Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merc W124 vs Rover 75 - opinions?

• 03-07-2010 7:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭

I'll be buying my first car in six months or so. I've started looking over the options, and the W124 and Rover 75 have caught my eye (I'm not into the Fiesta/Focus/Polo thing). Both will be auto and the 75 will be diesel, so no HGF issues. I don't care about the 75's 'mature' image as it's essentially a great car, and the W124's age doesn't bother me either.

I'm torn between the two! And can anyone suggest something else I might've overlooked? Has to be auto and around 2 litres (between 1.8 and 2.2). Budget will be less than 2500.

There are very very very few W124s that I'd consider parting with anything over a grand for and very few diesel auto 75s that you'll get for that in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

the old nineties model honda accord

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I'm in the same boat as yourself at the moment, will be looking for something similar in a couple of months. I'd also look at:

Nissan Maxima
    Opel Omega
    Alfa 166
    Honda Accord Exec (older model)
    Volvo V70 or S80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Limerick man just picked up a good nick W124 auto for very little money (a lot less than your budget). See his thread on the classic cars forum. Nice!

A Rover 75 is not just many years younger - it is a much more modern and safer car. An average mileage early diesel auto is to be had for within your budget

Both represent very good value for money atm if you get a good one. Tell us more about what you reckon will be important to you in your first car

Oh and as an alternative, how about an early E39 520i Auto (2l)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

unkel wrote: »
    Limerick man just picked up a good nick W124 auto for very little money (a lot less than your budget). See his thread on the classic cars forum. Nice!

A Rover 75 is not just many years younger - it is a much more modern and safer car. An average mileage early diesel auto is to be had for within your budget

Both represent very good value for money atm if you get a good one. Tell us more about what you reckon will be important to you in your first car

I was of the opinion that to get a really good W124 I'd have to spend lots and that LM is an expert negotiator! I love the look of the W124 but the higher NCAP on the 75 is another point in its favour. Reasonable mpg (diesel) is nice but not essential. The one problem with the 75 diesel auto is what RJ mentioned, they're fairly rare in Ireland, especially the Conn SE. Really what I want is a comfortable, reliable cruiser that's not run of the mill. The E39 is a good idea too, they're getting very cheap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Merc anyday!
    Had two W123's meself, one diesel one petrol, they where great cruise ships and the world turns into a happier and more relaxed place when you see that star far, far down the bonnet.
    When you turn the wheel the car doesn't turn, the world turns around you.
    They where great and I'll have one again one day.
    Have you considered a W123? Go for the 230E Auto or go nuts with the 280E but also buy a petrol station with that one!
    Rover 75? The 75 refers to the minimum age you have to be to want that car, also I'd bet on Mercs up to '94 on build quality any day, anything after that will not be up to the same standard.
    The Rover 75 was the car that finished off the company, that can't be a good thing. ;)

having owned a w124 and an e34 bmw i would recommend you consider the bmw too, the w124 is quite dated in comparison.

Don't see how this looks dated:

ge5568676049483536423.jpg

Also check out:
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2606802

Confab wrote: »
    the higher NCAP on the 75 is another point in its favour

Just a tad higher - R75 has 4 stars - W124 has 0 stars :)
    what I want is a comfortable, reliable cruiser that's not run of the mill. The E39 is a good idea too, they're getting very cheap.

I should have guessed comfort is top of your list. Can't really call an E39 comfortable compared to those two, but maybe you should drive one (with the smallest size wheels) and see what you think.

Don't see how this looks dated:

ge5568676049483536423.jpg

Also check out:
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2606802

I know what they look like, having owned one, they are in my opinion quite dated looking, not much to seperate the 86 ones from the 94 ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

T***a C****a *

There's nothing comfortable about a feckin Carina / Corolla or whatever

a carina is most certainly not an uncomfortable car

Whatever you do, do not buy a bubble Corsa:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Whatever you do, do not buy a bubble Corsa:

My brother drives one. An awful yoke, but it's an A to B car for him.
    T***a C****a *

I'd rather buy a Fiesta then a Carina. I respect their reliability and practicality, but nothing says early 90's econobox like a Carina E.

My brother drives one. An awful yoke, but it's an A to B car for him.

Tell him to drive very slowly. And steer clear of Mercs. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Merc anyday!
    Had two W123's meself, one diesel one petrol, they where great cruise ships and the world turns into a happier and more relaxed place when you see that star far, far down the bonnet.
    When you turn the wheel the car doesn't turn, the world turns around you.
    They where great and I'll have one again one day.
    Have you considered a W123? Go for the 230E Auto or go nuts with the 280E but also buy a petrol station with that one!
    Rover 75? The 75 refers to the minimum age you have to be to want that car, also I'd bet on Mercs up to '94 on build quality any day, anything after that will not be up to the same standard.
    The Rover 75 was the car that finished off the company, that can't be a good thing. ;)

It wasn't the rover 75 which finished off rover , it was bad management when bmw pulled out.
    The rover 75 was probably the best car they made, and the bmw diesel was a compliment.