we don't usually have coffee for breakfast, why not try one of our bananas instead ?

I am not allowed discuss …

like a banana grown in the baNAMA republic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Perhaps we should have a "birthday party" protest outside Seanie's house in Greystones, demanding he pay back his loans instead of spending money on lavish birthday parties.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Darsad

Not that I am for a minute defending Fitzpatrick but the fact that Fitz was having a party was conjecture on behalf of the Sindo . They saw a truck apparantly in his drive way oh and he happened to be 62 last month ! great bit of journalism that . Clowen is more responsible than most for our current econimic woes and he's still Taoiseach we have a ways to go both politically and culturally before we will see any change in this fair land of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

That's a lot of money to protect a few FF cronies.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,952 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

And yet Seanie is out celebrating his birthday, and the one guy who actually stood up and said something to him when he was collecting a prize at the Captains days tournament at Greystones could get kicked out of the club:rolleyes:

Interesting. What exactly happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

galwayrush wrote: »
    That's a lot of money to protect a few FF cronies.:rolleyes:
    Let's have a whip-round - call it a 'Property Tax'.

They cant even arange 8 dedicated beds as far as I know

Sory, that should have read 8 dedicated adult Cystic Fibrosis beds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Joan Fontaine

30Bn - which is actually more than they estimate it's going to cost to clean up the mess in the Gulf after the BP oilspill. The mind boggles.

The mind boggles.

Plus one mate, plus one:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

You people need to know where your place is...so keep paying your taxes and how dare you question where it goes!!!!the likes of seanie,ivor,drumm,bertie,john o donoghue and the countless other scumgags who sponge off us are "homourable",it does not matter if you are in a gov jet or have a fleet of high powered cars (despite having never worked a day in youe life) outside state your funded house and are in court every week getting free legal aid,these people are entitled to the taxpayers money.dont dare ask how your money is spent!its none of your business,leave that to the important people:rolleyes:this is the real ireland,get over it!!!!