Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extreme Hot Water Bottling

• 02-07-2010 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭

So now that it's winter and the nights are freezing(Tuesday was the coldest night in 63 years) it's time to roll out the hot water bottles.#

Now the question that occurs to me every time I fill one is: If I fill this with only boiling water, will it pop a leak?? I daren't tempt fate. But it also comes to mind, surely someone does it regularly/tried it once and can confirm that this will/will not/ maybe sometimes happen.

Discuss.

# I don't live in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

My apartment is so fcuking hot at night time right now I'm seriously considering sleeping with a cold water bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

What?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

MadPatrick wrote: »
    So now that it's winter and the nights are freezing(Tuesday was the coldest night in 63 years) it's time to roll out the hot water bottles.#

Now the question that occurs to me every time I fill one is: If I fill this with only boiling water, will it pop a leak?? I daren't tempt fate. But it also comes to mind, surely someone does it regularly/tried it once and can confirm that this will/will not/ maybe sometimes happen.

Discuss.

Patrick ... you're mad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Discuss.

Stick your bollocks in the toaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Discuss.

I'm pretty sure it's not arctic conditions up there either buddy. Explain yourself!

But on topic, boiling water's fine. Just make sure you squeeze it a bit before you throw the cap on so it doesn't compress too much as it cools as the vacuum can make it a bitch to open afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I don't live in Edinburgh either, I've been meaning to change that for the 4 and half years since I left.

Maybe I should have surmised.

Are hot water bottles safe if filled with only boiling water, as in not mixed with a little cold water??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭tc2010

strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Are hot water bottles safe if filled with only boiling water, as in not mixed with a little cold water??

Yes, very much so! I've always just put water straight from the kettle in the water bottle, never had any issues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

i love strawberry yogurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Yes, very much so! I've always just put water straight from the kettle in the water bottle, never had any issues!

Me too. Never even thought to put some cold water in it to be honest!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I want to know where he lives

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Any hot water bottle I ever owned had 'do not use boiling water to fill' (or something similar) on the side, so I'd say no, add some cold water first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭patakadarragh

electric blankets ftw..:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

fill a few coke bottles with mentos and put them in your bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I know you feel OP.

This winter hasn't been very wet yet, but we've had some chilly nights.
    Lack of insulation and radiators in the house doesn't help :(

Use a blanket when one the couch and wear a hoody.
    In bed its two duvets and another blanket.

Even the cat sleeps beside me to stay warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

WTF is this thread a windup or is the OP residing in Siberia cause last time i checked its bloody 20degrees outside!

and BTW wonton who doesn't like strawberry yogurt??

WTF is this thread a windup or is the OP residing in Siberia cause last time i checked its bloody 20degrees outside!

No.

Cold

http://www.metservice.com/towns-cities/auckland

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Fecking freezing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

OP your post makes no sense unless ye update your location!

I thought i was losing it and/or hittin early menopause cos ive been sweating all week. *relief*

I'm not in New Zealand or Serbia, but the 2 quilts is a good one. The mornings are the worst. I fucking hate winter.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Op, put boiling water in, but maybe 3/4 full, then squeeze out all the air until the water is nearly coming out of the lid and seal. The steam should fill it out again but won't pop. That's what I've always done anyways.

AH answer, get an OH to snuggle up to, or hookers. (don't forget the coke!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Rabies wrote: »
    Cold

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Fecking freezing

Its 6C! It's not even snowing! Man up. (Even if your a woman)

Leeg17 wrote: »
    AH answer, get an OH to snuggle up to.

I have to send her to bed earlier than me(12year olds need more sleep than adults) and then she whines when I get in with my icy cold hands and feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭patakadarragh

I have to send her to bed earlier than me(12year olds need more sleep than adults) and then she whines when I get in with my icy cold hands and feet

not funny.

not funny.

Maybe you should go and have a cry about it.

By the way, heroin's great for blocking out bad memorys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

I don't live in Edinburgh either, I've been meaning to change that for the 4 and half years since I left.

Should that be changed to Sydney? :D

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-national/sydney-endures-coldest-night-in-61-years-20100630-zjxr.html

Just get extra quilts/blankets and you'll be grand.

PandyAndy wrote: »
    Should that be changed to Sydney? :D

You win, I don't have a prize though.

I got a new wireless modem yesterday, you can have the old one. It doesn't work but you can sell it for scrap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ah crap, I thought this thread was about the art of shagging a chick really fast and hard and just when she's about to have a multiple orgasm, slap her in the chops with a hot watter bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Ah crap, I thought this thread was about the art of shagging a chick really fast and hard and just when she's about to have a multiple orgasm, slap her in the chops with a hot watter bottle.

Donkey bottling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

op, could you kindly tell us where the **** you actually live, rather than narrowing it down country by country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Feck me, from memory think i have only ever used a hot water bottle once

could say something whitty like 'sending her her half an hour before hand to warm the bed' but have no one to that for me

:(
    OutlawPete wrote: »

you really are into some freakish stuff today pete

Its 6C! It's not even snowing! Man up. (Even if your a woman)

No!
    When it gets to 4c its very cold :(

Better than the Irish winters... but still chilly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We used to have the poor man's hot water bottle, i.e. a couple of bricks heated up in the oven.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

jeez o whole 4c, that's not cold, it was -7.6 outside my window one night during the winter here.

bmw535d wrote: »
    jeez o whole 4c, that's not cold, it was -7.6 outside my window one night during the winter here.

My last Irish winter was 2005 :)

I forget what it was like

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

I'm pretty sure it's not arctic conditions up there either buddy. Explain yourself!

But on topic, boiling water's fine. Just make sure you squeeze it a bit before you throw the cap on so it doesn't compress too much as it cools as the vacuum can make it a bitch to open afterwards.

Aye but its colder only 21c there.:P

bmw535d wrote: »

It was -14c here and we had 6 foot snow drifts in april here, so exuse me!:P

Discuss.

Yea but you only live 100 miles away or something and you get the exact same weather as me as we live on the same latitude, oh and it isn't freezing it was bloody 17c last night and it got to like 23c today.

Rabies wrote: »
    No.

Cold

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Fecking freezing

Freezing are you foreal i had a -5c max one day this january and it was snowing and blowing like hell along with that.